Language selection

Search

Canada-Senegal relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and Senegal established diplomatic relations in 1962, after the independence of Senegal in 1960. Relations between the two countries are close and touch on a wide range of activities. Already considering Senegal an important and reliable partner, Canada takes measures to further develop its relations with this country, which acts as a reference regarding democratic governance and sustainable economic development measures in Sub-Saharan Africa. Canada and Senegal work closely together in order to promote peace and regional security. The relations between the two countries also contribute to the economic and commercial growth in key sectors, such as: education, mines, gas, oil, clean energies, security and IT.

In Senegal, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Dakar.

Senegal is represented in Canada by the Embassy of Senegal in Ottawa (French only). Honorary Consuls are also present in Toronto, Montreal, Quebec, Winnipeg (Saint-Boniface), and Vancouver.

Senegal’s students in Canada

As of March 30th, 2021, 4,083 Senegalese students were in Canada.

Trade relations

In 2021, bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Senegal totaled $184.1 million, including $179.2 million in exports and $4.9 million in imports. Canada's commercial involvement in Senegal features a significant growth potential, including in the mining, agriculture, oil, gas, clean energy and digital sectors. Agricultural and marine products, phosphate mining, oil refining and construction materials are the country's main industrial sectors. Canadian companies are strategically important in other sectors, such as education (textbooks), agriculture, the industry and transport sectors, as well as in the fields of consultation and engineering. There are Canadian mining companies presently active in Senegal.

Related links

Development and humanitarian assistance

Canada is a long-standing partner in Senegal's development, having provided nearly $1.3 billion in official development assistance since 1962 and playing a significant role in reducing poverty in Senegal. In 2020-21, Canada's official development assistance to Senegal surpassed $78 million (all funding channels combined). Through its bilateral assistance program, Canada supports the implementation of the Plan Sénégal Émergent, Senegal's national strategy for economic and social development, with investments in several key sectors including: education and vocational training, climate-smart agricultural development, health and nutrition, and inclusive governance.

Canada is also supporting Senegal in its efforts to reduce gender inequalities, strengthen the rights of girls and women, and promote their full participation in society. In addition, Canada contributes to development efforts in Senegal through strong institutional support to multilateral organizations, including UNICEF, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), the World Bank, the World Health Organization, and the World Food Program. Flagship initiatives implemented by international organizations, including the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, Nutrition International, the Movement for Scaling Up Nutrition and the Global Partnership for Education.

Canada also supports initiatives implemented by Canadian partners, including Canadian non-governmental organizations, universities, colleges and CEGEPs. Canadian NGOs, professional volunteers, and youth interns are particularly active in the country, sharing expertise, exchanging knowledge and learning from the Senegalese, building strong bridges between Canada and Senegal every year.

See the Project Browser for more details on programming in Senegal.

Peace and security

Canada and Senegal work in close collaboration to promote peace and security in the region. The two countries participated in many peacekeeping initiatives. Senegal's Armed Forces (SAF) are involved in Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Program (MTCP).

As a part of the Elsie Initiative for the Significant Participation of Women in Peace Operations, Senegal helps define and promote the initiative as a member of the contact group. Canada is also supporting Senegal in implementing its Armed Forced Gender Integration Strategy in order to increase the number of women in its ranks. The Senegalese police and gendarmerie were some of the first beneficiaries of the Elsie Initiative Fund to eliminate the barriers that women face in the organization and to participate in peace operations.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Senegal work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Sénégal

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Sénégal ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1962, à la suite de l’indépendance du Sénégal en 1960. Le Canada considère le Sénégal comme un partenaire fiable et central au sein des institutions internationales et régionales et continue à accroître ses relations touchant déjà un large éventail d’activités. À ce titre, le Sénégal fait office de référence quant à la gouvernance démocratique et aux mesures de développement économique durable en Afrique sub-saharienne. Le Canada et le Sénégal travaillent en étroite collaboration afin de promouvoir la paix et la sécurité régionales. Les relations entre les deux pays contribuent également à la croissance économique et commerciale dans des secteurs clés : éducation, mines, pétroles et gaz, énergies propres, sécurité et numérique.

L'Ambassade du Canada à Dakar assure la représentation du pays au Sénégal.

L’Ambassade du Sénégal à Ottawa assure la représentation du pays au Canada. Des Consuls honoraires sont aussi en poste à Toronto, Montréal, Québec, Winnipeg (Saint-Boniface), et Vancouver.

Étudiants du Sénégal au Canada

En date du 30 mars 2021, il y avait 4 803 étudiants sénégalais au Canada.

Relations commerciales

En 2021, les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et le Sénégal s'établissaient à 184,1 M$, dont 179,2 M$ d'exportations et 4,9 $ d'importations en provenance du Sénégal. Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Sénégal offrent un potentiel intéressant de croissance, notamment dans les secteurs miniers, de l'agriculture, du pétrole, du gaz, des énergies propres et du numérique. Les principaux secteurs industriels du pays sont les produits agricoles et maritimes, l'exploitation du phosphate, le raffinage du pétrole et les matériaux de construction. Les compagnies canadiennes occupent une place stratégique dans différents secteurs, notamment le secteur aurifère. Il y a des entreprises minières canadiennes actives au Sénégal.

Liens connexes

Développement et assistance humanitaire

Le Canada est un partenaire de longue date du Sénégal, avec des investissements consacrés à l'aide publique au développement de près de 1,3 milliard de dollars depuis 1962. Le Canada joue un rôle important dans les efforts de réduction de la pauvreté au Sénégal. En 2020-2021, l'aide publique au développement versée par le Canada au Sénégal (tous canaux confondus) a surpassé 78 millions de dollars. Par l'entremise de son programme d'aide bilatérale, le Canada appuie la mise en œuvre du Plan Sénégal Émergent —la stratégie nationale de développement économique et social — avec des investissements dans plusieurs secteurs clés, notamment l'éducation, la formation professionnelle, le développement agricole respectueux du climat, la santé et la nutrition et la gouvernance inclusive.

Le Canada accompagne également le Sénégal dans ses efforts visant à réduire les inégalités de genre, renforcer les droits des filles et des femmes, et favoriser leur pleine participation à la société. En outre, le Canada contribue aux efforts de développement au du Sénégal par l'entremise d'un important soutien institutionnel à des organisations multilatérales dont l'UNICEF, le Fond des Nations Unies pour la population (FNUAP), la Banque mondiale, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé et le Programme alimentaire mondial. Le Canada soutient également des initiatives phares mises en œuvre par des organisations internationales, dont le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, Nutrition internationale, le Mouvement pour le renforcement de la nutrition et le Partenariat mondial pour l'éducation.

Au Sénégal, le Canada appuie également des initiatives mises en œuvre par des partenaires canadiens, incluant des organisations non-gouvernementales, des universités, des collèges et des cégeps canadiens. Les ONG canadiennes, les coopérants et les jeunes stagiaires sont particulièrement actifs dans le pays, partageant leur expertise, échangeant leurs connaissances et apprenant des Sénégalais, créant ainsi chaque année des liens solides entre le Sénégal et le Canada.

Voir la Banque de projets pour plus de détails sur la programmation au Sénégal.

Paix et sécurité

Le Canada et le Sénégal travaillent en étroite collaboration afin de promouvoir la paix et la sécurité régionale. Les deux pays ont participé à de nombreuses initiatives de maintien de la paix. Les Forces armées du Sénégal sont bénéficiaires du Programme d’instruction et de la coopération militaires de la Défense nationale du Canada.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative Elsie pour la participation significative des femmes aux opérations de paix, le Sénégal aide à définir et promouvoir l'initiative à titre de membre du groupe de contact. Le Canada appuie le Sénégal dans la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie sectorielle genre des forces armées afin d'augmenter la représentation des femmes dans ses rangs. De plus, la police et la gendarmerie du Sénégal ont été un des premiers bénéficiaires du Fond de l'Initiative Elsie afin d'éliminer les barrières que rencontrent les femmes au sein de leurs structures et à participer aux opérations de paix.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Sénégal collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: