Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada - Chile Free Trade Agreement

Canada-Chile Free Trade Commission

Seventh Meeting of The Canada-Chile Free Trade Commission: Joint Minutes

Ottawa, Canada | April 22, 2009

Following the meeting of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Commission on April 22, 2009, the Director General of the General Directorate of International Economic Affairs of Chile, Carlos Furche, and Canada’s Deputy Minister of International Trade, Louis Lévesque, agree on the following minutes that summarize the results of the meeting.

Joint Minutes

  1. On the occasion of the seventh meeting of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA) Commission, we welcomed the opportunity to assess our achievements to date and review the state of the implementation of the CCFTA. We recognized that the current international economic climate has presented unique challenges, and agree that strong messaging against protectionist tendencies is necessary.

  2. Regarding the state of our trade and investment relationship, we were delighted to note that the CCFTA remains a strong foundation for economic growth in our countries. The CCFTA has been in force since 1997, making it Canada’s first FTA with a Latin American country, and Chile’s first comprehensive FTA with any country. Since the Agreement came into force, our bilateral trade has more than tripled. Investment also has been a clear success under the CCFTA. According to Chilean statistics, Canada was the largest source of new investment in Chile in 2008 for the third consecutive year. And the recently implemented Government Procurement Chapter will further expand opportunities for Canadian and Chilean suppliers.

  3. In looking to the future, we reaffirmed our commitment to maintaining the CCFTA as a relevant and useful instrument that will continue to benefit our countries for years to come. We endorsed the ongoing work to further elaborate the Agreement and urged officials to continue looking for opportunities to advance trade liberalization and cooperation between our countries.

  4. We were pleased to note that the flexible institutional framework of the CCFTA has effectively kept pace with emerging challenges. We were encouraged by the close cooperation that has developed between officials of our two countries.

  5. We welcomed the exchange of minutes from the November 13, 2008, meeting of the Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures. Canada reemphasized the importance it attaches to securing market access in Chile for Canadian exports of beef and cattle, and reiterated its recent written proposal dated April 15, 2009, to Servicio Agrícola y Ganadero (SAG), that the parties focus future dialogue on establishing import conditions for bovine meat and meat products from Canada as a priority. Chile noted it has implemented the necessary regulatory adjustments to advance toward a normal evaluation process of access for Canadian bovine meat and meat products.

  6. We welcomed the conclusion of negotiations toward a new financial services chapter and have noted the progress made toward the completion of the legal review. We encouraged officials to complete this work by the end of 2009, with a view to aiming to implement the chapter in 2010.

  7. We took note of the entry into force of the FTA Chapter on Government Procurement on September 5, 2008, as well as the first meeting of the Committee on Government Procurement on April 21, 2009. We agreed to continue work on improving the FTA, and to cooperating, with respect to government procurement.

  8. We welcomed progress in our discussions on rules of origin, including with respect to technical rectifications, liberalization, and cross-cumulation, and look forward to expeditious implementation of such improvements.

  9. We believe there is merit in considering improvements to the dispute settlement system, and have instructed our officials to work toward reaching this objective.

  10. We welcomed progress in our investment discussions, including on a proposed clarification regarding indirect expropriation, and we look forward to further discussions to be held on most favoured nation treatment regarding procedural matters.

  11. We acknowledged that the CCFTA goes beyond trade and investment. We shared the view that our bilateral relationship has been enhanced by the Canada-Chile Agreement on Labour Cooperation and the Canada-Chile Agreement on Environmental Cooperation and we welcomed the close cooperation that continues from ongoing activities under these successful agreements.

  12. We recognized that the international economic climate has presented unique challenges in recent months, and are committed to resisting protectionism and to supporting free and open trade and investment. In this light, we pledge to continue to work toward increased regional and hemispheric integration as a means to achieving greater prosperity and security. Furthermore, we shared the view that the Doha Round of multilateral trade negotiations continues to hold promise for all participants in the world trading system, especially for developing countries. Both countries strongly encourage the conclusion of an ambitious outcome to Doha Round negotiations.

  13. We noted Chile’s accession efforts to the OECD, and reiterated Canada’s support for Chile’s membership.

  14. We acknowledge the importance of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and encouraged officials to work collaboratively to promote internationally recognized CSR standards. Canada informed Chile of its new CSR policy entitled Building the Canadian Advantage: A Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) strategy for the Canadian International Extractive Sector.

  15. We reviewed the progress achieved in implementing specific provisions of the CCFTA, we exchanged proposals and documents, and have agreed upon a number of actions related to the implementation and further elaboration of this Agreement, in order to increase opportunities for bilateral trade and investment. These actions are summarized in the Annex to this statement.

  16. Finally, we agreed that Chile will host the next meeting of the CCFTA Commission in 2011.

Annex to the 2009 Joint Minutes

Implementation Actions

In accordance with the mandate to supervise the implementation and further elaboration of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement, pursuant to Article N-01 of the Agreement, at the 7th meeting of the Free Trade Commission, we:

  • Financial Services Chapter: Acknowledged the work that is being conducted on the legal review of the financial services chapter, to be added to the CCFTA, and instructed officials to do their best effort to complete this work no later than the end of 2009, with a view to implementing the chapter after the ratification process is complete in each country.

  • Investment Chapter: Welcomed the proposed interpretation regarding indirect expropriation, as agreed by our officials. We also agreed on further discussing an interpretation on most favoured nation regarding procedural matters; in this respect, Canada commits to respond to Chile’s April 21 proposal by the end of June 2009. The Parties will then exchange views with the aim of reaching an agreement on this matter. Additionally, officials discussed a Chilean proposal on a possible interpretation on Minimum Standard of Treatment, and possible amendments on Consultations and Negotiations, and on Preliminary Objections.

  • Government Procurement: Approved proposed revisions to the entities listed under Canada’s Schedule and Chile’s Schedule to Annex Kbis-01.1-1 (Central Level Entities). Instructed the Committee on Government Procurement to recommend modifications to the threshold adjustment formulas no later than September 30, 2009.

  • Dispute Settlement: Encouraged officials to exchange text on dispute settlement provisions regarding a “non roster approach” and Code of Conduct. Encouraged officials also to exchange improvements to the Rules of Procedure. Canadian officials will also suggest text for improving transparency provisions relating to hearings and submissions. We agree that officials should aim to conclude this work no later than the end of July 2009.

  • Agreement on Labour Cooperation: Requested that Labour officials finalize the administrative procedures of the Agreement on Labour Cooperation (rules of procedure for ECEs, etc.) so that it can be fully implemented.

  • Rules of Origin: Acknowledged the work that is being conducted on rules of origin and requested that the Committee on Trade in Goods and Rules of Origin, by the end of July 2009, discuss and, where possible, conclude issues relating to: finalization of technical rectifications to the Rules of Origin that reflect the transposition of the rules of origin to the HS2007 system, rules of origin liberalization andcross-cumulation of origin.Once concluded, we urge officials to work toward implementation of the agreed amendments.

  • SPS/Access for Canadian Beef and Cattle: Took note of the discussions at the fourth meeting of the Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures, and instructed officials to continue addressing issues of bilateral interest in this area, as well as issues of shared interest in multilateral fora. We noted the importance for Canada of market access for Canadian beef and cattle to Chile, and the importance that Chile has given to the issue, and noted that Chile has implemented the necessary regulatory adjustments for Canadian beef to have normal access to the Chilean evaluation process for access. Chile and Canada encouraged officials to complete the technical process as soon as possible in order for trade to resume.

  • CSR: Applauded the work being doneto promote Corporate Social Responsibility, and urged officials to continue to ensure that all business is encouraged toincreasinglyact in a socially responsible mannerthat respectsthe OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and other internationally-recognized standards and principles to the benefit of all stakeholders.

  • FTA Amendments: Officials will work toward expeditiously incorporating all agreed amendments into the FTA.

  • Urged all committees and subcommittees to take stock of the issues that are of concern and find ways by which to meet and address these issues.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili

Commission du libre-échange Canada-Chili

Septième réunion de la commission du libre-échange Canada-Chili : Compte rendu conjoint

Ottawa, Canada | Le 22 avril 2009

À la suite de la réunion de la Commission du libre-échange Canada-Chili tenue le 22 avril 2009, le directeur général des Relations économiques internationales du Chili, M. Carlos Furche, et le sous-ministre du Commerce international du Canada, M. Louis Lévesque, ont convenu du compte rendu suivant, qui résume les conclusions de la réunion.

Compte rendu conjoint

  1. Nous avons profité de la septième réunion de la Commission du libre-échange Canada‑Chili pour évaluer les réalisations accomplies jusqu’à maintenant et examiner la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili (ALECC). Nous avons pris acte des défis particuliers que pose la conjoncture économique actuelle à l’échelle internationale et convenu de la nécessité de nous exprimer avec vigueur contre les tendances protectionnistes.

  2. En ce qui concerne l’état de nos relations sur les plans du commerce et de l’investissement, nous avons noté avec satisfaction que l’ALECC demeure une base solide pour la croissance économique de nos pays. L’ALECC, qui est en vigueur depuis 1997, constitue le premier ALE du Canada avec un pays d’Amérique latine et le premier ALE global que le Chili a conclu. Depuis la prise d’effet de l’Accord en 1997, nos échanges bilatéraux ont plus que triplé. L’investissement a aussi connu un franc succès sous le régime de l’Accord. Selon les statistiques chiliennes, le Canada a été, en 2008, la plus importante source de nouveaux investissements au Chili pour la troisième année consécutive. Le chapitre sur les marchés publics récemment mis en œuvre offrira des possibilités encore plus grandes aux fournisseurs canadiens et chiliens.

  3. En nous tournant vers l’avenir, nous avons réaffirmé notre détermination à faire en sorte que l’ALECC demeure un outil pertinent et utile, dont continueront de bénéficier nos deux pays dans les années à venir. Nous avons appuyé les travaux en cours pour donner plus d’ampleur à l’Accord et pressé les responsables de continuer à chercher des occasions de faire avancer la libéralisation du commerce et la coopération entre nos deux pays.

  4. Nous avons constaté avec satisfaction que le cadre institutionnel souple de l’ALECC est effectivement demeuré à la hauteur des nouveaux défis. Nous sommes ravis de l’étroite collaboration qui s’est nouée entre les responsables de nos deux pays.

  5. Nous avons accueilli positivement le compte rendu de la réunion du 13 novembre 2008 du Comité des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires. Le Canada a réitéré l’importance qu’il attache à la réouverture du marché chilien aux exportations canadiennes de bœuf et de bovins, et il a rappelé la récente proposition écrite qu’il a soumise le 15 avril 2009 au Servicio Agrícola y Ganadero (SAG) afin d’obtenir que, dans l’avenir, le dialogue entre les parties vise en priorité l’établissement de conditions d’importation pour la viande de bœuf et les produits carnés venant du Canada. Le Chili a fait remarquer qu’il a apporté les ajustements nécessaires à ses règlements en vue de rétablir un processus normal d’évaluation qui permettra l’accès de la viande de bœuf et des produits carnés du Canada.

  6. Nous nous sommes félicités de la conclusion des négociations au sujet d’un nouveau chapitre sur les services financiers, et avons noté les progrès réalisés en vue de l’accomplissement de l’examen juridique. Nous avons incité les responsables à achever ces travaux d’ici la fin de 2009, dans le but de mettre en application ce chapitre en 2010.

  7. Nous avons pris note de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre de l’ALECC sur les marchés publics le 5 septembre 2008 et de la tenue de la première réunion du Comité des marchés publics le 21 avril 2009. Nous avons convenu de continuer à travailler à l’amélioration de l’ALE et de poursuivre notre coopération dans le domaine des marchés publics.

  8. Nous nous sommes réjouis des progrès de nos discussions sur les règles d’origine, notamment en ce qui touche les rectifications techniques, la libéralisation de ces règles et le cumul croisé, et espérons mettre en œuvre ces améliorations dans les plus brefs délais.

  9. Nous croyons qu’il serait judicieux d’examiner les possibilités d’améliorer le régime de règlement des différends et avons demandé à nos responsables respectifs de travailler à l’atteinte de cet objectif.

  10. Nous avons accueilli favorablement l’avancement des discussions sur l’investissement, notamment les éclaircissements proposés à l’expropriation indirecte, et nous nous attendons à ce que les discussions se poursuivent relativement aux questions de procédure touchant le traitement de la nation la plus favorisée.

  11. Nous avons convenu que l’ALECC dépasse le simple cadre du commerce et de l’investissement. Nous sommes d’avis que notre relation bilatérale s’est améliorée grâce aux accords de coopération qu’ont conclus le Canada et le Chili dans les domaines du travail et de l’environnement, et nous nous réjouissons de l’étroite collaboration qui se poursuit dans le cadre de ces accords fructueux.

  12. Nous avons pris acte des défis particuliers que la conjoncture économique mondiale a posés ces derniers mois, et avons convenu de la nécessité de nous opposer au protectionnisme et d’appuyer la libéralisation du commerce et de l’investissement. Dans ce contexte, nous nous sommes engagés à poursuivre nos efforts pour renforcer l’intégration dans la région et à l’échelle de l’hémisphère, afin d’accroître la prospérité et la sécurité. En outre, nous estimons que le cycle de négociations commerciales multilatérales de Doha offre toujours un immense potentiel pour tous les participants du système commercial international, spécialement les pays en développement. Nos deux pays sont fermement en faveur d’une issue ambitieuse aux négociations du Cycle de Doha.

  13. Nous avons pris note des efforts déployés par le Chili pour adhérer à l’OCDE et réitéré le ferme soutien du Canada à l’adhésion du Chili.

  14. Nous avons reconnu l’importance de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) et encouragé nos représentants à collaborer pour promouvoir les normes de RSE reconnues à l’échelle internationale. Le Canada a informé le Chili de sa nouvelle politique de RSE intitulée Renforcer l’avantage canadien : Stratégie de responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) pour les sociétés extractives canadiennes présentes à l’étranger.

  15. Nous avons examiné les progrès de la mise en œuvre de certaines dispositions de l’ALECC, nous avons échangé des propositions et des documents et nous avons convenu d’un certain nombre de mesures concernant l’application de l’Accord et son développement, afin d’accroître les possibilités d’échanges et d’investissements bilatéraux. Ces mesures sont résumées dans l’annexe jointe à la présente déclaration.

  16. Enfin, nous nous sommes entendus pour que le Chili organise la prochaine assemblée annuelle de la Commission en 2011.

Annexe au compte rendy conjoint de 2009

Mesures de mise en oeuvre

Conformément à l'article N-01 de l'Accord de libre‑échange Canada-Chili qui confère à la Commission du libre-échange le mandat de superviser la mise en œuvre et le développement de l'Accord,nous avons convenu de ce qui suit lors de la septième réunion de la Commission :

  • Chapitre sur les services financiers : Nous avons pris note du travail effectué dans le cadre de l’examen juridique du chapitre sur les services financiers, qui sera ajouté à l’ALECC, et avons demandé aux responsables de tout mettre en œuvre pour achever ce travail d’ici la fin de 2009 au plus tard, afin que ce chapitre puisse être mis en application dès que le processus de ratification sera accompli dans chacun des deux pays.

  • Chapitre sur l’investissement : Nous avons accueilli favorablement l’interprétation proposée par nos responsables concernant l’expropriation indirecte. Nous avons aussi convenu d’examiner plus en profondeur l’interprétation de questions de procédure touchant la nation la plus favorisée. À cet égard, le Canada s’est engagé à répondre d’ici la fin de juin 2009 à la proposition déposée par le Chili le 21 avril 2009. Les parties échangeront alors leurs points de vue dans le but de parvenir à une entente en la matière. En outre, les responsables ont discuté d’une proposition du Chili concernant une interprétation possible de la norme minimale de traitement et de modifications éventuelles aux dispositions touchant les consultations et négociations et les objections préliminaires.

  • Marchés publics : Nous avons approuvé les révisions proposées aux entités énumérées dans la Liste du Canada et la Liste du Chili à l’Annexe Kbis-01.1-1 (Entités au niveau central). Nous avons demandé au Comité des marchés publics de recommander des modifications aux formules de rajustement des seuils d’ici le 30 septembre 2009.

  • Règlement des différends : Nous avons encouragé les responsables à échanger des projets de texte en vue d’établir une démarche autre que le recours à une liste de personnes aptes à faire partie de groupes spéciaux et un code de conduite dans le cadre des dispositions sur le règlement des différends. Nous les avons aussi encouragés à échanger des idées afin d’apporter des améliorations aux règles de procédure. Les responsables canadiens soumettront en outre un texte en vue d’améliorer les dispositions relatives à la transparence qui s’appliquent aux audiences et aux communications. Nous avons convenu que les responsables devraient s’employer à achever ces travaux d’ici la fin de juillet 2009 au plus tard.

  • Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail : Nous avons demandé aux responsables en matière de travail de présenter sous leur forme définitive les procédures administratives de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail (règles de procédure pour les CEE, etc.), afin qu’elles puissent être mises en œuvre intégralement.

  • Règles d’origine : Nous avons pris acte du travail accompli sur les règles d’origine et avons demandé au Comité du commerce des produits et des règles d’origine d’examiner et de résoudre, d’ici la fin de juillet 2009, les questions concernant l’achèvement des rectifications techniques aux règles d’origine compte tenu de la transposition de ces dernières au système SH2007, la libéralisation des règles d’origine et le cumul croisé aux fins de la détermination de l’origine.Une fois ces points résolus, nous demandons aux responsables de mettre en œuvre les modifications convenues.

  • Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires limitant l’accès au bœuf et aux bovins du Canada : Nous avons pris note des discussions ayant eu lieu lors de la quatrième réunion du Comité des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires et avons demandé aux responsables de continuer à se pencher sur les questions d'intérêt bilatéral, de même que sur celles d'intérêt commun au sein d’instances multilatérales. Nous avons pris acte de l’importance que le Canada attache à la réouverture du marché chilien à ses exportations de bœuf et de bovins et du fait que le Chili a apporté les ajustements nécessaires à ses règlements pour redonner au bœuf canadien l’accès normal au processus d’évaluation permettant l’entrée sur le marché chilien. Le Chili et le Canada ont encouragé les responsables à mener à bien le processus technique dans les plus brefs délais afin que le commerce puisse reprendre.

  • RSE : Nous nous sommes félicités du travail réalisé en vue de promouvoir la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et avons demandé à nos représentants de continuer à s’assurer que toutes les entreprises sont encouragées à agir de façon socialement plus responsable, conformément aux Principes directeurs à l'intention des entreprises multinationales de l’OCDE et aux autres normes et principes reconnus sur la scène internationale, ce qui sera avantageux pour tous les intervenants.

  • Modifications à l’ALE : Les responsables s’emploieront à intégrer dans les plus brefs délais toutes les modifications convenues dans l’ALE.

  • Nous avons demandé à tous les comités et sous-comités de faire le point sur les questions qui suscitent des préoccupations et de trouver des façons de les régler.