Language selection

Search

Canada-Nepal relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Nepal in 1965. Canada’s bilateral relations are managed by the High Commission of Canada in India, in New Delhi. Canada also has an honorary consul based in Kathmandu. Nepal established an embassy in Ottawa and has honorary consuls in Calgary and Victoria, as well as an honorary consul general in Toronto.

Trade relations

Bilateral trade is modest, with potential for additional growth. In 2018, Canadian exports to Nepal totalled $105.8 million, an increase of over 600% from 2018’s total of $14.8 million, largely attributable to significant increases in exports of soybeans, rapeseeds, lentils, and peas. Other important exports include turbo propellers and vegetable oils. Canadian imports from Nepal totalled $13.7 million. In recent years, Canada has organized visits to Nepal aimed at encouraging Canadian companies to interact with the Nepalese business community to promote Canadian capabilities and cooperate in areas of mutual interest, such as in hydropower, infrastructure, and clean technology. Potential growth could also be tapped by introducing new technologies that through in-market adaptation and joint research and development, could be applied to Nepal’s requests that correspond to their specific environmental needs in areas like energy, urban development, and mining.

Related links

Development

From 1968 to 2013, Canada contributed approximately $470 million in support of international assistance projects in Nepal. Canada continues to provide official development assistance to Nepal through partnership programming between international, Canada and Nepali non-governmental organizations and academic institutions.

Canada continues to fund modest international assistance projects in Nepal through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

Canada has also contributed to reconstruction and relief efforts following natural disasters in Nepal, most recently in 2017 in response to flooding and landslides. Following the 2015 earthquake, Canada deployed the Disaster Assistance Relief Team and established the Nepal Earthquake Relief Fund. The Fund provided a total of $51.7 million in humanitarian assistance funding.

In addition to bilateral international assistance, Canada’s Asia Trade and Investment for Growth program has provided $13.9 million in funding to the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific to promote a gender-responsive entrepreneurial ecosystem in six countries, including Nepal. Canada has also committed $20 million over four years to the UNFPA-UNICEF Programme to Accelerate Action to End Child Marriage which will be implemented in twelve countries, including Nepal.

Operations

Since Nepal became a member of Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Program in 1991, over 250 members of the Nepali Army have participated in different training opportunities offered by the Canadian Armed Forces. The program includes language, peace support operations and military professional development training.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Nepal work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Népal

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Népal en 1965. Les relations bilatérales du Canada sont gérées par le haut-commissariat du Canada à New Delhi en Inde. Le Canada a aussi un consul honoraire à Katmandou. Le Népal a établi une ambassade à Ottawa et a des consuls honoraires à Calgary et à Victoria, ainsi qu’un consul général honoraire à Toronto.

Relations commerciales

Le commerce bilatéral est modeste et présente un potentiel de croissance. En 2018, les exportations canadiennes vers le Népal ont totalisé 105,8 millions de dollars, soit une augmentation de plus de 600 % par rapport aux 14,8 millions de dollars de 2018, attribuable en grande partie à l’augmentation importante des exportations de soja, de colza, de lentilles et de pois. Parmi les autres exportations importantes, mentionnons les turbopropulseurs et les huiles végétales. Les importations canadiennes en provenance du Népal ont totalisé 13,7 millions de dollars. Ces dernières années, le Canada a organisé des visites au Népal dans le but d’encourager les entreprises canadiennes à interagir avec le milieu des affaires népalais pour promouvoir les capacités canadiennes et coopérer dans des domaines d’intérêt mutuel, comme l’hydroélectricité, les infrastructures et les technologies propres. La croissance potentielle pourrait également être exploitée par l’introduction de nouvelles technologies qui, grâce à l’adaptation sur le marché et à la recherche et au développement conjoints, pourraient être appliquées aux demandes du Népal qui correspondent à ses besoins environnementaux spécifiques dans des domaines tels que l’énergie, le développement urbain et les mines.

Liens connexes

Développement

De 1968 à 2013, le Canada a versé environ 470 millions de dollars en soutien à des projets d’aide internationale au Népal. Le Canada continue de fournir une aide publique au développement au Népal par l’intermédiaire de programmes de partenariats entre des organisations non gouvernementales et des établissements d’enseignement internationaux népalais et canadiens.

Le Canada continue de financer de modestes projets d’aide internationale au Népal par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Le Canada a également contribué aux efforts de reconstruction et de secours à la suite de catastrophes naturelles au Népal, dont la plus récente en 2017 en réponse aux inondations et aux glissements de terrain. À la suite du séisme de 2015, le Canada a déployé l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe et créé le Fonds d’aide aux victimes du séisme au Népal. Le Fonds a fourni un total de 51,7 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire.

En plus de l’aide internationale bilatérale, le programme Croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie du Canada a fourni 13,9 millions de dollars à la Commission économique et sociale des Nations Unies pour l’Asie et le Pacifique afin de promouvoir un écosystème entrepreneurial tenant compte de la dimension hommes-femmes dans six pays, dont le Népal. Le Canada s’est également engagé à verser 20 millions de dollars sur quatre ans au programme UNFPA-UNICEF pour accélérer la lutte contre le mariage des enfants, qui sera mis en œuvre dans douze pays, dont le Népal.

Opérations

Depuis que le Népal est devenu membre du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM) du Canada en 1991, plus de 250 membres de l’armée népalaise ont participé à différentes possibilités de formation offertes par les Forces armées canadiennes. Le programme comprend de la formation linguistique, de la formation sur les opérations de soutien à la paix et du perfectionnement professionnel destiné aux militaires.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Népal collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: