Language selection

Search

Canada-Tunisia relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Tunisia established diplomatic relations in 1957. The two countries enjoy excellent bilateral relations. In 2020, the Tunisian diaspora in Canada represented nearly 35,000 people residing mainly in the province of Quebec. Canada, one of the top destinations for studies abroad, attracts between 2,000 and 3,000 Tunisian students annually.

Canada strongly supports Tunisia’s progress in building a vibrant and open democracy since the Jasmine Revolution in January 2011 and the adoption of the Constitution in 2014. Canada is working with the Tunisian government, civil society and the international community to support decentralization and political, economic and social reforms in the country. In alignment with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, Canada and Tunisia cooperate on gender equality, inclusive governance, the prevention of radicalization and the fight against terrorism.

Although Canada and Tunisia are not bound by a bilateral extradition treaty, both countries are signatories to the United Nations Convention against Corruption and to the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime, which allow extradition, in accordance with Canadian law and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Canada has also passed the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act and the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations, which enforce written requests from the Tunisian government to freeze all assets deposited in Canadian financial institutions by senior executives of the former regime, as well as by members of their families and associates.

Trade relations

Trade relations between Canada and Tunisia are dynamic and diversified. Canada wants to pursue new opportunities to strengthen commercial ties between the two countries as well as increase investment in Tunisia. Tunisia has significant business opportunities for Canada in agriculture and processed foods, education and vocational training (over 50 partnerships with Canadian universities), information and communications technology (ICT), and aerospace. Canada and Tunisia have an Air Transport Agreement and a Tax Convention for the avoidance of double taxation. Negotiations for a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement and a Social Security Agreement (FIPA) began in 2009 and the 33rd round of negotiations took place in April 2015.

In 2021, our two-way merchandise trade totaled CAD $280,8 million. Canadian exports to Tunisia reached nearly $109,2 million and consisted mainly of grains, textiles, vehicles, scientific instruments and aircraft and machinery. Canadian imports to Tunisia were nearly $147,18 million and consisted mainly of fats and oils, woven clothing, edible fruits and nuts, aircraft and electric machinery. The value of Canadian direct investments in Tunisia amounts to $57 million.

Related links

Development

In 2016, during the Tunisia 2020 conference, Canada announced a $20 million integrated support plan for Tunisia over a 4-year period extending to 2021. Since this announcement, and in alignment with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, bilateral aid has hovered around $5 million per year, mainly in the areas of women’s economic empowerment, promoting a sustainable economy and inclusive governance.

The main pillars of our programming include:

  • Socio-economic reinforcement of vulnerable populations, notably women and girls in disadvantaged regions, through professional training, education and entrepreneurship;
  • Green and sustainable economic growth in order to create employment for youth and women;
  • Inclusive and accountable governance in order to respond to the needs of the most vulnerable populations, reinforce respect for human rights, and promote women’s participation and representation in Tunisian society 

Key expected results:

  • Effective consolidation of the rights and empowerment of women and girls, especially the poorest, most marginalized and vulnerable;
  • Strengthened state actors to plan, implement and measure policies, laws and programs that close gender equality gaps and address the rights and interests of women and girls;
  • Improved access to decent work and self-employment opportunities and increased competitiveness, innovation, and sustainability of enterprises, especially those led by women;
  • Increased capacity of individuals (especially the poorest and most marginalized) and non-state actors (e.g. CSOs, media) to participate equitably in national or sub-national policies or decision-making processes.

Since 2016, Canada has also allocated more than $10 million to the Canadian Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program to support Tunisia in stabilizing its borders and in the fight against terrorism and violent extremism.

You can visit the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to help Tunisia's development.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Tunisia work closely in multilateral fora. This is particularly true of La Francophonie, in which Canada and Tunisia are actively involved in advancing common priorities alongside the other members of the International Organization of La Francophonie, particularly in preparation for the next Francophonie Summit in November 2022 based on the theme: “Connectivity in Diversity: the Digital Vector of Development and Solidarity in the French-speaking World”.

Collaboration also exists within other multilateral organizations, including:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Tunisie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Tunisie ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1957. Les deux pays entretiennent d’excellentes relations bilatérales. En 2020, la diaspora tunisienne au Canada s’élevait à près de 35 000 personnes qui résident principalement dans la province de Québec. Le Canada, qui est l’une des destinations les plus populaires en ce qui a trait aux études à l’étranger, attire annuellement entre 2 000 et 3 000 étudiants tunisiens.  

Le Canada appuie fortement les progrès réalisés par la Tunisie en vue de bâtir une démocratie dynamique et ouverte depuis la révolution du jasmin en janvier 2011 et l’adoption de la Constitution en 2014. Le Canada collabore avec le gouvernement tunisien, la société civile et la communauté internationale pour appuyer la décentralisation politique et les réformes économiques et sociales du pays. En lien avec la Politique internationale féministe du Canada, le Canada et la Tunisie coopèrent en matière d’égalité des genres, de gouvernance inclusive, de prévention de la radicalisation et de lutte contre le terrorisme.

Bien que le Canada et la Tunisie ne soient pas liés par un traité d’extradition bilatéral, les deux pays sont signataires de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption et de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée, conventions qui permettent l’extradition, en conformité avec le droit canadien et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Le Canada a également adopté la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus et le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie), qui rendent exécutoires les demandes écrites du gouvernement tunisien de bloquer tous les actifs déposés dans des institutions financières canadiennes par de hauts dirigeants de l’ancien régime, ainsi que par des membres de leur famille et leurs associés.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Tunisie sont dynamiques et diversifiées. Le Canada souhaite poursuivre de nouvelles occasions pour renforcer les liens commerciaux entre les deux pays ainsi qu’accroître les investissements en Tunisie. La Tunisie présente des débouchés commerciaux d’intérêt pour le Canada dans les secteurs de l’agriculture et des aliments transformés, de l'éducation et de la formation professionnelle (plus de 50 partenariats avec des universités canadiennes), des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC), et de l’aérospatiale. Le Canada et la Tunisie disposent d’un Accord sur le transport aérien et d’une Convention fiscale pour éviter la double imposition. Des négociations pour un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) et une Convention de sécurité sociale ont débuté en 2009 et la 33e ronde de négociation a eu lieu en avril 2015.

En 2021, nos échanges bilatéraux de marchandises se chiffraient à 280,8 millions de dollars canadiens. Les exportations canadiennes vers la Tunisie ont atteint près de 109,2 millions de dollars et consistaient principalement de  céréales, textiles, véhicules, instruments scientifiques et aéronefs et machinerie. Les importations du Canada en Tunisie étaient de près de 147,18 millions de dollars. Les principales marchandises importées comportaient des graisses et huiles, aéronefs et machinerie, vêtements tissés, machinerie électrique et fruits et noix comestibles. La valeur des investissements directs canadiens en Tunisie se chiffrent à 57 millions de dollars.

Liens connexes

Développement

En 2016, à l’occasion de la conférence Tunisie 2020, le Canada a annoncé une aide internationale de 20 millions de dollars à la Tunisie sur quatre ans. Depuis cette annonce et en lien avec la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, l'aide bilatérale se situe autour de 5 millions de dollars par année, principalement dans les secteurs du renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes, promouvoir une économie durable et de la gouvernance inclusive.

Les principales orientations de notre programmation visent :

  • Le renforcement socio-économique des populations vulnérables, notamment des femmes et des filles en régions défavorisées, et ce, par l’entremise de la formation professionnelle, de l’éducation et de l’entreprenariat;
  • La croissance économique verte et durable afin de créer des emplois pour les jeunes et les femmes; et
  • La gouvernance inclusive et responsable afin de répondre aux besoins des personnes les plus vulnérables, de renforcer le respect des droits de la personne, et de favoriser la participation et la représentation des femmes dans la société tunisienne.

Principaux résultats escomptés :

  • Consolidation effective des droits et autonomisation des femmes et des filles, en particulier des plus pauvres, des plus marginalisés et des plus vulnérables, par les organisations de femmes et les pays ;
  • Renforcement des acteurs étatiques à planifier, mettre en œuvre et mesurer les politiques, les lois et les programmes qui comblent les écarts en matière d'égalité entre les sexes et répondent aux droits et intérêts des femmes et des filles ;
  • Amélioration de l’accès au travail décent et aux opportunités de travail indépendant et la compétitivité, de l’innovation et de la durabilité des entreprises, en particulier celles dirigées par des femmes ;
  • Capacité accrue des individus (notamment les plus pauvres et les plus marginalisés), des acteurs non étatiques (par exemple les OSC, les médias), de participer équitablement aux politiques nationales ou infranationales ou aux processus de prise de décision.

Depuis 2016, le Canada a également consacré plus de 10 millions de dollars au Programme canadien de renforcement des capacités en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme dans le but de soutenir la Tunisie à stabiliser ses frontières et à lutter contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent.

Veuillez visiter la page Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Tunisie.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la Tunisie collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux. C’est le cas notamment de la Francophonie, au sein de laquelle le Canada et la Tunisie s’impliquent de manière active, aux côtés des autres membres de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, à l’avancement de priorités communes, en particulier en préparation du prochain Sommet de la Francophonie  en novembre 2022 sur le thème « Connectivité dans la diversité : le numérique vecteur de développement et de solidarité dans l'espace francophone ».

Une collaboration existe également au sein d’autres organisations multilatérales, dont :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: