Notes for an Address by the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas), to the Greater Toronto Marketing Alliance 'Building Trade and Investment Links in the Americas'

April 24, 2009
Toronto, Ontario

Check Against Delivery

It’s a great pleasure to be here today among so many of the people who make the Greater Toronto Area such a powerhouse in Canada’s economy.

Your efforts are appreciated. And they’ll be critical as the Government of Canada advances in helping communities like this one move through—and beyond—the current economic crisis.

Earlier, [Industry] Minister [Tony] Clement told you about what our government is doing to help Canada’s economy recover. Building new international trade and investment links must be part of the solution too.

Globalization isn’t going away. Canada must continue creating new opportunities for its firms and investors to prosper in markets around the world.

As you know, our government has been moving forward on an aggressive agenda to open doors for Canadian businesses and investors abroad.

Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy focuses on a range of tools, including free trade agreements, boosting the services provided to Canadian businesses around the world, and innovation and investment partnerships.

As a country of the Americas, Canada is committed to playing a larger role in the region and doing so for the long term. The current and future interests of Canada and its neighbours are increasingly interdependent.

This global financial crisis is no time to be complacent. Our future demands that all nations work together to weather the storm and emerge stronger than ever before.

Prime Minister [Stephen Harper] has made a personal commitment to work toward a more prosperous, democratic and secure hemisphere. He created the position I now hold, with a specific focus on the Americas, to give Canada a new voice in dialogue with its neighbours.

As Minister of State of Foreign Affairs for the Americas, I’d like to focus today on how Canada is strengthening partnerships in Latin America and the Caribbean.

We all know that greater prosperity can’t take hold without security, or without the freedoms and laws brought about through democratic governance. And democracy cannot function without personal security and the chance to improve living standards through increased business opportunities.

Canada is committed to increasing prosperity and opening markets in a manner that also protects human rights, the democratic process and collective security. That commitment can show people in the Americas that democracy is able to deliver more than just elections.

The global financial crisis has hit all nations hard. Canada has provided leadership internationally by encouraging free trade and open markets, and discouraging other countries from moving back to protectionist measures.

Canada is working to ensure that the neighbourhood’s prosperity gains are not lost. Just last week at the Summit of the Americas, the Prime Minister announced a substantial contribution toward strengthening the resources of the international financial institutions, working to temporarily increase the lending capacity of the Inter-American Development Bank in response to the financial crisis. This timely increase will provide countries in the region with greater access to credit to promote economic growth—an essential element of economic recovery.

Canada’s strong stance against protectionism and in favour of further liberalization is bringing benefits not only to the region of the Americas but also to Canada’s economy, at a time when these benefits are needed more than ever.

There are almost 70 Latin American and Caribbean diaspora organizations across Canada. Many recent Latin American and Caribbean immigrants are proud to call Toronto home. They contribute to the rich and diverse social fabric of a multicultural society, something Canada values greatly.

The importance of Canada’s Latin American and Caribbean connection extends to trade and investment. Canadian firms and investment dollars have a strong presence in the Latin American and Caribbean markets.

Last year, two-way trade in merchandise grew 9.5 percent to over $22 billion. Investment ties are even stronger, with Canadian direct investment into the region worth nearly $132 billion at the end of 2008.

Canadian companies are among the largest investors in Latin America and the Caribbean, particularly in the sectors of financial services and extractive industries. And the region is fast becoming an important source of foreign direct investment into Canada as well.

At the same time, it’s important not to view the hemisphere through a single lens. From the resource-rich Andes to the vast agricultural lands of the Southern Cone, to the well-developed tourism and financial services industry in the Caribbean and Central America, the region has a true diversity of opportunities for Canadian firms.

Working in close consultation with businesses, industry representatives and academics, the government has developed market plans. They target key sectors where Canadian firms could make big gains and have substantial positive local economic impacts in the region.

The sectors include:

  • building products and construction;
  • electric power equipment and services;
  • environmental industries;
  • information and communications technology;
  • and oil and gas equipment and services.

Canadian investments are complemented by a strong commitment to corporate social responsibility.

The fact is that Canada can offer a lot to its partners in the region in all of these sectors. And those partners are beginning to understand what Canada can offer.

Take innovation, for example. Canada is home to some of the world’s most exciting scientific research and technology development.

Our government has recognized the importance of innovation to Canada’s national economic agenda and is working to reshape the country’s trade policy to reflect the new reality.

This approach includes efforts to work with Canada’s global partners to develop tomorrow’s scientific breakthroughs.

Look at Brazil. Canada enjoys a strong track record of collaboration with that nation, in innovative areas such as biotechnology, agriculture, pharmaceuticals, space technologies and renewable energy.

Our two countries are pushing this relationship further with a new science and technology agreement. The agreement will make it even easier for scientists, researchers and innovators from both countries to join forces and put their ideas, expertise, research and innovation to work in markets around the world.

It’s one more example of what Canada can offer partners in the region, and what they can offer Canada.

As Canada reinforces its connections with the region, it is also working in support of the next generation of leaders.

Last week at the Summit of the Americas, Prime Minister Harper announced the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program of scholarships, expanding an existing Canadian program.

Up to 1,600 scholarships are now available for students to pursue studies or research here in Canada in fields that serve to advance the economic, social and governance needs of the hemisphere.

These new leaders will have an appreciation for Canadian values, technologies and know-how. The program will also help enrich institutional partnerships between Canada and other countries in the Americas.

Of course, part of the government’s strategy in the Americas involves opening doors for Canadian businesses through a range of free trade agreements [FTAs].

Building on existing FTAs with Chile and Costa Rica, Canada is pushing forward on negotiations with El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala and Nicaragua.

My first official visit as Minister of State for the Americas was to Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador. I reinforced our commitment to working collaboratively to combat hemispheric challenges, particularly insecurity, crime and poverty.

Because of Canada’s long-standing relationship with these countries, I was able to have frank and open discussions with senior political leaders. We touched on areas about which Canada is deeply concerned, such as the impact of corruption and the need for greater transparency and accountability. In particular, I expressed my deep concern over allegations of fraud during local elections in Nicaragua last November. On the other hand, Canada was pleased recently to be able to commend El Salvador on a free and fair election this past March.

The Dominican Republic, Panama and the Caribbean Community are other potential free trade partners. I travelled to the Caribbean in February and again reinforced Canada’s commitment to building on its existing relationship with the Caribbean.

Prime Minister Harper met with leaders of the Caribbean Community at the recent Summit of the Americas to engage them in further strengthening trade ties with Canada. At the Summit, the Prime Minister announced a five-year technical assistance program to help countries that have signed or are about to sign trade agreements with Canada.

These are great results.

Following the Summit, the Prime Minister travelled to Jamaica. There, he reaffirmed Canada’s interest in deepening its engagement with this important regional partner and with the whole of the Caribbean, including through the negotiation of a mutually beneficial trade deal.

Last month, [International Trade] Minister [Stockwell] Day tabled legislation in the House of Commons to implement two other free trade agreements, with Peru and Colombia.

The agreements give Canadian companies and producers a competitive edge in many key sectors, including wheat, paper products, mining, oil and gas, engineering, information technology and financial services.

This represents a great opportunity for Canada’s agricultural producers. They will benefit from the immediate removal of tariffs on such cornerstone crops as wheat and pulses. The result is that Canadian producers will be more competitive in these lucrative markets.

Manufacturing is another good example of a sector that will benefit under the agreements.

It’s no secret that Canadian manufacturers across the country are facing tough times these days. They need all the opportunities they can get to ride out the storm.

That means opening doors in new markets such as Peru and Colombia. With the free trade agreements, Colombian and Peruvian tariffs on most machinery and industrial goods will be eliminated. This is especially significant for Canadian manufacturers of mining equipment, industrial machinery, construction equipment and a number of other products.

The agreements also create opportunities for Canadian companies to access lucrative government procurement contracts in these markets. And the FTAs take steps to promote two-way investment between Canadian firms and partners in Peru and Colombia.

These are just a few areas where Canadian companies and investors alike can find real benefits in these important markets.

I recently returned from a successful bilateral visit to Colombia. I met with a number of key stakeholders from civil society and labour unions, as well as the business community. I engaged them in dynamic discussions of the free trade agreement recently introduced in Parliament for ratification.

We exchanged frank views on the current situation in Colombia. I expressed Canada’s support for the efforts of [President Álvaro] Uribe’s government to improve the personal security situation of citizens. I also expressed support for the Colombian government’s ongoing efforts in the area of human rights.

I had the opportunity to meet with Colombian Foreign Minister Jaime Bermúdez, and we discussed Canada’s active role in support of peace, security and human rights in Colombia. Given the positive relations between our two countries and the mature and frank nature of the dialogue, we agreed to establish regular human rights consultations to discuss bilateral and multilateral areas in which our countries share an interest and cooperate.

In meeting with all these different stakeholders, I was able to highlight that the FTAs with both Peru and Colombia are accompanied by labour cooperation and environment side agreements. They include strong provisions to ensure that increased business does not come at the expense of workers or the environment. Canada looks forward to using the agreements as a template for future FTAs with other countries in the region.

The Government of Canada firmly believes that trade and investment can play a positive role in communities around the world. That’s why it recently announced new initiatives to support responsible practices for Canadian businesses abroad.

The government’s Corporate Social Responsibility Strategy includes a series of new measures to help Canadian mining and oil and gas companies meet, and possibly exceed, their social and environmental responsibilities abroad.

The government is creating a new “counsellor” office to help resolve issues that may arise between Canadian companies and the communities in which they operate.

We’re supporting a new centre of excellence outside government to give Canadian businesses and other organizations one-stop shopping for the information and tools they need.

Through the Canadian International Development Agency, the government is continuing to help foreign governments develop their own capacity to manage their natural resources responsibly and sustainably.

And for Canadian businesses operating abroad, we are continuing to promote voluntary performance and reporting guidelines that are internationally recognized.

Canadian companies play an important role in bettering the lives of people in communities around the world, including in the Americas. They’re creating jobs, prosperity and opportunities. And thanks to initiatives like these, they’re doing so in a responsible and sustainable manner.

At the same time, the government fully recognizes that its foreign policy objectives cannot be achieved without significant Canadian presence in these markets.

We advocate for the principles and practice of democracy and human rights, which require regulation of open markets and policies promoting social cohesion. In addition, security from crime can best be achieved by striving for greater social equity and justice.

Canada’s trade commissioners are active throughout the region, building trade, investment and innovation links with Canadian partners. This includes expanded services in Brazil: Canada is adding trade resources in Rio [de Janeiro] and São Paulo, opening a new office in Porto Alegre and expanding its mission in Recife to include trade resources.

Export Development Canada also maintains a strong presence in the region. And Canadian missions in the region are working closely with Citizenship and Immigration Canada to address critical issues such as visas and labour mobility.

Keeping the human links strong between Canada and its partners in the region is absolutely critical. Our government is taking the steps necessary to do exactly that, and to ensure that Canada builds productive, prosperous partnerships with its friends throughout the region.

Canada’s economy was built on trade. Its jobs and quality of life in communities such as this one depend on it. And its ability to ride out the current economic storm is directly tied to its success in opening doors to commercial cooperation with partners around the world.

Latin America and the Caribbean are at the centre of the government’s efforts to help create opportunities for Canadians through—and far beyond—the current crisis.

Let’s work together to translate these opportunities into jobs and prosperity that will benefit us all.

Thank you.

Notes pour une allocution du ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques), l’honorable Peter Kent, devant la Greater Toronto Marketing Alliance « Établir des liens dans les Amériques pour le commerce et l’investissement »

Le 24 avril 2009
Toronto (Ontario)

Sous réserve de modifications

C’est un grand plaisir pour moi d’être ici aujourd’hui et de me retrouver parmi des gens qui font de la région du Grand Toronto un moteur de l’économie du Canada.

Vos efforts sont fort appréciés. Et ils sont essentiels au moment où le gouvernement du Canada continue d’aider des collectivités comme celle-ci à traverser la crise économique actuelle et à en ressortir plus fortes.

Plus tôt, le ministre [de l’Industrie, Tony] Clement vous a parlé des mesures que prend notre gouvernement pour soutenir la relance économique du Canada. L’établissement de nouveaux liens dans le domaine du commerce et de l’investissement à l’échelle internationale doit aussi fait partie intégrante de la solution.

La mondialisation ne va pas disparaître. Le Canada doit continuer à créer de nouveaux débouchés pour permettre à ses entreprises et à ses investisseurs de prospérer sur les marchés du monde entier.

Comme vous le savez, notre gouvernement a mis en oeuvre un plan très ambitieux afin de créer des possibilités pour les entreprises et les investisseurs canadiens à l’étranger.

La Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada englobe de nombreux outils, tels les accords de libre-échange, la promotion des services offerts aux entreprises canadiennes partout dans le monde, ainsi que des partenariats en matière d’innovation et d’investissement.

En tant que pays des Amériques, le Canada est résolu à jouer à long terme un rôle plus important dans la région. De plus en plus, les intérêts actuels et futurs du Canada et de ses voisins sont interreliés.

L’actuelle crise financière mondiale n’est pas propice au laisser-faire. Notre avenir exige que tous les pays collaborent pour affronter la tempête et en sortir plus forts que jamais.

Le premier ministre [Stephen Harper ] s’est engagé personnellement à travailler à l’établissement d’un hémisphère où progressent la prospérité, la démocratie et la sécurité. Il a créé le poste que j’occupe, consacré expressément aux Amériques, pour donner au Canada une nouvelle voix dans le dialogue avec ses voisins.

À titre de ministre d’État pour les Amériques, j’aimerais vous parler aujourd’hui de la façon dont le Canada renforce ses partenariats en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes.

Une plus grande prospérité est impossible sans la sécurité, comme nous le savons tous, ou sans les libertés et les lois qui découlent de la gouvernance démocratique. De même, une démocratie ne peut fonctionner sans la sécurité individuelle et la possibilité de rehausser son niveau de vie grâce à des débouchés accrus.

Le Canada est déterminé à accroître la prospérité et à ouvrir des marchés, tout en protégeant les droits de la personne, le processus démocratique et la sécurité collective. Il peut démontrer de la sorte aux populations des pays des Amériques que la démocratie ne se résume pas à la tenue d’élections.

La crise financière mondiale n’a épargné aucun pays. Cela dit, le Canada a su démontrer son leadership sur la scène internationale en faisant la promotion du libre-échange et de l’ouverture des marchés et en mettant en garde les autres pays contre la tentation d’un repli protectionniste.

Le Canada œuvre de façon à ce que les avancées de la région sur la voie de la prospérité ne soient pas perdues. La semaine dernière, lors du Sommet des Amériques, le premier ministre a annoncé une importante contribution à la consolidation des ressources des institutions financières internationales, afin d’accroître temporairement la capacité de prêt de la Banque interaméricaine de développement en réponse à la crise financière. Cette augmentation de l’aide arrive à point pour donner aux pays de la région un plus grand accès au crédit afin de stimuler la croissance économique, élément essentiel de la reprise.

La position ferme du Canada contre le protectionnisme et en faveur de la poursuite de la libéralisation apporte des avantages non seulement à la région des Amériques, mais aussi à notre économie, à un moment où nous avons tous plus que jamais besoin de ces avantages.

Le Canada compte près de 70 organisations des diasporas latino-américaines et caribéennes, et bon nombre de récents immigrants venus de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes sont fiers de considérer Toronto comme leur chez-soi. Ils contribuent à la richesse et à la diversité du tissu social de la société multiculturelle dont s’enorgueillit le Canada.

Le Canada entretient également des liens importants avec l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes sur le plan du commerce et de l’investissement. Les entreprises et les investisseurs canadiens sont solidement implantés sur ces marchés.

L’année dernière, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises s’est accru de 9,5 p. 100 pour dépasser les 22 milliards de dollars. Les liens en matière d’investissement sont plus importants encore : à la fin de 2008, l’investissement canadien direct dans la région atteignait près de 132 milliards de dollars.

Les entreprises canadiennes figurent parmi les principaux investisseurs en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, notamment dans les secteurs des services financiers et des industries extractives. La région est de même devenue rapidement une importante source d’investissement étranger direct au Canada.

Toutefois, il ne faut pas regarder l’hémisphère sous un seul angle. Depuis la Cordillère des Andes riche en ressources jusqu’aux vastes terres agricoles du Cône Sud, en passant par les florissantes industries du tourisme et des services financiers des Caraïbes et de l’Amérique centrale, la région offre une grande variété de débouchés aux entreprises canadiennes.

En étroite consultation avec les gens d’affaires, les représentants de l’industrie et les universitaires, le gouvernement a élaboré des plans de développement des marchés. Ces plans visent les secteurs clés qui sont susceptibles d’entraîner des gains appréciables pour les entreprises canadiennes et d’avoir des retombées positives tout aussi importantes pour les économies locales.

Ces secteurs incluent notamment :

  • le bâtiment et le matériel de construction;
  • le matériel et les services d’énergie électrique;
  • l’industrie de l’environnement;
  • les technologies de l’information et des communications;
  • le matériel et les services d’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz.

Ces investissements canadiens s’accompagnent d’un engagement ferme à l’égard de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

Dans tous ces secteurs, le Canada a beaucoup à offrir à ses partenaires dans la région, ce dont ils commencent d’ailleurs à percevoir.

Prenez l’innovation par exemple. C’est au Canada qu’on mène certains des plus remarquables travaux de recherche scientifique et de développement technologique du monde.

Notre gouvernement a saisi l’importance de l’innovation pour le programme économique national du Canada et il s’emploie à refaçonner la politique commerciale canadienne pour tenir compte de cette nouvelle réalité.

C’est dans cette optique que s’inscrivent les partenariats du Canada à l’échelle mondiale, qui paveront la voie aux découvertes scientifiques de demain.

Prenons le cas du Brésil. Le Canada entretient des liens de collaboration très étroits avec ce pays dans des secteurs novateurs comme la biotechnologie, l’agriculture, l’industrie pharmaceutique, les technologies spatiales et l’énergie renouvelable.

Nos deux pays approfondissent encore davantage ces relations grâce à un nouvel accord de coopération scientifique et technologique, qui permettra aux scientifiques, aux chercheurs et aux créateurs des deux pays d’unir plus facilement leurs forces et de mettre à contribution leurs idées, leur expertise, leurs recherches et leurs innovations sur les marchés du monde entier.

Voilà un autre exemple de ce que le Canada peut offrir à ses partenaires dans la région — et de ce ces derniers peuvent offrir au Canada.

Tout en renforçant ses liens avec la région, le Canada travaille à appuyer la prochaine génération de dirigeants.

La semaine dernière, au Sommet des Amériques, le premier ministre Harper a annoncé le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques, un prolongement de l’actuel programme canadien de bourses.

Désormais, jusqu’à 1 600 bourses seront offertes aux étudiants pour leur permettre de poursuivre des études ou des recherches au Canada dans des domaines où ils pourront ensuite faire progresser la situation sur les plans économique, social et de la gouvernance, là où des besoins existent dans l’hémisphère.

Ces nouveaux leaders acquerront une meilleure connaissance des valeurs, des technologies et du savoir-faire canadiens. De même, ce programme renforcera les partenariats institutionnels entre le Canada et d’autres pays des Amériques.

La stratégie du gouvernement pour les Amériques inclut évidemment la création d’occasions d’affaires pour les entreprises canadiennes par la multiplication d’accords de libre-échange (ALE).

Le Canada fait fond sur les accords conclus avec le Chili et le Costa Rica, et il poursuit les négociations avec le Salvador, le Honduras, le Guatemala et le Nicaragua.

J’ai effectué ma première visite officielle à titre de ministre d’État pour les Amériques au Guatemala, au Nicaragua et au Salvador. J’y ai réitéré notre volonté de collaborer pour lutter contre les difficultés que connaît l’hémisphère, notamment l’insuffisance de sécurité, la criminalité et la pauvreté.

En raison des relations de longue date du Canada avec ces pays, j’ai pu avoir avec leurs hauts dirigeants politiques des discussions franches et ouvertes. Nous avons abordé des sujets qui préoccupent grandement le Canada, comme les conséquences de la corruption et la nécessité d’une plus grande transparence et d’une meilleure reddition de comptes. En particulier, j’ai exprimé ma vive inquiétude quant aux allégations de fraude lors des élections locales de novembre dernier au Nicaragua. Par contre, le Canada a été heureux de pouvoir féliciter le Salvador pour la tenue d’élections libres et justes en mars dernier.

La République dominicaine, le Panama et la Communauté des Caraïbes sont également de possibles partenaires de libre-échange. J’ai visité les Caraïbes en février dernier et j’y ai réitéré la détermination du Canada d’approfondir les relations qu’il entretient avec les Caraïbes.

Au récent Sommet des Amériques, le premier ministre Harper a rencontré des dirigeants de la Communauté des Caraïbes pour amener ces pays à renforcer leurs liens commerciaux avec le Canada. Lors du Sommet, le premier ministre a annoncé un programme quinquennal d’aide technique afin d’aider les pays qui ont signé ou sont sur le point de signer des accords commerciaux avec le Canada.

Ce sont là d’excellents résultats.

Après le Sommet, le premier ministre s’est rendu en Jamaïque où il a réaffirmé la volonté du Canada de renforcer ses liens avec cet important partenaire régional comme avec l’ensemble des pays des Caraïbes, entre autres au moyen de la négociation d’une entente commerciale mutuellement avantageuse.

Le mois dernier, le ministre [du Commerce international, Stockwell] Day a déposé à la Chambre des communes un projet de loi sur la mise en œuvre de deux autres accords de libre-échange, l’un avec le Pérou et l’autre avec la Colombie.

Ces accords donnent aux entreprises et aux producteurs du Canada un avantage concurrentiel dans de nombreux secteurs clés, dont le blé, les produits du papier, l’exploitation minière, le pétrole et le gaz, l’ingénierie, les technologies de l’information et les services financiers.

Il s’agit là d’un formidable avantage pour les producteurs agricoles canadiens, qui bénéficieront de la suppression immédiate des droits de douane sur des cultures de base comme le blé et les légumineuses, les rendant ainsi plus compétitifs sur ces marchés lucratifs.

L’industrie manufacturière est un autre bon exemple d’un secteur qui profitera de ces accords.

Nous savons tous que les fabricants canadiens traversent actuellement une période difficile. Ils ont besoin de pouvoir profiter de tous les débouchés possibles pour faire face à la tourmente.

Nous devons donc créer des débouchés dans de nouveaux marchés, tels le Pérou et la Colombie. Les accords de libre-échange élimineront les droits de douane colombiens et péruviens sur la plupart des machines et des produits industriels. Voilà qui est particulièrement important pour les fabricants canadiens de matériel d’exploitation minière, de machines industrielles, de matériel de construction et de plusieurs autres produits.

Les accords ouvrent également l’accès à de lucratifs contrats d’approvisionnement pour les entreprises canadiennes. Ils prévoient aussi des mesures de promotion de l’investissement bilatéral entre les entreprises canadiennes et leurs partenaires au Pérou et en Colombie.

Ce ne sont là que quelques -uns des secteurs économiques qui peuvent rapporter concrètement aux entreprises et aux investisseurs canadiens.

J’ai effectué récemment une visite fructueuse en Colombie dans le cadre d’échanges bilatéraux. J’ai y rencontré des intervenants clé de la société civile, des syndicats et du milieu des affaires. Nous avons des discussions stimulantes sur l’accord de libre-échange récemment déposé devant le Parlement pour ratification.

Nous avons abordé en toute franchise la situation qui prévaut en Colombie. J’ai assuré le gouvernement [du président Alvaro] Uribe de l’appui du Canada dans ses efforts pour accroître la sécurité de sa population et manifesté notre soutien dans sa lutte constante pour le respect des droits de la personne.

J’ai eu l’occasion de rencontrer le ministre colombien des Affaires étrangères Jaime Bermudez et nous avons discuté du rôle actif du Canada pour appuyer la paix, la sécurité et les droits de la personne en Colombie. Compte tenu des relations positives et du dialogue franc bien établi entre nos pays, nous avons convenu de tenir des consultations régulières sur les droits de la personne pour discuter de domaines d’intérêt commun et de coopération, et ce, aux niveaux bilatéral et multilatéral.

Lors de mes entretiens avec ces différents intervenants, j’ai pu faire valoir que les accords de libre-échange tant avec le Pérou qu’avec la Colombie sont accompagnés d’accords parallèles en matière d’environnement et de coopération dans le domaine du travail. Ces accords comportent des dispositions rigoureuses pour assurer que l’augmentation des échanges commerciaux ne se fera pas aux dépens des travailleurs ou de l’environnement. Le Canada compte utiliser ces accords comme modèle pour de futurs accords de libre-échange avec d’autres pays de la région.

Le gouvernement du Canada croit fermement que le commerce et l’investissement peuvent jouer un rôle positif pour les collectivités du monde entier. C’est aussi pourquoi, récemment, il a annoncé de nouvelles initiatives visant à soutenir des pratiques responsables de la part des entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger.

La stratégie du gouvernement sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises comporte une série de nouvelles mesures pour aider des entreprises minières, pétrolières et gazières à s’acquitter, voire aller au-delà de leurs responsabilités sociales et environnementales à l’étranger.

Le gouvernement est en voie de créer un nouveau bureau de « conseiller », qui aidera à résoudre les problèmes pouvant surgir entre les entreprises canadiennes et les communautés où se déroulent leurs activités.

Nous soutenons un nouveau centre d’excellence indépendant du gouvernement pour offrir aux entreprises canadiennes et à d’autres organisations un guichet unique, où elles peuvent obtenir les renseignements et les outils dont elles ont besoin.

Par l’intermédiaire de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, le gouvernement continue d’aider les gouvernements étrangers à renforcer leur propre capacité de gérer leurs ressources naturelles de façon responsable et durable.

De plus, nous continuons à promouvoir des lignes directrices volontaires reconnues à l’échelle internationale en matière de rendement et de production de rapports auprès des entreprises canadiennes présentes à l’étranger.

Les entreprises canadiennes jouent un rôle important pour améliorer la vie des gens du monde entier, y compris dans les Amériques. Elles créent des emplois, de la richesse et des possibilités. Et grâce à de telles initiatives, elles le font d’une manière responsable et durable.

En même temps, le gouvernement est tout à fait conscient que ses objectifs en matière de politique étrangère ne peuvent être atteints sans une présence canadienne importante sur ces marchés.

Nous défendons les principes et la pratique de la démocratie et des droits de la personne, qui exigent une réglementation sur l’ouverture des marchés et des politiques qui favorisent la cohésion sociale. En outre, le meilleur moyen de se protéger contre la criminalité consiste à favoriser une meilleure équité sociale et une plus grande justice.

Les délégués commerciaux du Canada s’activent dans toute la région pour établir avec les partenaires canadiens des liens sur les plans du commerce, de l’investissement et de l’innovation. Ces activités consistent, entre autres, à élargir nos services au Brésil : le Canada renforce son effectif commercial à Rio [de Janeiro] et à Sao Paolo, ouvre un nouveau bureau à Porto Alegre et agrandit sa mission de Recife pour y ajouter une section commerciale.

Exportation et développement Canada maintient aussi une importante présence dans la région. Et les missions dans la région travaillent en étroite collaboration avec Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada pour traiter de questions importantes comme les visas et la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre.

En effet, le maintien de liens humains solides entre le Canada et ses partenaires dans la région est absolument essentiel. Notre gouvernement prend donc les mesures nécessaires à cette fin ainsi que pour assurer que le Canada établit des partenariats fructueux et prospères avec ses alliés régionaux.

Le commerce a permis à l’économie canadienne de se développer. Les emplois et la qualité de vie dans des collectivités comme celle-ci en dépendent. Et la capacité du Canada de traverser l’actuelle tempête économique dépend directement de son niveau de réussite en ce qui a trait à l’établissement d’occasions de collaboration commerciales avec ses partenaires du monde entier.

L’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes sont au centre des efforts que le gouvernement déploie pour aider à créer des débouchés pour les Canadiens — pendant la crise actuelle et bien au-delà.

Travaillons ensemble pour transformer ces possibilités en emplois et en richesse qui profiteront à tous.

Je vous remercie.