Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices

Textiles and clothing

Administration of the North American free trade agreement (NAFTA) relating to exports of textiles, apparel and made-up goods to the United States and the application of the tariff preference levels

TPL Bonus Allocation

Notice to Exporters
Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No. 134
Date: September 24, 2001

Table of Contents


1.0 Purpose

1.1 This Notice advises exporters of policies relating to the allocation of wool and non-wool apparel TPL under-utilized from the previous calendar year.

2.0 Duration

2.1 This Notice shall remain valid until further notice.

3.0 Authority

3.1 Tariff Preference Level or "TPL" means the special provisions set out in Annex 300-B, Appendix 6, Part B of the NAFTA, that provide for the application of a customs duty at a preferential rate to non-originating goods up to a specified quantity, as adjusted under the Agreement, measured in square metre equivalents (SME), and at a rate different from goods that exceed that quantity. The Minister of Foreign Affairs issues Certificates of Eligibility for TPL in accordance with the Issuance of Certificates Regulations which are, in turn, made under authority of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). The Minister allocates TPL quantities or "quota" to qualified applicants in accordance with policy expressed in the present Notice and Notices to Exporters Nos. 111, 115 and 123.

3.2 The annual TPL levels for the export of non-originating apparel and made-up goods, as provided in the special provisions of Annex 300-B, Appendix 6, Part B of the NAFTA, from Canada to the United States are 5,325,413 SMEs for wool apparel and 88,326,463 SMEs for non-wool apparel.

3.3 Certificates of Eligibility for TPL are issued at the discretion of the Minister responsible for the EIPA; nothing in this or other Notices or other communications can be taken to guarantee the issuance of a Certificate. However, it is the Minister's intent normally to recognize TPL allocations in dispositions of applications for Certificates of Eligibility for TPL. Thus, the present Notice and other indications of policy referred to herein are presented as a guide to interested parties.

4.0 Wool and Non-wool Apparel TPL Bonus Allocation

4.1 As apparel TPL is allocated primarily on the basis of past utilization by current quota holders, a small percentage may be available each calendar year for reallocation (i.e., a "bonus" allocation) reflecting under-utilized TPL from the previous calendar year.

4.2 Depending on availability, qualifying quota holders may receive a bonus allocation each year of wool and non-wool apparel TPL equal to a percentage of their previous year's original allocation. Quota holders may qualify to receive such a bonus provided they hold less than 10% of the overall TPL level, they utilize 95% of their allocation, and they have not transferred-out TPL in the previous calendar year. The actual percentage will be adjusted annually to reflect the amount of TPL available each year.

4.3 Any remaining TPL not allocated pursuant to the method set out in paragraph 4.2, may be allocated on a pro rata basis to quota holders that transferred-in TPL in the preceding year. The pro rata allocation will be based on the volume less any unused amounts (e.g., returns to the Department and outstanding year-end balance) by the quota holder at the end of the previous calendar year.

4.4 There may be a minimum of 100 SMEs allocated as a bonus TPL to qualifying quota holders under paragraphs 4.2 and 4.3.

4.5 TPL bonus allocations affect companies' original allocations and as such will be subject to the TPL under-utilization provisions as outlined in Notice to Exporters No. 123, dated December 10, 1999. Companies that do not wish to receive TPL bonus allocations are asked to advise the Trade Control Policy Division, for which contact details are provided below, within 30 days of receipt of the allocations.

5.0 Inquiries

5.1 Inquiries concerning this Notice or other administrative policies relating to NAFTA may be addressed to:

Textiles and Clothing Section
Trade Controls Policy Division
Export and Import Controls Bureau
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Tower C, 4th floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: (613) 996-3711
Facsimile: (613) 995-5137

5.2 A copy of this notice and other pertinent information are available on the following Internet site: ../notices

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis

Le textile et les vêtements

Administration des dispositions de l'accord de libre-échange nord-américain relatives aux exportations vers les états-unis de textiles, de vêtements et d'articles confectionnés et à l'application des niveaux de préférence tarifaire

Attribution de parts de bonus NPT

Avis aux exportateurs
Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

Nº de série: 134
Date: le 24 septembre 2001

Table des matières

1.0 But
2.0 Durée
3.0 Fondements législatif
4.0 Attribution de parts de bonus NPT pour les vêtements en laine et les vêtements non-laine
5.0 Demandes de renseignements


1.0 But

1.2 Le but du présent Avis est d'informer les exportateurs des politiques relatives à l'attribution des parts NPT des contingents de vêtements en laine et de vêtements non-laine, sous-utilisées au cours de l'année antérieure.

2.0 Durée

2.1 Le présent Avis demeure en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

3.0 Fondement législatif

3.1 Le niveau de préférence tarifaire ou « NPT » s'entend des dispositions spéciales énoncées dans l'annexe 300-B, appendice 6, partie B, de l'ALENA, qui permettent d'appliquer un droit de douane à un taux préférentiel à des produits non originaires dans la limite de la quantité prescrite, telle que rajustées selon l'Accord et mesurée en équivalents-mètres carrés (EMC), et à un taux différent quand les produits dépassent cette quantité. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères délivre des certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT conformément au Règlement sur la délivrance de certificats pris en application de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI). Le ministre attribue des parts NPT ou « contingents » aux demandeurs admissibles conformément à la politique énoncée dans le présent Avis et dans les Avis nos 111, 115 et 123.

3.2 Les niveaux NPT pour l'exportation du Canada vers les États-Unis de vêtements et d'articles confectionnés non originaires, comme le prévoient les dispositions spéciales de l'annexe 300-B, appendice 6, partie B, de l'ALENA, sont de 5 325 413 EMC pour les vêtements en laine et de 88 326 463 EMC pour les vêtements non-laine.

3.3 Les certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT sont délivrés à la discrétion du ministre chargé de la LLEI; en conséquence, rien de ce qui figure dans le présent Avis, dans d'autres Avis ou dans d'autres communications ne peut être interprété comme garantissant la délivrance d'un certificat. Toutefois, le ministre a l'intention de reconnaître les attributions de parts NPT dans ses décisions relatives aux demandes de certificats d'admissibilité aux NPT. Le présent Avis et les autres indications de politique qu'il renferme ne sont donc présentés qu'à titre de guide pour les parties intéressées.

4.0 Attribution de parts de bonus NPT pour les vêtements en laine et les vêtements non-laine

4.1 Comme les parts NPT pour les vêtements sont attribuées d'abord en fonction de leur utilisation passée par les détenteurs de parts actuels, un petit pourcentage peut être réattribué chaque année (c'est-à-dire, une attribution de « parts de bonus »), qui reflète le nombre de parts NPT sous-utilisées l'année antérieure.

4.2 Selon le nombre de parts non utilisées, les détenteurs de parts admissibles peuvent se voir attribuer annuellement des parts de bonus pour les vêtements en laine et les vêtements non-laine correspondant à un pourcentage de la part initiale qui leur a été attribuée l'année précédente. Les détenteurs de parts peuvent recevoir de telles parts de bonus pourvu qu'ils possèdent moins de 10 % du niveau NPT global, qu'ils utilisent 95 % de leur attribution et qu'ils n'aient pas transféré de part NPT l'année précédente. Le pourcentage actuel sera rajusté annuellement afin de refléter le nombre de parts NPT restantes chaque année.

4.3 Toute part NPT non attribuée, et ce, conformément à la méthode prévue par le paragraphe 4.2, peut l'être au pro rata aux détenteurs de parts qui ont reçu le transfert d'une part NPT au cours de l'année précédente. L'attribution au pro rata sera calculée en soustrayant du volume toute part non utilisée (p. ex. des parts retournées au Ministère et un solde en fin d'exercice en suspens) par le détenteur de parts à la fin de l'année précédente.

4.4 Aux termes des paragraphes 4.2 et 4.3, un minimum de 100 EMC peut être attribué à titre de parts de bonus NPT aux détenteurs de parts admissibles.

4.5 L'attribution de parts de bonus NPT a une incidence sur l'attribution des parts initiales et, à ce titre, sera assujettie aux dispositions sur la sous-utilisation de parts NPT, comme l'explique l'Avis aux exportateurs No 123, en date du 10 décembre 1999. On demande aux entreprises qui ne veulent pas recevoir de parts de bonus NPT d'en informer la Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale, dont les coordonnées se trouvent ci-dessous, dans un délai de 30 jours suivant la réception des parts en question.

5.0 Demandes de renseignements

5.1 Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant le présent Avis ou d'autres politiques administratives touchant l'ALENA, s'adresser à :

Section du textile et des vêtements
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale
Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Tour C, 4e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone : (613) 996-3711
Télécopieur : (613) 995-5137

5.2 Pour obtenir une copie du présent Avis et d'autres renseignements pertinents, consulter le site Internet du ministère à l'adresse suivante : ../notices.