Language selection

Search

Consulting Canadians on a possible comprehensive economic partnership agreement with Indonesia

Canada-Indonesia partnership logo image

The Government of Canada is committed to strengthening its trade and investment ties with Asia-Pacific partners in line with Canada’s export diversification strategy. As discussions continue on a possible free trade agreement between Canada and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Canada is also considering advancing parallel opportunities in this dynamic region, including by expanding trade and investment ties with fast-growing markets, such as Indonesia.

Our inclusive approach to trade puts the interests of Canadians, including traditionally under-represented groups, such as women, youth and Indigenous people, front and centre.

The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested stakeholders to help define our priorities in relation to a possible comprehensive economic partnership agreement (CEPA) between Canada and Indonesia. We want to hear from you.

Join in: How to participate

The Government of Canada is seeking the views of all interested Canadians.

You can participate in these consultations in different ways. You can provide a written submission in response to the Canada Gazette notice until February 23, 2021, using 1 of these options:

  1. Send your submission or any questions by email to Consultations@international.gc.ca
  2. Send your submissions or any questions by mail to:

    Canada-Indonesia Trade Consultations
    Global Affairs Canada
    Trade Negotiations Division(TCD)
    Lester B. Pearson Building
    125 Sussex Drive
    Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully before sending a written submission. In the personal opinion(s) you submit, please do not include the personal information of other individuals.

Information on the consultations

Why is Canada holding consultations on a possible Canada-Indonesia comprehensive economic partnership agreement?

We want to hear from you. We want to hear your views, your experiences and your priorities in relation to a possible CEPA with Indonesia through these public consultations.

These consultations will seek the views of Canadians to help define Canada’s interests in a possible agreement and identify opportunities for such an agreement to create economic growth and future jobs for Canadians. As a trading nation, Canada is also committed to strengthening the rules-based international trading system. A CEPA between Canada and Indonesia could support those goals and contribute meaningfully to Canada’s overall economic, social and environmental priorities.

What will consultations focus on?

The consultations will focus on determining how Canada should proceed regarding a possible CEPA with Indonesia. This would include not only determining the best ways to improve market access, legal certainty and transparency for Canadian business, but also understanding any other issues and concerns relevant when considering a possible CEPA.

The Canada Gazette notice on consultations on a possible Canada-Indonesia CEPA (PDF) provides background information on this initiative and lists areas in which the government is seeking your views.

Who should participate?

We want to hear the views of all Canadians and representatives of all Canadian interests, including but not limited to:

  • individuals
  • businesses, including micro-, small and medium-sized enterprises
  • industry associations
  • experts and academics
  • civil society organizations and non-governmental organizations
  • labour unions
  • provincial, territorial and municipal governments
  • Indigenous peoples
  • women’s associations; lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and 2-spirit stakeholders; and other community groups
  • students and youth
  • any other interested Canadian stakeholders

Because we seek to ensure that more Canadians have access to the benefits and opportunities that flow from international trade and investment, we welcome input from traditionally under-represented groups and submissions on the potential gender, environmental and social impacts of launching negotiations with Indonesia.

What is the deadline for consultation submissions?

The submission period for responses to the Canada Gazette notice will last 45 days and end on February 23, 2021. The Government of Canada is committed to hearing from Canadians on this important initiative and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views, including through our ongoing consultations, as we engage with Indonesia.

Related information

Background

While Canada continues to engage with ASEAN on a possible free trade agreement, we are also looking for other opportunities to advance Canadian trade and investment priorities in this dynamic region. To this end, Canada is exploring the possibility of a CEPA with Indonesia.

Indonesia is the largest export market for Canada in Southeast Asia and a key destination for Canadian investment in the region. Bilateral merchandise trade reached a total value of $3.7 billion in 2019. Indonesia is also the second-largest destination for Canadian direct investment in the region, which totalled a value of $3.84 billion at the end of 2019. A CEPA with Indonesia could benefit importers and exporters of goods and services, as well as investors and consumers, by improving bilateral market access and enhancing the transparency and predictability of trade and investment for Canadian business, including micro-, small and medium-sized enterprises. Such an agreement would also provide Canada with the opportunity to strengthen its bilateral relationship with Indonesia, as well as providing economic and strategic benefits to Canada in the Southeast Asia region.

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultation des Canadiens sur un éventuel accord de partenariat économique global avec l’Indonésie

État actuel : Fermé

Cette consultation a eu lieu du 9 janvier 2021 au 23 février 2021.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à renforcer ses liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec ses partenaires de l’Asie-Pacifique, conformément à la stratégie de diversification des exportations du Canada. Alors que les discussions se poursuivent sur un éventuel accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE), le Canada envisage également de promouvoir des possibilités parallèles dans cette région dynamique, notamment en développant les liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec des marchés à croissance rapide tels que l’Indonésie.

Norte approche inclusive du commerce met les intérêts des Canadiens, y compris des groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés, tels que les femmes, les jeunes et les Autochtones, au premier plan.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’avis du public canadien et des parties intéressées pour l’aider à définir ses priorités en ce qui concerne un éventuel accord de partenariat économique global (APEG) entre le Canada et l’Indonésie. Nous souhaitons connaître votre opinion.

Renseignements sur les consultations

Pourquoi le Canada tient-il des consultations sur un éventuel accord de partenariat économique global entre le Canada et l’Indonésie?

Nous souhaitons connaître votre opinion. Nous voulons connaître vos points de vue, vos expériences et vos priorités concernant un éventuel APEG avec l’Indonésie au moyen de ces consultations publiques.

Ces consultations permettront de recueillir les points de vue des Canadiens afin de définir les intérêts du Canada sur un éventuel accord et d’identifier des possibilités qu’un tel accord crée une croissance économique et des emplois futurs pour les Canadiens. En tant que nation commerçante, le Canada s’est également engagé à renforcer le système commercial international fondé sur des règles. Un APEG entre le Canada et l’Indonésie pourrait soutenir ces objectifs et contribuer de manière significative à l’ensemble des priorités économiques, sociales et environnementales du Canada.

Sur quoi porteront les consultations?

Les consultations porteront essentiellement sur la manière dont le Canada devrait procéder concernant un éventuel APEG avec l’Indonésie. Il s’agira non seulement de déterminer les meilleurs moyens d’améliorer l’accès au marché, la sécurité juridique et la transparence pour les entreprises canadiennes, mais aussi de comprendre toute autre question ou préoccupation pertinente lors de la prise en considération d’un éventuel APEG.

L’avis de la Gazette du Canada (PDF) donne des renseignements généraux sur cette initiative et il énumère les domaines sur lesquels le gouvernement veut obtenir votre opinion.

Qui est invité à participer?

Nous souhaitons connaître les points de vue de tous les Canadiens et des représentants de tous les intérêts canadiens, notamment :

  • les particuliers;
  • les entreprises, y compris les micro, petites et moyennes entreprises;
  • les associations de l’industrie;
  • les experts et les universitaires;
  • les organisations de la société civile et les organisations non gouvernementales;
  • les syndicats;
  • les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les administrations municipales;
  • les Autochtones;
  • les associations de femmes; les intervenants lesbiens, gais, bisexuels, transgenres, queers et bispirituels; et autres groupes communautaires;
  • les étudiants et les jeunes;
  • tout autre intervenant canadien intéressé.

Étant donné que nous cherchons à faire en sorte qu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens aient accès aux avantages et aux possibilités qui découlent du commerce et des investissements internationaux, nous accueillons favorablement les contributions des groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés et les soumissions sur les incidences éventuelles du lancement de négociations avec l’Indonésie sur les genres, l’environnement et la société.

Quelle est la date limite pour présenter une soumission dans le cadre des consultations?

La période de soumission des réponses à l’avis de la Gazette du Canada durera 45 jours et prendra fin le 23 février 2021. Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à écouter le point de vue des Canadiens sur cette initiative importante et veillera à ce que les Canadiens continuent d’avoir la possibilité d’exprimer leurs opinions, notamment au moyen des consultations en cours au moment que nous nous mobilisons avec l’Indonésie.

Renseignements connexes

Contexte

Alors que le Canada continue de s’engager avec l’ANASE sur un éventuel accord de libre-échange, nous recherchons également d’autres occasions de faire progresser les priorités du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement dans cette région dynamique. À cette fin, le Canada étudie la possibilité de conclure un APEG avec l’Indonésie.

L’Indonésie est le plus grand marché d’exportation pour le Canada en Asie du Sud-Est et une destination clé pour les investissements canadiens dans la région. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a atteint une valeur totale de 3,7 milliards de dollars en 2019. L’Indonésie est également la deuxième destination des investissements directs canadiens dans la région, avec une valeur totale de 3,84 milliards de dollars à la fin de 2019. Un APEG avec l’Indonésie pourrait profiter aux importateurs et aux exportateurs de biens et de services ainsi qu’aux investisseurs et aux consommateurs, en améliorant l’accès au marché bilatéral et en renforçant la transparence et la prévisibilité du commerce et des investissements pour les entreprises canadiennes, y compris les micro, petites et moyennes entreprises. Un tel accord pourrait également donner au Canada l’occasion de renforcer ses relations bilatérales avec l’Indonésie et pourrait apporter des avantages économiques et stratégiques au Canada dans la région de l’Asie du Sud-Est.

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: