Canada and Sub-Saharan Africa

Canada has cultivated relationships in Africa for more than five decades through our work with African countries and with regional and international bodies.

Canada’s priorities for Sub-Saharan Africa are:

Development assistance

While some African countries have made progress in reducing poverty, Sub-Saharan Africa is still home to some of the poorest people in the world. In 2010, an estimated 414 million people lived on less than $1.25 per day.

Canada focuses its international development efforts in Sub-Saharan Africa in ten countries:

Canada also works with other countries in the region, and where challenges benefit from regional approaches, we work with continental institutions such as the African Union and the African Development Bank, as well as regional economic communities (RECs).

In times of disaster, crises or severe conflict, Canada provides humanitarian assistance, as part of a global response.

Promoting democracy

Canada supports political and economic reforms in Africa that are based on democracy, strong public sector institutions, the rule of law and human rights.

We work with African countries and international organizations, such as the African Union, to strengthen democratic institutions, reduce corruption and promote transparency and accountability.

Canada helps during elections by providing support to electoral commissions, sending domestic and international election observers and supporting public education about elections.

Building partnerships

Canada is an active partner in key organizations who share common interests in the Sub-Saharan Africa region.

Peace and security

Canada promotes an integrated approach to security, development and regional cooperation, and we encourage this approach among the governments and partners we work with. Helping volatile areas achieve greater stability allows important humanitarian work and the delivery of international assistance to take place.

Canada helps strengthen the peace and security capacity of African countries. We provide support for training military and police forces in many African countries, both to enhance their skills and to prepare them for participating in international peacekeeping operations.

Canada is also committed to helping African countries improve their ability to combat terrorism. Our initiatives include support for training and equipment, as well as technical assistance to strengthen legal instruments, combat the financing of terrorism and increase border and transportation security.

Economic and trade relations

Africa is one of the fastest-growing economic regions in the world. According to the International Monetary Fund, five of the world's 20 fastest-growing economies are in sub-Saharan Africa.

Canada is expanding its trade and investment in sub-Saharan Africa.

To help establish a regulatory framework that encourages trade and investment, Canada negotiates Foreign Investment Protection and Promotion Agreements (FIPAs). We have concluded FIPAs with Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Nigeria, Tanzania, Mali, Madagascar, Senegal and Zambia.

Canada's trade and investment goals for Africa include:

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l'Afrique subsaharienne

Le Canada entretient des relations avec l'Afrique depuis plus de cinquante ans, a travers notre collaboration avec des pays africains et des organismes régionaux et internationaux.

Les priorités du Canada en Afrique subsaharienne sont :

Aide au développement

Bien que certains pays africains aient réalisé des progrès en matière de réduction de la pauvreté, l'Afrique subsaharienne demeure une région où vivent certaines des personnes les plus pauvres du monde. En 2010, on estimait que 414 millions de personnes subsistaient avec moins de 1,25 $ par jour.

Le Canada concentre ses efforts de développement en Afrique subsaharienne dans dix pays :

Le Canada collabore également avec d’autres pays de la région. Lorsque des approches régionales permettent de régler des enjeux de développement, le Canada unit ses forces avec celles d'institutions africaines comme l'Union africaine et la Banque africaine de développement et d'institutions régionales, y compris des communautés économiques régionales.

Lorsque survient une catastrophe, une crise ou un conflit grave, le Canada fournit une aide humanitaire dans le cadre des interventions internationales.

Promouvoir la démocratie

Le Canada appuie les réformes politiques et économiques en Afrique fondées sur la démocratie, des institutions publiques fortes, la primauté du droit et les droits de la personne.

Nous collaborons avec des pays africains et des organisations internationales, telles que l'Union africaine, afin de renforcer les institutions et les acteurs de la démocratie, de réduire la corruption et de promouvoir la transparence et la responsabilisation.

Afin d'appuyer la tenue des élections, le Canada fournit de la soutien aux commissions électorales, déploie des observateurs nationaux et internationaux lors des scrutins et appuie la sensibilisation des électeurs aux élections.

Partenaires

Le Canada participe activement aux travaux d’organisations clés avec lesquelles il partage des intérêts communs dans la région de l'Afrique subsaharienne.

La paix et la sécurité

Le Canada favorise une approche intégrée de la sécurité, du développement et de la coopération régionale, et nous encourageons cette approche parmi les gouvernements et partenaires avec lesquels nous collaborons. Aider les territoires fragiles à acquérir une plus grande stabilité permet d'accomplir d'importants travaux humanitaires et d'assurer la prestation d'une aide internationale.

Le Canada aide à renforcer la capacité de maintien de la paix et de la sécurité dans les pays d'Afrique. Nous apportons un appui à la formation des membres des forces militaires et policières de nombreux pays africains, afin d'améliorer leurs compétences et leur préparer à participer à des opérations internationales de maintien de la paix.

Le Canada s'est également engagé à aider des pays d'Afrique à renforcer leur capacité à combattre les menaces terroristes. Nos initiatives incluent le soutien à la formation et la fourniture d'équipement et l'assistance technique pour renforcer les instruments juridiques, pour combattre le financement du terrorisme et pour accroître la sécurité des frontières et des transports.

Promouvoir les liens commerciaux et économiques

L'Afrique subsaharienne possède un gigantesque potentiel économique. L'Afrique est l'une des régions qui connaît la plus forte croissance économique du monde. Selon le Fonds monétaire international, cinq des vingt économies enregistrant la plus forte croissance sont situées en Afrique subsaharienne.

Le Canada augmente le volume de ses échanges commerciaux et de ses investissements avec lAfrique subsaharienne.

Pour établir un cadre de réglementation propice au commerce et aux investissements, le Canada négocie des Accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) avec un certain nombre de pays d'Afrique. Nous avons conclu de tels accords avec le Bénin, le Burkina Faso, le Cameroun, la Côte d'Ivoire, la Guinée, le Mali, Madagascar, le Nigéria, le Sénégal, la Tanzanie et la Zambie.

Les objectifs du Canada en matière du commerce et de l'investissement comprennent :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: