Join the Discussion:  Responsible Business Conduct strategy for Canadian companies abroad

from Global Affairs Canada

Current status: Open

Opened on September 18, 2020. Stakeholders have until 11:59 p.m. (Pacific Time) on October 26, 2020 to submit their responses, comments, and suggestions. The Government of Canada is committed to hearing from Canadians on this important subject and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views.

The Government of Canada is soliciting views from interested Canadians on a renewed Responsible Business Conduct (RBC) strategy to guide the Government of Canada and Canadian companies active abroad with respect to their responsible business activities.

Join in: how to participate

Global Affairs Canada has developed an issue paper for the consultation. We invite you to review it and provide comments to the Responsible Business Practices Division at Global Affairs Canada by email at RBCconsultationsCRE@international.gc.ca or by sending a letter with your views and input to the address in contact information below.

Consultation details

The Government of Canada is committed to advancing the responsible business practices of Canadian companies in markets around the world. These consultations on the renewal of the Strategy are an opportunity to spark a dialogue and explore ideas and measures to position Canada, and Canadian companies active abroad, as leaders in Responsible Business Conduct.

Why is Canada holding consultations on a renewed Responsible Business Conduct Strategy?

Responsible Business Conduct is at the nexus of many priorities for Canada such as the respect for human rights, fighting climate change, inclusive trade, and respecting the rights of Indigenous communities. Through multiple governments departments, more than 50 policies and initiatives address and promote one form or another of Responsible Businesses Conduct and corporate sustainability. The Government of Canada sees the private sector as playing an important role in advancing these priorities.

Managing risks in complex markets is key to business success and businesses can use numerous tools and incentives. By incorporating Responsible Business Conduct into their operations, companies are better equipped to manage social, environmental, reputational and economic risks. Responsible Business Conduct supports companies in identifying issues proactively, helps them resolve problems before they escalate and allows them to  adapt their operations and safeguard long-term success.

Canada is holding public consultations to hear from a broad range of partners, stakeholders, and individual Canadians to help inform the development of a renewed strategy on Responsible Business Conduct, and define Canada’s priorities and inform future decisions on Responsible Business Conduct.

What will be the focus of the consultations?

Interested parties are encouraged to review the issue paper and submit their views on the Government of Canada’s approach to Responsible Business Conduct abroad, which will help inform the next iteration of the strategy and future policy initiatives. In particular, the Government of Canada is seeking your ideas for Canada to:

  1. Contribute to a strengthened and inclusive Responsible Business Conduct environment globally;  
  2. Work with diverse stakeholders to create an enabling environment to ensure that Canadian companies achieve and exceed Responsible Business Conduct best practices;
  3. Enhance accountability through providing access to dispute resolution, dialogue, recourse and remedy;
  4. Develop tools, incentives and partnerships that the Government could support to further Responsible Business Conduct abroad; and,
  5. Contribute to key international frameworks, standards and guidelines that Canada could consider promoting or adopting which focus solely on, or intersect with Responsible Business Conduct.

Who should participate

This consultation is open to all Canadians and everyone is invited to share their ideas. In particular, Global Affairs Canada would like to hear from:

What we are hearing

A What we heard report will be published once consultations are complete.

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission.

Related information

Contact us

Responsible Business Practices Division
Global Affairs Canada
111 Sussex Drive
Ottawa ON K1A 0G2
Email: RBCconsultationsCRE@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Participez à la discussion : Stratégie relative à la conduite responsable des entreprises pour les entreprises canadiennes exerçant des activités à l’étranger

De : Affaires mondiales Canada

État actuel : En cours

Ouverte le 18 septembre 2020. Les intervenants ont jusqu’à 23 h 59 (heure du Pacifique), le 26 octobre 2020, pour soumettre leurs réponses, commentaires et suggestions. Le gouvernement du Canada estime qu’il est primordial de tenir compte du point de vue des Canadiens sur cette question importante. C’est pourquoi il veillera à ce que les Canadiens continuent d’avoir la possibilité de faire valoir le fruit de leur réflexion.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite les points de vue des Canadiens intéressés, y compris des groupes sous-représentés comme les femmes, les jeunes et les Autochtones, sur une nouvelle stratégie relative à la conduite responsable des entreprises (CRE) pour guider le gouvernement du Canada et les entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger dans leurs activités commerciales responsables.

Joignez-vous : comment participer

Affaires mondiales Canada a élaboré un document de travail pour la consultation. Nous vous invitons à l’examiner et à faire part de vos commentaires à la Direction des pratiques commerciales responsables d’Affaires mondiales Canada par courriel à RBCconsultationsCRE@international.gc.ca ou en envoyant une lettre avec vos points de vue et vos commentaires à l’adresse indiquée dans les coordonnées ci-dessous.

Détails sur la consultation

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à promouvoir les pratiques commerciales responsables des entreprises canadiennes dans les marchés du monde entier. Ces consultations sur le renouvellement de la Stratégie sont l’occasion de contribuer au dialogue sur la façon de positionner le Canada et les entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger en tant que chefs de file de la CRE.

Pourquoi le Canada tient-il des consultations sur une nouvelle stratégie relative à la CRE?

La CRE s’inscrit dans les priorités stratégiques du Canada, comme l’appui aux droits de la personne, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, la garantie que le commerce est fondé sur des règles et inclusif, et le respect des droits des collectivités autochtones. Plus de 50 politiques et initiatives à l’échelle de plusieurs ministères fédéraux abordent la question de la CRE et de la durabilité des entreprises. Le secteur privé a un rôle important à jouer dans la promotion de ces priorités.

La gestion des risques sur des marchés complexes est essentielle à la réussite des entreprises. En intégrant la CRE dans leurs activités, les entreprises sont mieux outillées pour gérer les risques sociaux, environnementaux et économiques, ainsi que les risques liés à la réputation. La CRE aide les entreprises à cerner les problèmes de façon proactive, les aide à les résoudre avant qu’ils ne s’aggravent, et leur permet d’adapter leurs activités et de préserver leur succès à long terme.

Le Canada tient des consultations publiques afin d’entendre un large éventail de partenaires, d’intervenants et de Canadiens afin d’aider à l’élaboration d’une nouvelle stratégie sur la CRE.

Sur quels éléments seront axées les consultations?

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à examiner le document de travail et à présenter leurs points de vue sur l’approche du gouvernement du Canada à l’égard de la CRE à l’étranger, ce qui aidera à éclairer la prochaine version de la Stratégie et des initiatives stratégiques futures. En particulier, le gouvernement du Canada sollicite vos idées pour permettre au Canada de faire ce qui suit :

  1. Contribuer à un environnement de CRE renforcé et inclusif à l’échelle mondiale;
  2. Collaborer avec divers intervenants afin de créer un environnement favorisant le respect et le dépassement des pratiques exemplaire en matière de CRE par les entreprises;
  3. Renforcer la responsabilisation en donnant accès au règlement des différends, au dialogue, aux recours, et aux réparations;
  4. Mettre au point des outils, des mesures d’incitation et des partenariats que le gouvernement pourrait appuyer pour renforcer la CRE à l’étranger;
  5. Contribuer à l’élaboration de cadres, de normes et de lignes directrices internationaux clés, axés uniquement sur la CRE ou en lien avec la CRE, que le Canada pourrait envisager de promouvoir ou d’adopter.

Qui devrait participer?

Ces consultations sont ouvertes à tous les Canadiens, et tous sont invités à faire part de leurs idées. En particulier, Affaires mondiales Canada aimerait entendre les personnes et groupes suivants :

Ce que nous entendons

Un rapport « Ce que nous avons entendu » sera publié une fois que les consultations seront terminées.

Veuillez lire attentivement l’énoncé de confidentialité avant de soumettre vos commentaires.

Renseignements connexes

Contactez-nous

Direction des pratiques commerciales responsables
Affaires mondiales Canada
111, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel : RBCconsultationsCRE@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: