Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Summary of Discussions - ACTA Roundtable Consultation, April 6, 2009

On Monday, April 6, 2009, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) hosted a roundtable consultation on the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA). Canadian stakeholders representing a broad range of interests were invited to attend the meeting, as well as the Ottawa-based representatives of some of the countries participating in the ACTA discussions. Over 40 participants were present. Members of the Canadian negotiating team from Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Industry Canada, Canadian Heritage, the Canada Border Services Agency, the Department of Justice and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police were also present.

The roundtable was chaired by Mr. Don Stephenson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade Policy and Negotiations, at DFAIT. The Chair opened the meeting by providing context around the ACTA initiative, noting the increased concern worldwide regarding counterfeiting and piracy related issues and the need for like-minded countries to come together to address the problem through a plurilateral process, in particular given the lack of substantive discussion and progress on intellectual property rights enforcement in traditional multilateral organizations (such as the World Intellectual Property Organization and the World Trade Organization).

Canadian chief negotiator for ACTA, Mr. Douglas George, provided participants with an update on the status of the ACTA negotiations and shared an outline of the main issues under negotiation.

Participants were then invited to ask questions, make comments and share their views on the ACTA and the topics under discussion. The following issues were raised during the discussion period:

Release of negotiating text

The issue of releasing negotiating text was raised early in the discussion period, and the Chair provided further comment on the ‘outline of the main issues under discussion’ document in this regard. He expressed Canada’s commitment to further transparency, noting Canada’s good track record for transparency in negotiations. He provided clarification on Canada’s position, saying that Canada was pushing for the release of negotiating text at the appropriate time but that Canada could not act unilaterally. He also said that at that time the text was not sufficiently advanced to be conducive to substantive consultations since much of the text was not agreed upon, or in some sections, had not been drafted. He mentioned that at the appropriate time, it may be possible to release the text in an unattributed format in order to provide a basis for further consultations while protecting participants’ negotiating positions.

Seizure of the assets derived from illegal counterfeiting and piracy activities

Some stakeholders identified rules on “proceeds of crime” as an effective tool for tackling the problem of counterfeiting and piracy and recommended that the ACTA include such measures.

Relationship between ACTA and other bilateral trade negotiations

A question was raised regarding the relationship between Canada’s participation in ACTA and its positions in any potential upcoming free trade negotiations. Officials responded that, generally speaking, intellectual property has been addressed in Canada’s bilateral trade agreements, and that Canada anticipated the inclusion of full intellectual property chapters in potential upcoming free trade agreements with India and the European Union. Regarding bilateral agreements with other ACTA participants, officials noted that Canada’s position on intellectual property enforcement in these agreements would be informed by Canada’s positions at ACTA.

ACTA participation and relationship with other international organizations

Some participants noted that if the issues ACTA seeks to address were discussed in a broader multilateral forum instead, such as the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), more countries would be involved in the process, including those who were generally considered the “sources” of trade-mark counterfeiting and copyright piracy, and others which could be important markets of Canadian interest. Specifically, there were concerns expressed that the ACTA would not be effective without broader membership. There were also concerns that the ACTA may precipitate a trend circumventing multilateral bodies’ discussions on intellectual property issues, thereby rendering WIPO less effective in the future. Canadian officials explained that the intention was to have ACTA open for other countries to join and reaffirmed Canada’s commitment to working in WIPO, expressing support for WIPO’s new Director General and the hope that it would overcome the problems of recent years. Officials also noted that Canada’s participation in ACTA did not preclude active engagement with other countries on the global problem of counterfeiting and piracy in a variety of other fora

Counterfeit pharmaceuticals

A significant part of the discussion focused on this issue, in particular what role the ACTA could and could not play in addressing the health risks associated with counterfeit medicines. It was noted that this problem was particularly dire in certain parts of the world (a participant raised the result of a study which stated that 60% of pharmaceuticals in South East Asia were substandard or counterfeit). There were a variety of views on this issue, with some participants suggesting that the ACTA was not the appropriate venue for addressing this issue and expressing concern that it could detract from efforts in other multilateral organizations, such as the World Health Organization. The point was also raised that appropriate means for the destruction of counterfeit pharmaceuticals needs to be addressed in order to prevent their resurfacing and posing a continued threat to public health. Officials highlighted Canada’s demonstrated commitment to the issue of public health, also noting that work on this issue could continue in other fora, and that the ACTA was not meant to preclude or take away from other initiatives or discussions on this issue.

Timeline for completion of the ACTA and the possibility of Canada hosting a round of ACTA negotiations

Officials confirmed that there was no definitive timetable for the completion of the ACTA negotiations, and that Canada had hosted meetings at its Mission in Geneva. Canada could host a future round but as yet this remained undetermined.

Reforms to Canada's intellectual property regime and regime harmonization

Some participants raised the question of whento expect updates to Canada's domesticintellectual property regime. Canadian officials said that this was a priorityfor Canada,noting its inclusionin the most recent Speech from the Throne. Officials also noted that the Ministers of Canadian Heritage and Industry Canada were engaged in an active dialogue on this issue, butthat there was no established timelinefor domestic reform at that point. It was noted that stakeholder viewswere welcome in this process.A participant alsoasked the question if ACTA was a mechanism for regime harmonization betweenACTA participants. Canadian officials emphasised that ACTA was not about harmonizingthe intellectual property regimes of ACTA participants, rather it was about setting predictable standards forintellectual property enforcementamongst ACTAmembers.

Authority for customs officers to act on their own initiative (i.e. “ex officio” authority)

Some participants expressed the view that a provision enabling customs officers to detain infringing goods without a complaint from a rights holder could help prevent counterfeit and pirated goods from coming into Canada. Other participants expressed their concern with providing customs officers with such an authority given a lack of specific expertise on complex intellectual property issues, noting difficulties in particular when so-called “parallel imports” were concerned. The view was also expressed that such provisions must be established in a balanced manner in order to prevent interference with legitimate trade if they were to be included in the proposed ACTA. Officials reiterated that the purpose of ACTA is not to change basic rules regulating intellectual property rights; rather it is to set standards for the enforcement of intellectual property rights. It was also noted that, at this point, much is still being discussed by ACTA participants, and that Canada’s position in the ACTA negotiations is informed by its domestic policies and interests.

“De minimis” clause

The possible inclusion of a clause which would exempt infringing materials in small quantities and for personal use received mixed views. The point was raised that such a clause could confuse messaging since on the one hand, ACTA participants would conduct public awareness campaigns on the negative impacts of counterfeiting and piracy, and on the other hand, the de minimis clause could be perceived as condoning counterfeiting and piracy for personal use. Canadian officials clarified that the inclusion of such a clause would not prohibit a country from taking measures to deal with small quantities and individual travellers at the border. However, the ACTA was intended to address counterfeiting and piracy activities that occur on a larger scale.

ACTA Advisory Groups

Some participants were interested to know whether the Government had conducted consultations with an exclusive ACTA advisory group. Officials explained that this had been considered but no such group exists. Officials shared that DFAIT may choose to consult with groups regarding specific technical issues if the need arises, and that this is standard practice in the context of trade negotiations.

Transparency

Following the question on ACTA advisory groups, the Chair invited suggestions from participants relating to transparency. Some participants welcomed the roundtable as an effort to demonstrate transparency in the process. There were also calls from participants to make the draft ACTA text public, in order to foster a more specific discussion on the substance of the proposed agreement, and also noting that transparency is increasingly the norm for international negotiations. The Chair reaffirmed Canada’s position for greater transparency in the ACTA negotiations, but explained that Canada could not act unilaterally and make the text public. Officials indicated they would continue to press for more transparency and release of texts as appropriate.

Some stakeholders also proposed that the consultations process itself would benefit from additional transparency. This could be achieved by making all submissions on the ACTA public, unless they contain commercially sensitive information. Officials agreed to take this under consideration.

In his concluding remarks, the Chair reiterated the Government’s commitment to further transparency, inviting stakeholders to follow up with any further questions or comments they may have by contacting the Canadian negotiating team with the contact information provided during the presentation.

Participants
Diego Argáez – Canadian Association of Research Libraries
Amir Attaran – University of Ottawa
Jody Cox – Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical
Jennifer D.Crowe – MTS Allstream Inc.
Daniel Drapeau – Intellectual Property Institute of Canada
Graham Rae Dulmage – Underwriters Laboratories of Canada
David Dyer – Access Copyright
David Fewer – Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic
Michael Geist – University of Ottawa
Ysolde Gendreau – University of Montreal
Doug Geralde – Canadian Standards Association
Asha Gosein – Yahoo! Canada
Declan Hamill – Canada’s Research Based Pharmaceutical Companies
Brian Isaac – Canadian Anti-Counterfeiting Network
Paul Jones – Canadian Association of University Teachers
Virginia Jones – Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association
Mark A. Joseph – Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency
Jason J. Kee – Entertainment Software Association of Canada
Megan Kendall – University of Ottawa
Gerald Kerr-Wilson – Business Coalition for Balanced Copyright
Bob Keyes – Canadian Vintners Association
Howard Knopf – Canada Bar Association
Reynolds Mastin – Canadian Film and Television Production Association
Craig McTaggart – Telus Canada
Hélène Messier – Société québécoise de gestion collective des droits de reproduction
Annie Miville-Dechêne – Business Coalition for Balanced Copyright
Kelly Moore – Canadian Library Association
Suzanne Morin – Bell Canada
Terrance Oakey – Retail Council of Canada
Richard Pfohl – Canadian Recording Industry Association
Barry Sookman – Canadian Intellectual Property Council
Andrea Stairs Krishnappa – eBay Canada
Ryan Stoner – Embassy of the United States of America
Ken G. Thompson – Rogers Communications Inc
Christopher Tortorice – Microsoft Canada
Gabriel van Loon – Canadian Association of Broadcasters
Stephen Waddell – Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists
Lee Webster – Canadian Chamber of Commerce
Carol West – Canadian Society of Customs Brokers
Steve Wills – Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada
Bill Zerter – Canadian Publishers’ Council

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Don Stephenson – Assistant Deputy Minister
Douglas George – Lead Negotiator
Nancy Segal
Francis Villeneuve
Don McDougall
Andrea Wenham
Sarah Mitchell
Jacob Kuehn
Andrea Asbil
Industry Canada
Albert Cloutier
Sébastien Arès
Bruce Couchman
Shirley Liang
Alison Bunting

Canada Border Services Agency
Nicole Lefebvre
Chris Nelligan

Canadian Heritage
Drew Olsen
Loris Mirella

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Supt Graham Burnside
Sylvain St-Jean

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Nancy Leigh

Agriculture and Agri-food Canada
Lynne Fortin

Department of Justice
Lisa M. Jacobson
Tara Berish

Public Safety Canada
Matthew Senft

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé des discussions – Consultation en table ronde sur l’ACRC, le 6 avril 2009

Le lundi 6 avril 2009, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) a tenu des consultations en table ronde sur l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon (ACRC). Des intervenants canadiens issus d’un large éventail de secteurs ont été invités à cette réunion, de même que des représentants à Ottawa de certains des pays participant aux discussions sur l’ACRC. La table ronde a réuni plus de 40participants. Des membres de l’équipe de négociation canadienne venant du MAECI, d’Industrie Canada, de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, du ministère de la Justice et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada y ont aussi assisté.

La table ronde a été présidée par M. Don Stephenson, sous-ministre adjoint, Politique et négociations commerciales, au MAECI. Le président a ouvert la séance en mettant en contexte l’initiative de l’ACRC, faisant remarquer les préoccupations croissantes dans le monde entier concernant la contrefaçon et le piratage et la nécessité pour les pays ayant des vues similaires de s’unir pour s’occuper de ce problème dans le cadre d’un processus plurilatéral, tout particulièrement devant le manque de discussions et de progrès substantiels réalisés quant à l’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle dans les organisations multilatérales habituelles (telles que l’Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce).

Le négociateur en chef du Canada pour l’ACRC, M. Douglas George, a fait le point sur l’état d’avancement des négociations relatives à l’ACRC et présenté les grandes lignes des principales questions en pourparlers.

Les participants ont ensuite été invités à poser des questions, à formuler des observations et à donner leur avis sur l’ACRC et les sujets de discussion. Les points suivants ont été soulevés au cours de la période de discussion.

Publication du texte de négociation

La question de la publication du texte sur lequel portent les négociations a été soulevée tôt durant la période de discussion, et le président a formulé à ce sujet d’autres commentaires dans le document donnant un aperçu des principales questions en pourparlers. Il a expliqué que le Canada s’est engagé à favoriser la transparence et a souligné les bons antécédents du pays à cet égard dans le cadre de négociations antérieures. Il a fourni des éclaircissements sur la position du Canada, disant que ce dernier exerçait des pressions afin que le texte de négociation soit publié au moment approprié, mais il a rappelé que le Canada ne pouvait pas agir unilatéralement. Il a également mentionné qu’à ce moment, le texte n’était pas suffisamment avancé pour susciter des consultations de fond, car une bonne partie ne fait pas encore consensus et quelques sections n’ont pas encore été rédigées. Il a ajouté que, le moment venu, il sera peut-être possible de publier le texte sous une forme neutre, qui permettra la tenue de consultations plus approfondies, tout en protégeant les positions de négociation des parties.

Saisie des biens issus d’activités illégales de contrefaçon et de piratage

Certains intervenants ont jugé que d’éventuelles règles sur «les produits de la criminalité» constitueraient un outil efficace pour s’occuper du problème de la contrefaçon et du piratage et ont recommandé l’inclusion de telles mesures dans l’ACRC.

Lien entre l’ACRC et d’autres négociations commerciales bilatérales

Une question a été soulevée au sujet du lien entre la participation du Canada à l’ACRC et les positions canadiennes dans toute négociation future portant sur un accord de libre-échange. Les fonctionnaires ont répondu que, de façon générale, il a été tenu compte de la propriété intellectuelle dans les accords commerciaux bilatéraux du Canada et que ce dernier prévoit inclure des chapitres complets sur la propriété intellectuelle dans les futurs accords de libre-échange qu’il pourrait conclure avec l’Inde et l’Union européenne. En ce qui concerne les accords bilatéraux avec d’autres participants à l’ACRC, les fonctionnaires ont souligné que la position du Canada sur l’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle dans ces accords serait orientée par les positions qu’il a adoptées dans le cadre de l’ACRC.

Participation à l’ACRC et lien avec d’autres organisations internationales

Certains participants ont indiqué que si les problèmes que l’on tentait de régler au moyen de l’ACRC étaient plutôt abordés dans un forum multilatéral plus étendu, tel que l’Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI), davantage de pays seraient inclus dans le processus, y compris ceux qui sont habituellement considérés comme les «sources» de la contrefaçon des marques de commerce et du piratage du droit d’auteur ainsi que d’autres pays pouvant représenter des marchés importants pour le Canada. En particulier, les participants ont dit craindre que l’ACRC soit inefficace sans un grand nombre d’adhérents. Ils ont également dit craindre que l’ACRC vienne accélérer la tendance à la neutralisation des discussions des instances multilatérales sur les questions touchant la propriété intellectuelle, ce qui rendrait l’OMPI moins efficace à l’avenir. Les fonctionnaires canadiens ont expliqué que leur intention était de laisser la participation à l’ACRC ouverte aux autres pays et ont réaffirmé l’engagement du Canada à travailler au sein de l’OMPI; ils ont exprimé leur appui à l’égard du nouveau directeur général de l’OMPI et indiqué qu’ils espéraient que cette organisation surmonte les problèmes qu’elle a connus ces dernières années. Ils ont également fait remarquer que la participation du Canada à l’ACRC n’empêchait pas un dialogue actif avec d’autres pays dans divers forums concernant le problème mondial de la contrefaçon et du piratage.

Produits pharmaceutiques contrefaits

Une partie importante des discussions a porté sur cette question, en particulier sur le rôle que l’ACRC pourrait jouer pour atténuer les risques pour la santé associés aux médicaments contrefaits. On a fait remarquer que ce problème était alarmant dans certaines parties du monde (un participant a mentionné le résultat d’une étude selon laquelle 60% des produits pharmaceutiques en Asie du Sud-Est sont non conformes aux normes ou contrefaits). Diverses opinions ont été exprimées à ce sujet; certains participants ont laissé entendre que l’ACRC n’était pas le mécanisme approprié pour régler ce problème et ont dit craindre que l’Accord nuise aux efforts déployés dans d’autres organisations multilatérales, telles que l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. On a également souligné le besoin de trouver des moyens appropriés pour détruire les produits pharmaceutiques contrefaits afin de prévenir leur réapparition et la menace constante qu’ils présentent pour la santé publique. Les fonctionnaires ont insisté sur le fait que le Canada a démontré que la santé publique est un dossier qui lui tient à cœur et fait remarquer que le travail à ce sujet pourrait se poursuivre dans d’autres forums et que l’ACRC n’a pas été conçu pour empêcher ou écarter d’autres initiatives ou discussions sur la question.

Échéancier pour l’achèvement de l’ACRC et tenue éventuelle d’une série de négociations par le Canada

Les fonctionnaires ont confirmé qu’il n’existe pas d’échéancier définitif pour l’achèvement des négociations sur l’ACRC et que le Canada avait tenu des réunions à sa mission de Genève. Il se peut qu’il organise une série de négociations dans l’avenir, mais cette possibilité reste encore à confirmer.

Réforme du système canadien relatif à la propriété intellectuelle et harmonisation des approches nationales

Certains participants ont soulevé la question de l’approche canadienne en matière de propriété intellectuelle, demandant quand on pouvait s’attendre à sa mise à jour. Les représentants du gouvernement ont indiqué qu’il s’agissait d’une priorité pour le Canada, faisant notamment référence au plus récent Discours du Trône. Ils ont aussi mentionné que les ministres du Patrimoine canadien et de l’Industrie discutaient activement de la question, mais qu’aucun échéancier n’avait été établi et que les points de vues des intervenants étaient les bienvenus en ce qui concerne ce processus. Un participant a demandé si l’ACRC constituait un mécanisme visant l’harmonisation des approches nationales des différents partenaires à l’Accord. Les fonctionnaires ont réitéré que l’ACRC ne visait pas l’harmonisation, mais plutôt la mise en place de normes prévisibles en matière d’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle au sein des participants à l’ACRC.

Pouvoir des agents de douane d’agir de leur propre initiative (c.-à-d. dans le cadre de leurs fonctions)

Certains participants se sont dits d’avis qu’une disposition permettant aux douaniers de retenir des biens contrefaits sans qu’une plainte n’ait été portée par un titulaire de droits pourrait empêcher l’entrée de produits contrefaits et de biens piratés au Canada. D’autres participants ont dit craindre que les douaniers se voient conférer un tel pouvoir sans posséder d’expertise propre aux questions de propriété intellectuelle complexes; ils ont souligné les difficultés particulières qui se posent lorsque de prétendues «importations parallèles» sont en cause. Les participants ont également indiqué que, si de telles dispositions étaient incluses dans l’ACRC, elles devraient être établies de façon équilibrée afin de ne pas nuire au commerce légitime. Les fonctionnaires ont réitéré que le but de l’ACRC n’est pas de changer les règles de base qui régissent les droits de propriété intellectuelle, mais plutôt d’établir des normes pour l’application de ces droits. On a également fait remarquer que, à cette étape, les participants discutent encore d’un grand nombre de points et que la position du Canada dans les négociations liées à l’ACRC est éclairée par ses politiques et intérêts intérieurs.

Clause « de minimis»

L’inclusion possible d’une clause qui exempterait les biens contrefaits en petites quantités ou pour un usage personnel a suscité des opinions mitigées. En effet, on a fait remarquer qu’une clause du genre pourrait embrouiller les messages, car d’une part, les participants à l’ACRC mèneraient des campagnes de sensibilisation publique sur les effets négatifs de la contrefaçon et du piratage, et d’autre part, la clause de minimis pourrait être perçue comme une forme d’acceptation de la contrefaçon et du piratage pour usage personnel. Les fonctionnaires canadiens ont précisé que l’inclusion d’une telle clause n’empêcherait pas un pays de prendre des mesures pour tenir compte de petites quantités et de voyageurs particuliers à la frontière. Toutefois, l’intention de l’ACRC est de combattre les activités de contrefaçon et de piratage qui ont lieu à plus grande échelle.

Groupes consultatifs sur l’ACRC

Certains participants souhaitaient savoir si le gouvernement avait tenu des consultations avec un groupe consultatif exclusif sur l’ACRC. Les fonctionnaires ont expliqué que cette possibilité avait été envisagée, mais qu’il n’existe pas de groupe de ce genre. Ils ont mentionné que le MAECI peut choisir de consulter des groupes concernant des questions techniques particulières si le besoin s’en fait sentir et qu’il s’agit d’une pratique habituelle dans le contexte de négociations commerciales.

Transparence

À la suite de la question portant sur les groupes consultatifs, le président a invité les participants à formuler des suggestions concernant la transparence. Certains participants ont accueilli favorablement la table ronde comme un effort pour démontrer la transparence du processus. Des participants ont également demandé que l’ébauche du texte de l’ACRC soit rendue publique afin de favoriser une discussion plus approfondie sur le fond de l’accord proposé et ont aussi souligné que la transparence devient de plus en plus la norme dans les négociations internationales. Le président a réaffirmé la position du Canada en faveur d’une transparence accrue dans les négociations, mais a expliqué que le Canada ne pouvait pas agir unilatéralement et rendre le texte public. Les fonctionnaires ont indiqué qu’ils continueraient à exercer des pressions en vue d’une transparence accrue et de la publication des textes si nécessaire.

Certains intervenants ont également proposé de faire bénéficier le processus de consultation lui-même d’une transparence accrue. On pourrait y arriver en rendant publiques toutes les communications sur l’ACRC, à moins qu’elles ne contiennent de l’information délicate sur le plan commercial. Les fonctionnaires ont convenu d’étudier cette proposition.

Dans ses observations finales, le président a réitéré l’engagement du gouvernement à accroître la transparence, en invitant les intervenants à soumettre par la suite toute question ou tout commentaire qu’ils pourraient avoir en communiquant avec l’équipe de négociation canadienne au moyen des coordonnées fournies durant la présentation.

Participants:
Diego Argáez – Association des bibliothèques de recherche du Canada
Amir Attaran – Université d’Ottawa
Jody Cox – Association canadienne du médicament générique
Jennifer D.Crowe – MTS Allstream Inc.
Daniel Drapeau – Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Graham Rae Dulmage – Underwriters Laboratories of Canada
David Dyer – Access Copyright
David Fewer – Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’internet du Canada
Michael Geist – Université d’Ottawa
Ysolde Gendreau – Université de Montréal
Doug Geralde – Association canadienne de normalisation
Asha Gosein – Yahoo! Canada
Declan Hamill – Les compagnies de recherche pharmaceutique du Canada
Brian Isaac – Canadian Anti-Counterfeiting Network
Paul Jones – Association canadienne des professeures et professeurs d’université
Virginia Jones – Association canadienne des distributeurs de films
Mark A. Joseph – Agence canadienne des droits de reproduction musicaux
Jason J. Kee – Association canadienne du logiciel de divertissement
Megan Kendall – Université d’Ottawa
Gerald Kerr-Wilson – Business Coalition for Balanced Copyright
Bob Keyes – Canadian Vintners Association
Howard Knopf – Association du Barreau canadien
Reynolds Mastin – Association canadienne des producteurs de films et télévision
Craig McTaggart – Telus Canada
Hélène Messier – Société québécoise de gestion collective des droits de reproduction
Annie Miville-Dechêne – Business Coalition for Balanced Copyright
Kelly Moore – Association canadienne des bibliothèques
Suzanne Morin – Bell Canada
Terrance Oakey – Retail Council of Canada
Richard Pfohl – Association de l’industrie canadienne de l’enregistrement
Barry Sookman – Canadian Intellectual Property Council
Andrea Stairs Krishnappa – eBay Canada
Ryan Stoner – Ambassade des Etats-Unis d'Amérique
Ken G. Thompson – Rogers Communications Inc
Christopher Tortorice – Microsoft Canada
Gabriel van Loon – Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs
Stephen Waddell – Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists
Lee Webster – La chambre de commerce du Canada
Carol West – Société Canadienne des Courtiers en Douane
Steve Wills – Association des universités et collèges du Canada
Bill Zerter – Le Conseil des Éditeurs Canadiens

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international
Don Stephenson – Sous-ministre adjoint
Douglas George – Négociateur en chef
Nancy Segal
Francis Villeneuve
Don McDougall
Andrea Wenham
Sarah Mitchell
Jacob Kuehn
Andrea Asbil
Industrie Canada
Albert Cloutier
Sébastien Arès
Bruce Couchman
Shirley Liang
Alison Bunting

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Nicole Lefebvre
Chris Nelligan

Patrimoine canadien
Drew Olsen
Loris Mirella

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Supt Graham Burnside
Sylvain St-Jean

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Nancy Leigh

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
Lynn Fortin

Ministère de la Justice Canada
Lisa M. Jacobson
Tara Berish

Sécurité publique Canada
Matthew Senft