Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Other Cases Related to NAFTA Chapter 11

Council of Canadians, CUPW and the Charter Committee on Poverty Issues v. the Attorney General of Canada

In March 2001, the Council of Canadians, the Canadian Union of Postal Workers and the Charter Committee on Poverty Issues filed a Notice of Application in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice alleging that the dispute settlement provisions of Chapter 11 violate rights guaranteed by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms as well as provisions of the Constitution Act relating to the jurisdiction of the courts. The challenge was heard before Madame Justice Pepall of the Ontario Superior Court from January 24 -26, 2005. On July 8, 2005, Justice Pepall dismissed the application in its entirety.

On July 11, 2005, the three Applicants announced they will appeal Madame Justice Pepall’s (Ontario Superior Court) decision, and filed a Notice of Appeal on August 5, 2005.

The Council of Canadians, the Canadian Union of Postal Workers and the Charter Committee on Poverty Issues (the Appellants) filed their factum with the Court of Appeal for Ontario on November 30, 2005. The Government of Canada (Respondent) filed its factum on May 3, 2006.

Commencing Monday June 19, 2006, a three day hearing was held by the Court of Appeal for Ontario to consider the submissions and oral arguments of the Parties.

On November 30, 2006, the Court of Appeal of Ontario, as did the Ontario Superior Court in the first instance, rejected all the arguments made by the Appellants.

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

Copies of all legal documents posted have been prepared in a language of operation of the Tribunal or Court in question. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALENA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Autres causes relevant du chapitre 11 de l'ALENA

le Conseil des Canadiens, STTP et le Charter Committee on Poverty Issues c. le Procureur générale du Canada

En mars 2001, le Conseil des Canadiens, le Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes et le Charter Committee on Poverty Issues ont déposé un avis de requête à la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario, alléguant que les dispositions de règlement des différends prévues au chapitre 11 violent les droits garantis par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ainsi que les dispositions de la Loi constitutionnelle concernant la compétence des tribunaux. Le recours a été entendu par la juge Pepall de la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario du 24 au 26 janvier 2005. Le 8 juillet 2005, la juge Pepall a rejeté toutes les allégations contenues dans la requête.

Le 11 juillet 2005, les trois parties requérantes ont annoncé qu’elles interjetteraient appel de la décision de la juge Pepall (Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario), et, le 5 août 2005, elles ont déposé un avis d’appel.

Le Conseil des Canadiens, le Syndicat des travaillerus et travailleuses des postes et le Charter Committee on Poverty Issues (les appelants), ont déposé leur mémoire auprès de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario le 30 november 2005. Le gouvernmenet du Canada (intimé) a pour sa part déposé son mémoire le 3 mai 2006.

À compter du 19 novembre 2006 s'est tenue une audience de trois jours à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario dans le but d'examiner les observations et les plaidoiries des parties.

Le 30 novembre 2006, la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, tout comme l'a fait la Cour supérieure de l'Ontario en premier lieu, a rejeté les arguments des appelants.

Documents juridiques tous (les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Les copies de tous les documents juridiques affichés sont preparées dans une des langues de fonctionnement du Tribunal ou de la cour qui préside. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

En anglais seulement

Retour au meu principale "Règlement des différends - ALENA - Chapitre 11"