Language selection

Search

Canada-Guatemala relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Guatemala have a long-standing and positive relationship, spanning more than 60 years. 

Canada is committed to working with Guatemala on strengthening climate change resilience, economic opportunities, democracy and governance, security and defense cooperation, and addressing irregular migration, while supporting the fight against impunity and corruption. In doing so, Canada contributes to the protection and promotion of the rights of the most vulnerable, including women and girls, Indigenous, and rural populations.

Guatemala is also Canada’s largest bilateral trading partner in Central America. Looking to the future, Canada remains committed to support Guatemala’s efforts towards building a more inclusive, democratic and prosperous society. 

Guatemala is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa and Consulates in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. Canada is represented in Guatemala by an embassy in Guatemala City.

Political relations

Canada supported the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala (CICIG) financially in 2019.

Canada has expressed concern over the ongoing attacks and abuses against human rights defenders in the country, as reported by local and international organizations. Canada remains committed to working with Guatemala to strengthen institutions, rule of law, human rights and inclusive economic growth.  

Canada also supports security programs, including the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program and the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program, by funding projects aimed at improving citizen security, justice, and fundamental human rights over the past several years. Other projects have supported initiatives focusing on increasing capabilities to address migrant smuggling and human trafficking, kidnapping, extortion, money laundering and the proceeds of crime, security system reform, and crime prevention.

The Department of National Defense/Canadian Armed Forces are engaged in cooperation with Guatemala in the areas of capacity building, peace support operations training, and efforts to address transnational criminal organizations, and humanitarian assistance and disaster relief.

Education

Since the launch of the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) program in 2009, Guatemalan students have been granted scholarships for study and research in Canada.

Territorial dispute between Belize and Guatemala

Guatemala has had a border dispute with Belize since its independence. Canada is a member of the Group of Friends of the Belize-Guatemala Transition Process and has supported efforts to peacefully resolve the border dispute for many years, including through funding for the Office of the OAS in the Adjacency Zone. Following referenda in both Belize (May 2019) and Guatemala (April 2018), the countries agreed to refer the dispute to the International Court of Justice.

Trade relations

Guatemala is Canada's largest bilateral trading partner in the region. Canada’s main exports include cereals, paper and paperboard, fats and oils, aircraft and parts, pharmaceutical products, fertilizers, plastics, and vehicles. Canada’s main imports from Guatemala include fruits and nuts, coffee, tea and spices, vegetables, knitted apparel, and sugar.

Canada is very engaged in promoting Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) in Guatemala. The Canadian Embassy in Guatemala uses a multi-faceted approach to promote Canada’s CSR Strategy, including encouraging open and constructive dialogue on issues such as human rights, community consultations and sustainable development among key stakeholders, including government officials, local communities, Indigenous groups, civil society, and private sector.

Related links

Development

Canada has had a development program in Guatemala since 1976. Canada’s bilateral programming in Guatemala is aligned with Canada’s feminist international assistance policy and focuses on supporting the most vulnerable, including women and girls, Indigenous peoples, and rural populations through the action areas of Inclusive Governance and Growth that works for everyone, with a strong focus on Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women and Girls The bilateral development program supports long-term development, with focus on three of the country’s departments with high poverty levels and where the population is largely Indigenous (Alta Verapaz, Sololá and Chimaltenango).

Canada responded to the Guatemalan request for support during the global pandemic by providing funding for the procurement of medical supplies and systems and distributing vaccines through the COVAX program. Canada also aided in combatting the forest fires of the Peten region and providing support to the International Federation of the Red Cross for its regional appeal and humanitarian assistance in response to Hurricane Eta in 2020.

Overall, Canadian development programming in Guatemala, including via the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, is aligned with the Government of Guatemala’s development priorities, as illustrated in Guatemala’s National Plan of Development. Canada is also committed to addressing:

  • the root causes of irregular migration and forced displacement:
  • lack of economic opportunities, inequality and the exacerbating impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic;
  • insecurity and violence, including sexual and gender-based violence;
  • climate change and recovery from hurricanes Eta and Iota;
  • governance, corruption and impunity issues;
  • systemic gender and ethnic inequality; and
  • women’s rights, including sexual and reproductive health and rights. 

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Guatemala

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Guatemala entretiennent une relation depuis plus de 60 ans.

Le Canada collabore avec le Guatemala en vue de renforcer la résilience aux changements climatiques, les possibilités économiques, la démocratie et la gouvernance, la coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense, ainsi que la lutte contre la migration irrégulière et ce, tout en appuyant la lutte contre l’impunité et la corruption. Ce faisant, le Canada contribue à la protection et à la promotion des droits des personnes les plus vulnérables, soit les femmes et les filles, les populations autochtones et les populations rurales.

Le Guatemala est également le plus important partenaire commercial bilatéral du Canada en Amérique centrale. En ce qui concerne l’avenir, le Canada maintient son engagement à appuyer les efforts du Guatemala visant à bâtir une société plus inclusive, démocratique et prospère.

Le Guatemala est représenté au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa et des consulats à Montréal, Toronto et Vancouver. Le Canada est représenté au Guatemala par une ambassade à Guatemala City.

Relations politiques

Le Canada a soutenu financièrement la Commission internationale contre l’impunité au Guatemala (CICIG) en 2019. 

Le Canada s’est dit préoccupé par les attaques et les abus continus contre les défenseurs des droits de la personne au pays, tels que rapportés par des organisations locales et internationales. Le Canada demeure déterminé à collaborer avec le Guatemala pour renforcer les institutions, la primauté du droit, les droits de la personne et la croissance économique inclusive.

Depuis plusieurs années, le Canada appuie également les programmes de sécurité du Canada, dont le Programme de construction de capacités contre le crime et le Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix par le financement de projets visant à améliorer la sécurité des citoyens, la justice et les droits fondamentaux de la personne. D’autres projets ont appuyé des initiatives axées sur l’accroissement des capacités pour lutter contre le trafic de migrants et la traite des êtres humains, les enlèvements, l’extorsion, le blanchiment d’argent, la réforme du système de sécurité et la prévention du crime.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes sont engagés dans des activités de coopération avec le Guatemala dans les domaines du renforcement des capacités, de la formation aux opérations de soutien de la paix, des efforts visant à lutter contre les organisations criminelles transnationales, de l’aide humanitaire et du secours en cas de catastrophe.

Éducation

Depuis le lancement du Programme des leaders émergents dans les Amériques (PAET) en 2009, les étudiants guatémaltèques ont obtenu des bourses d’études et de recherche au Canada.

Différend territorial entre le Belize et le Guatemala

Le Guatemala et le Belize sont engagés depuis longtemps dans un conflit territorial.  Le Canada est membre du Groupe des amis du processus de transition Belize-Guatemala. Le Canada a appuyé les efforts visant à régler le différend frontalier de façon pacifique, notamment en finançant le Bureau de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) dans la zone adjacente entre le Guatemala et le Belize. Suivant un référendum organisé au Guatemala en 2018 et un au Belize en 2019, les États se sont entendus pour renvoyer leur différend devant la Cour internationale de justice.

Relations commerciales

Le Guatemala est le plus grand partenaire commercial bilatéral du Canada dans la région.  Les principales importations du Canada en provenance du Guatemala comprennent les fruits, les noix, le café, le thé et les épices, le sucre, les vêtements tricotés et les légumes. Les principales exportations du Canada comprennent les céréales, le papier et le carton, les graisses et les huiles, les aéronefs et les pièces, les produits pharmaceutiques, les engrais et les véhicules.

Le Canada est profondément engagé dans la promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) au Guatemala. L’Ambassade canadienne au Guatemala a recours à une approche multidimensionnelle pour promouvoir la stratégie du Canada en matière de RSE, qui encourage un dialogue ouvert et constructif sur des enjeux tels que les droits de la personne, les consultations communautaires et le développement durable entre les intervenants clés, dont les fonctionnaires gouvernementaux, les collectivités locales, les groupes autochtones, la société civile et le secteur privé.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada maintient un programme de développement au Guatemala depuis 1976. Les programmes bilatéraux du Canada au Guatemala cadrent avec la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada et sont axés sur le soutien des personnes les plus vulnérables, y compris dans les domaines d’action de la gouvernance inclusive et de la croissance qui fonctionnent pour tous, en mettant fortement l’accent sur l’égalité entre les genres et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles. Le programme bilatéral de développement soutient le développement à long terme, en mettant l’accent sur trois des départements du pays avec des niveaux de pauvreté élevés et où la population est en grande partie autochtone (Alta Verapaz, Sololá et Chimaltenango). 

Le Canada a répondu à la demande de soutien du Guatemala pendant la pandémie mondiale en fournissant du financement pour l’achat de fournitures et de systèmes médicaux et en distribuant des vaccins dans le cadre du programme COVAX. Le Canada a également contribué à la lutte contre les incendies de forêt dans la région de Peten et a fourni un soutien à la Fédération internationale de la Croix-Rouge pour son appel régional et son aide humanitaire en réponse à l’ouragan Eta en 2020.  

Dans l’ensemble, les programmes de développement canadien au Guatemala, y compris par l’entremise du Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, sont alignés sur les priorités de développement du gouvernement du Guatemala, comme l’illustre le Plan national de développement du Guatemala. Le Canada s’est également engagé à aborder :

  • les causes profondes de la migration irrégulière et des déplacements forcés :
  • le manque d’opportunités économiques, les inégalités et les répercussions exacerbantes de la pandémie de COVID-19; 
  • l’insécurité et la violence, y compris la violence sexuelle et basée sur le genre; 
  • les changements climatiques et le rétablissement après les ouragans Eta et Iota;
  • les questions de gouvernance, de corruption et d’impunité; 
  • l’inégalité systémique entre les genres et les inégalités ethniques; et
  • les droits des femmes, y compris la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs. 

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Guatemala collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: