Call for Concept Notes – Education for Refugee and Displaced Children and Youth in Sub-Saharan Africa

For notification of calls, please subscribe to our RSS feed.

You can access calls, get a heads-up on upcoming calls, and view closed calls and results from past calls.

The deadline to submit an application was Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 12 pm Eastern Time (ET)

Global Affairs Canada is launching a call for Canadian organizations entitled “Education for Refugee and Displaced Children and Youth in Sub-Saharan Africa,” valued at approximately $40 million over 5 years. Global Affairs Canada may fund any number of proposals or none, up to the maximum funding available.

This call is part of the department’s campaign ‘Together for Learning’ - Education for refugee, other forcibly-displaced and host community children and youth, which aims to promote quality education and lifelong learning opportunities for refugee, internally displaced and host community children and youth. Global Affairs Canada expects to fund a limited number of projects, valued between $5 million and $20 million each.

You must submit your application through the Partners@International portal before the deadline. Read all instructions on the portal carefully. If you are applying on behalf of a group of organizations that would sign the funding agreement with Global Affairs Canada, please ensure that each organization is registered in the Partners@International portal  and has uploaded all required documents.

We will not accept late submissions. To ensure that technical difficulties do not prevent you from submitting your concept note on time, we strongly suggest that you submit your application at least 3 working days before the deadline of Wednesday, April 14, 2021, at 12 pm ET. Please read all portal instructions carefully.

The submission of a concept note is the first stage of a 2-stage application process. Funding will not be provided on the basis of the concept note alone. At the second stage, we will invite a limited number of proponents that best align with the objectives and parameters of the call to submit a full proposal. Be sure to review the instructions contained in the How to apply for funding through a call web page before beginning your application.

Objectives

This call is designed to increase access to education for refugee and displaced children and youth. Targeted capacity building, combined with small grants for core activities, locally driven education-related programming and policy engagement, would amplify the voices of refugee and internally displaced people (IDPs) and those of organizations that represent them and are led by them. Through innovative solutions, the call aims to increase access to quality education by providing additional funding for organizations that are best placed to understand the needs of their communities and are on the front lines of providing essential education services for refugees and IDPs. This call will enable dynamic partnerships between Canadian organizations, national organizations, host communities, and refugee-led organizations (RLOs) and IDP-led organizations. It will be an important contributor to the emerging evidence base and global learning on the role of RLOs and IDP-led organizations in directly enhancing education outcomes of refugee and IDP children and youth. Context-specific, locally driven solutions and conflict-sensitive design will be critical in ensuring the use of adaptive and responsive approaches that integrate risk management strategies.

The call has 3 core objectives:

* RLOs and IDP-led organizations are defined as community-based organizations (CBOs), including women-led organizations, working in the education sector that are either founded and/or led by refugees and/or IDPs as decision makers. While some RLOs and IDP-led organizations are officially registered with the host state, others cannot register due to legal barriers. Both registered and non-registered organizations can receive assistance within the context of this call. Organizations must be active in providing protection and assistance to refugees and IDPs, with their activities including but not limited to advice and programs on inclusion, integration, meaningful participation, education, empowerment and self-reliance.

** Grants can be used to fund:

The call aligns with the human dignity, gender equality, and empowerment of women and girls action areas of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy. Programming should advance gender equality in a fully integrated manner, apply a human-rights based approach, and examine how intersecting identity factors impact access for and inclusion of those most at risk of being left behind, including persons with disabilities, ethnic minority groups, LGBTI populations and other vulnerable groups.

The call also aligns with the Minister of International Development’s mandate letter, which charges the Minister with leading an international campaign to ensure that all refugee and displaced children can get the education they need and deserve, and with Canada’s commitment to the Global Compact on Refugees, including the Compact’s belief that comprehensive refugee responses require a wider set of stakeholders—including refugees themselves—working more actively together to advance durable solutions.

The call supports international assistance programming in the development, humanitarian, and peace and security nexus in order to address the specific learning needs of and vulnerabilities faced by children and youth during and after a crisis. Applicants must include a preliminary gender-responsive conflict analysis in the theory of change that identifies the drivers of conflict, analyzes gender dynamics and the causes of displacement. Applicants are also encouraged to include opportunities for environmental awareness-raising and environmentally sound and climate-resilient practices, where relevant.

Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy states that “…we will ensure that by 2021-22 no less than 95 percent of Canada’s bilateral international development assistance initiatives will target or integrate gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.” Priority will be given to concept notes that demonstrate full integration of gender equality (GE-02) and women’s and girls’ empowerment. Applicants must include gender-based analysis plus (GBA+) that identifies gender equality gaps and ensures that proposed solutions directly respond to the GBA+ analysis, across activities, outputs and outcomes.

Ultimate outcome

Under this call, your proposed project must contribute to the achievement of the ultimate outcome:

Intermediate outcomes

Your proposed project must also contribute to all of the following intermediate outcomes:

Note: You may refine the call’s ultimate and intermediate outcome statements to ensure they are grounded in the reality of your project design, making them more specific in terms of your project’s who, what and where. Refer to Results-based management for international assistance programming: A how-to guide to ensure that your outcome statements respect Global Affairs Canada’s definition of intermediate and ultimate outcomes.

In support of the theory of change in the concept note application form, please include a separate Logic Model (PDF, 91 KB) that visually depicts the outcome statements down to the immediate results of the theory and reflects the series of changes that are critical to achieving project success.

Additional information

Concept notes submitted under this call should also:

Organization eligibility

To be eligible, you must meet each of the following eligibility screening requirements and, where stipulated, provide supporting documentation. If your organization is submitting a concept note on behalf of a group of organizations that would sign the funding agreement with Global Affairs Canada, each organization (i.e. co-signatory) must meet all of the following requirements and provide documentation:

If you do not fulfill all of the above requirements, your organization is not eligible to apply under this call. We will not pre-assess or comment on the eligibility of specific potential applicants.

Required project parameters

Carefully review the following parameters of this call and judge whether your project idea will fit. We will not respond to questions about the eligibility of your project idea. You must be able to answer “yes” to all of the following statements in order for your application to be considered for funding under this call, otherwise it will not be assessed:

Your project may also include:

Required project experience

Your concept note must demonstrate the required experience as described below to be considered under this call. One or more organizations among the signatory partners must provide 2 examples of projects in Section 2.1. of the application form. Project examples from non-signatory partners will not be eligible.

Collectively, the 2 examples must demonstrate the following:

Note: At least 1 of the project examples needs to be in the proposed country/ies of intervention.

Additional guidance

Preference will be given to concept notes that:

How we assess your concept note

Concept notes submitted under this call will first undergo an eligibility check to verify that they meet all organization eligibility requirements and required project parameters identified on this call page.

Next, concept notes will be assessed to ensure that applicants demonstrate the required project experience. Organizations that do not meet the required project experience will not be further assessed. You will be notified if your organization is found to be ineligible or if it does not meet the project experience requirements.

Concept notes that meet these requirements will proceed to merit assessment based on the following assessment criteria:

Rationale for the initiative

Gender equality

Human rights

Environmental sustainability

Managing for results

Responding to risks

Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

After we assess eligible concept notes for merit, we will invite a limited number of organizations whose concept notes align best with the objectives and parameters of the call to submit a full proposal. Selection and funding decisions will be made based on an assessment of a full application package only. An invitation to submit a full proposal is not a guarantee of funding. 

Invited applicants will have approximately 8 weeks to submit a full proposal after they receive an invitation letter from Global Affairs Canada.

Available resources

Before you begin, we encourage you to consult the many online resources that are available to help you develop your application package.

How to submit your application package

In order for your concept note to be considered in this call, you must submit your complete application package to Partners@International by 12 pm ET on Wednesday, April 14, 2021.

Your application package must include all of the following documents:

Accessing and using PDF forms

Use only Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat and Internet Explorer to work on the standardized PDFs to be submitted with your application package. If you use other software, you may not be able to validate the form or submit it, or the data you enter may not appear once submitted to the department, and the application will be considered ineligible.

If you are having difficulty downloading the forms, it is generally due to the type of software you have (or do not have) on your computer. Please read and follow the help instructions. If you have all the correct software installed, download the form to your desktop and open it directly in Adobe Reader; otherwise, other software installed on your computer may try (and fail) to open the form using your default settings.

Questions on using the Partners@International portal

Please read and follow all the instructions for using the Partners@International portal (linked on the right side menu). Do not open multiple windows within the portal as this may cause technical problems.

Do not try to register or submit at the last minute

It may take up to 10 business days to register your organization. If you encounter technical difficulties while trying to register or submit a concept note, send an email to partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca.

Note: During the last 2 weeks before a call closes, the service standard for replying to your enquiry is 3 business days. Technical support for the portal is only available Monday to Friday from 9 am to 4 pm ET.

Webcast

A webcast took place on March 16, 2021 to go over key information of this call. You can request a copy at correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca. The webcast is available in French and English. It will be available until we close the call on April 14, 2021.

Other questions

If you still have questions about this call after reading the general questions and answers about applying for funding, please send them to correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca by 12 pm ET on March 24, 2021. We will not respond to questions received after this deadline or to questions on specific organizational circumstances or specific project concept notes. Applicants who submit questions will not receive emails with responses to their questions. Instead, answers will only appear on the questions and answers page for this call. This is to ensure that all applicants have access to the same information at the same time.

Date Modified:

Appel de notes conceptuelles – Éducation pour les enfants et les jeunes réfugiés et déplacés en Afrique subsaharienne

Pour recevoir les avis sur les appels, veuillez vous abonner à notre fil RSS.

Ce fil RSS permet d’accéder aux appels, de recevoir une notification à propos des appels à venir, de consulter les appels passées qui sont clos et de voir les résultats aux appels qui ont été lancées.

La date limite pour soumettre une demande était mercredi le 14 avril 2021, à 12 h, heure de l’Est (HE).

Affaires mondiales Canada lance un appel aux organisations canadiennes intitulé « Éducation pour les enfants et les jeunes réfugiés et déplacés en Afrique subsaharienne », d’une valeur d’environ 40 millions de dollars sur une période de 5 ans. Affaires mondiales Canada peut financer un certain nombre de propositions ou aucune, jusqu’à concurrence du financement maximal disponible.

Cet appel s’inscrit dans le cadre de la campagne Ensemble pour l’apprentissage - Éducation des enfants et des adolescents réfugiés, déplacés de force ou vivant dans des communautés d’accueil du Ministère, qui vise à promouvoir une éducation de qualité et des possibilités d’apprentissage tout au long de la vie des enfants et des jeunes réfugiés, déplacés à l’intérieur du pays et vivant dans des communautés d’accueil. Affaires mondiales Canada s’attend à financer un nombre limité de projets d’une valeur de 5 à 20 millions de dollars chacun.

Vous devez soumettre votre demande pour cet appel de propositions dans le portail Partenaires@International avant la date limite. Lisez attentivement toutes les instructions que vous trouverez sur ce portail. Si vous présentez une demande au nom d’un groupe d’organisations qui signeraient l’accord de financement avec Affaires mondiales Canada, veuillez vous assurer que chacune de ces organisations est inscrite au portail Partenaires@International et y a téléversé tous les documents exigés.

Nous n’accepterons pas les notes conceptuelles soumises après la date limite. Pour éviter que des difficultés techniques ne vous empêchent de soumettre votre demande à temps, nous vous recommandons vivement de la soumettre au moins 3 jours ouvrables avant la date limite du mercredi le 14 avril 2021, à 12 h HE. Veuillez lire attentivement toutes les instructions du portail.

La présentation de votre note conceptuelle constitue la première des 2 étapes du processus de demande. La note conceptuelle n’est pas le seul élément sur lequel se base la décision de financement. Dans une deuxième étape, nous inviterons un nombre limité de demandeurs, parmi ceux qui répondent le mieux aux objectifs et aux critères de l’appel, à présenter une proposition complète. Avant de préparer votre demande, veuillez passer en revue les directives énoncées dans la page Web Présenter une demande de financement en réponse à un appel.

Objectifs

Cet appel vise à améliorer l'accès à l'éducation des enfants et des jeunes réfugiés et déplacés. Un renforcement ciblé des capacités, combiné à de petites subventions pour les activités de base, la programmation et des engagements politiques liés à l'éducation et menés au niveau local, permettrait d'amplifier la voix des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées internes (PDI), ainsi que celle des organisations qui les représentent et qui sont dirigées par eux. Grâce à des solutions innovantes, l’appel vise à accroître l'accès à une éducation de qualité en fournissant un financement supplémentaire à ces organisations qui sont les mieux placées pour comprendre les besoins de leurs communautés et qui sont en première ligne pour fournir des services éducatifs essentiels aux réfugiés et aux PDI.

Cet appel permettra des partenariats dynamiques entre les organisations canadiennes, les organisations nationales, les communautés d'accueil et les organisations dirigées par des réfugiés (ODR) ou des personnes déplacées. Il contribuera de manière importante à la base de données émergente et à l'apprentissage à l’échelle mondiale sur le rôle des ODR et des organisations dirigées par des personnes déplacées dans l'amélioration directe des résultats scolaires des enfants et des jeunes réfugiés et déplacés internes. Des solutions adaptées au contexte et à la situation locale ainsi qu'une conception sensible aux conflits seront essentielles pour garantir l’utilisation d’approches adaptatives et réactives qui intègrent des stratégies de gestion des risques.

L’appel comporte 3 objectifs fondamentaux :

* Les ODR et les organisations dirigées par des PDI sont définies comme étant des organisations communautaires, y compris celles dirigées par des femmes, travaillant dans le secteur de l’éducation, qui sont fondées ou dirigées par des réfugiés ou par des PDI ayant le rôle de décideur. Alors que certaines ODR et certaines organisations dirigées par des PDI sont officiellement inscrites auprès de l’État hôte, d’autres ne peuvent s’inscrire en raison d’obstacles juridiques. Les organisations enregistrées et non enregistrées peuvent bénéficier d'une aide dans le cadre de cet appel. Les organisations doivent être actives dans le domaine de la protection et de l’aide aux réfugiés et aux PDI, et leurs activités doivent comprendre, mais sans s’y limiter, des conseils et des programmes sur l’inclusion, l’intégration, la participation significative, l’éducation, le renforcement du pouvoir et l’autonomie.

** Les subventions peuvent être utilisées pour financer :

L’appel s’harmonise aux champs d’action de la dignité humaine, de l’égalité des genres et du renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. Les programmes devraient assurer une pleine intégration de l’égalité des genres, appliquer une approche fondée sur les droits de la personne et examiner comment les facteurs identitaires qui se recoupent influencent l’accès et l’intégration des personnes les plus à risque d’être laissées pour compte, notamment les personnes handicapées, les groupes ethniques minoritaires, les personnes LGBTI et les autres groupes vulnérables.

L’appel est également conforme à la Lettre de mandat de la ministre du Développement international, qui charge la ministre de mener une campagne internationale pour veiller à ce que tous les enfants réfugiés et déplacés puissent recevoir l’éducation dont ils ont besoin et qu’ils méritent, ainsi qu’à l’engagement du Canada envers le Pacte mondial sur les réfugiés. Ce dernier précise que les interventions globales auprès des réfugiés exigent qu’un plus grand nombre d’intervenants — y compris les réfugiés eux-mêmes — travaillent plus activement ensemble afin de promouvoir des solutions durables.

L’appel soutiendrait les programmes d’aide internationale qui tiennent compte de l’articulation des efforts (le nexus) entre le développement, de l’aide humanitaire, de la paix et de la sécurité, afin de répondre aux besoins d'apprentissage spécifiques des enfants et des jeunes et aux vulnérabilités auxquelles ils sont confrontés pendant et après une crise. Les demandeurs doivent inclure une analyse préliminaire des conflits qui tient compte des genres dans la théorie du changement, qui détermine les facteurs de conflits, analyse la dynamique entre les genres et les causes du déplacement. Les soumissionnaires sont également encouragés à inclure des possibilités de sensibilisation à l'environnement et des pratiques respectueuses de l'environnement et résilientes aux changements climatiques, le cas échéant.

La Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada stipule ce qui suit : « … nous ferons en sorte qu’avant 2021-2022, pas moins de 95 % des initiatives bilatérales du Canada en matière d’aide au développement international visent ou intègrent l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles ». La priorité sera accordée aux notes conceptuelles qui répondent à l’exigence d’intégrer pleinement l’égalité des genres (EG-02) et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. Les demandeurs doivent inclure une analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) qui cerne les lacunes en matière d’égalité des genres et veille à ce que les solutions proposées répondent directement à l’ACS+ dans l’ensemble des activités, des extrants et des résultats.

Résultat ultime

Aux fins du présent appel, le projet que vous proposez doit contribuer à l’atteinte du résultat ultime suivant :

Résultats intermédiaires

Le projet que vous proposez doit aussi contribuer à tous les résultats intermédiaires suivants :

Remarque : Vous pouvez affiner les énoncés du résultat ultime et des résultats intermédiaires de l’appel afin qu’ils reflètent la réalité de la conception de votre projet, en les rendant plus spécifiques en termes de qui, quoi et où de votre projet. Pour être certain que vos énoncés de résultats respectent la définition des résultats intermédiaires et ultimes d’Affaires mondiales Canada, consultez le document La gestion axée sur les résultats appliquée aux programmes d’aide internationale : Un guide pratique.

En appui à la théorie du changement dans le formulaire de demande de la note conceptuelle, veuillez inclure un modèle logique (PDF, 92 ko) distinct qui présente visuellement les énoncés des résultats jusqu’aux résultats immédiats de la théorie et reflète la série de changements qui sont essentiels à la réussite du projet.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Votre note conceptuelle devrait aussi :

Admissibilité de l’organisation

Pour être admissible, vous devez satisfaire à chacune des exigences énumérées ci-dessous et, le cas échéant, fournir des documents à l’appui. Si votre organisation présente une note conceptuelle au nom d’un groupe d’organisations qui signeraient l’accord de financement avec Affaires mondiales Canada, chacune de ces organisations (c.-à-d. chaque cosignataire) doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences suivantes et fournir les documents nécessaires :

Si vous ne remplissez pas toutes les exigences ci-dessus, votre organisation n’est pas admissible au présent appel. Nous ne ferons pas de pré-évaluation ni ne formulerons de commentaires sur l’admissibilité de possibles demandeurs en particulier.

Critères du projet à respecter

Veuillez consulter attentivement la liste ci-dessous pour vérifier si votre idée de projet répond aux critères prévus pour cet appel. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions concernant l’admissibilité de votre note conceptuelle. Pour que votre demande soit prise en considération pour du financement dans le cadre du présent appel, vous devez être en mesure de répondre « oui » à tous les énoncés suivants faute de quoi elle ne sera pas examinée :

Votre projet peut également inclure :

Expérience requise pour le projet

Votre note conceptuelle doit démontrer que vous possédez l’expérience décrite ci-dessous pour que votre demande soit étudiée dans le cadre du présent appel. Une ou plusieurs organisations parmi les partenaires signataires doivent fournir 2 exemples de projets à la section 2.1 du formulaire de demande. Les exemples de projets de partenaires non-signataires ne seront pas admissibles.

Les 2 exemples doivent démontrer conjointement ce qui suit :

Remarque : Au moins un des exemples de projet doit avoir eu lieu dans le ou les pays d’intervention.

Directives supplémentaires

La préférence sera accordée aux notes conceptuelles qui :

Comment sont évaluées les notes conceptuelles

Dans un premier temps, la note conceptuelle que vous soumettez dans le cadre du présent appel d’offres fera l’objet d’une vérification d’admissibilité afin de déterminer si votre demande satisfait à tous les critères d’admissibilité de l’organisation et à tous les critères du projet à respecter tels qu’ils sont énoncés ci-dessus.

Votre note conceptuelle sera par la suite évaluée afin de déterminer si vous avez l’expérience requise pour le projet. Si votre organisation ne satisfait pas aux exigences en matière d’expérience, l’évaluation n’ira pas plus loin. Dans le cas où votre organisation serait jugée inadmissible ou ne répondrait pas aux exigences en matière d’expérience, nous vous en aviserions.

Les notes conceptuelles qui répondent aux exigences seront soumises à une évaluation du mérite, en fonction des critères d’évaluation suivants :

Bien-fondé de l’initiative

Égalité des genres

Droits de la personne

Viabilité de l’environnement

Gestion axée sur les résultats

Mesures à prendre en réponse aux risques

Capacité de l’organisation par rapport à l’initiative

Après l’évaluation du mérite des notes conceptuelles admissibles, nous inviterons un nombre limité d’organisations dont la note conceptuelle répond le mieux aux objectifs et aux critères de l’appel à soumettre une proposition complète. Les décisions relatives au financement ne reposeront que sur l’évaluation d’une demande complète. Une invitation à soumettre une proposition complète ne garantit pas l’attribution de financement. 

Après avoir reçu une lettre d’invitation d’Affaires mondiales Canada, les demandeurs auront environ 8 semaines pour soumettre une proposition complète.

Ressources disponibles

Avant que vous ne commenciez à préparer votre demande, nous vous encourageons à consulter les nombreuses ressources en ligne qui peuvent vous aider.

Comment présenter sa demande

Afin que votre note conceptuelle soit prise en considération pour le présent appel, vous devez soumettre votre demande complète à partir du portail Partenaires@International au plus tard le mercredi 14 avril 2021, à 12 h HE.

Votre demande doit comprendre tous les documents suivants :

Comment accéder aux formulaires en format PDF et les utiliser

Veuillez n’utiliser qu’Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat et Internet Explorer pour remplir les formulaires PDF normalisés à soumettre avec votre demande. Si vous utilisez un autre logiciel, vous ne serez peut-être pas en mesure de valider le formulaire ou de le soumettre, ou alors les informations saisies pourraient ne pas être visibles une fois les documents transmis au Ministère. Dans ce cas, votre demande serait considérée comme irrecevable.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à télécharger les formulaires, bien souvent les logiciels se trouvant (ou ne se trouvant pas) sur votre ordinateur sont en cause. Veuillez lire et suivre les instructions données sur la page Aide. Si tous les bons logiciels sont installés, téléchargez le formulaire sur votre poste de travail et ouvrez-le directement dans Adobe Reader. Si vous procédez autrement, il est possible que, en fonction des paramètres par défaut de votre ordinateur, d’autres logiciels tentent d’ouvrir, sans succès, le formulaire.

Questions au sujet du portail Partenaires@International

Veuillez lire et suivre attentivement les instructions sur l’utilisation du portail Partenaires@International (liens se trouvant à la droite de l’écran). N’ouvrez pas de multiples fenêtres dans le portail, car des problèmes techniques pourraient se produire.

N’essayez pas de vous inscrire ni de soumettre votre demande à la dernière minute

Il peut s’écouler jusqu’à 10 jours ouvrables avant que l’inscription de votre organisation soit finalisée. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques à vous inscrire ou à soumettre votre note conceptuelle, envoyez un courriel à partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca.

Veuillez noter que dans les 2 semaines précédant la date de clôture d’un appel, il faut prévoir, selon les normes de service en vigueur, 3 jours ouvrables pour obtenir une réponse. Le bureau du soutien technique n’est ouvert que du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 16 h HE.

Webdiffusion

Une webdiffusion a eu lieu le 16 mars 2021 pour passer en revue les informations clés de cet appel. Vous pouvez en demander une copie à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca. La webdiffusion est disponible en français et en anglais. Elle sera disponible jusqu'à la clôture de l'appel le 14 avril 2021.

Autres questions

Si vous avez encore des questions au sujet du présent appel après avoir lu les questions et réponses sur les demandes de financement, veuillez les envoyer par courriel à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca au plus tard le 24 mars 2021, à 12 h HE. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions reçues après cette date ni à celles sur les circonstances particulières d’une organisation ou sur des notes conceptuelles de projet spécifiques. Les demandeurs qui envoient des questions ne recevront pas de réponses par courriel. Toutes les réponses seront plutôt affichées sur la page Questions et réponses de cet appel, afin que tous les demandeurs aient accès à la même information en même temps.

Date de modification: