Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA)

ACTA 7th Round of negotiation
Guadalajara, Mexico, January 26-29, 2010

Joint Statement

  1. The 7th round of negotiations on the proposed Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) was held in Guadalajara, Mexico, from January 26 to 29, 2010, hosted by Mexico. Participants in the negotiations included Australia, Canada, the European Union, represented by the European Commission, the EU Presidency (Spain), and EU Member States, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland and the United States of America (alphabetically ordered).

  2. The meeting was chaired by Mr. Jorge Amigo, Director-General, and Ms. Gilda Gonzalez, Deputy Director General, Mexican Institute of Industrial Property (IMPI). Participants underlined the importance of ACTA as an agreement which shall provide for an enhanced framework to fight global infringement of intellectual property rights, particularly in the context of counterfeiting and piracy.

  3. The discussions at the meeting were productive and focused on civil enforcement, border enforcement and enforcement of rights in the digital environment. Recalling their shared view of the importance of providing opportunities for meaningful public input, the participants reaffirmed their commitment to intensify their respective efforts to provide such opportunities and collectively enhance transparency.

  4. Participants in the meeting agreed that the next meeting would be hosted by New Zealand in April 2010. Participants also reaffirmed their commitment to continue their work with the aim of concluding the agreement by the end of 2010.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon

7e cycle de négociations de l’ACRC
Guadalajara, Mexique, 26-29 janvier 2010

Déclaration commune

  1. La septième séance de négociations de l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon proposé a eu lieu à Guadalajara, au Mexique, du 26 au 29 janvier 2010. Ces négociations ont réuni les participants suivants : l’Australie, le Canada, la Corée, les États-Unis, le Japon, le Maroc, le Mexique, la Nouvelle Zélande, Singapour, la Suisse, l’Union européenne, représentée par la Commission européenne, la présidence de l’UE (Espagne), et les États membres de l’UE (en ordre alphabétique).

  2. La réunion a été présidée par M. Jorge Amigo, directeur général, et Mme Gilda Gonzalez, directrice générale adjointe, Institut mexicain de la propriété intellectuelle (IMPI). Les participants ont souligné l’importance de cet accord, qui fournira un meilleur cadre pour lutter contre le non‑respect des droits de propriété intellectuelle à l’échelle mondiale, en particulier dans le contexte de la contrefaçon et de la piraterie.

  3. Au cours de cette réunion, les discussions se sont avérées productives et ont porté sur les questions suivantes : procédures civiles, mesures frontalières et l’application des droits dans l’environnement numérique. Rappelant leur vision partagée de l'importance d'offrir des possibilités de participation significative du public, les participants ont réaffirmé leur engagement à intensifier leurs efforts respectifs afin de fournir de telles opportunités et à collectivement améliorer la transparence.

  4. Les participants à la rencontre ont convenu que la prochaine séance de négociations se tiendrait en Nouvelle-Zélande en avril 2010. Ils ont réaffirmé leur engagement à poursuivre leurs travaux en vue de conclure l’accord d’ici la fin de 2010.