Language selection

Search

Canada-Equatorial Guinea relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Equatorial Guinea in 1968, when the country achieved independence. Since Equatorial Guinea adopted French as a second national language in 1989, the International Organization of La Francophonie has become the main forum for cooperation between the two countries.

Canada continues to encourage Equatorial Guinea to establish the rule of law and uphold due process, democratic principles, freedom of expression and the protection of human rights. Canada also encourages Equatorial Guinea’s cooperation with international financial institutions so that economic benefits from petroleum development are used to diversify the country’s economy and reduce poverty.

Canada is currently represented in Equatorial Guinea by the High Commission of Canada in Nigeria, in Abuja. Equatorial Guinea’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York serves as its representation to Canada.

Trade relations

In 2020, bilateral trade between Canada and Equatorial Guinea reached $7.08 million.

Related links

Development

In 2020-2021, Canada’s development assistance to Equatorial Guinea reached $350,000. Canada’s international assistance to the country aligns with Equatorial Guinea’s National Plan for Sustainable Development 2020-2035, and with the areas of action of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, particularly in the area of environment and climate action.

See Project Browser for additional information on programming in Equatorial Guinea.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Equatorial Guinea work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Guinée équatoriale

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la Guinée équatoriale en 1968, au moment où le pays a accédé à son indépendance. Depuis que la Guinée équatoriale a adopté le français comme seconde langue nationale en 1989, l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie est devenue la principale tribune de collaboration entre les deux pays.

Le Canada continue d’encourager la Guinée équatoriale à établir l’état de droit et à respecter l’application régulière de la loi, sans compter les principes démocratiques, la liberté d’expression et les droits de la personne. Le Canada encourage aussi la Guinée équatoriale à coopérer avec les institutions financières internationales afin que les avantages économiques tirés de l’exploitation pétrolière servent à diversifier l’économie du pays et à réduire la pauvreté.

Le Canada est représenté en Guinée équatoriale par le haut-commissariat du Canada au Nigéria, à Abuja. La mission permanente de la Guinée équatoriale auprès des Nations Unies à New York assure la représentation du pays auprès du Canada.

Relations commerciales

Le commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et la Guinée équatoriale a atteint 7,08 millions de dollars en 2020.

Liens connexes

Développement

En 2020-2021, l’aide au développement du Canada à la Guinée équatoriale a atteint 350 000 $. L’aide internationale du Canada à ce pays s’aligne sur le Plan national de développement durable 2020-2035 de la Guinée équatoriale ainsi qu’aux champs d’action de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, notamment en matière d’environnement et d’action pour le climat.

Voir la Banque de projets pour plus de détails sur la programmation en Guinée équatoriale.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la Guinée équatoriale collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: