Canada and the Organization of American States

The Organization of American States (OAS) is the premier multilateral organization of the Americas. It seeks to achieve among its member states an order of peace and justice, promote their solidarity, strengthen their collaboration and to defend their sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence. After 28 years as an observer, Canada became a member of the OAS on January 8, 1990.

Founded in 1948, the Organization of American States is the oldest regional organization in the world. It is built on four pillars: democracy, human rights, security and development.

The Organization of American States is an important multilateral vehicle for advancing Canada's goals of increasing mutual economic opportunity, strengthening security and institutions, and fostering lasting relationships.

The Organization of American States offers opportunities for study and international experience.

Canada is represented at the OAS by the Permanent Mission of Canada to the Organization of American States. The Mission is the primary channel of communication between Canada, the OAS General Secretariat and the other member states.

Jennifer Loten is the Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States.

The Permanent Mission of Canada to the OAS is located within the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Overview of the Organization of American States

Founded in 1948, the Organization of American States (OAS) is the oldest regional organization in the world. It was built upon the Pan-American Union to promote peaceful relations in the Americas. With 34 active member states, the OAS is the premier political multilateral forum of the hemisphere. The OAS has also granted permanent observer status to 70 states and the European Union. It is the only regional organization that includes North, Central and South America and the Caribbean.

The OAS is built on four pillars: democracy, human rights, security and development. These core values underlie the organization’s work in safeguarding peace and stability. They are also among the OAS’s areas of greatest expertise. OAS headquarters are located in Washington, D.C., and the organization has national offices in its member states. Member states are represented by their permanent representatives, who meet regularly to analyze hemispheric issues, have dialogues and take collective action as necessary.

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the principal body of the OAS. It gathers ministers of foreign affairs of all member states on an annual basis and also holds special sessions to consider urgent matters. OAS member states generally take decisions by consensus.

The General Assembly provides the forum where major decisions are made concerning OAS policies and actions.

Structure of the OAS

General Secretariat

The OAS General Secretariat is led by a Secretary General and an Assistant Secretary General elected by the membership for up to two five-year terms. On March 18, 2015, Uruguayan Luis Almagro Lemes was elected as the 10th Secretary General.

Permanent Council

The Permanent Council, as a main governing body of the OAS, meets regularly to set broad priorities for the organization and direct its ongoing actions. It is composed of one Permanent Representative per member state, who is accredited with the rank of ambassador.

The Inter-American Council for Integral Development

The Inter-American Council for Integral Development (CIDI) is a body of the OAS directly answerable to the General Assembly. It has decision-making power in matters of partnership for integral development. The purpose of the CIDI is to promote cooperation among its Member States to help eliminate extreme poverty.

Summit of the Americas

The leaders of the hemisphere meet every three years at the Summit of the Americas. It plays a key role in setting the priorities of the inter-American system and, more broadly, in fostering discussions at the highest level on issues of common interest for the region. The OAS serves as the technical secretariat and institutional memory of the summit process.

Since the first summit in 1994, leaders have met on seven occasions to discuss their shared vision as well as to address the political, economic and social development challenges and opportunities in the hemisphere. Peru hosted the VIII Summit of the Americas on April 13 to 14, 2018, in Lima under the theme “Democratic Governance Against Corruption.” Commitments by leaders at the Summit provide guidance for future action by inter-American institutions, chief among which is the OAS. 

Canada reports on its progress in implementing commitments made at the summits. Please see reports submitted by Canada and other member states.

Summits provide an opportunity for an exchange between leaders and civil society organizations, private sector and youth from across the region. It is a highly valued platform for Canada to engage with countries of the hemisphere and to advance our foreign policy, trade and development priorities in the region.

For more information, see Summits of the Americas Secretariat.

Canada’s priorities

The Organization of American States (OAS) is an important multilateral vehicle for advancing Canada's goals of increasing mutual economic opportunity, strengthening security and institutions, and fostering lasting relationships.

Canada places great value on building and nurturing relationships with partners in the Americas. In this endeavour, inter-American institutions such as the Inter-American Human Rights Commission, Inter-American Commission on Women, Inter-American Development Bank and Pan American Health Organization are also key forums for hemispheric cooperation.

Canada’s strongest engagement at the OAS is in the areas of democracy, human rights and security. Our specific priorities at the OAS are to:

  1. contribute to building a stable foundation for the Inter-American Human Rights System in support of diversity and pluralism;
  2. promote democracy, governance, public safety and security through collaboration with inter-American bodies and agencies; and
  3. Support multilateral action in the Americas to advance global sustainability goals, including fostering economic growth and opportunity.

A number of Canada’s efforts touch all three of these priorities. Canada’s cross-cutting thematic areas are institutional strengthening, human rights, gender issues and indigenous populations, security and public safety, and alignment with the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals.

Canada’s contribution

Since joining the OAS in 1990, Canada has made significant contributions to the OAS’s collective achievements, including through the establishment of the Inter-American Democratic Charter, the adoption of the Social Charter of the Americas, and the elaboration of a Declaration on Security in the Americas. To ensure that the OAS plays an effective role in the hemisphere, Canada has promoted institutional reform. Canada is also working with the OAS to foster both sustainable development and growth with equity.

Through its diplomatic engagement and financial support, Canada has contributed to policy development and the implementation of projects in areas of key Canadian interest that complement and leverage the impact of Canada’s bilateral interventions in the region.

Youth opportunities

The Organization of American States (OAS) offers opportunities for study and international experience.

OAS scholarships

The OAS Academic Scholarship Program (Regular Program) grants scholarships every year for the pursuit of master’s degrees, doctoral degrees and graduate research leading to a university degree. For more information, see Scholarships for Academic Studies.

Internships at the OAS

The OAS offers youth a unique opportunity to acquire experience in different areas of expertise in an international and multicultural environment enhancing their networking possibilities. In addition, they will have the chance to acquire significant knowledge of the OAS and its mission, pillars, structure and projects in the hemisphere. For more information, see the OAS internship program.

Model OAS

The Model OAS for students of the hemisphere is a program of the OAS designed to promote democratic values among the youth by familiarizing students, faculty and academic institutions of the Americas with the work of the OAS and its Member States, as well as with the organization’s role as the premier political forum in the hemisphere. For more information, see the Model OAS General Assembly.

About the Permanent Mission of Canada

Canada is represented at the OAS by the Permanent Mission of Canada to the Organization of American States. The Mission is the primary channel of communication between Canada, the OAS General Secretariat and the other member states. The role of the Mission is to advance the Canadian government’s objectives and interests through the OAS and to work with hemispheric partners through the organization.

The Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States is supported by a team of diplomats and delegates who represent Canada across a range of OAS bodies, including the Permanent Council, the Inter-American Council for Integral Development, committees, agencies and institutions including the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and the Inter-American Commission of Women.

The Mission also represents the Canadian government at the Pan American Health Organization.

Message from the Ambassador

Canada is a country of the Americas. Through active engagement at the OAS, we collaborate to build a hemisphere that offers security, opportunity and justice to the peoples of the Americas.

The OAS has important convening power that allows our delegation to put strong Canadian values, such as respect for human rights, democratic institutions, diversity and equity, at the centre of interactions between member states.

At its best, the OAS mobilizes the countries of the Americas to speak together as a strong voice for democratic values and to fight for rights and equality by implementing the values and principles enshrined in its foundational agreements, including the OAS Charter, the Inter-American Democratic Charter and the Declaration on Hemispheric Security. OAS core institutions have sought to expand access to the benefits, privileges and responsibilities of citizenship in the Americas for the most vulnerable populations and to constantly increase our expectations of the democratically elected governments of the Americas.

It is a great privilege to represent Canada among our Americas friends, knowing that over the 25+ years of membership at the OAS, we have made significant contributions to some of the OAS’s greatest collective achievements for the Americas. Canada has much more to do!

Jennifer Loten
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States

Contact information

The Permanent Mission of Canada to the OAS is located within the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Address

501 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Telephone: (202) 448-6556

Email: PRMOASG@international.gc.ca

Hours of operation

Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Organisation des États américains

L’Organisation des États américains (OEA) est la principale organisation multilatérale des Amériques. Celle-ci vise à instaurer la paix et la justice parmi les États membres, promouvoir leur solidarité, renforcer leur collaboration et défendre leur souveraineté, leur intégrité territoriale et leur indépendance. Après 28 ans à titre d’observateur, le Canada est devenu membre de l’OEA le 8 janvier 1990.

Fondée en 1948, l'Organisation des États américains est la plus ancienne organisation régionale du monde. Elle repose sur quatre piliers: la démocratie, les droits de la personne, la sécurité et le développement.

L'Organisation des États américains est un outil multilatéral important pour faire progresser les objectifs du Canada en matière d'accroissement des possibilités économiques mutuelles, de promotion de relations durables et de renforcement de la sécurité et des institutions.

L'Organisation des États américains offre des possibilités d'études et d'expérience internationale.

Le Canada est représenté à l'OEA par la Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'Organisation des États américains. La mission est le principal voie de communication entre le Canada, le Secrétariat général de l'OEA et les autres États membres.

Hugh Adsett est ambassadeur et représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l'Organisation des États américains.

La mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'OEA est située au sein de l'ambassade du Canada à Washington, D.C.

Aperçu de l’Organisation des États américains

Fondée en 1948, l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) est la plus ancienne organisation régionale du monde. Cette organisation, qui a remplacé l’Union panaméricaine, a pour objectif de promouvoir des relations pacifiques dans les Amériques. L’OEA est le principal forum multilatéral de l’hémisphère avec 34 États membres à son actif. L’OEA a aussi accordé le statut d’observateur permanent à 70 États ainsi qu'à l’Union européenne. C’est la seule organisation régionale qui comprend l’Amérique du Nord, l’Amérique centrale, l’Amérique du Sud et les Caraïbes.

L’OEA repose sur quatre piliers : la démocratie, les droits de la personne, la sécurité et le développement. Ces valeurs fondamentales sous-tendent les efforts de l’organisation visant la sauvegarde de la paix et de la stabilité. Elles font également partie des domaines d’expertise de l’OEA. Le siège de l’OEA se trouve à Washington, et l’Organisation a aussi des bureaux nationaux dans ses États membres. Les États membres sont représentés par leur représentant permanent. Les représentants des États membres se réunissent régulièrement pour analyser les situations touchant l’hémisphère, pour échanger et pour prendre des mesures concertées, s’il y a lieu.

Assemblée générale

L’Assemblée générale est l’organe principal de l’OEA. Les ministres des Affaires étrangères de tous les États membres s’y rassemblent chaque année, et des sessions spéciales se tiennent aussi lorsqu’une situation urgente l’exige. Les États membres de l’OEA prennent généralement leurs décisions par consensus.

L’Assemblée générale est la tribune où se prennent les décisions importantes concernant les politiques et les mesures de l’OEA.

Structure de l’OEA

Secrétariat général

Le Secrétariat général de l’OEA est dirigé par un secrétaire général et un secrétaire général adjoint qui sont élus par les États membres pour un maximum de deux mandats de cinq ans. Le 18 mars 2015, l’Uruguayen Luis Almagro Lemes, a été élu à titre de 10e secrétaire général.

Conseil permanent

Le Conseil permanent, en tant qu’organe directeur principal de l’OEA, se réunit régulièrement pour établir les priorités générales de l’organisation et piloter les activités en cours. Il est composé d’un représentant permanent pour chaque État membre, accrédité auprès de cet organe avec rang d’ambassadeur.

Conseil interaméricain pour le développement intégré

Le Conseil interaméricain pour le développement intégré (CIDI) est un organe de l’OEA qui se rapporte directement à l’Assemblée générale. Ce conseil a le pouvoir décisionnel en matière de partenariat pour le développement intégré. L’objectif du CIDI est de promouvoir la coopération entre ses États membres en vue d’aider à éliminer la pauvreté extrême.

Sommet des Amériques

Tous les trois ans, les dirigeants de l’hémisphère se réunissent au Sommet des Amériques. Ce dernier joue un rôle clé dans l’établissement des priorités du système interaméricain et, plus généralement, dans la stimulation de discussions au plus haut niveau sur des enjeux d’intérêt commun à la région. L’OEA agit comme secrétariat technique et mémoire institutionnelle pour le processus du Sommet.

Depuis le premier sommet en 1994, les dirigeants se sont réunis à sept occasions différentes afin de discuter de leur vision commune ainsi que des questions et possibilités liées au développement politique, économique et social dans l’hémisphère. Le Pérou a accueilli le VIIIe Sommet des Amériques les 13 et 14 avril 2018, à Lima, sous le thème « La gouvernance démocratique contre la corruption ». Les engagements des dirigeants au Sommet orientent les mesures à venir des institutions interaméricaines, dont l’OEA est au premier rang.

Le Canada présente des rapports sur la mise en œuvre des engagements pris lors des sommets. Veuillez consulter les rapports présentés par le Canada et les autres États membres..

Les sommets donnent l’occasion de tenir des échanges entre les dirigeants, les organisations de la société civile, le secteur privé et les jeunes de toute la région. Le Sommet représente une tribune d’une grande importance qui permet au Canada de collaborer avec des pays de l’hémisphère et de faire avancer les dossiers prioritaires en matière de politique étrangère, de commerce et de développement dans la région.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Sommets du secrétariat des Amériques (en anglais seulement).

Les priorités du Canada

L’Organisation des États américains (OEA) est un véhicule multilatéral important pour contribuer à l’atteinte des objectifs du Canada, soit d'accroître les possibilités économiques mutuelles, de renforcer la sécurité et les institutions et de favoriser des relations durables.

Le Canada attache une grande importance à l’établissement et à l'approfondissement de relations avec des partenaires des Amériques. Dans cette optique, des institutions interaméricaines telles que la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme, la Commission interaméricaine des femmes, la Banque interaméricaine de développement et l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé sont également des tribunes clés pour la coopération dans l’hémisphère.

Les plus grands engagements du Canada auprès de l’OEA sont dans les sphères de la démocratie, des droits de la personne et de la sécurité. Nos priorités concrètes à l’OEA sont les suivantes :

  1. contribuer à la construction d’une base stable pour le Système interaméricain des droits de la personne en faveur de la diversité et du pluralisme;
  2. promouvoir la démocratie, la bonne gouvernance, la sûreté publique et la sécurité grâce à la collaboration avec les organes et les organismes interaméricains;
  3. soutenir l’action multilatérale dans les Amériques pour faire avancer les objectifs mondiaux de développement durable, notamment en favorisant la croissance et les possibilités économiques.

Plusieurs efforts du Canada touchent ces trois priorités. Les thématiques transversales sont dans les domaines suivants : le renforcement institutionnel, les droits de la personne, les enjeux liés au genre, les populations autochtones, la sécurité publique, ainsi que la concordance avec les Objectifs du développement durable à l’horizon 2030.

Contribution du Canada

Depuis que le Canada s’est joint à l’OEA en 1990, il a contribué de façon significative aux réalisations collectives de l’OEA, notamment à la réalisation de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine, à l’adoption de la Charte sociale des Amériques, et à l’élaboration d’une déclaration sur la sécurité dans les Amériques. Afin de s’assurer que l’OEA joue un rôle efficace dans l’hémisphère, le Canada a encouragé la mise en œuvre d’une réforme institutionnelle. Le Canada travaille également avec l’OEA afin de favoriser un développement durable et une croissance équitable.

Grâce à son engagement diplomatique et à son soutien financier, le Canada assure le développement de politiques et la mise en œuvre de projets dans des domaines qui correspondent aux principaux intérêts canadiens, ce qui complète et renforce les effets découlant des interventions bilatérales du Canada dans la région.

Opportunités pour les jeunes

L’Organisation des États américains (OEA) offre des possibilités d’études et d’expériences internationales.

Bourses d’études de l’OEA

Le programme de bourses d’études universitaires de l’OEA (programme régulier) permet d’offrir annuellement des bourses d’études pour poursuivre des études de maîtrise et de doctorat, et pour effectuer des travaux de recherche menant à un grade universitaire. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le programme de bourses d’études universitaires de l’OEA.

Stages à l’OEA

L’OEA offre aux jeunes une occasion unique d'acquérir de l’expérience dans divers domaines d’expertise, dans un environnement international et multiculturel en vue d'accroître leurs occasions de réseautage. De plus, ils auront l’occasion d’acquérir de vastes connaissances sur l’OEA et sa mission, ses piliers, sa structure et ses projets dans l’hémisphère. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le programme de stages de l'OEA.

Simulation de l’Assemblée générale de l’OEA

Le modèle de l’OEA pour les étudiants de l’hémisphère est un programme de l’OEA qui vise à faire la promotion des valeurs démocratiques auprès des jeunes en familiarisant les étudiants, les facultés et les établissements universitaires des Amériques avec le travail qu’effectue l’Organisation et ses États membres, ainsi que le rôle joué par l’Organisation en tant que principal forum politique de l’hémisphère. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la simulation de l'Assemblée générale de l'OEA.

Au sujet de la mission permanente du Canada

Le Canada est représenté à l’OEA par la mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains. La mission est la principale voie de communication entre le Canada, le Secrétariat général de l’OEA et les autres États membres. Le rôle de la mission consiste à faire avancer les objectifs et les intérêts du gouvernement canadien par l’intermédiaire de l’OEA et à coopérer avec les partenaires de l’hémisphère dans le cadre des activités de l’organisation.

L’ambassadeur et représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains est soutenu par une équipe de diplomates et de délégués qui représentent le Canada dans un vaste éventail d’organes de l’OEA, y compris le Conseil permanent, le Conseil interaméricain pour le développement intégré, des comités, des organismes et des institutions, tels que la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l'homme et la Commission interaméricaine des femmes.

La mission représente également le gouvernement canadien à l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé.

Message de l'ambassadeur

Le Canada fête en 2020 ses 30 ans en tant que membre de l'Organisation des États américains (OEA). Et c'est un plaisir de vous accueillir sur la page d'accueil de la Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'Organisation des États américains.

Bien que le Canada demeure un ajout relativement nouveau à l'OÉA par rapport aux membres fondateurs et autres membres de l’organisation, nous sommes fiers de ce que nous avons accompli en tant que Canadiens au sein de l'OÉA, en travaillant en partenariat avec nos nombreux amis dans la région au cours des trois dernières décennies. Il reste, bien entendu, beaucoup à faire. L'OÉA a un rôle extrêmement important à jouer en tant que principal forum régional de débat, de discussion et de coopération entre tous les pays des Amériques. Les défis les plus importants auxquels nous sommes confrontés en tant que pays et en tant que région ne peuvent être résolus seuls, et cela est vrai qu’il s’agisse de démocratie, de droits de la personne, de sécurité multidimensionnelle et de développement durable, soit les quatre piliers du travail de l'OEA. Ce n'est qu'en travaillant ensemble que nous continuerons à construire l’hémisphère plus pacifique, juste et équitable auquel nous aspirons tous.

Le Canada continuera d'être un champion de la diversité et de l'inclusion, ainsi que des droits des populations marginalisées, y compris les LGBTQ2 et les communautés autochtones. Nous continuerons de lutter pour l'égalité des sexes, en encourageant la participation active, le leadership et l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles. Et nous travaillerons sans relâche pour promouvoir et protéger la démocratie et les droits de l'homme partout où ils sont menacés.

Nous tous, à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains, sommes très fiers d’apporter notre contribution à ces objectifs et de faire partie de cette importante institution et de son travail.

Vous pouvez nous écrire à PRMOASG@international.gc.ca.

Suivez notre compte Twitter : @CanadaOEA (Version Espagnol : @CanadayOEA)

Suivez notre page Facebook : Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’OEA  (Version Espagnol : CanadayOEA)

Ce sera un plaisir d’avoir de vos nouvelles.

Hugh Adsett
Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains

Informations de contact

La mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’OEA est située dans les prémisses de l’ambassade du Canada à Washington (D.C.).

Adresse

501 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Téléphone : (202) 448-6556

Courriel : PRMOASG@international.gc.ca

Heures d'ouverture

Du lundi au vendredi : de 9h00 à 17h30

Date de modification: