Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Canada - EU Trade and Investment Enhancement Agreement Negotiations (TIEA)

Closing date: September 16, 2005

The Government of Canada will be undertaking a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the negotiations for a Trade and Investment Enhancement Agreement with the European Union and invites comments on any likely and significant environmental impacts of the negotiations on Canada.

In keeping with the 1999 Directive requiring federal departments to consider the environmental impacts of policy initiatives, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade developed the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations (the Framework). It should be noted that the Framework is intended to be applied in a flexible fashion, so that it can be adapted to the nature of the agreement to be negotiated.

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on the likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada of the TIEA negotiations by September 16, 2005

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Consultations & Liaison Division (EBC)
Environmental Assessment Consultations - Canada - EU TIEA
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (International Trade)
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique des négociations en faveur de l’Accord de renforcement du commerce et de l'investissement (ARCI) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne

Date limite : 16 septembre 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada entreprendra une évaluation environnementale stratégique des négociations en faveur d'un Accord de renforcement du commerce et de l'investissement avec l'Union européenne. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les impacts environnementaux probables et significatifs des négociations au Canada.

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 voulant que les ministères fédéraux tiennent compte des effets de leurs initiatives stratégiques sur l'environnement, le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international a élaboré en 2001 le Cadre pour l'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales. Le cadre se veut suffisamment souple pour qu'on puisse l'adapter selon la nature de l'accord à négocier.

Toutes les parties prenantes sont invitées à présenter, d'ici le 16 septembre 2005, leurs observations relatives aux impacts environnementaux probables et significatifs des négociations d’un ARCI au Canada.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste à :

Direction des consultations et de la liaison (EBC)
Consultations sur l’évaluation environnementale – ARCI Canada-UE
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Commerce international)
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca