Language selection

Search

Canada-Saudi Arabia relations

Bilateral relations 

Bilateral relations between Canada and Saudi Arabia include common interests on many peace and security issues, including energy security, humanitarian affairs (including refugees), and counter-terrorism. Saudi Arabia is a leader of the Arab and Muslim worlds, and Guardian of the Two Holy Mosques (Mecca and Medina). Every year thousands of Canadians are among the approximately two million Muslims who perform the annual hajj, or pilgrimage, to Mecca.

Saudi Arabia is one of the world’s leading oil exporters, exporting 12% of the world’s oil in 2020. As of 2019, it holds 16% of the world’s known oil reserves. The Kingdom plays a key role in the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and has considerable influence on the global economy.

In 2020, Saudi Arabia was Canada’s second largest export market in the region, after the United Arab Emirates. The Kingdom led in merchandise imports to Canada from the MENA region in 2020, followed by Egypt.

In Saudi Arabia, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to Saudi Arabia, in Riyadh. Saudi Arabia is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa.

Trade relations

Trade and economic interests continue to be at the forefront of Canada's bilateral relations with Saudi Arabia. In 2021, Canadian exports to Saudi Arabia amounted to $2.2  billion and imports represented $2.4  billion. Canadian imports were made almost entirely of oil and petrochemicals. Canadian exports were for 75% composed of transportation equipment. Consumers goods, machineries and electronic & electrical equipment represent sizable exports as well. 

Saudi Arabia has embarked on a large scale development program with for objective the diversification of its economy away from oil. This program, called "Vision 2030", will lead to the development of new industrial sectors such as manufacturing, logistics, tourism and entertainment. This development will aim to be environmentally sustainable and to promote the use of clean energy. Vision 2030 should represent interesting opportunities for Canadian suppliers of goods and services.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Saudi Arabia work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Arabie saoudite

Relations bilatérales 

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et l’Arabie saoudite comprennent des intérêts communs sur de nombreuses questions de paix et de sécurité, notamment la sécurité énergétique, les affaires humanitaires (y compris les réfugiés) et la lutte contre le terrorisme. L’Arabie saoudite est un chef de file des mondes arabe et musulman, et le gardien des deux saintes mosquées (La Mecque et Médina). Chaque année, des milliers de Canadiens font partie des quelque deux millions de musulmans qui effectuent le hajj annuel, ou pèlerinage, à La Mecque.

L’Arabie saoudite est l’un des principaux exportateurs de pétrole au monde, ayant exporté 12 % du pétrole mondial en 2020. En date de 2019, elle détient 16 % des réserves de pétrole connues dans le monde. Le Royaume joue un rôle clé au sein de l’Organisation des pays exportateurs de pétrole (OPEP) et exerce une influence considérable sur l’économie mondiale.

En 2020, l’Arabie saoudite était le deuxième marché d’exportation du Canada dans la région, après les Émirats arabes unis. Le Royaume a été en tête des importations de marchandises au Canada en provenance de la région du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord en 2020, suivi de l’Égypte.

En Arabie saoudite, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Riyad. L’Arabie saoudite est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa.

Relations commerciales

Les intérêts commerciaux et économiques demeurent au premier plan des relations bilatérales du Canada avec l'Arabie saoudite. En 2021, les exportations canadiennes se sont chiffrées à 2.2 milliards de dollars et les importations à 2.4 milliards de dollars. Les importations canadiennes étaient composées presque exclusivement de pétrole et de produits pétrochimiques. Les exportations canadiennes étaient composées à 75 % de matériel de transport. Les biens de consommation, la machinerie de même que l'équipement électronique et électrique représentaient aussi des exportations appréciables.

L'Arabie Saoudite s'est engagée dans un programme de développement à grande échelle qui a pour objectif la diversification de son économie au-delà du pétrole. Ce programme, appelé « Vision 2030 », mènera au développement de nouveaux secteurs industriels comme le secteur manufacturier, la logistique, le tourisme et le divertissement. Ce développement aura pour but d'être durable et fera la promotion des énergies vertes. Vision 2030 devrait représenter des opportunités d'affaires intéressantes pour les fournisseurs canadiens de biens et de services.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et l'Arabie saoudite collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: