Language selection

Search

Chapter 26: Good Regulatory Practices – Text of the 2023 Canada - Ukraine Free Trade Agreement

The 2017 CUFTA will remain in force until entry into force of the 2023 modernized agreement. Until such time, please refer to the 2017 CUFTA text for information on the existing trade agreement between Canada and Ukraine.

Article 26.1: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

covered regulatory measures means the regulatory measures determined by each Party to be covered by this Chapter under Article 26.3; and

regulatory authority means a regulation making authority at the central level of government.

Article 26.2: General Provisions

1. For the purposes of this Chapter, good regulatory practices refers to the use of best practices in the preparation, planning, designing, issuing, adoption, implementation, performance monitoring, and review of regulatory measures in order to facilitate the achievement of public policy objectives.

2. The Parties recognize that implementation of government-wide practices to promote regulatory quality through greater transparency, objective analysis, accountability, and predictability, which are based on principles of the public regulatory policy of the Party and can facilitate international trade, investment, and economic growth, while contributing to each Party's ability to achieve its public policy objectives (including health, safety, and environmental objectives) at the level of protection it considers appropriate.

3. Regulatory authorities of the Parties shall endeavour to enhance cooperation and to prevent, reduce, or eliminate unnecessary regulatory requirements to facilitate trade and promote economic growth, while maintaining or enhancing standards of public health and safety and environmental protection.

4. The Parties affirm the importance of:

Article 26.3: Scope of Application

Each Party shall, no later than two years after the date of entry into force of this Agreement, determine and make publically available the regulatory measures covered by this Chapter (covered regulatory measures) in accordance with its own legislation. Each Party should aim to provide significant coverage of regulatory measures it determines to be covered under this paragraph.

Article 26.4: Internal Coordination of Regulatory Development

1. The Parties recognize that good regulatory practices can be encouraged through mechanisms that facilitate coordination among regulatory authorities and are associated with processes for the development and review of covered regulatory measures. Accordingly, each Party shall endeavour to maintain the existence of such mechanisms or processes and should maintain the coordination of them through their central regulatory coordinating bodies in accordance with their mandates and consistent with the Party's law.

2. The Parties recognize that the mechanisms or processes referred to in paragraph 1 may vary depending on their differences in the levels of economic development, and the political and institutional structures, in each Party.

3. Each Party should make descriptions of the operation of these mechanisms or processes referred to in paragraph 1 publicly available.

4. Each Party should ensure that its mechanisms or processes referred to in paragraph 1 allow for:

Article 26.5: Early Planning

Each party should, in a manner it considers appropriate and in accordance with its laws and regulations, notify the public, on an annual basis, of any regulatory measure that it reasonably expects its regulatory authorities to issue within a 12-month period.

Article 26.6: Regulatory Impact Assessment

1. Each Party shall endeavour to encourage its regulatory authorities, in accordance with its laws and regulations, to conduct regulatory impact assessments when developing proposed regulatory measures that exceed a threshold of economic impact or meet other criteria established by the Party for an assessment, to assist it in designing regulatory measures that best achieve the objectives pursued by that Party.

2. Recognizing that differences in the Parties' institutional, social, cultural, legal, and developmental circumstances may result in specific regulatory approaches, each Party should ensure that the regulatory impact assessment, among other things:

3. When conducting regulatory impact assessments, each Party should ensure that its regulatory authorities take into consideration the potential impacts of the proposed regulation on small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

Article 26.7: Public Consultations and Transparency

1. When preparing a regulatory measure, each Party should endeavour to:

2. When a proposed regulatory measure is expected to have a significant impact on international trade, the Party should normally provide a comment period of at least 60 days from the date that the proposed regulatory measure is published and, if appropriate, provide a comment period of up to 90 days from the date when the proposed regulatory measure is published.

3. Each Party shall take into account input received during the comment period on the proposed regulatory measure, and make publicly available a summary of the results of public consultations, subject to the need to protect confidential information or to withhold personal data or inappropriate content.

4. Before finalizing its work on a regulation, a regulatory authority of a Party shall evaluate any information provided to it in writing during the comment period.

Article 26.8: Use of Plain Language

Each Party should ensure that proposed and final regulatory measures are plainly written, concise, organized, and easy to understand, recognizing that some measures involve technical issues for which specialized knowledge might be required to understand and apply the measures.

Article 26.9: Consideration of Other Measures

To the extent appropriate and consistent with its laws and regulations, each Party should encourage its relevant regulatory authorities to consider regulatory measures of the other Party, as well as relevant regulatory developments activities in international, regional, and other forums, when developing covered regulatory measures.

Article 26.10: Public Access

Consistent with its laws and regulations, each Party shall endeavour to ensure that relevant regulatory authorities provide public access to covered regulatory measures and, to the extent possible, ensure that access is available online or through a special web portal designated in its law that is freely and publicly available.

Article 26.11: Retrospective Review

1. Each Party should review its covered regulatory measures at intervals it deems appropriate, to determine whether they should be modified, streamlined, expanded, or repealed, so as to make the regulatory regime of the Party more effective in achieving policy objectives.

2. Each Party should endeavour to publish, to the extent possible, any official plans and results of its review under paragraph 1.

Article 26.12: Cooperation

1. The Parties shall endeavour to cooperate in order to implement this Chapter and maximize the benefits arising from it. Each Party should take into consideration, in the cooperation activities of the Parties, the other Party's needs. Cooperation activities may include:

Article 26.13: Report on Implementation and Review

1. For the purposes of transparency, and to serve as a basis for cooperation, each Party shall prepare a report on the implementation of this Chapter within three years of the date of entry into force of this Agreement and submit subsequent reports at least once every three years thereafter. The report shall be provided to the other Party through the Contact Points designated under Article 26.14(1).

2. In the first report under paragraph 1, each Party shall describe the actions it has taken to comply with and implement this Chapter since the date of entry into force of this Agreement and the actions it plans to take in the future to implement this Chapter, including those that:

3. In subsequent reports under paragraph 1, each Party shall describe the actions it has taken since the submission of the previous report, and the actions it plans to take in the future to implement this Chapter.

4. At least once during the three-year period commencing after the date of entry into force of this Agreement, each Party shall review developments in its good regulatory practices and their experiences in implementing this Chapter with a view towards considering whether to make recommendations to the Joint Commission for improving this Chapter in order to further enhance the benefits of this Agreement. During this review, the Parties may discuss, or raise questions on specific aspects of, the report of a Party. The Parties may also identify opportunities for future assistance of cooperation activities.

Article 26.14: Contact Points

1. Each Party shall designate a contact point for matters arising under this Chapter. Each Party shall notify the other Party who is its contact point and promptly notify the other Party of any changes of its contact point.

2. Each contact point shall be responsible for:

Article 26.15: Relationship to Other Chapters

In the event of inconsistency between this Chapter and another Chapter of this Agreement, the other Chapter shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

Article 26.16: Non-Application of Dispute Settlement

A Party shall not have recourse to dispute settlement under Chapter 28 (Dispute Settlement) for any matter arising under this Chapter.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Chapitre 26 : Bonnes pratiques de réglementation – Texte de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada - Ukraine de 2023

L’ALECU de 2017 restera en vigueur jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord modernisé de 2023. D’ici là, veuillez s’il vous plaît vous référer au texte de l’ALECU de 2017 pour toute information sur l’accord de libre-échange existant entre le Canada et l’Ukraine.

Article 26.1 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

autorité de réglementation désigne une autorité réglementaire au niveau du gouvernement central; et

mesures réglementaires visées désigne les mesures réglementaires déterminées par chacune des Parties comme étant visées par le présent chapitre en application de l’article 26.3.

Article 26.2 : Dispositions générales

1. Aux fins d’application du présent chapitre, les bonnes pratiques de réglementation désignent l’utilisation des pratiques exemplaires dans la préparation, la planification, la conception, la publication, l’adoption, la mise en œuvre, le suivi du rendement et l’examen des mesures réglementaires afin de faciliter la réalisation des objectifs de politique publique.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent que la mise en œuvre, à l’échelle du gouvernement, de pratiques visant à promouvoir la qualité des cadres réglementaires par une transparence accrue, une analyse approfondie des objectifs et une plus grande responsabilisation et prévisibilité, qui sont fondées sur les principes de la politique de réglementation publique de la Partie, et qui peuvent faciliter le commerce international, l’investissement et la croissance économique, tout en aidant chacune des Parties à réaliser ses objectifs de politique publique (y compris en matière de santé, de sécurité et d’environnement) au niveau de protection qu’elle juge approprié.

3. Les autorités de réglementation des Parties s’efforcent de renforcer la coopération et de prévenir, réduire ou éliminer les exigences réglementaires inutiles pour faciliter le commerce et promouvoir la croissance économique, tout en maintenant ou en améliorant les normes de santé et de sécurité publiques ainsi que la protection de l’environnement.

4. Les Parties affirment l’importance :

Article 26.3 : Champ d’application

Chacune des Parties, au plus tard deux ans après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, détermine et met à la disposition du public les mesures réglementaires visées par le présent chapitre (mesures réglementaires visées) conformément à sa propre législation. Chacune des Parties devrait s’efforcer d’offrir un large champ d’application aux mesures réglementaires qu’elle juge visées par le présent paragraphe.

Article 26.4 : Coordination interne de l’élaboration des règlements

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que les bonnes pratiques de réglementation peuvent être encouragées par des mécanismes qui facilitent la coordination entre les autorités de réglementation et qui sont associés à des processus d’élaboration et d’examen des mesures réglementaires visées. Ainsi, chacune des Parties s’efforce de maintenir l’existence de ces mécanismes ou processus et devrait en assurer la coordination par l’intermédiaire de ses organismes de coordination réglementaire centraux, conformément à leur mandat et au droit de la Partie.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent que les mécanismes ou processus visés au paragraphe 1 peuvent varier en fonction de leurs différences en matière de niveau de développement économique et de structures politiques et institutionnelles, pour chacune des Parties.

3. Chacune des Parties devrait mettre à la disposition du public des descriptions du fonctionnement de ces mécanismes ou processus visés au paragraphe 1.

4. Chacune des Parties devrait veiller à ce que ses mécanismes ou processus visés au paragraphe 1 permettent :

Article 26.5 : Planification initiale

Chacune des Parties devrait, de la manière qu’elle juge appropriée et conformément à ses lois et règlements, informer le public, sur une base annuelle, de toute mesure réglementaire qu’elle s’attend raisonnablement à voir ses autorités réglementaires prendre au cours des 12 mois suivants.

Article 26.6 : Étude d’impact de la réglementation

1. Chacune des Parties s’efforce d’encourager ses autorités de réglementation, conformément à ses lois et règlements, à procéder à des études d’impact de la réglementation lorsqu’elles élaborent des mesures réglementaires proposées qui dépassent un seuil d’impact économique ou répondent à d’autres critères établis par la Partie pour une évaluation, afin de l’aider à concevoir des mesures réglementaires qui permettent d’atteindre au mieux les objectifs poursuivis par cette Partie.

2. Reconnaissant que les différences entre les Parties sur les plans institutionnel, social, culturel et juridique ainsi que sur le plan du développement peuvent se traduire par des approches réglementaires particulières, chacune des Parties devrait veiller à ce que les études d’impact de la réglementation, entre autres choses :

3. Lorsqu’elle procède à des études d’impact de la réglementation, chacune des Parties devrait veiller à ce que ses autorités de réglementation prennent en considération les impacts potentiels de la réglementation proposée sur les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME).

Article 26.7 : Consultations publiques et transparence

1. Lors de l’élaboration d’une mesure réglementaire, chacune des Parties devrait s’efforcer :

2. Lorsqu’on s’attend à ce qu’une mesure réglementaire proposée ait un impact significatif sur le commerce international, la Partie devrait normalement offrir une période de commentaires d’au moins 60 jours à compter de la date de publication de la mesure réglementaire proposée et, le cas échéant, une période de commentaires allant jusqu’à 90 jours à compter de la date de publication de la mesure réglementaire proposée.

3. Chacune des Parties prend en compte les contributions reçues au cours de la période de commentaires sur la mesure réglementaire proposée et met à la disposition du public un résumé des résultats des consultations publiques, sous réserve de la nécessité de protéger les renseignements confidentiels ou de ne pas communiquer de données à caractère personnel ou un contenu inapproprié.

4. Avant de finaliser ses travaux sur un règlement, une autorité de réglementation d’une Partie évalue tout renseignement qui lui a été fourni par écrit pendant la période de commentaires.

Article 26.8 : Utilisation d’un langage clair et simple

Chacune des Parties devrait veiller à ce que les mesures réglementaires proposées et finales soient rédigées de manière claire et simple, concise, organisée et facile à comprendre, en reconnaissant que certaines mesures portent sur des questions techniques pour lesquelles des connaissances spécialisées peuvent être nécessaires pour comprendre et appliquer les mesures.

Article 26.9 : Prise en considération des autres mesures

Dans la mesure où cela est pertinent et conforme à ses lois et règlements, chacune des Parties devrait encourager ses autorités de réglementation compétentes à prendre en considération les mesures réglementaires de l’autre Partie, ainsi que les activités d’élaboration de la réglementation pertinentes menées dans le cadre de forums internationaux, régionaux et autres, lors de l’élaboration des mesures réglementaires visées.

Article 26.10 : Accès public

Conformément à sa législation et à sa réglementation, chacune des Parties s’efforce de veiller à ce que les autorités de réglementation compétentes assurent un accès public aux mesures réglementaires visées et, dans la mesure du possible, veillent à ce que cet accès soit disponible en ligne ou par l’intermédiaire d’un portail Web spécial désigné dans son droit qui soit librement accessible au public.

Article 26.11 : Examen rétrospectif

1. Chacune des Parties devrait examiner ses mesures réglementaires visées à des intervalles qu’elle juge appropriés, afin de déterminer si elles devraient être modifiées, rationalisées, étendues ou abrogées, de manière à rendre le régime réglementaire de la Partie plus efficace pour atteindre les objectifs des politiques.

2. Chacune des Parties devrait s’efforcer de publier, dans la mesure du possible, tous plans officiels et résultats de son examen prévu au paragraphe 1.

Article 26.12 : Coopération

1. Les Parties s’efforcent de coopérer afin de mettre en œuvre le présent chapitre et de maximiser les avantages qui en découlent. Chacune des Parties devrait prendre en considération, dans le cadre des activités de coopération des Parties, les besoins de l’autre Partie. Les activités de coopération peuvent comprendre :

Article 26.13 : Rapport sur la mise en œuvre et l’examen

1. À des fins de transparence et pour servir de fondement à la coopération, chacune des Parties prépare un rapport sur la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre dans un délai de trois ans à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord et soumet des rapports ultérieurs au moins une fois tous les trois ans par la suite. Le rapport est transmis à l’autre Partie par l’intermédiaire des points de contact désignés en application de l’article 26.14.1.

2. Dans le premier rapport prévu au paragraphe 1, chacune des Parties décrit les mesures qu’elle a prises pour se conformer au présent chapitre et le mettre en œuvre depuis la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, ainsi que les mesures qu’elle prévoit de prendre à l’avenir pour mettre en œuvre le présent chapitre, notamment celles qui :

3. Dans les rapports ultérieurs prévus au paragraphe 1, chacune des Parties décrit les mesures qu’elle a prises depuis la présentation du rapport précédent et les mesures qu’elle envisage de prendre à l’avenir pour mettre en œuvre le présent chapitre.

4. Au moins une fois au cours de la période de trois ans commençant après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, chacune des Parties examine l’évolution de ses bonnes pratiques de réglementation et leurs expériences dans la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre en vue de déterminer s’il y a lieu de formuler des recommandations à la Commission mixte pour améliorer le présent chapitre afin d’accroître encore les avantages du présent accord. Au cours de cet examen, les Parties peuvent discuter du rapport d’une Partie, ou soulever des questions sur des aspects précis de celui‑ci. Les Parties peuvent également identifier des possibilités pour une aide future dans le cadre des activités de coopération.

Article 26.14 : Points de contact

1. Chacune des Parties désigne un point de contact pour les questions relevant du présent chapitre. Chacune des Parties informe l’autre Partie de qui est son point de contact et informe rapidement l’autre Partie de tous changements concernant son point de contact.

2. Chacun des points de contact est responsable de :

Article 26.15 : Relation avec les autres chapitres

En cas d’incompatibilité entre le présent chapitre et un autre chapitre du présent accord, l’autre chapitre prévaut dans la mesure de l’incompatibilité.

Article 26.16 : Non-application du mécanisme de règlement des différends

Une Partie ne peut recourir aux dispositions sur le règlement des différends du chapitre 28 (Règlement des différends) en ce qui concerne une question relevant du présent chapitre.

Date de modification: