2021 Call for Concept Notes - Development Impact Window - Canadian Small and Medium Organizations for Impact and Innovation

The deadline for submitting a concept note for this call was Wednesday, September 22, 2021, 12 p.m. (noon) ET.

This call for concept notes is part of Global Affairs Canada’s pilot initiative targeted at Canadian small and medium organizations (SMOs). This initiative seeks to engage Canadian SMOs in international assistance efforts in areas consistent with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy.

The total amount of funding available under this call for concept notes is up to $23 million over five years. Global Affairs Canada may fund any number of proposals or none, up to the maximum funding available.

You must submit your application through the Partners@International portal before the deadline. If you are applying in partnership with other organizations that would co-sign the funding agreement with Global Affairs Canada, please ensure that each organization is registered in the Partners@International portal and has uploaded all required documents. Please see details under the “Organization eligibility” section below.

We will not accept any late submissions. Please read the portal instructions carefully. If your organization is not already registered, start that process now. Plan to submit your application at least three business days in advance of the call deadline to ensure that technical difficulties do not prevent you from submitting your concept note by September 22, 2021, 12 p.m. (noon) ET.

The submission of a concept note is the first stage of a two-stage application process. Funding will not be provided on the basis of a concept note. At the second stage, we will invite a limited number of organizations to submit a full proposal.

Be sure to review the instructions in How to apply for funding through a call before beginning your application. Also ensure that you check the Questions and Answers page frequently and take advantage of the webinar planned for this call for concept notes, both of which are explained below.

Objective of this call for concept notes

Under this call, your proposed project must contribute to the achievement of the objectives of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, which seeks to reduce poverty and vulnerability and build a more peaceful, inclusive and prosperous world. The policy recognizes that promoting gender equality and empowering women and girls is the most effective approach to achieving this goal.

Proposed projects must align with at least one of the action areas outlined in Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy:

Please note that concept notes for humanitarian assistance projects will not be considered as part of this call.

Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy states that “no less than 95 percent of Canada’s bilateral international development assistance initiatives will target or integrate gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.” This call will only support concept notes that target or fully integrate gender equality and women’s and girls’ empowerment. Applicants are also required to fully consider and integrate human rights, environment and climate change considerations into their concept notes.

Organization eligibility

Carefully review the following eligibility screening requirements, which will be used to evaluate submitted application packages for this call. Global Affairs Canada will not pre-assess or comment on the eligibility of potential applications. To be eligible, applicants must meet each requirement and, where stipulated, provide supporting documentation. If your organization is submitting a concept note in partnership with other organizations, each of which would co-sign the funding agreement with Global Affairs Canada, then each organization (i.e. co-signatory) must meet the eligibility requirements and provide documentation that demonstrates they meet these eligibility requirements, including the following:

Definition of small or medium organization (SMO): the consolidated revenue in your organization’s financial statements is equal to or less than $10 million (this limitation does not apply to educational institutions) and your organization does not have annual overseas expenditures exceeding $2 million in development assistance (i.e. projects administered with the promotion of the economic development and welfare of developing countries as their main objective (regardless of the funding source).

If you are an educational institution, you are not required to have consolidated revenues equal to or less than $10 million, but you are still required to submit a signed Canadian SMO attestation form. However, in order to be considered a SMO, an educational institution cannot have annual overseas expenditures in development assistance exceeding $2 million.

All organizations must meet the definition of an SMO and all of the above requirements to be eligible to apply under this call.

Required project parameters

Please carefully review the parameters of this call to judge whether your project idea will fit. Global Affairs Canada will not respond to questions about the eligibility of your project idea. You must be able to answer “yes” to all of the following statements in order for your application to be considered for funding under this call:

If your proposed project does not conform to the above statements, it will not be assessed and cannot be considered for funding under this call.

Additional guidance

  1. Applicants should indicate how the proposed project takes into consideration local voices and perspectives.
  2. Preference may be given to SMOs that submit an application in partnership with other Canadian SMOs (i.e. co-signatories) to facilitate greater cooperation in the SMO community and engage more SMOs through this window.
  3. Indigenous peoples’ organizations in Canada are encouraged to submit proposals. Moreover, where appropriate and possible, Canadian SMOs are encouraged to partner or collaborate with Indigenous peoples’ organizations in Canada and in the region(s) where the project is being implemented.
  4. Preference may be given to SMOs that do not have any active funding agreements with Global Affairs Canada.
  5. Preference may be given to proposals that also include public engagement activitiesaimed at awareness raising, knowledge sharing and network strengthening in Canada. These engagement activities should promote global citizenship by increasing awareness and encouraging Canadians to develop a deeper understanding of international development issues, including how major global challenges are interconnected and impacting Canadians, and how Canada’s international development efforts contribute to alleviating them. However, public engagement activities that are NOT eligible for funding include:
    • Fundraising;
    • Annual general meetings;
    • Partisan political advocacy or lobbying;
    • Activities used to promote an organization (including online and social media activities for this purpose);
    • Engagement activities that take place outside of Canada.
  6. Please note that if you are invited to submit a full proposal, you will be asked to demonstrate adequate (minimum 3 years) experience related to specific elements of the project.

How we assess your concept note

Concept notes submitted in response to this call will first undergo an eligibility check to verify that they meet all organization eligibility requirements and required project parameters identified on this call page. As indicated, some of the criteria below will only be assessed at the proposal stage. Concept notes that meet these requirements will proceed to assessment based on the following criteria:

Rationale for the initiative

Gender equality

Human rights

Environmental sustainability

Theory of change

Responding to risks

Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

After assessing eligible concept notes for merit, Global Affairs Canada will invite a limited number of organizations to submit full proposals. Funding decisions will be made based on assessments of full application packages. An invitation to submit a full proposal is not a guarantee of funding.

Invited applicants will have approximately eight weeks after they receive an invitation letter from Global Affairs Canada to submit a full proposal.

Available resources

There are resources available online to help develop an application package. Potential applicants are strongly encouraged to read the following tools and guidance notes before beginning their application process. Failure to meet the mandatory requirements and minimum standards will result in applications not being considered for funding.

How to submit your application package

In order to be considered in this call, you must submit your complete application package to Partners@International by Wednesday, September 22, 2021, 12 p.m. (noon) Eastern Time. All application package documents should be completed and submitted in either English or French.

Your application package must include all of the following documents:

Accessing and using PDF forms

Use only Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat to work on the standardized PDFs to be submitted with your application package. If you use other software, you may not be able to validate or submit the form, and/or the data that you enter may not appear when submitted to the department, and the application will be considered ineligible.

If you are having difficulty downloading the forms, it is generally due to the type of software that you have (or do not have) on your computer. Please read and follow the help instructions. If you have all of the correct software installed, please download the form to your desktop and open it directly in Adobe Reader - otherwise, other software installed on your computer may try (and fail) to open the form using your default settings.

Questions on using the Partners@International portal

Please read and follow all of the instructions for using the Partners@International portal (linked on the right side menu). Do not open multiple windows within the portal as this may cause technical problems.

Do not try to register or submit at the last minute.

It may take up to 10 business days to register your organization. If you encounter technical difficulties while registering or while trying to submit a concept note, please send an email to partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Please note: during the last two weeks before the call closes, the service standard for replying to enquiries is three business days. Technical support for the portal is only available from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday to Friday.

Questions specific to this call

A webcast will be available the week of June 21, 2021 to review key information pertaining to this call and will remain available until the call closes on September 22, 2021. A live webinar will be held on June 23, 2021, 1 p.m. ET, to respond to questions received in relation to this call and to provide an opportunity to connect with other small and medium organizations in the interest of promoting collaboration. To access the webcast or to register for the live webinar, please send a request to SMO.PMO@international.gc.ca. Webinar registrations must be received by June 18, 2021, 1 p.m. ET.

If you have questions about this call after reading the general questions and answers about applying for funding and the questions and answers page for this call, please send them to SMO.PMO@international.gc.ca by August 18, 2021, 12 p.m. (noon) ET. Global Affairs Canada will not respond to questions received after this deadline or questions on specific organizational circumstances, or specific project concept notes. Applicants who submit questions will not receive emails with responses to their questions. Instead, answers will appear on the questions and answers page for the 2021 call for concept notes - Development Impact Window - Canadian Small and Medium Organizations for Impact and Innovation. This is to ensure that all applicants have access to the same information at the same time.

Date Modified:

Appel de notes conceptuelles 2021 – volet Impact sur le développement – Petites et moyennes organisations canadiennes pour l’impact et l’innovation

La date limite pour soumettre une demande est le mercredi 22 septembre 2021, à 12 h, heure de l’Est (HE).

Le présent appel de notes conceptuelles fait partie de l’initiative pilote d’Affaires mondiales Canada ciblant les petites et moyennes organisations (PMO) canadiennes. Cette initiative permettra à ces organisations de contribuer aux efforts de développement international dans les secteurs conformes à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada.

Le financement total disponible au titre du présent appel de notes conceptuelles est de 23 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Affaires mondiales Canada se réserve le droit de financer n’importe quel nombre de propositions, jusqu’à concurrence du financement maximal disponible, ou de n’en retenir aucune.

Vous devez soumettre votre demande pour cet appel dans le portail Partenaires@International avant la date limite. Si vous présentez une demande au nom d’un groupe d’organisations qui signeraient l’accord de financement avec Affaires mondiales Canada, veuillez vous assurer que chaque organisation est inscrite dans le portail Partenaires@International et a téléversé tous les documents exigés. Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements dans la section « Admissibilité de l’organisation » ci-dessous.

Nous n’accepterons aucune demande tardive. Veuillez lire attentivement les directives du portail. Si votre organisation n’est pas déjà inscrite au portail, nous vous conseillons de le faire dès maintenant. Prévoyez à soumettre votre demande au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la date limite afin de vous assurer que des difficultés techniques ne vous empêchent pas de soumettre votre note conceptuelle avant le 22 septembre 2021, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.

La présentation d’une note conceptuelle constitue la première de deux étapes du processus de demande. Une note conceptuelle ne mènera pas directement à l’obtention de financement. Lors de la deuxième étape, nous inviterons un nombre limité d’organisations à soumettre une proposition complète.

Assurez-vous de passer en revue les directives dans la section Présenter une demande de financement en réponse à un appel avant d’entamer la préparation de votre demande. Assurez-vous également de consulter fréquemment la page des questions et réponses et de tirer parti du webinaire prévu pour le présent appel de notes conceptuelles, ces deux points sont expliqués ci-dessous.

Objectif du présent appel de notes conceptuelles

Dans le cadre de cet appel, votre projet doit contribuer à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, qui vise à éliminer la pauvreté et la vulnérabilité et à bâtir un monde plus pacifique, plus inclusif et plus prospère. La politique reconnaît que favoriser l’égalité des genres et renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles est le moyen le plus efficace pour atteindre cet objectif.

Les projets proposés doivent cadrer avec au moins l’un des six champs d’action de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada :

Veuillez noter que les notes conceptuelles pour les projets d’aide humanitaire ne seront pas prises en considération dans le cadre du présent appel.

La Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada stipule ce qui suit : « pas moins de 95 % des initiatives bilatérales du Canada en matière d’aide au développement international visent ou intègrent l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles ». Le présent appel ne soutiendra que les notes conceptuelles qui ciblent ou qui intègrent pleinement l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. Les demandeurs sont également tenus de tenir compte et d’intégrer pleinement les considérations relatives aux droits de la personne, à l’environnement et aux changements climatiques dans leurs notes conceptuelles.

Admissibilité de l’organisation

Veuillez examiner attentivement les critères d’admissibilité que nous utiliserons pour évaluer les dossiers de demande reçus dans le cadre du présent appel. Affaires mondiales Canada n’effectuera pas d’évaluation préalable et ne formulera pas de commentaires sur l’admissibilité de possibles demandeurs en particulier. Pour être admissible, vous devez satisfaire à chaque exigence et, le cas échéant, fournir des documents à l’appui. Si votre organisation présente une note conceptuelle en partenariat avec d’autres organisations, chacune d’entre elles doit signer l’accord de financement avec Affaires mondiales Canada, et ensuite chaque organisation (c.-à-d. le cosignataire) doit satisfaire aux exigences d’admissibilités et présenter des documents qui démontrent qu’elle satisfait aux exigences d’admissibilités, notamment ce qui suit :

Définition d’une petite ou moyenne organisation (PMO) : ses revenus consolidés inscrits dans les états financiers sont égaux ou inférieurs à 10 millions de dollars (cette limite ne s’applique pas aux établissements d’enseignement); et ses dépenses annuelles à l’étranger en aide au développement ne dépassent pas les 2 millions de dollars (c.-à-d. dans des projets qui visent principalement à favoriser le développement économique et le bien-être des pays en développement [peu importe la source de financement]).

Si vous êtes un établissement d’enseignement, vous n’êtes pas tenu de disposer de revenus consolidés d’au plus 10 millions de dollars, mais vous devez tout de même soumettre un formulaire d’attestation de PMO signé. Cependant, afin d’être considéré comme une PMO, un établissement d’enseignement ne peut avoir des dépenses annuelles d’aide au développement à l’étranger supérieures à 2 millions de dollars.

Toutes les organisations doivent se conformer à la définition d’une PMO et respecter tous les critères susmentionnés pour être admissibles à présenter une demande dans le cadre du présent appel.

Critères du projet à respecter

Veuillez lire attentivement les critères de cet appel pour vérifier si votre idée de projet y est admissible. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions concernant l’admissibilité de votre proposition. Vous devez être en mesure de répondre « oui » pour chacun des énoncés suivants pour que votre demande soit considérée comme admissible dans le cadre du présent appel :

Si le projet que vous proposez ne respecte pas les énoncés ci-dessus, il ne sera pas évalué, car il ne peut être pris en considération pour du financement au titre du présent appel.

Directives supplémentaires

  1. Les demandeurs devraient indiquer en quoi le projet proposé tient compte des voix et des points de vue locaux.
  2. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux PMO qui présentent une demande en partenariat avec d’autres PMO canadiennes afin de faciliter une plus grande collaboration au sein de la communauté des PMO et de mobiliser d’autres PMO par l’intermédiaire de cette composante.
  3. Les organisations autochtones au Canada sont encouragées à présenter des propositions. De plus, lorsque cela est approprié et possible, les PMO canadiennes sont encouragées à s’associer ou à collaborer avec les organisations autochtones au Canada dans la ou les régions où le projet est mis en œuvre.
  4. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux PMO qui n’ont aucun accord de financement en vigueur avec Affaires mondiales Canada.
  5. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux propositions qui incluent aussi des activités de mobilisation du publicqui visent la sensibilisation, la transmission du savoir et le renforcement des réseaux au Canada. Ces activités de mobilisation devraient promouvoir la citoyenneté mondiale en sensibilisant et en encourageant les Canadiens à mieux comprendre les enjeux de développement international, y compris comment les grands défis mondiaux sont interconnectés, comment ils ont un impact sur les Canadiens et comment les efforts de développement international du Canada contribuent à les atténuer. Cependant, les activités de mobilisation (engagement) du public qui ne sont PAS admissibles au financement sont les suivantes :
    • la collecte de fonds;
    • les assemblées générales annuelles;
    • les activités de défense des intérêts ou de lobbying relatives à la partisannerie politique;
    • les activités visant à promouvoir une organisation (y compris les activités en ligne et sur les médias sociaux à cette fin);
    • les activités ayant lieu à l’extérieur du Canada.
  6. Veuillez prendre note que si vous êtes invité à présenter une proposition complète, on vous demandera de démontrer une expérience adéquate (minimum de trois ans) liée à des éléments particuliers du projet.

Comment sont évaluées les notes conceptuelles

Les notes conceptuelles pour cet appel feront d’abord l’objet d’une vérification de l’admissibilité afin de s’assurer que les demandes satisfont à tous les critères d’admissibilité de l’organisation et à tous les critères du projet à respecter comme ils sont énoncés sur cette page. Tel qu’indiqué, certains des critères ci-dessous ne seront évalués qu’à l’étape de la proposition. Les notes conceptuelles qui répondent à ces exigences feront l’objet d’une évaluation en fonction des critères suivants :

Bien-fondé de l’initiative

Égalité des genres

Droits de la personne

Viabilité de l’environnement

Théorie du changement

Mesures à prendre en réponse aux risques

Capacité de l’organisation par rapport à l’initiative

Après l’évaluation du mérite des notes conceptuelles admissibles, Affaires mondiales Canada invitera un nombre limité d’organisations à soumettre une proposition complète. Les décisions relatives au financement ne reposeront que sur l’évaluation d’une demande complète. Une invitation à soumettre une proposition complète ne garantit pas l’attribution de financement.

Après avoir reçu une lettre d’invitation d’Affaires mondiales Canada, les demandeurs auront environ huit semaines pour soumettre une proposition complète.

Ressources disponibles

Plusieurs ressources en ligne vous aideront à préparer votre demande. On encourage fortement les demandeurs potentiels à consulter les outils et directives qui suivent avant de commencer leur processus de demande. Si vous ne respectez pas les exigences obligatoires et les normes minimales imposées dans le présent document, votre demande ne sera pas admissible à du financement.

Comment présenter sa demande

Afin que votre demande soit prise en considération pour le présent appel, vous devez soumettre votre dossier complet dans le portail Partenaires@International au plus tard le mercredi 22 septembre 2021, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est. Tous les documents de la trousse de demande devraient être complets et être soumis en français ou en anglais.

Votre dossier doit comprendre tous les documents suivants :

Comment accéder aux formulaires en format PDF et les utiliser

Veuillez n’utiliser qu’Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat et Internet Explorer pour remplir les formulaires PDF normalisés à soumettre avec votre demande. Si vous utilisez un autre logiciel, vous ne serez peut-être pas en mesure de valider le formulaire ou de le soumettre, ou alors les informations saisies pourraient ne pas être visibles une fois les documents transmis au Ministère. Dans ce cas, votre demande serait considérée comme irrecevable.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à télécharger les formulaires, bien souvent les logiciels se trouvant (ou ne se trouvant pas) sur votre ordinateur sont en cause. Veuillez lire et suivre les instructions données sur la page Aide. Si tous les bons logiciels sont installés, téléchargez le formulaire sur votre poste de travail et ouvrez-le directement dans Adobe Reader. Si vous procédez autrement, il est possible que, en fonction des paramètres par défaut de votre ordinateur, d’autres logiciels tentent d’ouvrir, sans succès, le formulaire.

Questions au sujet du portail Partenaires@International

Veuillez lire et suivre attentivement les instructions sur l’utilisation du portail Partenaires@International (liens se trouvant à la droite de l’écran). Attention : Si vous ouvrez de multiples fenêtres dans le portail, des problèmes techniques pourraient se produire.

N’essayez pas de vous inscrire ni de soumettre votre demande à la dernière minute.

Il peut s’écouler jusqu’à 10 jours ouvrables avant que l’inscription d’une organisation ne soit finalisée. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques pendant l’inscription de votre organisation ou pendant la soumission de votre note conceptuelle, envoyez un courriel à : partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Il est à noter que dans les deux semaines précédant la date de clôture d’un appel, vous devez prévoir, selon les normes de services en vigueur, trois jours ouvrables pour obtenir une réponse. Le bureau du soutien technique n’est ouvert que du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 16 h (heure de l’Est).

Questions sur cet appel

Une webdiffusion passant en revue les informations clés de cet appel sera disponible la semaine du 21 juin 2021. Elle restera disponible jusqu'à la date de tombée de l'appel, soit le 22 septembre 2021. Un webinaire en direct sera diffusé le 23 juin 2021 à 13 h HE afin de répondre à des questions reçues concernant le présent appel, en plus de tisser des liens avec différentes petites et moyennes organisations dans le but de promouvoir la collaboration. Afin d’avoir accès à la webdiffusion ou de vous inscrire au webinaire, veuillez envoyer une demande à SMO.PMO@international.gc.ca. Vous avez jusqu’au 18 juin 2021 à 13 h HE pour vous inscrire au webinaire.

Si vous avez encore des questions au sujet du présent appel après avoir lu les questions et réponses sur les demandes de financement et la page Questions et réponses de cet appel, veuillez les adresser par courriel à l’adresse SMO.PMO@international.gc.ca au plus tard le 18 août 2021, à 12 h (midi) HE. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions reçues après cette date ni à celles sur les circonstances particulières d’une organisation ou sur des propositions de projet spécifiques. Les demandeurs qui envoient des questions ne recevront pas de réponses par courriel. Toutes les réponses seront plutôt affichées sur la page Questions et réponses de l’appel de notes conceptuelles 2021 – volet Impact sur le développement – Petites et moyennes organisations canadiennes pour l’impact et l’innovation, afin que tous les demandeurs aient accès à la même information en même temps.

Date de modification: