Language selection

Search

Canada-China relations

Bilateral relations

Canada’s relationship with China is long-standing and dates from well before the establishment of diplomatic relations in 1970.

Canada is represented by an embassy in Beijing and consulates general in Chongqing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Shanghai. These diplomatic missions are supported by a secondary network of 10 trade offices, spread across the country, which are operated through an arrangement with the Canadian Commercial Corporation.

We work with China at the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal levels. Areas of engagement include trade and investment, environment and climate change, education and culture, and consular affairs.

Cooperation

Through a variety of initiatives, Canada supports work in China on the rule of law, women and children, peaceful pluralism and respect for diversity. We are also actively promoting international norms and values. The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives provides small grants for projects across China that address environmental sustainability, good governance, civil society development and rights protection for disadvantaged groups.

Our connections

Strong people-to-people ties link Canada and China: over 1.8 million Canadian residents are of Chinese origin, and in 2020, more than 117,000 Chinese students with study permits for six months or more attended Canadian educational institutions. Chinese is Canada’s third most spoken language after English and French, and immigrants born in China (including the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region) form one of the largest groups within Canada’s immigrant population. Growing tourism flows and ongoing cultural exchanges enrich bilateral linkages.

Trade relations

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service has identified significant commercial opportunities for Canadian companies in a number of key sectors that are well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests. These include: agriculture and agri-food, consumer products, automotive, clean technology, education, mining and energy, engineering, design and infrastructure services, health services and life sciences. In addition to these priority sectors, important opportunities for Canadian companies exist in aerospace innovative transportation, information and communication technologies, and tourism.

Canadian Trade Commissioners analyze and interpret China’s outbound capital trends, and build relationships with key stakeholders to assist Canadian businesses seeking strategic investment opportunities and access to this market.

Canada also proactively manages a strategic relationship with China on economic policy, trade policy, market access and regulatory cooperation, an effort supported in-country by a team of professionals drawn from Canadian federal departments and agencies, including Finance Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the Canadian Border Services Agency, Innovation Science and Economic Development, and Natural Resources Canada.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and China work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Chine

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada entretient des relations avec la Chine depuis longtemps, bien avant l'établissement des relations diplomatiques en 1970.

Le Canada est représenté par une ambassade à Beijing et des consulats généraux à Chongqing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, et Shanghai. Ces missions diplomatiques sont soutenues par un réseau secondaire de dix bureaux commerciaux, répartis dans tout le pays, qui sont gérés dans le cadre d'un accord avec la Corporation commerciale canadienne.

Nous travaillons avec la Chine aux niveaux fédéral, provincial, territorial et municipal, dans les domaines du commerce et de l'investissement, de l'environnement et des changements climatiques, de l'éducation et de la culture, ainsi que des affaires consulaires.

Coopération

Pas le biais de diverses initiatives, le Canada s’efforce de renforcer la primauté du droit, les droits des femmes et des enfants, le pluralisme pacifique et d’augmenter le respect pour la diversité. Nous promouvons aussi activement les normes et valeurs internationales. Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales accorde de petites subventions à des projets en Chine qui traitent de la durabilité environnementale, de la bonne gouvernance, du développement de la société civile et de la protection des droits des groupes défavorisés.

Nos liens

Le Canada et la Chine entretiennent des liens étroits : plus de 1,8 million de résidents canadiens sont d'origine chinoise, et, en 2020, plus de 117 000 étudiants chinois possédant un permis d’études d’au moins six mois ont fréquenté des établissements d'enseignement canadiens. Le chinois est la troisième langue la plus parlée au Canada après l'anglais et le français. Les immigrants nés en Chine (y compris dans la région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong) forment l'un des plus grands groupes de la population immigrante au Canada. Les flux touristiques croissants et les échanges culturels en cours enrichissent les liens bilatéraux.

Relations commerciales

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada a identifié d’importants débouchés commerciaux pour les entreprises canadiennes dans certains secteurs clés qui conviennent bien aux capacités et aux intérêts canadiens. Ceux-ci incluent : l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire, les produits de consommation, l’automobile, les technologies propres, l’éducation, les mines et l’énergie, l’ingénierie, les services de conception et d’infrastructure ainsi que les services de santé et les sciences de la vie. Outre ces secteurs prioritaires, il existe d’importantes possibilités pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs de l’aérospatiale, du transport innovateur, des technologies de l’information et des communications, et du tourisme.

Les délégués commerciaux du Canada contribuent à analyser et interpréter les tendances en matière de capital sortant de la Chine et établir des relations avec des intervenants clés afin d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à la recherche d’investissements stratégiques ou désirant accéder au marché chinois.

Le Canada gère également de manière proactive un engagement stratégique avec la Chine en matière de politique économique, d'accès au marché et de coopération réglementaire. Ces efforts sont soutenus dans le pays par une équipe de professionnels représentant les intérêts d’organismes canadiens, notamment Finances Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, l’Agence d'inspection des aliments du Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Innovation, science et développement économique Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la Chine collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: