Language selection

Search

Canada-Haiti relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Haiti officially established autonomous diplomatic relations in 1954 and have continued to maintain strong diplomatic ties ever since. Over the years, their relations have been strengthened by their geographical proximity, a common language (French) the growth of a substantial Haitian community in Canada (165,000) and the ongoing presence of Canadian development organizations in Haiti. In addition to its embassy in Ottawa, the Republic of Haiti also has a consulate general in Montreal, as well as an honorary consulate in Toronto. The Haitian Ambassador to Canada, Wien Weibert Arthus, presented his credence to the Governor General of Canada on November 30, 2020. 

Both members of the United Nations (UN), Canada has supported the various UN peace missions in Haiti for over 20 years to support stabilization and reconstruction efforts, both financially and through the deployment of Canadian Armed Forces, UNPOLs and correctional officers. Canada chairs the United Nations Economic and Social Council’s Ad Hoc Advisory Group (ECOSOC-AHAG) on Haiti and is an influential member of the Core Group in Port-au-Prince, which has a mandate to serve as the voice of the international community to the State of Haiti. Canada also consolidates its relationship with Haiti by being a member of the Organization of American States (OAS) and the International Organization of La Francophonie (OIF).

Trade relations

The bilateral trade relationship between Canada and Haiti remains modest. In 2021, 2-way merchandise trade between Canada and Haiti was valued at $153.6 million. Canadian exports totalled $81.4 million in value, and imports from Haiti $72.2 million. Haitian exports are mainly found in the agri-food and textiles sectors, while Canadian exports can be found mainly in the agri-food and machinery sector. Bilateral trade in services is still modest (official statistics not available).

On the commercial front, Canada enjoys an enviable reputation in Haiti and benefits from undeniable assets, including the presence of a dynamic bilateral chamber of commerce and an active diaspora in Canada. There is potential to increase bilateral trade in infrastructure and construction, agriculture, health and education.

Related links

Development

Since the 2010 earthquake, the Government of Canada has provided $1.87 billion worth of funding to Haiti. Canada is the second-largest bilateral donor to Haiti after the United States. In 2020-2021, Canada had an annual development assistance budget of approximately CA $98 million in Haiti (all channels combined), making Haiti the largest recipient of Canadian aid in the Americas.

The Government of Canada’s bilateral development priorities are consistent with the action areas in Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy. These priorities involve strengthening governance, including the rule of law and the fight against corruption; improving the quality of life for the most vulnerable, particularly women and girls, notably through support to national health, education and protection systems; and fostering growth that works for everyone and a greater resilience in the face of climate change and natural disasters.

In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic led Canada to adjust its programming and reallocate $12.60 million to deal with the health crisis in Haiti. An additional funding of $10 million aimed at strengthening the food resilience of populations made more vulnerable due to the impact of COVID-19 through the World Food Program has been added to this amount.

Following the earthquake of August 14, 2021, Canada worked closely with the Government of Haiti and international partners to assess needs and provide assistance. In response to the crisis, Canada provided nearly $6 million in humanitarian assistance to support the communities most affected by the earthquake.

Following discussions with project implementation partners in the south, some development projects were also altered to provide food relief, first aid and assistance to agricultural producers whose crops had been damaged. These changes include:

  • Additional funding of $2M to an existing project implemented by the World Food Program to provide food assistance relief in the south of Haiti. The project will reach over 22,000 beneficiaries.
  • Additional funding of $1M to an existing project implemented by the UNFPA worth $25M ($26 overall) to help the organization better cope with the new operational difficulties and emerging needs caused by the earthquake while continuing to improve the sexual and reproductive health of women and teenage girls, as well as the health of new-borns and children. The project will reach approximately 21,800 beneficiaries per year.
  • Additional funding of $4M to United Nation Development Program (UNDP) for an existing $10.15M project ($14.15M overall) to strengthen national systems in Haiti to better manage and respond to natural disasters. The project will reach approximately 470,000 beneficiaries.

Canada also participated in the “International Event for the Financing of the Reconstruction of the Southern Peninsula of Haiti” on February 16, 2022, announcing a new financial commitment of $19.5 million, which will contribute to supporting earthquake victims, post-disaster rehabilitation as well as to improving security and integrated health services for women, adolescent girls and children.

In order to maintain the attention of the international community in terms of political dialogue and security in Haiti, Canada also chaired, an international Ministerial Meeting with 27 representatives of countries, regional and international organizations, and the Prime Minister of Haiti in January 2021. Reiterating its support for Haiti, Canada announced a financial commitment of $50.4 million for 9 initiatives focused on security, sexual and reproductive health and rights, inclusive economic growth and humanitarian aid.

To find out what Canada is doing to support development in Haiti, you can search in the Project Browser.

Operations

Canada is deeply concerned about the security crisis and increasing grip of gangs in Haiti. Canada is therefore continuing its long-term support for strengthening the Police nationale d’Haïti (PNH) (Haitian National Police). Canada recently funded a project to support the professionalization of the HNP that led to the establishment of the Académie nationale de police (National Police Academy) and the training of nearly 400 commissioners and inspectors, particularly in police ethics, protection of human rights and the fight against gender-based violence. In order to build the country's capacity in the security sector, a new bilateral project in support of the PNH is to be launched this fall.

Through its Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOPs), Global Affairs Canada (GAC) also funds projects focused on reducing community violence, strengthening the rule of law, and including women in policing and political life. Due to PSOPs programming, Canada has facilitated the formation of a Haitian national border force since 2017, POLIFRONT, which is deployed along the terrestrial border between Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

To strengthen the security sector in developing countries, Canada often deploys both police officers and civilians. Canadian police officers are deployed through the Canadian Civilian Police Arrangement, whose partners comprise GAC, Public Safety Canada and the RCMP. Civilians are deployed through GAC’s Civilian Deployments Platform. Since the end of the United Nations Mission for Justice Support in Haiti, in October 2019, to which more than 20 Canadians were deployed, Canada has been deploying police officers to the United Nations Integrated Office in Haiti. Currently, 2 Canadian police officers are stationed in the country.

Canada is also contributing to stability and security through diplomatic dialogue with its Haitian and international partners and through its development assistance programming, notably due to its support for the consolidation of the rule of law and democratic structures.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Haiti work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Haïti

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et Haïti entretiennent officiellement des relations diplomatiques autonomes depuis 1954 et sont unis par de profonds liens d’amitié et de fraternité. Au fil des ans, leurs relations ont été renforcées par la proximité géographique, une langue commune, la croissance d’une importante communauté haïtienne au Canada (165 000 personnes) et la présence continue d’organisations canadiennes de développement en Haïti. En plus d’une ambassade à Ottawa, la République d’Haïti dispose d’un consulat général à Montréal et d’un consulat honoraire à Toronto. L’ambassadeur d’Haïti au Canada, Wien Weibert Arthus, a présenté ses lettres de créances à la Gouverneure Générale du Canada le 30 novembre 2020. 

Membres de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), le Canada appuie depuis plus de vingt ans les différentes missions de paix de l’ONU en Haïti pour soutenir les efforts de stabilisation et de reconstruction, tant au niveau financier que par le déploiement des Forces armées canadiennes, de UNPOLs et d’agents correctionnels. Le Canada préside le Groupe consultatif ad hoc du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies sur Haïti (ECOSOC-AHAG) et est un membre influent du Core Group à Port-au-Prince, ayant pour mandat de servir de porte-parole de la communauté internationale auprès de l’État haïtien. Le Canada continue également à consolider sa relation avec Haïti en étant membre de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) et de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF).

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales bilatérales entre le Canada et Haïti demeurent modestes. En 2021, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et Haïti était évalué à 153,6 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes ont totalisé une valeur de 81,4 millions de dollars, et les importations en provenance d’Haïti, de 72,2 millions de dollars. Les exportations haïtiennes se retrouvent principalement dans les secteurs agroalimentaire et des textiles, alors que les exportations du Canada se concentrent surtout dans les secteurs agroalimentaire et de la machinerie. Le commerce bilatéral dans le domaine des services demeure faible (statistiques officielles non disponibles).

Sur le plan commercial, le Canada jouit d’une réputation enviable en Haïti et tire parti d’atouts indéniables, dont la présence d’une chambre de commerce bilatérale dynamique et d’une diaspora active au Canada. Il existe un potentiel pour accroître les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux dans les domaines de l’infrastructure et de la construction, de l’agriculture, de la santé et de l’éducation.

Liens connexes

Développement

Depuis le tremblement de terre de 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a versé des fonds totalisant 1,87 milliard de dollars en Haïti. Second donateur bilatéral en importance après les États-Unis, le Canada dispose, en 2020-21, d'un budget annuel d'aide au développement d'environ 98 M$CA dans ce pays (tous canaux confondus), faisant d'Haïti le plus important bénéficiaire de l'aide canadienne dans les Amériques.

Les priorités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement bilatéral en Haïti sont conformes aux champs d’action de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. Ces priorités comprennent le renforcement de la gouvernance, y compris l’état de droit et la lutte à la corruption ; l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des populations les plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes et les filles, notamment en appuyant les systèmes nationaux de santé, d’éducation et de protection; ainsi que la promotion d’une croissance au service de tous et d’une plus grande résilience face aux changements climatiques et aux catastrophes naturelles.

En 2020, la pandémie de COVID-19 a conduit le Canada à ajuster sa programmation et à réallouer 12,60 M$ pour faire face à la crise sanitaire en Haïti. À ce montant s'ajoute 10 millions de dollars visant à renforcer la résilience alimentaire des populations vulnérabilisées par la COVID-19 via le Programme alimentaire mondial.

À la suite du tremblement de terre du 14 août 2021, le Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement d'Haïti et la communauté internationale pour évaluer les besoins et fournir une aide en fonction des besoins. En réponse à la crise, le Canada a fourni près de 6 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire pour soutenir les communautés les plus touchées par le séisme.

Certains projets de développement ont également été modifiés pour fournir une aide alimentaire, des premiers soins et une assistance aux producteurs agricoles dont les cultures ont été endommagées, à la suite de discussions avec les partenaires de mise en œuvre de projets dans le sud. Ces modifications incluent :

  • Un financement supplémentaire de 2 M$ à un projet existant mis en œuvre par le Programme alimentaire mondial pour fournir une aide alimentaire dans le sud d'Haïti. Le projet doit atteindre plus de 22 000 bénéficiaires.
  • Un financement supplémentaire de 1 M$ à un projet existant de l'UNFPA d'une valeur de 25 M$ (26 M$ au total) pour aider l'organisation à mieux faire face aux nouvelles difficultés opérationnelles et aux besoins émergents causés par le séisme tout en continuant à améliorer la santé sexuelle et reproductive des femmes et des adolescentes, ainsi que la santé des nouveau-nés et des enfants. Le projet doit atteindre environ 21 800 bénéficiaires par année.
  • Un financement supplémentaire de 4M$ au Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) pour un projet existant de 10,15 M$ (14,15 M$ au total) visant à renforcer les systèmes nationaux en Haïti pour mieux gérer et répondre aux catastrophes naturelles. Le projet doit atteindre environ 470 000 bénéficiaires.

Le Canada a également participé à l'Événement international pour le financement de la reconstruction de la péninsule Sud d'Haïti le 16 février dernier, annonçant un nouvel engagement financier de 19,5 millions de dollars, qui contribuera à soutenir les victimes du tremblement de terre, la réhabilitation post-catastrophe ainsi qu'à améliorer la sécurité et des services de santé intégrés pour les femmes, les adolescentes et les enfants.

Afin de maintenir l’attention de la communauté internationale en matière de dialogue politique et de sécurité en Haïti, le Canada a aussi présidé, en janvier 2021, une réunion ministérielle internationale réunissant 27 représentants de pays, d'organisations régionales et internationales, ainsi que le Premier ministre d'Haïti. Réitérant son soutien à Haïti, le Canada a annoncé une contribution financière de 50,4 millions de dollars pour neuf initiatives axées sur la sécurité, la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs, la croissance économique inclusive et l'aide humanitaire.

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour appuyer le développement en Haïti.

Opérations

Préoccupé par la crise sécuritaire et l’augmentation de l’emprise des gangs en Haïti, le Canada continue son appui de longue durée au renforcement de la Police nationale d’Haïti (PNH). Le Canada a financé un projet d’appui à la professionnalisation de la PNH ayant permis la mise sur pied de l’Académie nationale de police et la formation de près de 400 commissaires et inspecteurs, notamment à la déontologie policière, à la protection des droits de la personne et à la lutte contre la violence fondée sur le genre. Afin de renforcer les capacités du pays dans le secteur de la sécurité, un nouveau projet bilatéral en appui à la PNH doit être lancé à cet automne.

Par l’intermédiaire de son Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix (PSOP), Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) finance également des projets axés sur la réduction de la violence communautaire, le renforcement de l’État de droit et l’inclusion des femmes dans la police et dans la vie politique. Grâce à la programmation du PSOP, le Canada a notamment facilité la constitution d’une force nationale haïtienne des frontières depuis 2017, la POLIFRONT, qui est déployée le long de la frontière terrestre entre Haïti et la République dominicaine.

Pour renforcer le secteur de la sécurité dans les pays en développement, le Canada y déploie souvent des policiers ainsi que des civils. Les agents de police canadiens sont déployés dans le cadre de l’Arrangement sur la police civile canadienne, dont les partenaires incluent Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC), Sécurité publique Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Les civils sont déployés dans le cadre de la Plateforme de déploiement des civils d’AMC. Depuis la fin, en octobre 2019, de la Mission des Nations Unies pour l’appui de la justice en Haïti, dans le cadre de laquelle plus d’une vingtaine de Canadiens ont été déployés, le Canada a déployé des policiers au sein du Bureau intégré des Nations Unies en Haïti. Présentement, 2 policiers canadiens y sont en poste.

Le Canada participe aussi à la stabilité et à la sécurité grâce aux efforts de dialogue diplomatique avec ses partenaires haïtiens et internationaux et par le truchement de sa programmation d’aide au développement, notamment grâce à son appui à la consolidation de l’État de droit et des structures démocratiques.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et Haïti collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: