Language selection

Search

Canada-South Africa relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with South Africa in 1939. In South Africa, Canada maintains a High Commission in Pretoria (which is concurrently accredited to Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius and Namibia) and a trade office in Johannesburg. In Canada, South Africa maintains a High Commission in Ottawa, a Consulate-General in Toronto, and has honorary consuls in Vancouver and Sudbury.

Canada and South Africa maintain a deep and broad relationship based on shared values of democracy, security and prosperity. Canada’s anti-apartheid efforts within the Commonwealth in the 1980s and our support towards the establishment of a multi-ethnic, multi-racial, democratic society in South Africa strengthened the ties between our countries. Canadian and South African experts worked closely together in drafting South Africa’s first democratic constitution.

Canada and South Africa are both members of a number of multilateral organizations, including the Commonwealth and the G20, and collaborate on important issues such as women’s empowerment, the environment and climate action, and regional security. Canada and South Africa hold strategic annual bilateral consultations, which cover issues as diverse as foreign policy, trade and investment, innovation, science and technology, the environment and climate change, education and culture.

Canada bestowed Nelson Mandela with honorary citizenship in 2001 in recognition of his leadership in the fight against apartheid and his efforts to build a new united South Africa. Honouring the legacy of the late Nelson Mandela, Canada, in partnership with the Mastercard Foundation, also created the African Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship Program, which allows young professionals from sub-Saharan Africa to pursue graduate studies in public administration and public policy in Canada.

Trade relations

As one of the continent’s most diversified and largest economies, South Africa is a prime destination for Canadian goods and services in Africa. In 2021, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and South Africa totaled $2.1 billion, consisting of $382.5 million in exports from Canada, and $1.7 billion in imports from South Africa.

Canada is a significant investor in South Africa. Canadian investments focus on the mineral and mining sector, as well as the transportation, food processing, hospitality, information and communication technologies, and instrumentation sectors. Canada and South Africa also have a history of cultural cooperation – South Africa’s first Audiovisual Co-Production Agreement was with Canada.

Trade and investment between Canada and South Africa is facilitated by a Memorandum of Understanding on cooperation in mining and mineral development and a Double Taxation Agreement. In 2015, Export Development Canada opened its permanent office in Johannesburg in order to help Canadian companies take advantage of business opportunities in sub-Saharan Africa.

Related links

Development

Despite its relative strength in sub-Saharan Africa as a middle-income country, member of BRICS, the G20, and strategic influencer on the continent, 28 years after the end of apartheid South Africa remains one of the most unequal societies in the world.

In 2020-21, Canada provided $21.51 million in international assistance to South Africa, with approximately $5M of this amount channeled to bilateral assistance programming focusing on inclusive governance, as well as gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.

In the area of inclusive governance, Canada is helping to increase the South African government’s capacity to deliver essential public services in ways that are more effective, transparent, and equitable. For example, Canada supports a national-level project aiming to increase transparency and decrease corruption within public institutions. Canada is also working with the South African government at the national, provincial, and local levels as well as with relevant civil society actors, to enhance the implementation of South Africa’s safety policies at the local level. At the heart of the project lies a more effective policy framework around matters of violence and crime prevention and the strengthening of capacities of local government.

In the area of gender equality and women’s empowerment, Global Affairs Canada is supporting a Women’s Voice and Leadership project in addition to a project with UNFPA and UNICEF that combats sexual and gender-based violence and improves girls’ and women’s access to sexual and reproductive health and rights in vulnerable municipalities.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) provides support to local organizations focused on women’s economic empowerment, minority rights and good governance. In 2021-22, the CFLI funded 11 projects in South Africa, totaling approximately $260,000.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and South Africa work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Afrique du Sud

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec l’Afrique du Sud en 1939. En Afrique du Sud, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Pretoria, également accrédité auprès du Lesotho, de Madagascar, de l’Île Maurice et de la Namibie, ainsi que par son bureau commercial à Johannesburg. Au Canada, l’Afrique du Sud est représentée par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa, un consulat général à Toronto et des consuls honoraires à Vancouver et à Sudbury. 

Le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud maintiennent des liens solides fondés sur des valeurs communes telles que la démocratie, la sécurité et la prospérité. Dans les années 1980, les efforts anti-apartheid du Canada au sein du Commonwealth et notre soutien envers l’établissement d’une société démocratique multiethnique et multiraciale en Afrique du Sud ont renforcé les liens entre nos pays. Des experts canadiens et sud-africains ont travaillé main dans la main à la rédaction de la première constitution démocratique de l’Afrique du Sud.

Le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud sont tous deux membres d’organisations multilatérales comme le Commonwealth et le G20 et collaborent sur des questions importantes telles que le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, l’environnement et la lutte contre les changements climatiques, ainsi que la sécurité régionale. Le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud organisent des consultations bilatérales stratégiques annuelles pour discuter de divers enjeux, dont la politique étrangère, le commerce et l’investissement, l’innovation, la science et la technologie, l’environnement et les changements climatiques, l’éducation et la culture.

En 2001, le Canada a remis le titre de citoyen d’honneur à l’ancien président sud-africain Nelson Mandela en reconnaissance de son leadership dans la lutte contre l’apartheid et de ses efforts pour construire une nouvelle Afrique du Sud unie. En honneur de Nelson Mandela et en partenariat avec la Fondation MasterCard, le Canada a créé le Programme de bourses pour les leaders africains de demain, qui permet à des jeunes professionnels d’Afrique subsaharienne de poursuivre des études supérieures en administration publique ou en politique publique au Canada.

Relations commerciales

Étant donné que l’Afrique du Sud est l’une des économies les plus vastes et diversifiées du continent, elle représente une destination de choix pour les biens et les services canadiens en Afrique. En 2021, les échanges de marchandises entre les deux pays ont atteint 2,1 milliard de dollars : les exportations canadiennes vers l’Afrique du Sud ont atteint 382,5 millions de dollars et les importations sud-africaines à destination du Canada ont atteint 1,7 milliard de dollars.

Le Canada est un important investisseur en Afrique du Sud. Les investissements canadiens se concentrent en grande partie sur le secteur minier, ainsi que sur ceux du transport, de la transformation des aliments, de l’hébergement touristique, des technologies de l’information et des communications, et de l’appareillage. Le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud ont aussi un historique de coopération culturelle : l’Afrique du Sud a signé sa première entente de coproduction audiovisuelle avec le Canada.

Le commerce et l’investissement entre le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud sont facilités par un protocole d'entente sur la coopération en matière d’exploitation minière et de mise en valeur des ressources minérales et une convention fiscale. En 2015, Exportation et développement Canada a ouvert un bureau permanent à Johannesburg afin d’aider les compagnies canadiennes à tirer profit des occasions d’affaires en Afrique subsaharienne.

Liens connexes

Développement

L’Afrique du Sud exerce une influence relative en Afrique subsaharienne en tant que pays à revenu intermédiaire, membre des pays du BRICS et du G20 ainsi qu’influenceur stratégique sur le continent. Malgré tout cela, elle demeure, 28 ans après la fin de l’apartheid, l’une des sociétés les plus inégalitaires au monde.

En 2020‑2021, le Canada a fourni 21,51 millions de dollars en aide internationale à l’Afrique du Sud, dont environ 5 millions de dollars ont été acheminés vers des programmes d’aide bilatérale axés sur la gouvernance inclusive ainsi que sur l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles.

Dans le domaine de la gouvernance inclusive, le Canada aide à accroître la capacité du gouvernement sud-africain à fournir des services publics essentiels de manière plus efficace, transparente et équitable. Par exemple, le Canada soutient un projet national visant à accroître la transparence et à réduire la corruption au sein des institutions publiques. Le Canada travaille également avec le gouvernement sud-africain à l’échelle nationale, provinciale et locale, ainsi qu’avec les acteurs pertinents de la société civile, afin d’améliorer la mise en œuvre des politiques de sécurité de l’Afrique du Sud à l’échelle locale. Au cœur du projet se trouvent un cadre stratégique plus efficace en matière de prévention de la violence et des crimes et le renforcement des capacités des gouvernements locaux.

Dans les domaines de l’égalité des genres et du renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, Affaires mondiales Canada soutient le projet « Voix et leadership des femmes » ainsi qu’un projet avec le FNUAP et l’UNICEF, qui combat la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre et améliore l’accès des filles et des femmes à la santé et aux droits sexuels et reproductifs dans les municipalités vulnérables.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) apporte un soutien aux organisations locales axées sur le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes, les droits des minorités et la bonne gouvernance. En 2021‑2022, le FCIL a financé 11 projets en Afrique du Sud, pour un total d’environ 260 000 $.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et l'Afrique du Sud collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: