Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices

Textiles and Clothing

Administration Of The North American Free Trade Agreement Relating To Exports Of Textiles, Apparel And Made-Up Goods To The United States And The Application Of The Tariff Preference Levels

Tpl Allocation, New Entrants And Amendments To The Transfer Mechanism

Notice to Exporters
Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No. 123
Date: December 10, 1999

Table of Contents


Part I: General

1.0 Purpose

1.1 This Notice advises exporters of:

(1.1.1) TPL allocation policies for wool and non-wool apparel, cotton or man made fibre fabric and made-up goods, and cotton or man-made fibre spun yarn;

(1.1.2) wool and non-wool apparel TPL pools for new entrants; and

(1.1.3) amendments to the percentages of apparel TPL allocation that can be transferred out to other quota holders (see earlier Notices to Exporters 111 and 115).

1.2 This Notice to Exporters replaces Notice to Exporters No. 96, dated December 20, 1996 and Notice to Exporters No. 104, dated December 10, 1997.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The Glossary included with this Notice explains the meanings of some words used in this Notice.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice shall remain valid until further notice.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Tariff Preference Level or "TPL" means the special provisions set out in Annex 300-B, Appendix 6, Part B, of the NAFTA, that provides for the application of a customs duty at a preferential rate to non-originating goods up to a specified quantity, as adjusted under the Agreement, measured in square metre equivalents, and at a rate different from goods that exceed that quantity. The Minister of Foreign Affairs issues Certificates of Eligibility for TPL in accordance with the Issuance of Certificates Regulations which are, in turn, made under authority of the Export and Import Permits Act. The Minister allocates TPL quantities or "quota" to qualified applicants in accordance with policy expressed in the present Notice and Notices to Exporters Nos. 111 and 115.

4.2 Readers of the present Notice and other indications of policy referred to herein should know that Certificates of Eligibility for TPL are issued at the discretion of the Minister responsible for the EIPA; nothing in this or other Notices or other communications can be taken to guarantee the issuance of a Certificate. However, it is the Minister's intent normally to recognize TPL allocations in dispositions of applications for Certificates of Eligibility for TPL. Thus, the present Notice and other indications of policy referred to herein are presented as a guide to interested parties.

Part II: TPL Allocation

5.0 Wool Apparel

5.1 Wool apparel TPL allocation will continue to be made available to current quota holders on an historical basis to the extent of utilization. Depending on the overall level of utilization, up to one percent of each quota holder's wool apparel TPL allocation will be withheld to allow for the creation of a small TPL pool for new entrants.

5.2 For a subsequent year, an allocation to a TPL quota holder will be based on the holder's export performance for the entire current year and will depend on export shipments relative to the quota holder's available TPL allocation. This will be a percentage of the quota holder's original TPL allocation, adjusted for transfers out and returns (see paragraphs 6.2 and 6.3 in Notice to Exporters No. 111).

6.0 Non-wool Apparel

6.1 Non-wool apparel TPL allocation will be made available to current quota holders on an historical basis to the extent of utilization. Depending on the overall level of utilization, up to two percent of each quota holder's non-wool apparel TPL allocation will be withheld to allow for the creation of a small TPL pool for new entrants.

6.2 For a subsequent year, an allocation to a TPL quota holder will be based on the holder's export performance for the entire current year and will depend on export shipments relative to the quota holder's available TPL allocation. This will be a percentage of the quota holder's original TPL allocation, adjusted for transfers out and returns (see paragraphs 6.2 and 6.3 in Notice to Exporters No. 111).

7.0 Cotton or Man-made Fibre Fabric and Made-up Goods

7.1 Quota for cotton or man-made fibre fabrics and made-up goods will continue to be made available to all exporters on an historical basis to the extent of utilization. Any balance will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

8.0 Cotton or Man-made Fibre Spun Yarn

8.1 Quota for cotton or man-made fibre spun yarn will be allocated to all exporters on a first-come, first-served basis, subject to availability.

Part III: Wool and Non-Wool Apparel TPL for New Entrants

9.0 Implementation

9.1 For the first five years the NAFTA provided growth rates for textile and apparel TPL levels. These growth rates will no longer be available after 1999. As such, TPL levels starting in the year 2000 will be in accordance with the Special Provisions in the NAFTA, Annex 300-B, Appendix 6:

Wool Apparel5,325,413 SME
- Wool suits5,016,780 SME
Non-wool Apparel88,326,463 SME
- From imported fabric63,060,603 SME
Cotton or Man-made Fibre Fabric and Made-up Goods71,765,252 SME
- Woven Fabric38,642,829 SME
- Knitted Fabric38,642,829 SME
Cotton or Man-made Fibre Spun Yarn11,813,664 Kilograms

9.2 To allow for a continuing capacity for new entrants, TPL pools for new entrants for exports to the United States of qualifying goods will be set at 1% and 2% of the respective wool and non-wool apparel TPL levels, in line with the previous growth rates provided for in the NAFTA. Beginning in the year 2000, the quantity of TPL for these pools will be 53,254 SME for wool apparel, and 1,766,529 SME for non-wool apparel.

9.3 Wool and non-wool TPL pools for new entrants may be allocated to: (a) new entrants that had no TPL allocation from these pools in the previous year, and (b) quota holders that had received access to and fully utilized the previous year's TPL, but had not reached a level in excess of 1,000 SME of wool apparel TPL, or a level in excess of 5,000 SME of non-wool apparel TPL.

9.4 Subject to the provisions of paragraph 9.3, an exporter is a "new entrant" if the exporter manufactures wool or non-wool apparel goods in Canada and is not affiliated with and is not a associated with a person who is a current apparel TPL quota holder (see the attached Glossary for related definitions).

9.5 New entrants, including existing holders of wool apparel TPL allocation not exceeding 1,000 SME, and non-wool apparel TPL allocation not exceeding 5,000 SME, must make a written request to the EICB by May 31 of each year to apply for the relevant TPL pool and provide a projection of requirements for the following year. New entrants may be considered for TPL allocation based on the availability of quota. TPL allocations for new entrants would normally be limited to 1,000 SME for wool apparel goods and 5,000 SME for non-wool apparel goods.

Part IV: Amendments to the Percentage of Apparel TPL Transfers

10.0 Restrictions to the Percentage of Apparel TPL Transfers

10.1 The percentage amount in Paragraph 5.2 in the Notice to Exporters No. 111 has been amended. Companies will be allowed to transfer out, without penalty, at any time during the year, up to 25% (formerly 50%) of their original TPL allocation.

10.2 The percentage amount in Paragraph 5.5 of the Notice to Exporters No.111 has also been amended. The combined amount of transfers out and returns (see paragraph 5.4 of that Notice) of TPL allocation by a company cannot exceed 25% (formerly 50%) of its original TPL allocation, except for companies that elect to transfer out up to 100% of their TPL allocation in accordance with paragraph 5.3 of the Notice to Exporters No.111.

10.3 For a company that holds both non-wool apparel (fabric) and non-wool apparel (yarn) TPL allocations (see paragraph 5.3 of Notice to Exporters No. 115), the transfer mechanism will consider them as separate quota holders for the purpose of TPL transfer policies. A quota holder wishing to transfer quota between non-wool apparel (fabric) and non-wool apparel (yarn) TPL allocations will be subject to the same transfer conditions described in both Notices to Exporters Nos.111 and 115.

Part V: Further Information

11.0 Certificate Cancellations

11.1 As indicated in Notice to Exporters No. 70, dated December 15, 1993, in cases where Certificates of Eligibility are subsequently not used (because of cancelled orders, or for any other reason), exporters must promptly return the pink copy of the Certificate of Eligibility to the EICB.

12.0 List of Quota Holders

12.1 A list of current quota holders and related Notices to Exporters can be found under the EICB web site:

English Textiles List - English

French Textiles Liste - Français

13.0 Inquiries

13.1 Inquiries concerning this Notice, or other administrative policies relating to NAFTA, may be addressed to:

Textiles and Clothing Section
Trade Controls Policy Division
Export and Import Controls Bureau
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Mailing address:

P.O. Box 481
Station A
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 9K6

Courier address:

Tower C, 4th floor
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: (613) 996-3711
Facsimile: (613) 995-5137

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis

Textiles et vêtements

Administration des dispositions de l'accord de libre-échange Nord-américain relatives aux exportations vers les états-unis de textiles, de vêtements et d'articles confectionnés et à l'application des niveaux de préférence tarifaire

Attribution de parts NTP, exportateurs nouveaux venus et modifications du mécanisme de transfert

Avis aux exportateurs
Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

Nº de série: 123
Date: le 10 décembre 1999

Table des matières


Partie I : Genéralités

1.0 But

1.1 Le but du présent Avis est d'informer les exportateurs :

(1.1.1) des politiques relatives à l'attribution des parts NPT des contingents de vêtements en laine et non-laine, de tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles, et des filés de coton ou de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles;

(1.1.2) des pools de NPT des contingents de vêtements en laine et non-laine pour les nouveaux venus;

(1.1.3) des modifications apportées aux pourcentages des parts NPT du contingent de vêtements qui peuvent être transférés à d'autres détenteurs de parts (voir les Avis aux exportateurs précédents nos 111 et 115).

1.2 Le présent Avis aux exportateurs remplace l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 96, daté du 20 décembre 1996, et l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 104, daté du 10 décembre 1997.

2.0 Définitions

2.1 Le glossaire avec ce présent Avis explique le sens de certains termes employés dans cet Avis.

3.0 Durée

3.1 Le présent Avis demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

4.0 Fondement législatif

4.1 Le niveau de préférence tarifaire ou « NPT » s'entend des dispositions spéciales énoncées dans l'Annexe 300-B, Appendice 6, Partie B, de l'ALENA, qui permettent d'appliquer un droit de douane à un taux préférentiel à des produits non originaires dans la limite de la quantité prescrite, telle que rajustée selon l'Accord et mesurée en équivalents-mètres carrés, et à un taux différent quand les produits dépassent cette quantité. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères délivre des certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT conformément au Règlement sur la délivrance de certificats pris en application de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI). Le Ministre attribue des parts NPT ou « contingents » aux demandeurs admissibles conformément à la politique énoncée dans le présent Avis et dans les Avis nos 111 et 115.

4.2 Les personnes lisant le présent Avis ou d'autres indications de politique qui y sont mentionnées doivent savoir que les certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT sont délivrés à la discrétion du ministre responsable de la LLEI; en conséquence, rien de ce qui figure dans le présent Avis, dans d'autres Avis ou dans d'autres communications ne peut être interprété comme garantissant la délivrance d'un certificat. Toutefois, le Ministre a l'intention de reconnaître les attributions de parts NPT dans ses décisions relatives aux demandes de certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT. Le présent Avis et les autres indications de politique qui y sont mentionnées ne sont donc présentés qu'à titre de guide pour les parties intéressées.

Partie II : Attribution de parts NPT

5.0 Vêtements en laine

5.1 Les parts NPT du contingent de vêtements en laine continueront à être offertes aux détenteurs de parts actuels en fonction des résultats antérieurs, en tenant compte de l'utilisation. Selon le niveau d'utilisation global, jusqu'à un pour cent des parts NPT de chaque détenteur de part sera réservé pour créer un petit pool des nouveaux venus.

5.2 Pour une année suivante, la part NPT attribuée à un détenteur de part dépendra de ses résultats à l'exportation pour toute l'année en cours ainsi que de ses expéditions à l'exportation par rapport à sa part NPT disponible. Il s'agira d'un pourcentage de la part NPT initiale du détenteur de part, rajustée pour les transferts effectués et les retours (voir les paragraphes 6.2 et 6.3 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 111).

6.0 Vêtements non-laine

6.1 Les parts NPT du contingent de vêtements non-laine seront offertes aux détenteurs de parts actuels en fonction des résultats antérieurs, en tenant compte de l'utilisation. Selon le niveau d'utilisation global, jusqu'à deux pour cent des parts NPT de chaque détenteur de part sera réservé pour créer un petit pool des nouveaux venus.

6.2 Pour une année suivante, la part NPT attribuée à un détenteur de part dépendra de ses résultats à l'exportation pour toute l'année en cours ainsi que de ses expéditions à l'exportation par rapport à sa part NPT disponible. Il s'agira d'un pourcentage de la part NPT initiale du détenteur de part, rajustée pour les transferts effectués et les retours (voir les paragraphes 6.2 et 6.3 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 111).

7.0 Tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles

7.1 Les contingents de tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles continueront d'être offerts à tous les exportateurs en fonction de l'utilisation. La réserve éventuelle sera attribuée selon la formule premier arrivé, premier servi.

8.0 Filés de coton ou de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles

8.1 Les contingents de filés de coton ou de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles seront offerts à tous les exportateurs selon la formule premier arrivé, premier servi, si la réserve est suffisante.

Partie III : Parts NPT des contingents de vêtements en laine et non-laine pour les nouveaux venus

9.0 Mise en oeuvre

9.1 Pendant les cinq premières années, l'ALENA prévoyait des coefficients de croissance des NPT. Ces coefficients n'existeront plus après 1999. Les NPT à partir de l'an 2000 seront donc conformes aux dispositions spéciales de l'ALENA, Annexe 300-B, Appendice 6 :

Vêtements en laine5,325,413 EMC
- Complets en laine5,016,780 EMC
Vêtements non-laine88,326,463 EMC
- Faits de tissus importés63,060,603 EMC
Tissus et articles confectionnés
en coton et en tissus synthétiques ou artificiels
71,765,252 EMC
- Tissus38,642,829 EMC
- Étoffes de bonneterie38,642,829 EMC
Filés de coton ou de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles11,813,664 kilogrammes

9.2 Afin de créer une capacité continue pour les nouveaux venus, des pools NPT pour les nouveaux venus pour les exportations aux États-Unis de produits admissibles seront établis à 1 % du NPT du contingent de vêtements en laine et à 2 % du NPT du contingent de vêtements non-laine, conformément aux coefficients de croissance antérieurs prévus dans l'ALENA. À compter de l'an 2000, le NPT pour ces pools sera de 53 254 EMC pour les vêtements en laine et de 1 766 529 EMC pour les vêtements non-laine.

9.3 Les pools NPT des contingents de vêtements en laine et de vêtements non-laine pour les nouveaux venus peuvent être attribués : a) aux nouveaux venus qui n'ont pas eu de part NPT provenant de ces pools l'année précédente, et b) aux détenteurs de parts qui ont obtenu et utilisé entièrement la part NPT de l'année précédente, mais dont la part NPT ne dépassait pas 1 000 EMC pour les vêtements en laine ou 5 000 EMC pour les vêtements non-laine.

9.4 Sujets aux provisions du paragraph 9.3, un exportateur est un « nouveau venu » s'il fabrique des vêtements en laine ou non-laine au Canada et n'est pas affilié ni associé à des détenteurs actuels de parts NPT des contingents de vêtements (voir le glossaire ci-joint pour les définitions connexes).

9.5 Les nouveaux venus, dont les détenteurs existants de parts NPT du contingent de vêtements en laine ne dépassant pas 1 000 EMC, et de parts NPT du contingent de vêtements non-laine ne dépassant pas 5 000 EMC, doivent présenter une demande par écrit à la DGCEI au plus tard le 31 mai de chaque année pour accéder au pool NPT pertinent et fournir une projection de leurs besoins pour l'année suivante. Les nouveaux venus peuvent être considérés pour l'attribution de parts NPT si la réserve est suffisante. Les parts NPT pour les nouveaux venus se limitent normalement à 1 000 EMC pour les vêtements en laine et à 5 000 EMC pour les vêtements non-laine.

Partie IV : Modifications au pourcentage des transferts de parts npt des contingents de vêtements

10.0 Restrictions au pourcentage des transferts de parts NPT des contingents de vêtements

10.1 Le pourcentage indiqué au paragraphe 5.2 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 111 a été modifié. Les sociétés pourront transférer, sans pénalité, à n'importe quel moment de l'année jusqu'à 25 % (auparavant 50 %) de leur part NPT initiale.

10.2 Le pourcentage indiqué au paragraphe 5.5 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 111 a lui aussi été modifié. Pris ensemble, les transferts et retours (voir le paragraphe 5.4 de cet Avis) de parts NPT par une société ne peuvent dépasser 25 % (auparavant 50 %) de la part NPT initiale, sauf si la société choisit de transférer jusqu'à 100 % de sa part NPT initiale conformément au paragraphe 5.3 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 111.

10.3 Pour les sociétés qui détiennent à la fois une part NPT du contingent de vêtements non-laine (tissus) et de vêtements non-laine (filés) (voir le paragraphe 5.3 de l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 115), le mécanisme de transfert les considérera comme des détenteurs de parts distincts aux fins des politiques de transfert de parts NPT. Un détenteur de part qui souhaite effectuer un transfert entre une part NPT du contingent de vêtements non-laine (tissus) et une part NPT du contingent de vêtement non-laine (filés) sera assujetti aux conditions de transfert décrites dans les Avis aux exportateurs nos 111 et 115.

Partie V : Renseignements Supplémentaires

11.0 Annulation des certificats

11.1 Comme il est mentionné dans l'Avis aux exportateurs n° 70, daté du 15 décembre 1993, dans le cas où un certificat d'admissibilité n'est pas utilisé (par suite d'une annulation de commande ou pour toute autre raison), l'exportateur doit retourner sans délai l'exemplaire rose du certificat à la DGCEI pour annulation.

12.0 Liste des détenteurs de parts

12.1 Le site Web de la DGCEI comprend la liste des détenteurs actuels de parts et les Avis aux exportateurs connexes :

English Textiles List - English

French Textiles Liste - Français

13.0 Demandes de renseignements

13.1 Les demandes de renseignements concernant le présent Avis aux exportateurs ou d'autres politiques administratives relatives à l'ALENA peuvent être adressées à la :

Section du textile et des vêtements
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale
Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international

Adresse postale :

C.P. 481
Succursale A
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1N 9K6

Adresse de messagerie :

Tour C, 4e étage
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone : (613) 996-3711
Télécopieur : (613) 995-5137