Language selection

Search

Canada-Bangladesh relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Canada established diplomatic relations with Bangladesh in 1972. Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada to Bangladesh, in Dhaka. In Canada, Bangladesh is represented by the High Commission for Bangladesh in Ottawa.

Canada’s relations with Bangladesh are focused on:

  • development cooperation
  • trade and investment
  • people-to-people links

People-to-people links between Canada and Bangladesh are expanding. The Bangladeshi-Canadian community is estimated at over 100,000 and continues to make significant contributions to Canadian prosperity and to the multi-cultural fabric of Canada.

Canada has expressed its concerns about the state of human rights in Bangladesh and particularly the rights of workers, of various minority groups and of women and girls. Through bilateral engagement, Canada regularly encourages Bangladeshi authorities to ensure that human rights and democratic freedoms are respected.

Trade relationship

Canada’s commercial relationship with Bangladesh has grown significantly over the last 14 years. The value of bilateral merchandise trade has more than tripled from $600.5 million in 2004 to over $2.4 billion Canadian dollars in 2018. During this period, Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh have increased over six fold. Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh were $651 million in 2018, of which 70% were agriculture items. Canadian merchandise imports from Bangladesh were nearly $1.7 billion in 2018. Canada’s popularity is increasing as a “study destination of choice” for Bangladeshi students.  The number of Bangladeshi students who choose to study in Canada in 2018 is more than 6,500, an increase of more than 150% from 2014.

Canada’s main exports to Bangladesh include:

  • cereals
  • pulses
  • iron and steel
  • fertilizer (potash)
  • chemicals
  • aircraft, related equipment and services

Bangladesh is Canada’s fourth largest pulse export market (e.g. dry peas, lentils, chickpeas), and a major market for high quality wheat. In addition, several flagship Canadian companies from the readymade garments, aerospace, defence and security sectors are active in the Bangladesh market and pursuing new business opportunities.

Canada has supplied Bangladesh with one million tons of potash since independence in 1971. In partnership with the Canadian Commercial Corporation, the Government of Canada signed the first government-to-government agreement with the Government of Bangladesh in April 2014 to export high quality potash fertilizer to Bangladesh.

In August 2013, Canada and Bangladesh concluded negotiations of a first-time bilateral air transport agreement in Ottawa. Both countries agreed to apply the agreement on an administrative basis immediately.

Canada’s main merchandise imports from Bangladesh included:

  • woven apparel
  • knit apparel
  • miscellaneous textile articles
  • headgear and footwear

Garments and textile products make up the bulk of Canada’s merchandise imports from Bangladesh. Bangladesh has enjoyed duty-free market access to Canada, for most goods, since 2003. Potential trading opportunities for Bangladesh to explore include:

  • expanding Canadian imports of ready-made garments
  • porcelain
  • leather goods
  • jute and quality jute goods
  • ceramic
  • tableware and kitchenware
  • frozen fish and others

Trade and investment agreements

Trade and investment agreements involving Canada and Bangladesh:

For more information, consult trade and investment agreements.

Development relationship

Canada has provided over $4 billion of international assistance to Bangladesh since 1972.  Current programming supports mutual priorities in the areas of gender equality and empowerment of women and girls, health, skills training and support to the ready-made garment sector. These development priorities are in line with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy.

Partners and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Bangladesh work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Bangladesh

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Bangladesh en 1972. Le Canada est représenté par le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Bangladesh, à Dhaka. Au Canada, le Bangladesh est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Bangladesh à Ottawa.

Les relations du Canada avec le Bangladesh sont axées sur :

  • de la coopération au développement
  • du commerce et de l'investissement
  • des relations interpersonnelles 

Il y a de plus en plus de liens interpersonnels entre le Canada et le Bangladesh. La communauté canado-bangladaise est estimée à plus de 100 000 personnes et contribue de manière significative à la prospérité du Canada et au tissu multiculturel du Canada.

Le Canada est préoccupé par la situation des droits de la personne au Bangladesh, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les droits des travailleurs, les droits de divers groupes minoritaires, et les droits des femmes et filles. Dans le cadre d’engagements bilatéraux, le Canada encourage régulièrement les autorités du Bangladesh à veiller au respect des droits de la personne et des libertés démocratiques.

Relations commerce

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec le Bangladesh se sont considérablement développées au cours des 14 dernières années. La valeur du commerce bilatéral de marchandises a plus que triplé, passant de 600,5 millions de dollars en 2004 à plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2018. Au cours de cette période, les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers le Bangladesh ont sextuplé. Elles se chiffraient à 651 millions de dollars en 2018, et les produits agricoles représentaient 70 % de ces exportations. Les importations au Canada de marchandises provenant du Bangladesh atteignaient près de 1,7 milliard de dollars en 2018. Le Canada est de plus en plus populaire en tant que destination de choix pour les étudiants du Bangladesh. Plus de 6 500 étudiants du Bangladesh ont choisi d’étudier au Canada en 2018. Cela représente une augmentation de plus de 150 % par rapport à 2014.

Les principales exportations du Canada vers le Bangladesh comprennent les produits suivants :

  • céréales
  • légumineuses
  • fer et acier
  • engrais (potasse)
  • produits chimiques
  • aéronefs, équipement et services connexes

Le Bangladesh est le quatrième plus important marché d’exportation de légumineuses du Canada (p. ex. pois secs, lentilles et pois chiches) et représente un marché important pour le blé de qualité supérieure. De plus, plusieurs entreprises canadiennes phares des secteurs du prêt-à-porter, de l’aérospatiale, et de la défense et de la sécurité, sont actives sur le marché du Bangladesh et cherchent de nouvelles occasions d’affaires.

Le Canada a fourni au Bangladesh un million de tonnes de potasse depuis que ce pays a obtenu son indépendance, en 1971. En partenariat avec la Corporation commerciale canadienne, le gouvernement du Canada a conclu le premier accord de gouvernement à gouvernement avec le gouvernement du Bangladesh en avril 2014 en vue d’y exporter de l’engrais potassique de haute qualité.

En août 2013, le Canada et le Bangladesh ont conclu la négociation du premier accord bilatéral sur le transport aérien à Ottawa. Les deux pays ont convenu d’appliquer immédiatement l’accord sur le plan administratif.

Les principales marchandises importées du Bangladesh au Canada comprennent les produits suivants :

  • vêtements tissés
  • vêtements tricotés
  • articles textiles divers
  • coiffures et chaussures

Les vêtements et les produits textiles constituent l’essentiel des marchandises que le Canada importe du Bangladesh. Ce pays bénéficie d’un accès au marché canadien en franchise de droits depuis 2003. Parmi les possibilités commerciales que le Bangladesh pourrait explorer, mentionnons :

  • l’expansion des importations canadiennes de prêt-à-porter;
  • de porcelaine;
  • d’articles de maroquinerie;
  • de produits en jute et en jute de grande qualité;
  • d’articles en céramique;
  • de vaisselle et d’articles de cuisine;
  • de poisson congelé et d’autres produits

Accords en matière de commerce et d’investissement

Voici une liste des accords sur le commerce et l’investissement comprenant le Canada et Bangladesh :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement.

Relations en matière de développement

Le Canada a fourni plus de 4 milliards de dollars d’aide internationale au Bangladesh depuis 1972. Les programmes actuels appuient les priorités communes dans les domaines de l’égalité des sexes et de l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles, de la santé, de la formation de la main-d’œuvre et du soutien pour l’industrie du prêt-à-porter. Ces priorités de développement sont conformes à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada.

Partenaires et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et Bangladesh collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Date de modification: