Language selection

Search

Canada-Indonesia relations

Bilateral relations

Even before the establishment of formal diplomatic relations in 1952, Canada and Indonesia enjoyed positive relations. In 1948, diplomatic efforts by Canada’s Ambassador to the UN, General Andrew McNaughton, helped to resolve deadlocked negotiations between Indonesia and the Netherlands, its former colonial power, paving the way toward international recognition of Indonesia’s sovereignty in December 1949. Since then, Canada and Indonesia have maintained a strong partnership across many areas, including trade and investment, good governance, human rights, religious freedom and pluralism; poverty reduction; counter-terrorism and security capacity building; and, the prevention of human smuggling and illegal migration.

Political and economic overview

Indonesia is a dynamic country, an influential regional power and a global player which offers Canada many opportunities for engagement. It is the world’s fourth most populous country and third largest democracy. With 86% of the population adhering to Islam, Indonesia is home to approximately 13% of the global Muslim population, making it the world’s largest Muslim-majority country. Straddling the Southeast Asia/Oceania divide, the country is as diverse as it is vast: its 17,500 islands spanning a total area of 1,812,000 km² are inhabited by some 300 ethnic groups with over 700 languages spoken.

Indonesia has enjoyed rapid economic expansion over the past decade. With a growing middle class and a population of which almost two-thirds are of working age, Indonesia has considerable growth potential and offers significant long-term commercial opportunities for Canadian companies.

Trade relations

Indonesia is SE Asia’s largest economy and a G20 member with significant potential for economic growth. In 2020, Indonesia was Canada's 24th-largest trading partner worldwide and fourth-largest among ASEAN countries, with two-way merchandise trade totalling $3.4B. Canadian merchandise exports to Indonesia were valued at $1.8B (down from $1.9B in 2019) making it Canada’s largest export market in Southeast Asia. Canada’s main exports were cereals, fertilizers, wood pulp, oilseeds, and machinery. Canada’s merchandise imports from Indonesia, valued at $1.6B (down from $1.8B in 2019), consisted primarily of rubber, electrical and electronic equipment and knitted and woven apparel. In 2019, services exports to Indonesia totaled $192M, while the value of services imported from Indonesia was $209M.

Indonesia is the second largest destination of Canadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA) in SE Asia, with a total stock of about $3.8B in 2019. The stock of Indonesian direct investment in Canada was officially $116M, although investment from Indonesian corporate entities originating from other jurisdictions likely exceeds $2B.

Related links

Development

Canada and Indonesia share a long-standing partnership of over 65 years, with over $1 billion in official development assistance to Indonesia since 2000 and $33 million in 2019-20. Aligned with our Feminist International Assistance Policy (FIAP), Canada is committed to supporting the Government of Indonesia in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and implementing their 2020-24 National Medium-Term Development Plan (RPJMN).  Moving forward, Canada’s development assistance is supporting:

  • Green, Sustainable and Inclusive Economic Growth/Recovery by enhancing low carbon development and climate resilient economic opportunities for vulnerable and poor Indonesians, particularly women; and
  • Enhanced advancement of the rights, services, and empowerment for Indonesian women, girls and youths by government and civil society.

Canada’s development assistance will also support Indonesia’s fight against the COVID-19 pandemic and its efforts to alleviate the economic impact on the most vulnerable and poor Indonesians, particularly women. Canada will also continue to promote innovative partnerships for financing development outcomes.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Indonésie

Relations bilatérales

Avant même l’établissement de relations diplomatiques officielles en 1952, le Canada et l’Indonésie entretenaient des relations positives. En 1948, les efforts diplomatiques déployés par l’ambassadeur du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, le général Andrew McNaughton, ont aidé à débloquer les négociations entre l’Indonésie et les Pays-Bas, son ancienne puissance coloniale, ce qui a ouvert la voie à la reconnaissance internationale de la souveraineté de l’Indonésie en décembre 1949. Depuis, l’Indonésie et le Canada entretiennent un partenariat solide dans de nombreux domaines, notamment le commerce et l’investissement, la bonne gouvernance, les droits de la personne, la liberté religieuse et le pluralisme, la réduction de la pauvreté et le renforcement des capacités dans le secteur de la sécurité et de la lutte contre le terrorisme, ainsi que la prévention du trafic humain et migration illégale.

Aperçu politique et économique

L’Indonésie est un pays dynamique, une puissance régionale influente et un acteur international qui offre au Canada de nombreuses opportunités d’engagement. L’Indonésie est la troisième plus grande démocratie du monde et le quatrième pays en terme de population. Avec 86% de la population musulmane, l’Indonésie détient environ 13% de la population musulmane mondiale, ce qui en fait le plus grand pays à majorité musulmane au monde. Sur la ligne continentale de l’Asie du Sud-Est et de l’Océanie, le pays est aussi diversifié que vaste : ses 17 500 îles couvrent une superficie totale de 1 812 000 km² et sont habitées par quelque 300 groupes ethniques parlant plus de 700 langues.

L’Indonésie a connu un essor économique rapide au cours de la dernière décennie. Sa classe moyenne est en expansion et avec près des deux tiers de sa population étant en âge de travailler, l’Indonésie a un potentiel de croissance important. L’Indonésie offre des opportunités commerciales intéressantes à long terme pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Relations commerciales

L'Indonésie est la plus grande économie d'Asie du Sud-Est et un membre du G20 avec un potentiel de croissance économique important. En 2020, l'Indonésie était le 24e partenaire commercial du Canada dans le monde et le quatrième parmi les pays de l'ANASE, avec un commerce bilatéral de marchandises totalisant 3,4 milliards de dollars. Les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers l'Indonésie étaient évaluées à 1,8 G$ (contre 1,9 G$ en 2019), ce qui en fait le plus grand marché d'exportation du Canada en Asie du Sud-Est. Les principales exportations du Canada étaient les céréales, les engrais, la pâte de bois, les graines oléagineuses et les machines. Les importations de marchandises du Canada en provenance d'Indonésie, évaluées à 1,6 G$ (contre 1,8 G$ en 2019), se composaient principalement de caoutchouc, de matériel électrique et électronique et de vêtements tricotés et tissés. En 2019, les exportations de services vers l'Indonésie ont totalisé 192 millions de dollars, tandis que la valeur des services importés d'Indonésie était de 209 millions de dollars.

L'Indonésie est la deuxième destination en importance des investissements directs canadiens à l'étranger (IDCE) en Asie du Sud-Est, avec un stock total d'environ 3,8 milliards de dollars en 2019. Le stock d'investissements directs indonésiens au Canada était officiellement de 116 millions de dollars, bien que les investissements des sociétés indonésiennes provenant de d'autres juridictions dépasse probablement 2 milliards de dollars.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada et l'Indonésie partagent un partenariat de longue date de plus de 65 ans, avec plus d'un milliard de dollars d'aide officielle au développement à l'Indonésie depuis 2000 et 33 millions de dollars en 2019-2020. Conformément à notre politique d'aide internationale féministe, le Canada s'est engagé à aider le gouvernement de l'Indonésie à atteindre les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) et à mettre en œuvre son plan national de développement à moyen terme 2020-24. À l'avenir, l'aide au développement du Canada appuiera :

  • Croissance/reprise économique verte, durable et inclusive en améliorant le développement à faible émission de carbone et les opportunités économiques résilientes au changement climatique pour les Indonésiens vulnérables et pauvres, en particulier les femmes ; et
  • Amélioration des droits, des services et de l'autonomisation des femmes, des filles et des jeunes indonésiens par le gouvernement et la société civile.

L'aide au développement du Canada soutiendra également la lutte de l'Indonésie contre la pandémie de COVID-19 et ses efforts pour atténuer l'impact économique sur les Indonésiens les plus vulnérables et les plus pauvres, en particulier les femmes. Le Canada continuera également de promouvoir des partenariats novateurs pour le financement des résultats du développement.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: