Language selection

Search

Canada-Chile relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Chile enjoy a robust relationship underpinned by frequent high-level visits and interactions. Since the election of President Gabriel Boric in December 2021, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has spoken with the Chilean leader twice. The two leaders agreed to partner on promoting democracy, human rights, gender equality, inclusive economic growth and international law, as well as to continue to advance ambitious climate action.

The Canada-Chile Partnership Framework, signed in 2007 and supported by multiple agreements, has served as a roadmap for the expansion and deepening of collaboration between Canada and Chile in various priority sectors, such as the sustainable development of minerals and metals, science and technology, investment promotion, youth mobility, and education. Over the years, the Framework was renewed and expanded to include bilateral cooperation in the areas of governance and transparency, as well as diversity and social inclusion, with a particular emphasis on women and Indigenous people, economic growth, the environment, climate change and migration.

Canada and Chile are close partners in regional and multilateral fora, including the United Nations, the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation forum, the World Trade Organization, the Organization of American States and within the Summit of the Americas process. The two countries also work together in support of regional trade in the context of the Pacific Alliance, in which Canada is an observer and Candidate Associated State.

Canada and Chile enjoy strong bilateral relations and technical cooperation on environmental matters, facilitated by the Canada-Chile Agreement on Environmental Cooperation which celebrates 25 years in 2022. The two countries continue to expand their bilateral defence collaboration, which is supported by a memorandum of understanding on defence cooperation signed in April 2012.

Close personal ties link Canadians and Chileans. Canada is currently among the top foreign study destinations for Chilean post-secondary students, supported by both Chilean and Canadian scholarship programs. Canada has several education initiatives with Chile, including the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program and the Faculty Mobility for Partnership Building Program. There is a fruitful collaboration between Canadian and Chilean Higher Education Institutions with over 185 agreements for students, faculty mobility and research.

Trade relations

The Canada-Chile commercial relationship is diverse and growing. 2022 marks the 25th anniversary of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA), the cornerstone of Canada’s strong trade and investment relationship with Chile. The agreement covers trade in goods and services, as well as investments, and includes side agreements on the environment and labour relations. The CCFTA has been amended on several occasions. A modernized agreement entered into force on February 5, 2019, which added new chapters on trade and gender (a first for Canada), technical barriers to trade, and sanitary and phytosanitary measures. In addition, several technical amendments to other chapters of the agreement were concluded.

Bilateral merchandise trade has nearly quadrupled since the CCFTA came into force in 1997, surpassing C$3 billion for the first time. Canada exported more than $1.2 billion in merchandise to Chile in 2021, led by farm, fishing and intermediate food products, which accounted for 29% of exports to Chile. Imports from Chile totalled more than $1.8 billion in 2021, led by metal and non-metallic mineral products, which accounted for 39% of imports from Chile. In 2021, Chile was the 33rd largest source of Canadian merchandise imports, and 24th-largest Canadian merchandise export destination. As of 2021, the stock of Canadian direct investment in Chile stood at $22.4 billion, making Chile Canada's top investment destination in South and Central America and 12th worldwide. Canadian companies are present in mining, utilities (electricity, gas, and water), chemicals, transportation and storage services and financial services. As of 2021, the stock of Chilean direct investment in Canada was valued at C$1.1 billion, up 8.1% from 2020.

Related links

Development

Canada’s development relationship with Chile has evolved from one of donor and recipient to one of development cooperation partners. Although Canada no longer has an active bilateral development program in Chile, the relationship continues to benefit from modest but targeted assistance, most notably through Canada’s Partnerships for Development Innovation program. The Project Browser contains profiles of international development projects funded by the Government of Canada.

Chile pursues trilateral cooperation initiatives with a number of traditional and emerging donors, including Canada. Both Canada and Chile are committed to reinforcing security in Central America and developed a trilateral cooperation initiative to support police reform in Guatemala en El Salvador.

As part of Canada’s foreign affairs and development efforts, The International Development Research Centre (IDRC) invests in knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve lives and livelihoods in the developing world. Bringing together the right partners around opportunities for impact, IDRC builds leaders for today and tomorrow and helps drive change for those who need it most. The International Development Research Centre Act describes the Centre’s mandate: “to initiate, encourage, support, and conduct research into the problems of the developing regions of the world and into the means for applying and adapting scientific, technical, and other knowledge to the economic and social advancement of those regions.”

IDRC undertakes programming in Chile both through its headquarters in Ottawa and its regional office for Latin America and the Caribbean, in Montevideo, Uruguay. Since the 1970s, when support from IDRC enabled many researchers to stay and work in the country despite the suppression of the social sciences, the Centre has invested in more than 300 projects with impacts in Chile. In recent years, such support has helped disadvantaged people obtain banking services, businesses and universities expand economic opportunities through innovation, indigenous farmers cope with climate change, citizens benefit from the potential of open data, vulnerable populations access water, institutions offer avenues to resolve social conflict, governments and the private sector encourage healthy diets, and more.

Operations

Canada and Chile continue to expand their bilateral defence collaboration, which has grown in scope and intensity in recent years, particularly since the signature of a memorandum of understanding on defence cooperation in April 2012. Chile became a member of Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Program in June 1998, with approximately 393 Chilean students having received training to date.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Chile work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

The two countries also work together in support of regional trade in the context of the Pacific Alliance in which Canada is an observer. Canada has been actively deepening its engagement with the Alliance since becoming the first non-Latin American observer in 2012, and the first observer to sign a Joint Declaration on a Partnership between Canada and the Pacific Alliance in 2016. In June 2017, Canada was among the first countries invited to become an Associated State of the Pacific Alliance, along with Australia, New Zealand and Singapore, and is currently negotiating a free trade agreement with the Alliance.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Chili

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Chili entretiennent des relations solides se traduisant par des visites et des échanges fréquents de haut niveau. Depuis l’élection du président Gabriel Boric Font en décembre 2021, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau s’est entretenu avec le dirigeant chilien deux fois. Les deux dirigeants ont convenu de s’associer pour promouvoir la démocratie, les droits de l’homme, l’égalité des sexes, la croissance économique inclusive et le droit international, ainsi que de continuer à faire progresser une action climatique ambitieuse.

Le Cadre de partenariat Canada-Chili, signé en 2007, s’appuie sur de multiples accords. Il a servi de feuille de route à l’élargissement et à l’approfondissement de la collaboration entre les deux pays dans divers secteurs prioritaires comme l’exploitation durable des minéraux et des métaux, les sciences et la technologie, la promotion des investissements, la mobilité des jeunes, l’éducation et les échanges. Au fil des ans, le cadre a été renouvelé et élargi pour inclure la coopération bilatérale dans les domaines de la gouvernance et de la transparence, ainsi que de la diversité et de l’inclusion sociale, avec un accent particulier sur les femmes et les peuples autochtones, la croissance économique, l’environnement, le changement climatique et la migration.

En tant que partenaires, le Canada et le Chili collaborent étroitement dans les tribunes régionales et multilatérales, dont les Nations Unies, le Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, l’Organisation des États américains et le processus du Sommet des Amériques. Les deux pays appuient aussi le commerce régional dans le contexte de l’Alliance du Pacifique, où le Canada a le statut d’observateur et candidate pour État associé.

Le Canada et le Chili entretiennent de solides relations bilatérales et une coopération technique en matière d’environnement, qui sont rendues possibles par leur Accord de coopération environnementale qui célèbre ses 25 ans en 2022. Les deux pays continuent d’élargir leur collaboration bilatérale en matière de défense, dont la portée et l’intensité ont augmenté au cours des dernières années, particulièrement depuis la signature du Protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de défense, en avril 2012.

Des liens personnels étroits unissent les Canadiens et les Chiliens. Le Canada est actuellement l’une des principales destinations d’études à l’étranger pour les étudiants chiliens de niveau postsecondaire, grâce aux programmes de bourses chiliens et canadiens. Le Canada a plusieurs initiatives en matière d’éducation avec le Chili, notamment le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques et le programme de mobilité enseignante pour la création de partenariats. Il existe une collaboration fructueuse entre les établissements d’enseignement supérieur canadiens et chiliens avec plus de 185 accords pour la mobilité et la recherche des étudiants et des professeurs.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Chili sont diversifiées et croissantes. L’année 2022 marque le 25e anniversaire de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili (ALECC), pierre angulaire de la solide relation du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec le Chili. Cet accord englobe le commerce des biens et des services, ainsi que les investissements, et renferme des accords parallèles sur l’environnement et les relations de travail. L’ALECC a été modifié à plusieurs reprises. Un accord modernisé est entré en vigueur le 5 février 2019, qui a ajouté de nouveaux chapitres sur le commerce et le genre (une première pour le Canada), les obstacles techniques au commerce et les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires. En outre, plusieurs modifications techniques ont été apportées à d’autres chapitres.

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a presque quadruplé depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALECC, en 1997, dépassant les 3 milliards de dollars canadiens pour la première fois. En 2021, le Canada a exporté pour plus de $1.2 milliards de dollars de marchandises vers le Chili, principalement des produits agricoles, de la pêche et les produits alimentaires intermédiaires, qui représentaient 29 % des exportations vers le Chili. Les importations en provenance du Chili, qui se sont pour leur part élevées à plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars en 2021, étaient composées à 39 % de produits métalliques et minéraux non métalliques. En 2021, le Chili était la 33e source d’importations de marchandises et la 24e destination d’exportations du Canada. En 2021, le stock d’investissements directs canadiens au Chili s’élevait à 22,4 milliards de dollars, ce qui a fait du Chili la première destination d’investissements canadiens en Amérique du Sud et en Amérique centrale, et la douzième au monde. Les entreprises canadiennes sont présentes dans les secteurs des mines, des services publics (électricité, gaz et eau), des produits chimiques, des services de transport et d’entreposage, de même que des services financiers. En 2021, le stock d’investissements directs chiliens au Canada était évalué à 1,1 milliard de dollars canadiens, en hausse de 8.1 % par rapport à 2020.

Liens connexes

Développement

La relation qu’entretiennent le Canada et le Chili en matière de développement a évolué d’une relation de donateur à bénéficiaire vers une relation de partenaires de coopération au développement. Bien que le Canada n'ait plus de programme bilatéral de développement actif au Chili, la relation continue de bénéficier d'une assistance modeste, mais ciblée, notamment à travers le Programme de Partenariats pour l’innovation dans le développement du Canada. La Banque de projets de développement international contient les profils de projets financés par le gouvernement du Canada.

Le Chili poursuit des initiatives de coopération trilatérales avec un certain nombre de donateurs traditionnels et émergents, y compris le Canada. Le Canada et le Chili se sont engagés à renforcer la sécurité en Amérique centrale et ont développé une initiative de coopération trilatérale pour soutenir la réforme de la police au Guatemala et au Salvador.

S’inscrivant dans l’action du Canada en matière d’affaires étrangères et de développement, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) investit dans le savoir, l’innovation et les solutions afin d’améliorer les conditions de vie et les moyens de subsistance dans les pays en développement. En réunissant les bons partenaires autour d’occasions à saisir qui sont porteuses d’impacts, le CRDI aide à forger les chefs de file d’aujourd’hui et de demain et à susciter des changements positifs à vaste échelle. La Loi sur le Centre de recherches pour le développement international établit que le Centre a pour mission « de lancer, d'encourager, d'appuyer et de mener des recherches sur les problèmes des régions du monde en voie de développement et sur la mise en œuvre des connaissances scientifiques, techniques et autres en vue du progrès économique et social de ces régions. »

Le CRDI procède à la programmation au Chili à travers son siège social à Ottawa et son bureau régional pour l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, à Montevideo en Uruguay. Depuis les années 1970, alors que le soutien du CRDI permit à de nombreux chercheurs de rester et de travailler dans leur pays en dépit de la suppression des sciences sociales, le Centre a investi dans plus de 300 projets au Chili. Au cours des dernières années, ce soutien a aidé les gens défavorisés à obtenir des services bancaires, les entreprises et les universités à accroître les possibilités économiques grâce à l'innovation, les agriculteurs autochtones à faire face au changement climatique, les citoyens à bénéficier du potentiel de données ouvertes, les populations vulnérables à accéder à l'eau, les institutions à  offrir des pistes de solutions pour résoudre des conflits sociaux, les gouvernements et le secteur privé à encourager une alimentation saine, et plus encore.

Opérations

Le Canada et le Chili continuent d’élargir leur collaboration bilatérale en matière de défense, dont la portée et l’intensité ont augmenté au cours des dernières années, particulièrement depuis la signature du Protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de défense, en avril 2012. Le Chili est devenu membre du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada en juin 1998. À ce jour, 393 étudiants chiliens ont reçu une formation dans le cadre de ce programme.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Chili collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Les deux pays appuient aussi le commerce régional dans le contexte de l’Alliance du Pacifique, où le Canada a le statut d’observateur. Depuis qu’il est devenu le premier observateur non latino-américain en 2012 et le premier observateur à signer la Déclaration conjointe sur un partenariat entre le Canada et les membres de l’Alliance du Pacifique en 2016, le Canada s’est employé à approfondir activement son engagement auprès de l’Alliance. En juin 2017, le Canada a été parmi les premiers pays invités à devenir un État associé de l’Alliance du Pacifique aux côtés de l’Australie, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et de Singapour. Il négocie actuellement un accord de libre-échange avec l’Alliance.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: