Language selection

Search

Canada-United Arab Emirates relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Canada and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have a broad and deep relationship focused principally on building prosperity for both our societies, strengthening regional and global security, contributing to economic and social development in third countries, including empowering women and girls and deepening people to people ties. Canada is represented in the UAE at our Embassy in Abu Dhabi and Consulate General in Dubai. The UAE is represented by its embassy in Ottawa.

Trade relationship

The UAE is Canada’s largest export market in the Middle East and North Africa and is the 20th largest foreign investor, accounting for 0.44% of total direct investment in Canada. In 2020, the UAE ranked as Canada’s largest merchandise export market in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). Canadian merchandise exports to the UAE in 2020 grew by 17.8% from the previous year, to $1.8 billion. Merchandise imports from the UAE grew by 17.3% in 2020 to nearly $250 million.

Canada will participate in Expo 2020 Dubai, to be held from October 1, 2021 to March 31, 2022.

Trade and investment agreements

Trade and investment agreements involving Canada and the United Arab Emirates:

For more information, consult trade and investment agreements.

Operations

Canada and the UAE are partners in combatting international terrorism, including the fight against Daesh. They work together to counter violent extremism, including through Canada’s membership on the International Steering Board of the UAE-based Hedayah Centre, which received about $400,000 in programming funds from Canada.

A number of Canadian government departments and institutions collaborate with their Emirati counterparts to advanced joint interests, including through a Defence Cooperation Arrangement, a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the RCMP and the Abu Dhabi Police, and an MOU between the Canadian Space Agency and the UAE Space Agency. Cooperation continues between Public Safety and the UAE Ministry of Interior to strengthen cooperation on police, corrections, border issues and training opportunities. A Joint Consular Cooperation Committee, established in June 2018, meets regularly to enhance cooperation on consular affairs and discuss consular matters.

Partners and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and the United Arab Emirates work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Émirats arabes unis

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis (ÉAU) entretiennent des relations étendues et profondes axées principalement sur la prospérité de leur société, le renforcement de la sécurité régionale et mondiale, la contribution au développement économique et social des pays tiers, ainsi que le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles et le resserrement des liens interpersonnels. L’ambassade du Canada aux Émirats arabes unis est à Abou Dhabi et son consulat général est à Dubaï. Les Émirats arabes unis sont représentés par leur ambassade à Ottawa.

Relations commerce

Les Émirats arabes unis sont le plus important marché d'exportation du Canada au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, et le 20e plus grand investisseur étranger, représentant 0,44 % du total des investissements directs au Canada. En 2020, les Emirats arabes unis se sont classés comme le plus grand marché d’exportation de marchandises du Canada au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord (MENA). Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les EAU en 2020 ont augmenté de 17,8 % par rapport à l’année précédente, pour atteindre 1,8 milliard de dollars. Les importations de marchandises en provenance des EAU ont augmenté de 17,3 % en 2020, pour atteindre près de 250 millions de dollars.

Le Canada participera à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï, du 1 octobre 2021 au 21 mars 2022.

Les entreprises canadiennes sont appuyées par :

Accords en matière de commerce et d’investissement

Voici une liste des accords sur le commerce et l’investissement comprenant le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement.

Opérations

Le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis sont partenaires dans la lutte contre le terrorisme international, notamment dans la lutte contre Daech et l'extrémisme violent.

Le Canada siège au Comité directeur international du centre Hedayah, situé aux Émirats arabes unis. Hedayah a reçu 400 000 dollars de fonds du Canada pour ses programmes.

Plusieurs ministères et institutions du gouvernement canadien collaborent avec leurs homologues émiriens pour faire avancer des intérêts communs, y compris à travers un accord de coopération en matière de défense, un protocole d’entente entre la GRC et la Police d’Abu Dhabi, et un protocole d’entente entre l’Agence spatiale canadienne et l’Agence spatiale des ÉAU. Sécurité publique Canada et le ministère de l’intérieur des Émirats arabes unis poursuivent leur coopération en matière de police, de services correctionnels, de questions frontalières et de possibilités de formation. Un comité de coopération consulaire, établi en juin 2018, se rencontre régulièrement pour améliorer la coopération sur les enjeux consulaires.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: