Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA)

ACTA and Issues Related to Pharmaceuticals and Counterfeit Medicines

Summary of Discussions

On June 30, 2009, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) conducted a stakeholder consultation on the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA), as it pertained to counterfeit and substandard medicines. The purpose of the consulation was to continue discussing the issues related to counterfeit and substandard medicines, which were raised at the previous consultation on April 6, 2009. A range of interested stakeholders were in attendance, including representatives from academia, industry, and non-governmental organizations. The roundtable was chaired by Canada’s ACTA chief negotiator Mr. Douglas George, Director, Intellectual Property, at DFAIT. In addition, government representatives from Industry Canada, Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), Health Canada, and Public Safety Canada also participated.

Before opening the dialogue, the Chair gave a brief update on the progress of the ACTA negotiations, summarized the issues related to pharmaceuticals which were discussed at the previous ACTA consultation, and discussed Canada’s approach to some of these topics.

Although there have not been any formal rounds of negotiation since last December, the negotiating participants met in Geneva on June 11, 2009 and confirmed their intention to move forward. The parties agreed on the importance of public transparency throughout the negotiation process. Also, it was decided that the next round of formal negotiations would be held in Morocco in July, with Parties aiming to conclude the agreement in 2010.

Government officials addressed three issues related to medicines that arose at the previous consultation: the issue of in-transit seizures of generic pharmaceuticals; the role of ACTA in addressing the problem of counterfeit and substandard medicines; and the proposal to include a “de minimis” exception in the ACTA. The Chair presented these issues with contributions from other government departments as summarized below.

First, several stakeholders at the previous consultation had expressed concern over the recent seizures of generic medicines in the European Union. While the specifics of these incidents remain unclear, CBSA confirmed the unlikely occurrence of a similar situation within the Canadian jurisdiction due to Canada’s differing legislation and practices. Further, Canada’s position is that the key ACTA obligations should be limited to trademark counterfeiting and copyright piracy.

Second, counterfeit and substandard medicines are a global problem. The ACTA can make a contribution to the fight against counterfeit medicines by establishing international standards for trademark enforcement, but only as a part of Canada’s broader approach. While some stakeholders have proposed the removal of medicines from the scope of the ACTA, ACTA is a non-sectoral agreement, and removing pharmaceuticals would result in lower sectoral enforcement standards. It was also recognized that the ACTA would be open to further accessions in the future, which would enhance its ability to combat the trade of counterfeit medicines.

Finally, the proposed “de minimis” clause evoked divergent reactions from stakeholders at the previous consultation. While some deemed the clause essential to ensure ACTA does not become intrusive, others felt its inclusion created a problematic loophole. Canada supports the inclusion of a “de minimis” clause providing an exemption for personal use, as the objective of the ACTA is to combat large-scale counterfeiting and piracy. In addition, health and safety regulations would continue to apply to any pharmaceutical product entering Canada.

After presenting the main issues that arose at the previous consultation, and Canada’s respective positions, the Chair opened the discussion to all participants, inviting them to share their views, comments, and concerns. The following sections summarize the main themes discussed:

Scope of ACTA

Several participants expressed concern that a future agreement would extend to all intellectual property rights recognized under TRIPS, rather than remain limited to matters of trademark counterfeiting and copyright piracy. There was apprehension that the agreement would include patent enforcement within its scope. Canada supported an ACTA which emphasizes trademark and copyright enforcement.

Stakeholders questioned whether the definition and application of “in transit” had been determined at the ACTA negotiations. It was noted that although “in transit” provisions were under discussion, there had not been a consensus on their inclusion as yet.

Many stakeholders expressed unease over the possible definition of “counterfeit” under an ACTA. There was general concern that an agreement would define “counterfeit” broadly enough to cover patent infringements, and thereby also encompassing generic medicines. Many stakeholders asserted that the ACTA could not deal with problems related to the quality of medicines. The Chair having previously stated that the ACTA would be but one means to combat this problem, restated that pharmaceuticals would not be the focus of the ACTA. In addition, he reaffirmed Canada’s commitment to the Doha Declaration on the TRIPS Agreement and Public Health.

The Proposed “de minimis” Clause

As at the previous consultation, discussions over the “de minimis” exception revealed a lack of consensus among stakeholders. Some felt that it created a critical loophole, while others deemed that the limited resources of CBSA should be devoted to dealing with large-scale problems. Officials had previously asserted that Canada supported the “de minimis” clause as it ensures that the agreement focuses on limiting large-scale infringements. In addition, CBSA noted the need for balance within any ACTA. Without a “de minimis” clause essential medicine could be seized from a visitor to Canada. Although the medicine may be legitimately generic in the home country, it might be deemed an infringement upon entry into Canada. The “de minimis” clause would ensure that an agreement would not have such unintended consequences.

A New Dedicated Counterfeit and Substandard Medicines Initiative Required

Many stakeholders expressed concern that the ACTA would have little impact on the problem of substandard medicines. The majority of the discussion focused on whether issues related to pharmaceuticals, such as counterfeit and substandard medicines should be carved out of the current ACTA under negotiation, to be treated in a separate multilateral agreement. Several arguments were put forth to support this action: First, the ACTA would not deal with the quality of drugs (substandards) and therefore, there should be a more comprehensive agreement regarding medicines only. Second, including medicines in the ACTA agreement could lead to the perception that the issue should be treated as having equal importance to other counterfeit products, and third, treating medicines under the ACTA may lead to a broad definition of “counterfeit,” which may limit the use of generic medicines. Although there was significant support addressing substandard medicines more comprehensively than possible under an intellectual property rights enforcement treaty, some stakeholders expressed concern that carving medicines out of the agreement would jeopardize the progress made on this issue thus far. It was asserted that by excluding this issue from the ACTA, the Parties may not start negotiations on this issue at all, leading to weaker enforcement measures in regards to medicines. The Chair, having asserted in his opening summary that an ACTA would be a non-sectoral agreement, restated that the ACTA would but one forum for the treatment of this issue and that it should be treated as complimentary to other tools.

Participation and Transparency in the ACTA Negotiations

Much of the dialogue focused on discussing the limited number of parties involved in the ACTA negotiations. Several stakeholders felt that the ACTA would be unable to successfully ensure a reduction in counterfeit and substandard medicines if the negotiations did not include the major source or destination countries. In addition, several participants pointed out that the ACTA would alter global standards, affecting developing states even though they were not present at the negotiations. Officials stated that standards would only be changed among likeminded countries that have negotiated and accepted the agreement. In addition, there had been little progress made on enforcement of intellectual property rights at the relevant multilateral institutions due the unwillingness of developing states to engage on the issue. Stakeholders inquired as to whether other countries would be welcome to join the negotiations. The Chair advised that Canada’s understanding was that several parties had approached one of the ACTA countries, but that it was unclear whether any formal requests to join had been made. ACTA negotiating parties intended to discuss this issue at the upcoming round of negotiations in Morocco. In short, the Chair reconfirmed that a future agreement would not be exclusionary and that the intent of the ACTA was to create standards for Canada and other likeminded countries in order to reduce the problem of counterfeiting and piracy.

The dialogue began and ended with calls for greater transparency into the ACTA negotiation process. Participants asserted that it was difficult to engage in the consultation process and give valuable feedback without access to details and draft texts. Some stakeholders proposed the creation of a consultative group, bound by confidentiality agreements, which could provide input on the negotiating texts. However, there was not a consensus among participants on this suggestion.

In closing, the Chair reaffirmed his commitment to push for greater transparency at the ACTA negotiations. He confirmed the importance of the consultation process and invited stakeholders to follow up with any further questions or comments they may have by contacting the Canadian negotiating team with the contact information provided or by making an online submission.

Participants
Amir Attaran – Canadian Research Chair in Law, Population Health and Global Development Policy
Jody Cox – Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association
Alicia Duval – GS1 Canada
Mark Fried – Oxfam Canada
Michael Geist – Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-Commerce Law
Rachel Kiddell-Monroe – Universities Allied for Essential Medicines
Leah Littlepage – Canadian Intellectual Property Council
Emi MacLean – Médecins sans Frontières
Grant Perry – Canada’s Research Based Pharmaceutical Companies / Les Compagnies de Recherche Pharmaceutique du Canada.
David Skinner – Consumer Health Products Canada / Produits de Sante Consommateurs du Canada

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Douglas George (Chief Negotiator)
Jennifer Graham
Jacob Kuehn
Don McDougall
Kyla Stockdale

Industry Canada
Sébastien Arès
Shelly Rowe
Matthew Senft

Canada Border Services Agency
Michelle Gillespie
Nicole Lefebvre
Chris Nelligan

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Supt Graham Burnside

Public Safety Canada
Matthew Senft

Health Canada
Matthew Bown
Matthew Sanger

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon

L’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon et les questions liées aux produits pharmaceutiques et aux médicaments contrefaits

Résumé des discussions

Le 30 juin 2009, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) a tenu une séance de consultation auprès des parties intéressées concernant l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon (ACRC), plus précisément le volet relatif aux médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure. La séance avait pour but de poursuivre le dialogue sur les questions relatives aux médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure qui avaient été soulevées lors de la consultation du 6 avril 2009. Divers intervenants ont participé à la consultation, notamment des représentants du secteur universitaire, de l’industrie et d’organisations non gouvernementales. La table ronde était présidée par le négociateur en chef de l’Accord pour le Canada, M. Douglas George, directeur, Propriété intellectuelle, au MAECI. Des représentants d’Industrie Canada, de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), de Santé Canada et de Sécurité publique Canada étaient également présents.

Avant de lancer le dialogue, le président a fait un bref compte rendu de l’avancement des négociations sur l’ACRC, résumé les questions concernant le secteur pharmaceutique qui avaient été soulevées à la séance de consultation précédente, et exposé l’approche préconisée par le Canada relativement à certaines de ces questions.

Aucune séance officielle de négociation n’a eu lieu depuis décembre dernier, mais, le 11 juin, les négociateurs se sont réunis à Genève et ont confirmé leur intention de poursuivre le dialogue. Les parties ont convenu que le processus de négociation devait être transparent. Elles ont également décidé de tenir le prochain cycle de négociations au Maroc en juillet en vue de conclure l’Accord en 2010.

Les représentants du gouvernement ont examiné trois questions relatives aux médicaments, qui avaient été soulevées lors de la consultation précédente : les saisies en transit de médicaments génériques; l’utilité de l’ACRC pour régler le problème des médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure; ainsi que la proposition visant à inclure une dérogation de minimis à l’Accord. Le président a exposé ces questions et décrit les contributions d’autres ministères, qui sont résumées ci-après.

Premièrement, lors de la séance de consultation précédente, plusieurs intervenants s’étaient dits préoccupés par les récentes saisies de médicaments génériques dans les pays de l’Union européenne. Les détails de ces incidents demeurent nébuleux, mais l’ASFC a confirmé qu’il est peu probable qu’une telle situation se produise au Canada, où les lois et les pratiques sont différentes. Par ailleurs, le Canada estime que les principales mesures prévues par l’ACRC devraient se limiter à la contrefaçon de marques de commerce et au piratage des droits d’auteur.

Deuxièmement, les médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure constituent un problème à l’échelle planétaire. L’ACRC peut aider à lutter contre la contrefaçon des médicaments en prévoyant l’établissement de normes internationales visant le respect des marques de commerce, mais cela ne sera possible que dans le cadre de l’approche élargie proposée par le Canada. Certains intervenants ont demandé que les médicaments soient soustraits de la portée de l’ACRC, mais il ne s’agit pas d’un accord sectoriel, et le retrait des produits pharmaceutiques réduirait l’efficacité des normes sectorielles. Les participants ont par ailleurs reconnu que d’autres éléments pourraient être inclus dans l’ACRC à l’avenir, ce qui améliorerait la capacité de lutter contre le commerce des médicaments contrefaits.

Enfin, la clause de minimis proposée a suscité des réactions divergentes de la part des intervenants qui avaient participé à la consultation précédente. Pour certains, il s’agit d’une clause essentielle, qui permettra de s’assurer qu’on n’utilise pas l’ACRC comme outil interventionniste, tandis que pour d’autres, l’inclusion de cette clause crée une faille problématique. Le Canada est favorable à l’inclusion d’une clause de minimis nonobstant une exemption concernant les biens destinés à un usage personnel, l’objectif de l’ACRC étant de lutter contre la contrefaçon et le piratage à grande échelle. De plus, la réglementation sur la santé et la sécurité continuerait de s’appliquer à tous les produits pharmaceutiques qui entrent au Canada.

Après avoir présenté les principaux sujets qui avaient été abordés à la réunion précédente, ainsi que la position du Canada sur chaque sujet, le président a ouvert la discussion en invitant les participants à donner leur avis et leurs commentaires et à faire part de leurs préoccupations. Les grands thèmes de discussion sont résumés dans les sections suivantes.

Portée de l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon

Plusieurs participants se sont dits préoccupés par le fait qu’un accord ultérieur pourrait inclure l’ensemble des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui sont visés par l’Accord sur les ADPIC, plutôt que de se limiter à la contrefaçon des marques de commerce et au piratage des droits d’auteur. Certains craignent que l’accord comprenne des mesures visant le respect des brevets. Le Canada est favorable à un ACRC qui porte essentiellement sur le respect des marques de commerce et des droits d’auteur.

Les intervenants ont demandé si la définition du terme « en transit » et l’application des clauses pertinentes avaient été établies lors des négociations de l’ACRC. Un participant répond que les dispositions relatives aux biens « en transit » font l’objet de discussions, mais qu’aucun consensus n’a encore été dégagé.

De nombreux intervenants ne sont pas à l’aise avec la définition du terme « contrefaçon » qui pourrait être incluse dans un ACRC. Dans l’ensemble, les participants craignent que la définition soit tellement générale qu’elle inclura la contrefaçon de brevets et, du coup, les médicaments génériques. De nombreux intervenants ont affirmé que l’ACRC ne permettrait pas de régler les problèmes liés à la qualité des médicaments. Le président, qui avait déjà fait savoir que l’ACRC ne serait qu’un des outils visant à lutter contre ce problème, a répété que les produits pharmaceutiques ne seraient pas le principal élément de l’ACRC. Il a en outre réitéré les engagements pris par le Canada dans le cadre de la Déclaration de Doha et de l’Accord sur les ADPIC, ainsi que dans le domaine de la santé publique.

La clause de minimis proposée

Comme lors de la dernière séance de consultation, les discussions relatives à l’exemption de minimis ont révélé des divergences entre les intervenants. Certains pensent qu’elle crée une faille importante, tandis que d’autres croient que les ressources limitées de l’ASFC devraient servir à régler des problèmes plus importants. Les fonctionnaires avaient déjà affirmé que le Canada est favorable à la clause de minimis, car elle permet de s’assurer que l’accord vise essentiellement à limiter la contrefaçon à grande échelle. En outre, l’ASFC a fait savoir que, quel que soit l’ACRC, l’important, c’est d’établir un équilibre. Sans clause de minimis, un étranger en visite au Canada pourrait se faire saisir des médicaments essentiels. Des médicaments qui sont reconnus comme des produits génériques légaux dans le pays d’origine pourraient être considérés comme des produits contrefaits au Canada. La clause de minimis permettrait de s’assurer qu’un accord n’entraîne pas de telles conséquences non intentionnelles.

Une nouvelle initiative visant expressément les médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure est nécessaire

De nombreux intervenants se sont dits préoccupés par le fait que l’ACRC aurait peu d’incidence sur la question des médicaments de qualité inférieure. La discussion a presque entièrement porté sur la question de savoir si tout ce qui se rapporte aux produits pharmaceutiques, comme les médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure, ne devrait pas être exclu de l’ACRC en cours de négociation et faire l’objet d’un accord multilatéral distinct. Plusieurs arguments ont été avancés à l’appui de cette mesure : premièrement, l’ACRC n’inclurait pas de clauses sur la qualité des médicaments (médicaments de qualité inférieure) et, donc, il faudrait adopter un accord plus complet qui viserait exclusivement les médicaments. Deuxièmement, le fait d’inclure les médicaments dans l’ACRC pourrait donner à penser qu’il faut accorder la même importance à cet élément qu’aux autres produits contrefaits et, troisièmement, l’inclusion des médicaments dans l’ACRC pourrait mener à l’élargissement de la définition du terme « contrefaçon » et restreindre ainsi l’utilisation de médicaments génériques. Bien que les participants reconnaissent en général qu’il faut que les médicaments de qualité inférieure fassent l’objet de mesures plus exhaustives que celles prévues par un quelconque traité sur l’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle, certains ont dit craindre que l’exclusion des médicaments de l’accord nuise aux progrès réalisés à ce jour sur cette question. Selon un participant, si la question n’est pas incluse dans l’ACRC, les parties ne pourront pas entamer les négociations, ce qui affaiblirait les mesures visant les médicaments. Le président, qui avait dit dans son introduction qu’un ACRC ne serait pas un accord sectoriel, a répété que l’ACRC constituerait un des outils servant à examiner cette question.

Participation aux négociations de l’ACRC et transparence du processus

Le dialogue a en grande partie porté sur le nombre restreint de parties qui participent à la négociation de l’ACRC. Plusieurs intervenants estimaient que l’ACRC ne permettrait pas de réduire l’utilisation de médicaments contrefaits et de qualité inférieure si les principaux pays qui fabriquent et utilisent ces médicaments ne participent pas aux négociations. Par ailleurs, plusieurs participants ont souligné que l’ACRC entraînerait une modification des normes mondiales, ce qui aurait une incidence sur les pays en développement, même s’ils ne prennent pas part aux négociations. Des fonctionnaires ont dit que les normes ne seraient modifiées uniquement entre des pays d’optique commune qui ont négocié et approuvé l’accord. En outre, on a réalisé peu de progrès au chapitre du respect des droits de propriété intellectuelle au sein des institutions multilatérales pertinentes, en raison du fait que les pays en développement ne veulent pas discuter de la question. Des intervenants ont demandé si d’autres pays pourraient participer aux négociations. Le président a répondu que le Canada croit comprendre que plusieurs parties ont contacté un des pays qui participent aux négociations de l’ACRC, mais qu’on ne sait pas exactement si des demandes officielles de participation avaient été faites. Les parties à la négociation de l’ACRC devraient examiner cette question lors du prochain cycle de négociation, qui se tiendra au Maroc. En résumé, le président a une fois de plus confirmé qu’un accord futur ne prévoirait aucune exclusion et que l’ACRC ne visait pas à instituer des normes pour le Canada et d’autres pays d’optique commune dans le but d’atténuer le problème de la contrefaçon et du piratage.

Le dialogue s’est conclu comme il avait commencé, sur un plaidoyer pour une plus grande transparence du processus de négociation. Des participants ont dit qu’il était difficile de participer au processus de consultation et de donner une rétroaction utile lorsqu’on n’a pas accès aux détails et aux textes provisoires de l’Accord. Certains intervenants ont proposé qu’on mette sur pied un groupe consultatif, qui serait lié par des accords de confidentialité et qui pourrait contribuer à la préparation des textes. Il n’y a cependant pas eu de consensus des participants à ce sujet.

En conclusion, le président a répété qu’il chercherait à promouvoir une plus grande transparence du processus de négociation de l’ACRC. Il a réitéré l’importance du processus de consultation et invité les intervenants à poser d’autres questions ou à faire d’autres observations à l’équipe de négociation du Canada, dont les coordonnées sont fournies sur la page Web, ou à présenter des exposés en ligne.

Participants
Amir Attaran – Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit, en santé des populations et en politique du développement mondial
Jody Cox – Association canadienne du médicament générique
Alicia Duval – GS1 Canada
Mark Fried – Oxfam Canada
Michael Geist – Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit d’Internet et du commerce électronique
Rachel Kiddell-Monroe – Universities Allied for Essential Medicines
Leah Littlepage – Conseil canadien de la propriété intellectuelle
Emi MacLean – Médecins Sans Frontières
Grant Perry – Canada’s Research Based Pharmaceutical Companies / Les compagnies de recherche pharmaceutique du Canada
David Skinner – Consumer Health Products Canada / Produits de santé consommateurs du Canada

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Douglas George (négociateur en chef)
Jennifer Graham
Jacob Kuehn
Don McDougall
Kyla Stockdale

Industrie Canada
Sébastien Arès
Shelly Rowe
Matthew Senft

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Michelle Gillespie
Nicole Lefebvre
Chris Nelligan

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Surintendant Graham Burnside

Sécurité publique Canada
Matthew Senft

Santé Canada
Matthew Bown
Matthew Sanger