Language selection

Search

Canada-Nigeria relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Nigeria established diplomatic relations in 1962, shortly after Nigeria’s independence in 1960.

In Nigeria, Canada is represented by its High Commission in Abuja (previously in Lagos from 1962 to 1997), as well as a Deputy High Commission located in Lagos. Since 2004, Canada has an Honorary Consul in Port Harcourt.

Nigeria is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Canada, which opened in Ottawa in 1973.

Nigerian Students in Canada

In 2019, Nigeria was Canada’s most important source of international students from Africa, welcoming 11,667 Nigerian students.

Trade relations

In 2021, Nigeria was Canada’s largest bilateral merchandise trading partner in Africa, with bilateral merchandise trade totaling $2.67 billion.

In 2021, Canadian merchandise imports from Nigeria totalled $2.1 billion.

Canada’s main imports consist of mineral fuels and oils, cocoa, rubber, and lead.

In 2021, Canada’s exports to Nigeria totalled $605.4 million.

Canada exports a wide range of products, including vehicles and equipment, wheat, manufacturing equipment, software, aircrafts, and cars.

Trade agreements

Related links

Development

In 2020-2021, Canada’s development assistance to Nigeria reached $126.60 million.

Canada is committed to working with Nigeria to reduce extreme poverty and build a more peaceful, inclusive and prosperous society. Canada’s bilateral development assistance in Nigeria aligns with Nigeria’s Medium-Term National Development Plan (2021 to 2023) and responds to the following action areas from Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy:

  1. human dignity, including sexual and reproductive health and rights
  2. growth that works for everyone
  3. gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls

Canada also contributes to development results through its support to multilateral, humanitarian, Canadian and international organizations. Many multilateral and international organizations, such as the World Health Organization, GAVI, the Vaccine Alliance, the Global Polio Eradication Initiative, and the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria have some of their largest programs in Nigeria. Canadian organizations such as Plan International Canada, Oxfam-Québec, Mennonite Economic Development Associates of Canada (MEDA) and Grand Challenges Canada are contributing to important development results in Nigeria.

Canada is closely monitoring the humanitarian situation in Nigeria, particularly the plight of populations affected by the Boko Haram and the Islamic State in West Africa Province (ISWAP) insurgencies, both in Nigeria and throughout the Lake Chad Basin. Canada works with international partners to help respond to humanitarian needs in Nigeria as well as those of Nigerian refugees and host communities in the neighbouring Cameroon, Chad and Niger.

Canada supports UN agencies, the International Red Cross­/Red Crescent Movement, and international non-governmental organizations to provide internally displaced people and other crisis-affected populations, including women and children, with life-saving assistance, including food, treatment for acute malnutrition, clean water, health care, protection services and support for livelihoods.

See the Project Browser for additional information on development and humanitarian programming in Nigeria.

Operations

Peace and security

Canada is also providing security assistance in Nigeria:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Nigéria

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Nigéria ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1962, peu après l’indépendance du Nigéria en 1960.

Le Canada est représenté au Nigéria par un haut-commissariat situé à Abuja (auparavant à Lagos, de 1962 à 1997), ainsi qu'un haut-commissariat auxiliaire situé à Lagos. Depuis 2004, le Canada dispose d’un consul honoraire à Port Harcourt.

Le Nigéria est représenté au Canada par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1973.

Étudiants nigérians au Canada

En 2018, le Canada a accueilli plus de 11 000 étudiants en provenance du Nigéria. Le pays a représenté la plus grande source d’étudiants étrangers provenant de l’Afrique sub-saharienne au Canada.

Relations commerciales

En 2018, le Nigéria est arrivé au premier rang des partenaires du Canada en Afrique sub-saharienne avec des échanges bilatéraux de marchandises totalisant 948,4 M $.

En 2018, les importations canadiennes en provenance du Nigéria ont atteint 480,5 M $.

Le Canada importe principalement du pétrole et des combustibles minéraux, du cacao, du caoutchouc, du plomb et des aliments transformés.

En 2018, les exportations canadiennes au Nigéria se chiffraient à 467,9 M $.

Le Canada exporte une gamme complète de produits, notamment du blé, du matériel de fabrication, des logiciels, des aéronefs et des voitures.

Accords commerciaux

Liens connexes

Développement

En 2020‑2021, l’aide canadienne au développement pour le Nigéria a atteint 126,60 millions de dollars.

Le Canada s’est engagé à collaborer avec le Nigéria pour réduire l’extrême pauvreté et bâtir une société plus pacifique, inclusive et prospère. L’aide bilatérale canadienne au développement pour le Nigéria s’harmonise avec le Plan national de développement à moyen terme du Nigéria (de 2021 à 2023) et répond aux champs d’action suivants de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada :

  1. la dignité humaine, y compris la santé sexuelle et reproductive et les droits connexes
  2. la croissance au service de tous
  3. l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles

Le Canada contribue également aux résultats de développement par son soutien aux organisations multilatérales, humanitaires, canadiennes et internationales. De nombreuses organisations multilatérales et internationales, comme l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, GAVI, l’Alliance du vaccin, l’Initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite et le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, dirigent certains de leurs plus importants programmes au Nigéria. Des organisations canadiennes comme Plan International Canada, Oxfam-Québec, Mennonite Economic Development Associates of Canada (MEDA Canada) et Grands Défis Canada contribuent à d’importants résultats en matière de développement au Nigéria.

Le Canada surveille de très près la situation humanitaire au Nigéria, plus particulièrement le sort des populations touchées par les insurrections de Boko Haram et de l’État islamique de la province ouest africaine (ISWAP), tant au Nigéria que dans le bassin du lac Tchad. Le Canada collabore avec des partenaires internationaux pour aider à répondre aux besoins humanitaires au Nigéria ainsi qu’à ceux des réfugiés nigérians et des communautés d’accueil dans les pays voisins, soit le Cameroun, le Tchad et le Niger.

Le Canada soutient les agences de l’ONU, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et les organisations non gouvernementales internationales afin qu’ils puissent fournir aux personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur propre pays et aux autres populations touchées par les crises, y compris les femmes et les enfants, une aide vitale comprenant nourriture, traitement de la malnutrition aiguë, eau potable, soins de santé, services de protection et soutien aux moyens de subsistance.

Pour plus d’informations sur les projets de développement et d’assistance humanitaire au Nigéria, voir la Banque de projets.

Opérations

Paix et sécurité

Le Canada apporte également une aide à la sécurité au Nigeria :

Partenariats multilatéraux

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Nigéria collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: