Canada and the Asia-Pacific

Canada is committed to playing a key role in the Asia-Pacific region, now and in the long term. We are working with global, regional and local partners to:

Building partnerships

The Asia-Pacific region has a growing role in the global economy and politics. Events in the Asia-Pacific region are of critical importance to a broad range of Canadian goals, including prosperity, development, inclusion, sustainability, peace, and security.

Canada seeks to strengthen its relationships across Asia and the Pacific. We increased our presence on the ground with 10 new offices in China and India since 2006, committed new resources to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and appointed Canada’s first-ever resident ambassador to Myanmar in March 2013.

Canada actively works with key organizations that share common interests in the Asia-Pacific region, including:

Economic and trade relations

The Canada-Asia-Pacific relationship is important to Canadian trade and investment:

Canada has prioritized key trade initiatives, including:

Canada is committed to promoting a progressive approach to trade that fosters open markets, creates jobs, helps business become more competitive and drives growth across the Asia-Pacific region. To this end, Canada is working to ensure that trade discussions are informed by, and respond to, issues such as workers’ rights, the environment, gender equality and reinforcing the continued right of governments to regulate in the public interest.

Development assistance

Canada’s development assistance programming in Asia began in the 1950s and remains an important component of our engagement in many developing Asia-Pacific countries. From our early support to help countries to meet basic human needs, Canadian assistance has evolved to provide targeted technical assistance to support institutional reforms necessary for sustainable poverty reduction. Today, Canadian programs help Asian nations develop their capacity to address the region's most pressing challenges:

Canada maintains an active development assistance presence in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Vietnam, as well as across southeast Asia. Canada also supports multilateral and global programs in Asia.

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Asie-Pacifique

Le Canada est déterminé à jouer un rôle clé en Asie-Pacifique, dans l’immédiat et à long terme. Nous collaborons avec des partenaires mondiaux, régionaux et locaux pour :

Établir des partenariats

La région de l’Asie-Pacifique joue un rôle de plus en plus déterminant dans l’économie et la politique à l’échelle mondiale. Les événements qui surviennent en Asie-Pacifique revêtent une importance cruciale pour de nombreux objectifs chers au Canada, entre autres la prospérité, le développement, l’inclusion, la viabilité, la paix et la sécurité.

Le Canada souhaite consolider ses relations partout en Asie et dans le Pacifique. Nous avons accru notre présence sur le terrain en ouvrant 10 nouveaux bureaux en Chine et en Inde depuis 2006, nous avons consacré de nouvelles ressources à l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est et nous avons nommé le tout premier ambassadeur résident au Myanmar en mars 2013.

Le Canada participe activement aux travaux d’organisations clés avec lesquelles il partage des intérêts communs dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique, notamment :

Engagement économique et commercial

La relation entre le Canada et l’Asie-Pacifique est importante pour le commerce et l’investissement canadiens :

Le Canada a accordé la priorité à des initiatives commerciales essentielles, y compris :

Le Canada s’est engagé à promouvoir une approche commerciale progressiste qui favorise les marchés ouverts, crée de l’emploi, aide les entreprises à devenir plus concurrentielles et stimule la croissance dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. À cette fin, le Canada s’efforce de veiller à ce que les discussions commerciales prennent en compte des enjeux comme les droits des travailleurs, l’environnement, l’égalité des sexes et le renforcement du droit des gouvernements à légiférer dans l’intérêt public.

Aide au développement

Le programme d’aide au développement du Canada en Asie a été instauré dans les années 1950 et demeure un aspect important de notre engagement dans de nombreux pays en développement de l’Asie-Pacifique. L’aide du Canada avait d’abord pour but de répondre aux besoins humains fondamentaux, mais elle a ensuite évolué pour devenir une assistance technique ciblée visant à soutenir les réformes institutionnelles nécessaires à une réduction durable de la pauvreté. À l’heure actuelle, le Canada renforce la capacité des pays asiatiques à faire face aux enjeux les plus pressants de la région, à savoir :

Le Canada continue de fournir activement une aide au développement en Afghanistan, au Bangladesh, en Indonésie, en Mongolie, au Myanmar, au Pakistan, aux Philippines, au Sri Lanka et au Vietnam, de même que partout en Asie du Sud-Est. Le Canada appuie également des programmes multilatéraux et mondiaux en Asie.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: