Language selection

Search

Canada-Malaysia relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and Malaysia are celebrating 65 years of official diplomatic relations in 2022. Our friendly ties stretch back to the beginnings of modern Malaysia. Canada was one of the first countries to establish formal diplomatic relations with the newly independent Federation of Malaya in 1957. In Malaysia, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur, and by a by an Honorary Consul in Penang. Malaysia is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Ottawa, a Trade Office in Toronto and a Consulate in Vancouver.

Trade relations

Malaysia is one of Canada’s largest bilateral merchandise trading partners in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) region. In 2021, bilateral trade totaled $4.8 billion, up from $3.8 billion in 2020. Canadian merchandise exports to Malaysia were valued at $1.02 billion, compared to $774 million in 2020. Top Canadian exports included fertilizers (potash), aluminium, plastic, cereals (wheat), electrical equipment and oilseeds. Canada’s merchandise imports from Malaysia, which were valued at $3.8 billion in 2021, consisted primarily of electronic equipment, rubber, machinery, scientific and precision instruments, fats and oils, and furniture.

As of November 29, 2022, bilateral commercial exchanges between Malaysia and Canada are bolstered by the Comprehensive Progressive Trans Pacific Partnership trade agreement.

Related links

Development

Through the High Commission of Canada in Malaysia, Canada engages in strategic advocacy and supports programming to promote Canadian values. Partnering with Malaysian civil society organisations, areas of focus include strengthening democratic values, supporting vulnerable groups (LGBTQI+, women, indigenous peoples and victims of sexual violence), promoting freedom of expression, and diversity and inclusion. 

Canada’s ASEAN regional development program aims to strengthen the empowerment of the poor and most vulnerable people in ASEAN countries with a particular focus on women and girls.

Related links

Defence and security

Canada and Malaysia enjoy a robust and expanding defence and security relationship. The two nations signed a Memorandum of Understanding on security cooperation in 2013 and regularly collaborate in areas including military capacity building, counter-terrorism, and Weapons of Mass Destruction threat reduction, particularly Chemical Biological Radiological and Nuclear threat response. Canada has trained over 1,000 Malaysian first responders in how to respond safely to various threats, security incidents, and attacks. Canada has also contributed equipment to Malaysian security partners, including two rigid hull fender boats which were delivered to the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency in 2014.

Additionally, Malaysia is a beneficiary of the many Canadian regional counter-terrorism and anti-crime initiatives in Southeast Asia. These initiatives are addressing, among other things, cyber security, foreign terrorist fighters, terrorist finance, migrant smuggling, strengthening border security, and improving information sharing among ASEAN members.

Members of the Malaysian Armed Forces have benefitted from Canada’s Military Training Cooperation Program since 1966. More than 500 officers have received training in areas including language courses, peace support operations, and military professional development.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Malaysia work cooperatively in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Malaisie

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Malaisie célèbrent 65 ans de relations diplomatiques officielles en 2022. Les liens amicaux entre les deux pays remontent aux débuts de la Malaisie moderne. Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à établir des relations diplomatiques officielles avec la Fédération de Malaisie nouvellement indépendante en 1957. En Malaisie, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Malaisie à Kuala Lumpur et par un consul honoraire à Penang. De son côté, la Malaisie est représentée au Canada par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa, un bureau commercial à Toronto et un consulat à Vancouver.

Relations commerciales

La Malaisie constitue l’un des plus importants partenaires bilatéraux du Canada sur le plan du commerce des marchandises dans la région de l' Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE). En 2021, le commerce bilatéral a totalisé 4,8 milliards de dollars, une hausse par rapport aux échanges de 3,8 milliards de dollars en 2020. Le Canada a exporté pour 1,02 milliard de dollars de marchandises vers la Malaisie (comparativement à 774 millions de dollars en 2020), surtout des engrais (potasse), de l’aluminium, du plastique, des céréales (blé), du matériel électrique et des oléagineux. Les importations canadiennes en provenance de la Malaisie, dont la valeur s’est établie à 3,8 milliards de dollars en 2021, comprenaient principalement du matériel électronique, du caoutchouc, de la machinerie, des instruments scientifiques et de précision, des graisses et des huiles, et des meubles.

Depuis le 29 novembre 2022, les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre la Malaisie et le Canada sont soutenus par l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste.

Liens connexes

Développement

Par l’entremise du haut-commissariat du Canada en Malaisie, le Canada participe à des activités de promotion stratégique et appuie les programmes mettant de l’avant les valeurs canadiennes. En partenariat avec des organisations de la société civile de la Malaisie, il s’emploie notamment à renforcer les valeurs démocratiques, à soutenir des groupes vulnérables (LGBTQI+, femmes, peuples autochtones et victimes de violences sexuelles) et à promouvoir la liberté d’expression, la diversité et l’inclusion. 

Le programme de développement du Canada pour la région vise à renforcer le pouvoir économique des pauvres et des personnes les plus vulnérables dans les pays de l'ANASE, en portant une attention particulière aux femmes et aux filles.

Liens connexes

Défense et sécurité

Le Canada et la Malaisie entretiennent des relations solides et croissantes en matière de défense et de sécurité. Les deux pays ont signé un protocole d'entente sur la coopération en matière de sécurité en 2013 et collaborent régulièrement dans des domaines comme le renforcement des capacités militaires, la lutte contre le terrorisme et la réduction des menaces liées aux armes de destruction massive (notamment les menaces chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires). Le Canada a formé plus de 1 000 premiers intervenants malaisiens sur la façon d'intervenir en toute sécurité en cas de menaces, d’incidents de sécurité et d'attaques diverses. Il a aussi fourni à ses partenaires malaisiens de l'équipement de sécurité, notamment deux embarcations pneumatiques à coque rigide, qui ont été livrées à l'Agence malaisienne d'application de la loi maritime en 2014.

De plus, la Malaisie tire profit des nombreuses initiatives canadiennes de lutte contre le terrorisme et la criminalité en Asie du Sud-Est. Ces initiatives portent, entre autres, sur la cybersécurité, les combattants terroristes étrangers, le financement du terrorisme, le trafic illicite de migrants, le renforcement de la sécurité aux frontières et l'amélioration de l’échange d'information entre les membres de l'ANASE.

Les membres des Forces armées malaisiennes bénéficient du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada depuis 1966. Plus de 500 officiers ont reçu une formation dans des domaines comme les cours de langue, les opérations de soutien de la paix et le perfectionnement militaire professionnel.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la Malaisie collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: