Language selection

Search

Canada-Jordan relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Jordan is a key partner for Canada in the Middle East, as demonstrated by our significant international assistance to Jordan and our mutual interest in diplomacy. Aside from promoting regional and international stability, mainly through the support and advocacy of sustainable solutions to the conflicts in Syria, Iraq and the Israeli-Palestinian peace process, our shared interests include:

Canada and Jordan also share strong people-to-people links through a Jordanian-Canadian community in Canada, Jordanian students studying in Canada, and Canadians living and working in Jordan. Canada is represented in Jordan by its embassy in Amman and increased its diplomatic presence there in response to the crisis in Syria. Jordan is represented in Canada by its embassy in Ottawa.

Since 2016, through the Middle East engagement Strategy Canada has contributed over $575.7 million to support Jordan’s stability and resilience as it manages the effects of the conflicts in Iraq and Syria. Currently in Jordan, there are 669,497 registered Syrian refugees. If unregistered refugees are included, one estimate brings the total to 1.3 million Syrian refugees. In addition to Syrian refugees, Jordan also hosts refugees from over 50 nationalities including Iraqis, Yemenis and Palestinians.

Canada has renewed its Middle East engagement strategy until March 31, 2022 with a focus on building stability, governance and long-term resilience in the region.

Trade relations

Jordan is the first Arab country with which Canada has signed a Free Trade Agreement. Bilateral trade in 2020 was $200 million.

Canada’s exports to Jordan are diversified and span a range of sectors, including:

In addition, as of December 2019, there were 1445 valid Canadian study permits issued to Jordanian students.

Related links

Development

Under Canada’s Middle East Engagement Strategy, Canada is supporting Jordan’s efforts to build the resilience of individuals, communities and institutions through better access to quality education, sustainable and inclusive economic growth (with a focus on economic reform and the empowerment of women and youth), and inclusive governance, including municipal services. This support recognizes that in a refugee hosting situation, compounded by economic challenges and the COVID-19 pandemic, stability can be enhanced through strengthened education, employment and other opportunities for refugees and host communities. For more information, see Canada’s Middle East Engagement Strategy.

Security and Stabilization

Canada is committed to supporting Jordan’s capacity to provide internal security and defend its borders. Canada and Jordan signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on defence cooperation in the spring of 2012 and the Jordanian Armed Forces benefit from the close relationship with the Canadian Armed Forces. In addition, MoUs on preventing the spread of weapons of mass destruction and related materials, and on increasing security and stabilization cooperation were signed in 2013 and 2016 respectively. Canada also became the NATO point of contact Embassy in Jordan in January, 2021.

In partnership with Canada’s Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program (CTCBP), a Canadian Armed Forces Training Assistance Team (CTAT) is based in Jordan to implement capacity-building efforts through Operation IMPACT. Initiatives to support the Jordanian Armed Forces to better respond to threats in the region include a rehabilitated military border road that covers over 63 kilometers and 11 renovated border towers, both of which are located along the Jordan-Syria frontier.

Through CTCBP and the Policing Support Team/ARK Group, Canada is also delivering specialized firearms, search and medical training to build the capacity of female police officers in critical incident response roles. This initiative, delivered alongside technical assistance to the Gender Unit within Jordan’s Public Security Directorate, is in support of Jordan’s National Action Plan (JONAP) for advancing the implementation of UN Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security (UNSCR 1325), as well as Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy (FIAP), to help strengthen global peace and security through increased women’s representation in the security sector.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Jordan work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Jordanie

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

La Jordanie est un partenaire clé pour le Canada au Moyen-Orient, comme en témoignent l'aide internationale importante que nous apportons à la Jordanie et notre intérêt mutuel pour la diplomatie. En plus de promouvoir la stabilité régionale et internationale, principalement par le soutien et la promotion de solutions durables aux conflits en Syrie, en Irak et au processus de paix israélo-palestinien, nos intérêts communs comprennent :

Le Canada et la Jordanie partagent également des liens interpersonnels solides par le biais d'une communauté jordano-canadienne au Canada, d'étudiants jordaniens qui étudient au Canada et de Canadiens qui vivent et travaillent en Jordanie. Le Canada est représenté en Jordanie par son ambassade à Amman et y a renforcé sa présence diplomatique en réponse à la crise en Syrie. La Jordanie est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa.

Depuis 2016, dans le cadre de sa stratégie au Moyen-Orient, le Canada a versé plus de 575,7 millions de dollars pour soutenir la stabilité et la résilience de la Jordanie, qui gère les effets des conflits en Irak et en Syrie. Actuellement, il y a 669 497 réfugiés syriens enregistrés en Jordanie. En incluant les réfugiés non enregistrés, selon une estimation, cela amène le nombre complet de réfugiés syriens à 1,3 millions. En plus des réfugiés syriens, la Jordanie accueille également des réfugiés de plus de 50 différentes nationalités, y compris des irakiens, des yéménites, et des palestiniens.

Le Canada a renouvelé sa stratégie au Moyen-Orient jusqu’au 31 mars 2022 en mettant l’accent sur le renforcement de la stabilité, de la gouvernance et de la résilience à long terme dans la région.

Relations commerciales

La Jordanie est le premier pays arabe avec lequel le Canada a signé un accord de libre-échange. Le commerce bilatéral en 2020 s'élevait à 200 millions de dollars.

Les exportations du Canada vers la Jordanie sont diversifiées et touchent plusieurs secteurs, notamment :

De plus, en décembre 2019, quelques 1445 permis d'études canadiens valides avaient été délivrés à des étudiants jordaniens.

Liens connexes

Développement

Dans le cadre de sa stratégie d'engagement au Moyen-Orient, le Canada soutient les efforts de la Jordanie pour renforcer la résilience des individus, des communautés et des institutions grâce à un meilleur accès à une éducation de qualité, à une croissance économique durable et inclusive (avec un accent sur la réforme économique et l'autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes), et à une gouvernance inclusive, y compris les services municipaux. Ce soutien reconnaît que dans une situation d'accueil de réfugiés, aggravée par les défis économiques et la pandémie COVID-19, la stabilité peut être renforcée par une éducation accrue, l'emploi et d'autres opportunités pour les réfugiés et les communautés d'accueil. Pour plus d'informations, voir la stratégie d'engagement du Canada au Moyen-Orient.

Sécurité/Stabilisation

Le Canada s'est engagé à soutenir la capacité de la Jordanie à assurer la sécurité intérieure et à défendre ses frontières. Le Canada et la Jordanie ont signé un protocole d'accord sur la coopération en matière de défense au printemps 2012 et les forces armées jordaniennes bénéficient de la relation importante avec les forces armées canadiennes. En outre, des protocoles d'accord sur la prévention de la prolifération des armes de destruction massive et des matières connexes, et sur le renforcement de la coopération en matière de sécurité et de stabilisation ont été signés en 2013 et 2016 respectivement. Le Canada est également le point de contact de l’OTAN à l’ambassade en Jordanie depuis janvier 2021.

En partenariat avec les programmes d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes (PARCA), une équipe des Forces armées canadiennes d’aide à la formation est basée en Jordanie pour mettre en œuvre les efforts de renforcement de capacité via l’Opération IMPACT. Les initiatives pour soutenir les Forces armées jordaniennes afin qu’elles puissent mieux répondre aux menaces dans la région comprennent la réhabilitation d’une route sur la frontière qui couvre 63 kilomètres et 11 tours à la frontière rénovées, qui sont situées sur le long de la frontière entre la Jordanie et la Syrie.

Via les PARCA et l’équipe de support des services de police/groupe ARK, le Canada fournit également des armes à feu spécialisées, de la formation en recherche et en médecine pour renforcer les capacités des agentes de police dans les rôles de réponses dans les incidents critiques. Cette initiative, livrée avec de l’aide technique à l’unité sur le genre du directorat de la sécurité publique en Jordanie, soutient le plan d’action national de la Jordanie (JONAP) pour faire avancer la mise en œuvre de la résolution du conseil de sécurité 1325 sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité (RCSONU 1325), ainsi que la politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada (PAIF), pour aider à renforcer la paix et sécurité globale via une représentation accrue des femmes dans le secteur de la sécurité.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin d'élaborer des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux les plus urgents d'aujourd'hui, le Canada et la Jordanie travaillent en étroite collaboration dans des forums multilatéraux, tels que :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: