Language selection

Search

Canada-Philippines relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

With diplomatic relations beginning in 1949, Canada and the Philippines will mark their 75th year of strong and friendly bilateral relations in 2024.

The national interests of both countries align on many issues, which have resulted in regular collaboration in the multilateral system, such as ASEAN, United Nations, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, and the World Trade Organization. Canada supports efforts by the Philippines to advance inclusive and accountable governance, diversity, human rights, and the rule of law. Our countries work closely to maintain international peace and security. Joint efforts include responding to threats posed by international terrorist groups; discouraging the use of child soldiers by armed groups; combatting human smuggling and instances of online sexual exploitation of children; and improving biosecurity.

Ever-increasing people-to-people links between Canada and the Philippines contribute to the growth of both societies. According to the 2016 census, over 837,000 people of Philippine origin live in Canada, while a growing number of Filipino citizens visit family and friends in Canada, study at Canadian colleges and universities or immigrate to Canada. A significant number of Canadians visit the Philippines each year for tourism, work, and family visits.

Canada’s Embassy in the Philippines is located in Makati City (Metro Manila). We also maintain a consulate in Cebu City.

The Philippines is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa and also maintains three consulates-general in Calgary, Toronto and Vancouver. It has honourary consular offices in Edmonton, Winnipeg, St. John's, Charlottetown and Halifax.

Political and economic overview

The Philippines is a vibrant and developed democracy in Southeast Asia. Consisting of over 7,000 islands, they cover almost 300,000 square kilometres of land and have a population of approximately 109 million. The country is predominantly Christian Catholic with a minority Muslim population and a growing evangelical presence. The official languages of the Philippines are Filipino and English.

The economy of the Philippines is the 37th largest in the world, and is the 3rd largest economy in Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) after Indonesia and Thailand. It enjoys strong economic, democratic, and demographic fundamentals.

Trade relations

In 2021, Canada-Philippines bilateral merchandise trade totalled $2.7 billion, up from $2.1 billion in 2020. Canadian merchandise exports to the Philippines in 2021 amounted to $1.3 billion, up from $899.4 million in 2020. Top exports include meat, mineral ores, wood, cereals, and precious stones and metals. Increased exports of meat and wood played a key factor in the increase in total merchandise exports in 2021. In 2021, Canadian merchandise imports from the Philippines were valued at $1.4 billion, up slightly from $1.2 billion in the previous year. Top imports from the Philippines include electronics, machinery, and scientific and precision instruments. Canada and the Philippines are currently negotiating a free trade agreement in the context of the Canada-ASEAN FTA negotiation.

Canada’s stock in direct investments abroad in the Philippines in 2020 was approximately $2.6 billion.

Related links

Development

Canada and the Philippines share a long-standing partnership in international assistance cooperation. Since 1986, Canada has provided over $1 billion in official development assistance (ODA) to the Philippines averaging $24 million over the last five years (all channels combined). Bilateral funding to the Philippines in the 2021 to 2022 fiscal year was over $15 million.

The Philippines is one of the most dynamic economies in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and is on track to reach upper middle-income status in the next few years. Ongoing challenges to inclusive development include persistent pockets of poverty, food insecurity, a fragile peace in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) and high vulnerability to the impacts of climate change.

As of 2021, approximately a fifth of the population in the Philippines lived under the national poverty line. Poverty rates in the BARMM, although trending downwards in recent years, remain particularly high. Prior to the pandemic, the Philippines had the highest number of food-insecure citizens among South East Asian countries. And, although the Philippines performs above its regional peers in the Global Gender Gap rankings, there has been some recent backsliding and gender inequalities persist including in relation to sexual and reproductive health and rights, and economic and political participation.

In 2022, the Philippines was ranked as the most natural disaster prone country globally (World Risk Index) and this vulnerability is increasing due to climate change. The Philippines counts more than 7,000 islands that extend over 1,850 kilometres, which contain land and marine habitats with some of the richest biodiversity of flora and fauna on Earth. Climate change threatens these habitats and communities with an increased frequency of natural disasters such as devastating typhoons, higher sea levels and temperatures. When combined with a high dependence on climate-sensitive natural resources, climate change places the well-being, livelihoods and food security of millions of Filipinos at significant risk.

The Government of the Philippines has outlined its development vision in key policy documents, including AmBisyon Natin 2040 and the Philippine Development Plan 2017 to 2022. Canada’s bilateral assistance aligns with the development priorities of the Philippines while contributing to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals.

Specifically, Canada’s bilateral assistance focuses on:

Peace, security and inclusive governance

The fragile peace, pockets of instability and nascent institutions in Mindanao’s BARMM impedes the region’s socio-economic development, limits private investment and curbs its capacity to provide basic service delivery. Canada supports the implementation of the peace process in the Bangsamoro through the empowerment of women as community peace mediators and the transition of former combatants to normal livelihoods.

Growth that works for everyone

Poverty, inequality, climate change and natural disasters can be impediments to inclusive economic growth in the Philippines. Canada assists cooperatives, micro, small and medium-sized enterprises, and other stakeholders by helping them increase their productivity, solidify their business skills, access formal financial products and services, and build resilience to climate shocks. Canada also works with partners to protect development gains from the destabilizing effects of climate change, conflict and COVID-19, especially in food security.

Human dignity

Persistent barriers to women and girls’ participation in society prevent them from reaching their full potential. Notably, insufficient access to, and low societal acceptance of, sexual and reproductive health services contribute to the country’s high fertility rate, limiting women and girls’ academic and economic opportunities. Canada supports projects and partners who improve the provision of health services, including sexual and reproductive health, and prevent and respond to sexual and gender-based violence, particularly in light of disruptions caused by COVID-19.

Environment and climate action

High dependence on climate-sensitive resources for its agriculture, fisheries, eco-tourism and other sectors makes the Philippine economy vulnerable to environmental degradation and unsustainable exploitation. Moreover, increasingly variability and frequency of weather events such as typhoons displace thousands every year and incur billions in revenue losses and damages to critical infrastructure, particularly in agriculture. This further threatens resources and livelihoods, and deepens inequalities. Canada supports the Philippines’ innovative climate financing environment by accelerating the flows of public and private capital and technical expertise towards nature-based solutions. 

Canada’s assistance in the Philippines for 2021 to 2022, includes:

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in the Philippines.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and the Philippines work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Philippines

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Les relations diplomatiques entre les deux pays ont débuté en 1949. Le Canada et les Philippines célèbreront 75 ans de relations bilatérales solides et amicales en 2024.

Les intérêts nationaux des deux pays convergent sur de nombreuses questions, ce qui a donné lieu à une collaboration régulière au sein du système multilatéral, comme l’ANASE, les Nations Unies, le Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Le Canada appuie les efforts déployés par les Philippines pour promouvoir une gouvernance inclusive et responsable, la diversité, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit. Les deux pays travaillent en étroite collaboration pour maintenir la paix et la sécurité dans le monde, notamment pour ce qui est de répondre aux menaces posées par les groupes terroristes internationaux, de décourager le recours aux enfants soldats par les groupes armés, de lutter contre la migration clandestine et l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants en ligne et d’améliorer la sûreté biologique.

Les liens de plus en plus étroits entre le Canada et les Philippines contribuent à la croissance des deux pays. Selon le recensement de 2016, plus de 837 000 personnes d’origine philippine vivent au Canada, et un nombre croissant de citoyens des Philippines visitent des membres de leur famille et des amis au Canada, étudient dans des collèges et universités du pays ou immigrent au Canada. Par ailleurs, un nombre important de Canadiens se rendent aux Philippines chaque année à des fins touristiques, pour travailler ou pour visiter de la famille.

L’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines est située à Makati (région métropolitaine de Manille). Le Canada a également un consulat à Cebu.

Les Philippines sont représentées au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa et trois consulats généraux à Calgary, Toronto et Vancouver. Le pays a des bureaux consulaires honoraires à Edmonton, Winnipeg, St. John’s, Charlottetown et Halifax.

Aperçu de la situation politique et économique

Les Philippines sont un pays démocratique établi de l’Asie du Sud-Est. Composées de plus de 7 000 îles, elles couvrent près de 300 000 kilomètres carrés de terres et comptent une population d’environ 109 millions d’habitants. Ceux-ci sont principalement de religion chrétienne catholique. Le pays compte aussi une population musulmane minoritaire, et les évangéliques y sont de plus en plus nombreux. Les langues officielles des Philippines sont le philippin et l’anglais.

L’économie des Philippines est classée 37e au monde et constitue la 3e économie en importance de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) après l’Indonésie et la Thaïlande. Le pays peut compter sur une économie vigoureuse, de solides assises démocratiques et une population en croissance.

Relations commerciales

En 2021 le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et les Philippines s’élevait à 2,7 milliards de dollars, alors qu’il représentait 2,1 milliards de dollars l’année précédente. En 2021, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les Philippines totalisaient 1,3 milliard de dollars, soit une hausse par rapport à 2020, année où elles se chiffraient à 899,4 millions de dollars. Les principales exportations du Canada sont notamment la viande, le minerai, les produits du bois, les céréales et les pierres précieuses et métaux. L’augmentation des exportations de viande et de produits du bois ont joué un rôle clé dans la hausse des exportations totales de marchandises en 2021. Durant cette même année, les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance des Philippines étaient évaluées à 1,4 milliard de dollars, une légère hausse par rapport à l’année précédente, où elles se chiffraient à 1,2 milliard de dollars. Les gains ont été réalisés grâce à l’importation accrue de produits électroniques, de machinerie et d’instruments scientifiques et de précision. Le Canada et les Philippines négocient actuellement un accord de libre-échange dans le contexte des négociations d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’ANASE.

En 2020, les investissements directs du Canada aux Philippines s’élevaient à environ 2,6 milliards de dollars.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada et les Philippines entretiennent depuis longtemps un partenariat en matière de coopération d’aide internationale. Depuis 1986, le Canada a fourni plus d’un milliard de dollars en aide publique au développement (APD) aux Philippines, soit une moyenne de 24 millions de dollars au cours des cinq dernières années (tous canaux confondus). Le financement bilatéral aux Philippines au cours de l’exercice financier 2021 à 2022 s’élevait à plus de 15 millions de dollars.

Les Philippines sont l’une des économies les plus dynamiques de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) et sont en voie de devenir un pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche supérieure dans les prochaines années. Les défis actuels en matière de développement inclusif comprennent des foyers de pauvreté persistants, l’insécurité alimentaire, une paix fragile dans la Région autonome Bangsamoro en Mindanao musulmane (RABMM) et une grande vulnérabilité aux effets des changements climatiques.  

En 2021, environ un cinquième de la population des Philippines vivait sous le seuil de pauvreté national. Les taux de pauvreté dans la RABMM, bien qu’ayant tendance à diminuer ces dernières années, demeurent particulièrement élevés. Avant la pandémie, les Philippines comptaient le plus grand nombre de citoyens souffrant d’insécurité alimentaire parmi les pays d’Asie du Sud-Est. Mais bien que les Philippines obtiennent des résultats supérieurs à ceux des pays semblables de la région dans le classement mondial de l’écart entre les genres, on constate un certain recul récent, et des inégalités entre les gens persistent, notamment en ce qui concerne la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs ainsi que la participation économique et politique.

En 2022, les Philippines venaient au premier rang des pays les plus exposés aux catastrophes naturelles dans le monde (par le World Risk Index), et cette vulnérabilité augmente en raison des changements climatiques. Les Philippines comptent plus de 7 000 îles qui s’étendent sur 1 850 kilomètres et qui contiennent des habitats terrestres et marins dont la biodiversité de la flore et de la faune est parmi les plus riches de la planète. Les changements climatiques menacent ces habitats et ces communautés en raison de la fréquence accrue des catastrophes naturelles, comme les typhons dévastateurs, et de la montée des niveaux de la mer et des températures. Associés à une forte dépendance à l’égard des ressources naturelles sensibles au climat, les changements climatiques font peser un risque important sur le bien-être, les moyens de subsistance et la sécurité alimentaire de millions de Philippins.

Le gouvernement des Philippines a exposé sa vision du développement dans des documents stratégiques clés, notamment AmBisyon Natin 2040 et le Plan de développement des Philippines 2017 à 2022. L’aide bilatérale du Canada s’harmonise avec les priorités de développement des Philippines tout en contribuant à l’atteinte des objectifs de développement durable.  

Plus précisément, l’aide bilatérale du Canada est axée sur les éléments ci-dessous :

Paix, sécurité et gouvernance inclusive

La paix fragile, les zones d’instabilité et les institutions naissantes dans la RABMM entravent le développement socio-économique de la région, limitent les investissements privés et réduisent la capacité de la région à fournir des services de base. Le Canada soutient la mise en œuvre du processus de paix dans la région de Bangsamoro par le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes en tant que médiatrices de paix communautaires et par la transition des anciens combattants vers des moyens de subsistance normaux.

La croissance qui fonctionne pour tous

La pauvreté, les inégalités, les changements climatiques et les catastrophes naturelles peuvent constituer des obstacles à une croissance économique inclusive aux Philippines. Le Canada fournit du soutien aux coopératives, aux micro, petites et moyennes entreprises et à d’autres intervenants en les aidant à accroître leur productivité, à renforcer leurs compétences en affaires, à accéder à des produits et services financiers officiels et à renforcer leur résilience aux chocs climatiques. Le Canada travaille également avec ses partenaires pour protéger les acquis du développement contre les effets déstabilisants des changements climatiques, des conflits et de la COVID‑19, notamment en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

Dignité humaine

Les obstacles persistants à la participation des femmes et des filles à la société les empêchent de réaliser pleinement leur potentiel. Notamment, l’accès insuffisant aux services de santé sexuelle et reproductive, et leur faible acceptation par la société, contribue au taux de fécondité élevé du pays, ce qui limite les possibilités académiques et économiques des femmes et des filles. Le Canada soutient les projets et les partenaires qui améliorent la prestation des services de santé, y compris la santé sexuelle et reproductive, et qui préviennent la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre et luttent contre celle-ci, plus particulièrement dans le contexte des perturbations causées par la COVID‑19.

Environnement et action climatique

La forte dépendance de l’agriculture, de la pêche, de l’écotourisme et d’autres secteurs à l’égard de ressources sensibles au climat rend l’économie philippine vulnérable à la dégradation de l’environnement et à une exploitation non durable. En outre, la variabilité et la fréquence croissantes des phénomènes météorologiques comme les typhons déplacent des milliers de personnes chaque année et entraînent des milliards de dollars de pertes de revenus et de dommages aux infrastructures essentielles, notamment dans le secteur agricole. Cette situation menace davantage les ressources et les moyens de subsistance et creuse les inégalités. Le Canada soutient l’environnement novateur de financement climatique des Philippines en accélérant les flux de capitaux publics et privés et d’expertise technique vers des solutions fondées sur la nature.   

L’aide du Canada aux Philippines pour 2021 à 2022 comprend :

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour connaître le soutien offert par le Canada aux Philippines.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et les Philippines collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: