Language selection

Search

Canada-Madagascar relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada established diplomatic ties with Madagascar in 1965, five years after Madagascar gained independence. In Madagascar, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in South Africa, in Pretoria, and by an honorary consul located in Antananarivo. In Canada, Madagascar is represented by its embassy in Ottawa.

Canada and Madagascar maintain positive bilateral relations, anchored in common membership in La Francophonie and the United Nations. Canada and Madagascar share similar views on a number of multilateral issues, including gender equality, the environment and climate change.

Trade relations

In 2021, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Madagascar totaled $204.6 million, consisting of $11.1 million in exports from Canada and $193.5 million in imports from Madagascar. For the same year, the Canadian direct investment position in Madagascar was $31.0 million, as it was in 2020. Commercial opportunities exist in the areas of mining and education. As a francophone country, Madagascar’s post-secondary students consider Canada a destination of choice, and many of Canada’s universities have forged partnerships with Malagasy schools. 

Related links

Development

Madagascar benefits from Canadian international assistance through support to key multilateral and regional organizations active in the country, such as the UN, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the African Union and others. Canada is helping to build the capacity of female Malagasy entrepreneurs to access international markets for their products and is supporting the Malagasy government’s efforts to ensure transparency and accountability in the mining sector. Canada also supports Canadian civil society organizations working with Malagasy organizations to improve access to the labour market for youth. Finally, through the International Youth Internship Program, two multi-sector projects deploy young Canadian interns to Madagascar. In 2020-21, Canada provided $21.06M in international assistance to Madagascar, mainly through institutional support to multilateral organizations with activities in the country.

Canada also funds regional initiatives in Madagascar in areas such as intra-African trade, climate change resilience and natural resource management.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Madagascar work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Madagascar

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des liens diplomatiques avec Madagascar en 1965, cinq ans après que ce pays ait accédé à l’indépendance. Le Canada y est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud, situé à Pretoria, et par un consul honoraire à Antananarivo. Madagascar est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa.

Le Canada et Madagascar entretiennent de bonnes relations bilatérales, qui sont fondées sur une appartenance commune à la Francophonie et aux Nations Unies. Les deux pays ont des vues convergentes sur plusieurs questions multilatérales, notamment l’égalité des genres, l’environnement et les changements climatiques.

Relations commerciales

En 2018, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et Madagascar a totalisé 148,6 millions de dollars. Le Canada a exporté pour 17 millions de dollars vers Madagascar et a importé pour 131,7 millions de dollars de ce pays. Les investissements canadiens dans le secteur minier à Madagascar sont importants. Sherritt International, dont le siège social se trouve à Toronto, est l’exploitant des installations de raffinage et d’exploitation minière Ambatovy, soit le plus important investissement étranger à Madagascar.

Liens connexes

Développement

Madagascar bénéficie de l’aide internationale du Canada, qui apporte un soutien aux principales organisations régionales et multilatérales qui y mènent des activités, comme les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l’Union africaine. Le Canada contribue à renforcer la capacité des femmes entrepreneures malgaches à accéder aux marchés internationaux, et soutient les efforts du gouvernement malgache pour assurer la transparence et la responsabilité dans le secteur minier. Le Canada soutient également les organisations de la société civile canadienne qui travaillent avec des organisations malgaches pour améliorer l'accès au marché du travail pour les jeunes. Enfin, dans le cadre du Programme international de stages pour les jeunes, deux projets multisectoriels déploient de jeunes stagiaires canadiens à Madagascar. En 2020-2021, le Canada a fourni 21,06 millions de dollars d'aide internationale à Madagascar, principalement par le biais d'un soutien institutionnel aux organisations multilatérales ayant des activités dans le pays. 

Le Canada finance également des initiatives régionales à Madagascar dans des domaines tels que le commerce intra-africain, la résilience aux changements climatiques et la gestion des ressources naturelles.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et Madagascar collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: