Language selection

Search

Canada-India relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Canada and India have longstanding bilateral relations built upon shared traditions of democracy, pluralism and strong interpersonal connections. Canada is home to one of the largest South Asian communities abroad per capita, with approximately 5.6% of Canadians being of Indian heritage (1.9 million people).

The deep cultural and political ties between Canada and India are strengthened by a growing network of official dialogues, agreements, memoranda of understanding and working groups. At the Ministerial level, Canada and India enjoy a strategic partnership underpinned by Ministerial Dialogues on:

  • foreign policy
  • trade and investment
  • finance
  • energy

At the officials level, there are regular working groups that focus on:

  • counter-terrorism
  • security
  • agriculture
  • education
  • science and technology

In India, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in New Delhi. Canada also has Consulates General in Bengaluru, Chandigarh and Mumbai, as well as trade offices in Ahmedabad, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata. In addition, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has a significant presence in India; the High Commission in New Delhi is in fact home to Canada’s largest visa office abroad.

India is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Ottawa and by consulates in Toronto and Vancouver.

Trade relationship

A priority market for Canada, India is Canada’s 9th largest export market, and 10th largest trading partner overall. Canada’s commercial priorities in India are targeted at India’s policy objectives and sectors where Canada has a comparative advantage. These priorities include:

  • supporting India’s energy security ambitions through increased exports of conventional and nuclear energy as well as clean and renewable energy technology;
  • helping India meet its substantial urban and transportation infrastructure needs through provision of financing, equipment, technology and engineering services;
  • enhanced education and skills training through greater collaboration between Canadian and Indian educational and technical skills institutions;
  • commercial research and development to drive innovation in such sectors as information and communications technologies;
  • increased exports of food products and fertilizers to support India’s food security needs.

Canada and India are undertaking bilateral negotiations toward both a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement and a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). Canada and India hold regular Ministerial Dialogues on trade and investment, as well as energy.

Canada also has an advanced suite of bilateral agreements and MOUs with India that touch on commerce, including:

  • Nuclear cooperation
  • Double taxation
  • Science and technology
  • Agriculture
  • Civil aviation
  • Energy
  • Rail
  • Road transportation
  • Education
  • Information and communications technologies

In 2018, India was the largest source of international students for Canada’s universities, colleges and schools.

Trade and investment agreements

Trade and investment agreements involving Canada and the India:

For more information, consult trade and investment agreements.

Development relationship

After 55 years of bilateral programming in India totaling $2.39 billion, Canada’s bilateral development assistance program came to an end in 2006 following a change in Indian government policy regarding aid. However, Global Affairs Canada continues to provide development assistance to India through Indian and Canadian Non-Governmental Organizations, and through multilateral mechanisms such as the World Bank and the Asian Development Bank.

Canada invested $4.55 million in 2018-2019 to support 20 projects in India via Grand Challenges Canada. The main programming sector of the Partnerships for Development Innovation Branch is maternal, newborn and child health, which includes support to early childhood development. In 2016–2017, Canada contributed approximately $23.4 million to India through long-term institutional support to multilateral organizations. Canadian funding supports key organizations active in India including the Micronutrient Initiative, the United Nations Development Program, the United Nations Population Fund and the Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer.

Key organizations supported by Canada that are active in India include Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, the World Bank, the United Nations Population Fund , UNICEF, the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB, and Malaria , the Gavi Vaccine Alliance, and Nutrition International. Key sectors supported in India by Global Affairs Canada through multilateral funding include: sustainable economic development, treatment of infectious diseases, and nutrition.

IDRC continues to have an active presence in India with projects focusing on the links between climate change and migration; the reduction of violence against vulnerable populations; women’s rights, security and access to justice; economic opportunities for Indian workers, especially women; and improving food security. Since 1974, IDRC has programmed $143 million in India.

Partners and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and India work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Inde

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et l’Inde entretiennent depuis longtemps des relations bilatérales fondées sur un attachement commun à la démocratie et au pluralisme, ainsi que sur des liens solides entre leurs populations. Le Canada est l’un des pays où les communautés d’origine sud-asiatique sont les plus importantes par habitant. C’est ainsi que 5,6 p. 100 des Canadiens sont d’ascendance indienne (1,9 million de personnes).

Un nombre croissant de dialogues officiels, d’ententes, de protocoles d’entente et de groupes de travail contribuent à renforcer les liens culturels et politiques profonds entre les deux pays. Au niveau ministériel, le Canada et l’Inde entretiennent un partenariat stratégique dans lequel le dialogue dans les domaines suivants joue un rôle fondamental :

  • politique étrangère;
  • commerce et investissements;
  • services financiers;
  • énergie.

Au niveau des fonctionnaires, des groupes de travail se penchent régulièrement sur les questions suivantes :

  • lutte contre le terrorisme;
  • sécurité;
  • agriculture;
  • éducation;
  • sciences et technologie.

En Inde, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à New Delhi. Il a aussi des consulats généraux à Bengaluru, à Chandigarh et à Mumbai, auxquels s’ajoutent des bureaux commerciaux à Ahmedabad, à Chennai, à Hyderabad et à Kolkata. De plus, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) est très présent en Inde, puisque le haut-commissariat à New Delhi abrite le plus grand bureau canadien des visas à l’étranger.

L’Inde est représentée au Canada par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa et des consulats à Toronto et à Vancouver.

Relations commerciales

L’Inde est le 9e marché d’exportation du Canada et son 10e partenaire commercial, si bien qu’il s’agit pour lui d’un marché prioritaire. Ses priorités commerciales dans ce pays sont en phase avec les objectifs stratégiques du gouvernement indien et se concentrent sur des secteurs où il possède un avantage comparatif. Elles consistent à :

  • aider l’Inde à assurer sa sécurité énergétique en augmentant les exportations canadiennes d’énergie conventionnelle et nucléaire vers celle-ci, en plus des exportations de technologies énergétiques propres et renouvelables;
  • aider l’Inde à répondre à ses besoins importants en matière d’infrastructures urbaines et de transport par la fourniture de financement, d’équipement, de technologie et de services d’ingénierie;
  • améliorer l’éducation et la formation professionnelle grâce à une plus grande collaboration entre les établissements d’enseignement et de formation technique des deux pays;
  • soutenir la recherche et le développement commerciaux pour stimuler l’innovation dans des secteurs tels que les technologies de l’information et des communications;
  • accroître les exportations de produits alimentaires et d’engrais pour répondre aux besoins indiens en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

Le Canada poursuit des négociations bilatérales avec l’Inde en vue de conclure un accord de partenariat économique global et un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE). En outre, les deux pays tiennent régulièrement des dialogues ministériels sur le commerce et l’investissement, ainsi que sur l’énergie.

Ils ont aussi conclu une série d’accords bilatéraux et de protocoles d’entente modernes en lien avec le commerce, y compris dans les domaines suivants :

  • Coopération nucléaire
  • Double imposition
  • Sciences et technologie
  • Agriculture
  • Aviation civile
  • Énergie
  • Transport ferroviaire
  • Transport routier
  • Éducation
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications

En 2018, l’Inde était la première source d’étudiants étrangers inscrits dans les universités, les collèges et les écoles du Canada.

Accords en matière de commerce et d’investissement

Voici une liste des accords sur le commerce et l’investissement comprenant le Canada et l’Inde :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement.

Relations en matière de développement

Après 55 ans de programmes bilatéraux en Inde totalisant 2,39 milliards de dollars canadiens, le Programme canadien d’assistance bilatérale au développement a pris fin en 2006 à la suite d’un changement de politique du gouvernement indien en matière d’aide. Il n’empêche qu’Affaires mondiales Canada continue de fournir une assistance à l’Inde par l’entremise d’organisations non gouvernementales indiennes et canadiennes. Il le fait également au moyen de mécanismes multilatéraux, comme la Banque mondiale et la Banque asiatique de développement.

Le Canada a investi 4,55 millions de dollars en 2018-2019 pour appuyer 20 projets en Inde par l’entremise de Grands Défis Canada. Le principal secteur de programmation du secteur Partenariats pour l’innovation dans le développement est celui de la santé maternelle, néonatale et infantile, qui comprend le soutien au développement de la petite enfance. En 2016-2017, le Canada versé environ 23,4 millions de dollars en Inde au moyen du soutien institutionnel à long terme aux organisations multilatérales. Le financement canadien appuie des organismes clés actifs en Inde, notamment l’Initiative pour les micronutriments, le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population et le Fonds multilatéral du Protocole de Montréal relatif aux substances qui appauvrissent la couche d’ozone.

Les principales organisations appuyées par le Canada qui sont actives en Inde comprennent la Banque asiatique d’investissement pour les infrastructures, la Banque mondiale, le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population, l’UNICEF, le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, Gavi, l’Alliance du vaccin et Nutrition International. Les secteurs clés appuyés en Inde par Affaires mondiales Canada grâce à un financement multilatéral comprennent le développement économique durable, le traitement des maladies infectieuses et la nutrition.

Le CRDI maintient une présence active en Inde et y met en œuvre des projets axés sur les liens entre les changements climatiques et la migration; la réduction de la violence à l’égard des populations vulnérables; les droits et la sécurité des femmes et leur accès à la justice; les débouchés économiques pour des travailleurs indiens, particulièrement les femmes; l’amélioration de la sécurité alimentaire. Depuis 1974, le CRDI réalise des programmes qui se chiffrent à une valeur de 143 millions de dollars en Inde.

Partenaires et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et l’Inde collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

 

Date de modification: