Unsolicited Proposals: Guidance for Concept Notes

Please follow the instructions for drafting your concept note to begin an application for funding for international development projects. If you do not respect page limits and other instructions, we will not assess your concept note.

You must submit your unsolicited concept note through the Partners@International portal to ensure that your concept note and the date you submitted it are logged in the system. If you send us your concept note any other way (e.g. in person or email) we will not consider it as submitted.

Please note:

Page limit:

Annexes:

Format:

Structure:

Basic information

You may wish to format the following information as a short table to save space.

Title: title of your proposed project

Duration: Specify the number of years

Country(ies) and sector: Identify the country or countries in which the project will take place and the main sector the proposed project will address. This will ensure that the most appropriate program receives your concept note.

Funding requested: Indicate the amount of funding you are requesting from Global Affairs Canada in Canadian dollars. Please keep in mind:

Contact name, title and email: You only need to specify 1 contact for this initiative because your organization’s information is already in the Partners@International portal and the concept note you submitted through the portal is attached to it. You may include a second contact if you wish.

Revenue (yes+A/B/C or no)?:

If any component of your project will generate financing or revenue, indicate “Yes” to this question in your basic information section. If you indicate “Yes” to any of the questions below, write the letter(s) of the questions to which you answered “Yes” in the Basic Information table. Be sure to provide more specific details in the annex.

  1. Will any of the requested funding be used to make investments, issue loans, perform credit activities (including micro-financing or micro-credit) or offer financial guarantees or loss protection for the purposes of attaining development outcomes? Yes or no.
  2. Will your organization or any intermediary(ies) generate revenues over the course of the project? Revenues could include income generated from investments, loans, credit activities, financial guarantees, as well as revenues from other sources. Yes or no.
  3. As part of the project activities, will your organization or any intermediary(ies) in the project structure acquire an ownership interest or equity position in a corporation or funding vehicle and/or acquire, hold, assign, exchange, sell or otherwise dispose of shares? Yes or no.

Revenue Can$: If you answer “Yes” to Revenue, estimate as closely as possible the amount (in Canadian dollars) of Global Affairs Canada’s funding that will be used in the revenue-generating component of the proposed project.

Signatories: List signatories you plan to include on a funding agreement with Global Affairs Canada if funding is approved. If none, indicate N/A.

Partners: List implementing partners or local partners you have already identified. If none, indicate N/A or “not yet”, as appropriate.

Development challenge

Solution

Organization capacity

Annexes

  1. Optional, all concept notes
    • 1 page/500-word maximum in English or 1.2 page/600-word maximum in French
    • May include a preliminary logic model, photographs and/or infographs.
  2. Mandatory if you answered “Yes” to the revenue question
    • 250-word maximum in English or 300-word maximum in French
    • describes the following:
      1. project activities that may be used to make investments, issue loans, perform credit activities (including micro-financing) or offer financial guarantees or loss protection for the purposes of attaining development results
      2. how revenues may be generated by your organization or any intermediary(ies) over the course of the project (e.g. income generated from investments, loans, credit activities, financial guarantees, as well as revenues from other sources)
      3. investment activities if as part of the project activities your organization or any intermediary(ies) in the project structure will acquire an ownership interest or equity position in a corporation or funding vehicle and/or will acquire, hold, assign, exchange, sell or otherwise dispose of shares
      4. total estimated amount (in Canadian dollars) of Global Affairs Canada’s contribution that will be tied to financing/revenue generating activities as noted above
    • if the revenue-generating element of the project is of high value and/or complexity, we may request more information before completing the assessment of your concept note
  3. Mandatory if you answered “Yes” to the revenue question
    • Wiring diagram: a graphic representation of the initiative’s flow of funds between and toward different organizations or parts of organizations and reflecting the roles of all proposed partners, intermediaries and beneficiaries
Date Modified:

Propositions non sollicitées : Guide pour les notes conceptuelles

Afin de faire une demande de financement pour un projet de développement international, veuillez suivre les instructions pour la rédaction de votre note conceptuelle. Si la limite de pages et les autres instructions ne sont pas respectées, votre note conceptuelle ne sera pas évaluée.

Les notes conceptuelles doivent être soumises sur le portail Partenaires@International afin que l’information et la date de soumission soient enregistrées dans le système. Les notes conceptuelles présentées autrement (en personne, par courriel, etc.) ne seront pas considérées comme étant soumises.

À noter :

Limite de pages :

Annexes :

Format :

Structure :

Informations de base

Afin de maximiser l'espace, vous pouvez présenter les informations suivantes sous la forme d'un tableau.

Titre : Précisez le titre du projet proposé.

Durée : Indiquez le nombre d’années.

Pays et secteur(s) : Indiquez le ou les pays dans lesquels le projet aura lieu, ainsi que le secteur principal sur lequel portera le projet (ce qui permettra de diriger votre note conceptuelle vers le programme le mieux adapté pour y répondre).

Financement demandé : Indiquez le montant du financement demandé à Affaires mondiales Canada, en dollars canadiens. À retenir :

Nom et courriel de la personne ressource : Puisque les informations sur votre organisation sont déjà inscrites sur le portail Partenaires@International et que votre note conceptuelle y est reliée lorsque soumise, il vous suffit d’identifier une personne-ressource pour votre initiative. Vous pouvez inclure une deuxième personne ressource si vous le souhaitez.

Revenus (oui+A/B/C ou non?) :

Si un élément de votre projet générera un financement ou des revenus, répondez « Oui » à cette question. En outre, si vous répondez « Oui » à l’une des questions ci-dessous, indiquez également la ou les lettres des questions auxquelles vous avez répondu « oui » dans les Informations de base, et assurez-vous de fournir plus de détails dans l’annexe.

  1. Le financement demandé sera-t-il en partie utilisé pour réaliser des investissements, émettre des prêts, mener des activités de crédit (y compris le microfinancement ou le microcrédit) ou offrir des garanties financières ou une protection contre les pertes afin d’atteindre des résultats en matière de développement? Oui ou non.
  2. Des revenus seront-ils générés par votre organisation ou par un ou plusieurs intermédiaires au cours du projet? Les revenus peuvent inclure des revenus générés par des investissements, des prêts, des activités de crédit, des garanties financières, ainsi que des revenus provenant d’autres sources. Oui ou non.
  3. Votre organisation ou un ou plusieurs intermédiaire(s) dans la structure du projet, acquerront-ils, dans le cadre des activités du projet, une participation financière ou en capitaux propres dans une société ou un véhicule de financement? Ou seront-ils susceptibles d’acquérir, de détenir, de céder, d’échanger, de vendre ou de disposer d’actions, de quelque façon que ce soit? Oui ou non.

Revenus $ : Si vous répondez « Oui » à « Revenu », estimez le plus précisément possible le montant en dollars canadiens correspondant au financement d’Affaires mondiales Canada qui sera utilisé pour l’élément du projet générant un revenu.

Signataires : Énumérez les signataires additionnels d’un éventuel accord de financement avec Affaires mondiales Canada si celui-ci est approuvé. S’il n’y en a pas, veuillez simplement indiquer S/O.

Partenaires : Si vous connaissez déjà les partenaires de mise en œuvre ou les partenaires locaux, veuillez les énumérer ici. S’il n’y en a, indiquez S/O, ou si vous ne les connaissez pas encore, inscrivez « pas encore connus ».

Défi en matière de développement

Solution

Capacité de l’organisation

Annexes

  1. Optionnelle, pour toutes les notes conceptuelles
    • Maximum 1.2 pages (600 mots) en français ou 1 page (500 mots) en anglais
    • Peut inclure un modèle logique sommaire, des photographies et/ou des graphiques.
  2. Obligatoire, si vous avez répondu « Oui » à la question sur le revenu
    • 2/3 page (300 mots) en français ou ½ page (250 mots) en anglais, décrivant ce qui suit :
      1. activités du projet qui peuvent être utilisées pour réaliser des investissements, émettre des prêts, réaliser des activités de crédit (y compris le microfinancement) ou offrir des garanties financières ou une protection contre les pertes dans le but d’atteindre des résultats en matière de développement
      2. la façon dont les revenus peuvent être générés par votre organisation ou tout intermédiaire pendant la durée du projet, notamment par des investissements, des prêts, des activités de crédit, des garanties financières, ainsi que des revenus provenant d’autres sources
      3. les activités d’investissement, si elles se font dans le cadre des activités du projet, votre organisation ou un ou plusieurs intermédiaires dans la structure du projet acquerront une participation financière ou en capitaux propres dans une société ou un véhicule de financement, et/ou acquerront, détiendront, céderont, échangeront, vendront ou disposeront d’actions de toute autre façon
      4. montant total estimé (en dollars canadiens) de la contribution d’Affaires mondiales Canada qui sera liée aux activités de financement/de génération de revenus, comme indiqué ci-dessus
    • si l’élément générateur de revenus du projet est d’une grande valeur et/ou d’une grande complexité, des informations complémentaires peuvent être demandées avant que l’évaluation de votre note conceptuelle puisse être faite
  3. Obligatoire, si vous avez répondu « Oui » à la question sur le revenu
    • représentation graphique du flux de fonds de l’initiative entre et vers différentes organisations ou parties d’organisations, et reflétant les rôles de tous les partenaires, intermédiaires et bénéficiaires proposés
Date de modification: