Language selection

Search

Advisory to Canadian Businesses on Canada’s Sanctions Related to the Russian invasion of Ukraine – Russian invasion of Ukraine

Purpose

Highlight obligations to Canadian businesses established by the sanctions against Russia that Canada has imposed under the Special Economic Measure Act (Russia) Regulations (the SEMA Russia Regulations).

Sanctions against Russia

Since 17 March 2014, Canada has imposed a number of sanctions under the SEMA Russia Regulations in response to the gravity of Russia’s violation of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, and gross and systematic human rights violations that have been committed in Russia.

The SEMA (Russia) Regulations consist of a dealings ban on listed individuals and entities, as well as prohibitions on specified goods and financial, technical or other services related to those goods. The regulations also impose restrictions on certain sectors, such as the financial and energy sectors, and impose broad prohibitions on ships associated with Russia or Russian companies from docking in, or passing through Canada.

To determine whether an individual or entity is a listed person, the Consolidated Canadian Autonomous Sanctions List is available for ease of reference. The Consolidated List includes individuals and entities subject to specific sanctions regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA) and the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (JVCFOA). While listings under the JVCFOA are not made in reference to a specific country, a number of Russian foreign nationals are listed, which may have implications for certain business related activities or transactions. For accurate information on which provisions from a given sanctions regulation apply to a specific individual or entity, reference must be made to the relevant regulations in which that individual or entity is listed.

Sanctions are subject to change without notice. Given the ongoing situation in Ukraine, it is recommended that Canadian businesses reference the Canadian Sanctions website and any updated versions of the regulations before undertaking a desired activity. Additional information is also available on the Sanctions – Russian invasion of Ukraine webpage.

What sanctions mean to Canadian Businesses

The SEMA Russia Regulations impose certain duties with respect to monitoring and reporting. Under this regulation, certain specified entities are required to continually monitor for property in their possession or control that is owned or controlled by or on behalf of a listed person. All persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada also have a duty to disclose to the Commissioner of the RCMP about the existence of property in their possession or control that they have reason to believe is directly or indirectly owned or controlled by a listed person or an entity owned or controlled by such a person. They must also disclose information about any transaction or attempted transaction relating to that property.

In addition, contraventions of these sanctions are a criminal offence and any related financial transactions may be proceeds of crime. Sanctions evasions, in and of themselves, do not constitute money laundering. In order for money laundering to be present in the context of sanctions evasion, the sanctions evasion would either need to be attempted or committed using proceeds of crime (as defined in the Criminal Code), or the sanctions evasion would need to give rise to or generate proceeds of crime that would then be laundered or attempted to be laundered. Reporting entities that fall under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) are encouraged by The Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) to be vigilant against proceeds related to efforts to circumvent SEMA sanctions, in addition to their broader obligations. FINTRAC also suggests that reporting entities consider their obligations under SEMA, and any linkages to listed individuals and entities, and any related proxies, when conducting the following:

Additional References

Resources on Canada’s sanctions

Relevant publications from international organizations

Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Telephone numbers and email addresses will be removed.
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Directive aux entreprises canadiennes sur les sanctions du Canada liées à l’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie – Invasion russe de l'Ukraine

Objectif

Souligner les obligations à l’égard des entreprises canadiennes établies par les sanctions contre la Russie que le Canada a imposées au moyen du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Russie (RMESR).

Sanctions contre la Russie

Depuis le 17 mars 2014, le Canada a imposé un certain nombre de sanctions dans le cadre du RMESR en réponse à la grave violation commise par la Russie à l’égard de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine, ainsi que pour ses violations flagrantes et systématiques en matière de droits de la personne.

Les sanctions prises par le Canada à l’égard de la Russie consistent en une interdiction de faire des affaires avec des personnes et des entités qui figurent sur la liste, ainsi qu’en des interdictions visant certains biens et des services financiers, techniques ou autres liés à ces biens. Le règlement impose également des restrictions à certains secteurs, tels que les secteurs financier et énergétique, et impose de larges interdictions aux navires associés à la Russie ou aux entreprises russes d'accoster ou de passer par le Canada.

Pour vérifier si une personne ou une entité est une personne inscrite sur la liste, vous pouvez consulter la Liste consolidée des sanctions autonomes canadiennes. La Liste consolidée comprend les personnes et les entités assujetties à un règlement sur les sanctions pris en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales (LMES) et de la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (LJVDEC). Bien que les listes établies dans le cadre du LJVDEC ne fassent pas référence à un pays spécifique, un certain nombre de ressortissants étrangers russes y figurent, ce qui peut avoir des implications pour certaines activités ou transactions de nature commerciale. Pour obtenir des renseignements précis sur les dispositions d’un règlement relatif aux sanctions donné qui s’appliquent à une personne ou à une entité, il faut consulter le règlement pertinent dans lequel cette personne ou entité est répertoriée.

Les sanctions peuvent être modifiées sans préavis. Compte tenu de la situation actuelle en Ukraine, nous recommandons aux entreprises canadiennes de consulter le site Web des sanctions canadiennes et toute version mise à jour de la réglementation avant d’entreprendre une activité souhaitée. Des informations supplémentaires sont également disponibles sur la page Web Sanctions – Invasion russe de l'Ukraine.

Ce que signifient les sanctions pour les entreprises canadiennes

Le règlement LMES Russie impose certaines obligations en matière de surveillance et de déclaration. En vertu de ce règlement, certaines entités spécifiées sont tenues de surveiller en permanence l'existence de biens en leur possession ou sous leur contrôle qui sont détenus ou contrôlés par une personne inscrite sur la liste ou en son nom. Toutes les personnes au Canada et les Canadiens à l'étranger ont également l'obligation de divulguer au commissaire de la GRC l'existence de biens en leur possession ou sous leur contrôle dont ils ont des raisons de croire qu'ils appartiennent ou sont contrôlés, directement ou indirectement, par une personne inscrite sur la liste ou par une entité appartenant ou contrôlée par une telle personne. Ils doivent également divulguer des informations sur toute transaction ou tentative de transaction relative à ce bien.

D’ailleurs, toute contravention à ces sanctions est une infraction criminelle et les produits de toute opération financière connexe peuvent être considérés comme d’origine criminelle. Le contournement des sanctions en lui-même n’est pas considéré comme du blanchiment d’argent. Afin qu’un contournement soit considéré comme tel, il doit lui-même être tenté ou commis au moyen de produits de la criminalité (tel que défini dans le Code criminel) ou doit générer des produits de la criminalité qui seront ensuite blanchis ou que l’on tentera de blanchir. Le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) encourage les entités déclarantes assujetties à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) à demeurer vigilantes à l’égard des produits associés à des tentatives de contournement des sanctions découlant du RMESR, et à continuer de remplir leurs autres obligations. CANAFE suggère aussi aux entités déclarantes de songer à leurs obligations prévues par le RMESR, à tout lien avec des personnes et entités désignées, et à tout intermédiaire possible au moment de réaliser ce qui suit :

Autres références

Ressources sur les sanctions canadiennes

Publications pertinentes d’organisations internationales

Avez-vous trouvé ce que vous cherchiez?

Qu’est-ce qui n’allait pas?

Vous ne recevrez aucune réponse. Les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques seront supprimés.
Maximum de 300 caractères

Merci de vos commentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: