Language selection

Search

Canada-Vanuatu relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Diplomatic relations were established on 30 July 1980. Like Canada, Vanuatu is a member of the Commonwealth and La Francophonie and has three official languages, which are Bislama, English and French. Canada enjoys a deep and positive relationship with Vanuatu. Bilateral relations are cordial. Canada and Vanuatu share interests with respect to fisheries and are both parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. Canada is also a Dialogue Partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Vanuatu belongs.

Vanuatu’s new 15-year development plan called Vanuatu 2030 – The People’s Plan, was launched in January 2017 and focuses on social, environmental and economic goals. Many of these goals are in line with Canada’s international assistance priorities, including climate change resilience and the empowerment of women.

In Vanuatu, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada to Australia, in Canberra. Vanuatu is represented in Canada by a permanent mission to the United Nations in New York, U.S.A.

Trade relations

Canada's trade relations with Vanuatu are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service at the High Commission of Canada to Australia, in Canberra.

Related links

Development

Canada’s development assistance supports community-based projects in Vanuatu through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives and administered by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Canada also provides long-term institutional support to multilateral and global organizations that are present in the Pacific.

Canada is a donor for the Global Environment Facility that has approved US $15 million for projects in Vanuatu to support initiatives of climate adaptation and resilience.

Through UN Women, Canada is providing $3.5 million to implement the Pacific Islands Markets for Change Project which supports female merchants in rural and urban markets in Vanuatu by ensuring that markets provide safe, inclusive and non-discriminatory environments.

Canada is contributing $1.5 million to the Pacific Catastrophe Risk Assessment and Financing Initiative, which provides Vanuatu with disaster risk assessment and financing tools, including sovereign risk insurance.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Vanuatu work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Vanuatu

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Les relations diplomatiques avec ce pays ont été établies le 30 juillet 1980. Tout comme le Canada, Vanuatu est membre du Commonwealth et de la Francophonie. Il compte trois langues officielles, soit le bislama, l’anglais et le français. La relation entre le Canada et Vanuatu est profonde et positive. Les relations bilatérales sont cordiales. Les deux pays ont des intérêts communs liés à la pêche et ont signé la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer. Le Canada est également partenaire de dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique duquel est membre Vanuatu.

En janvier 2017, Vanuatu a lancé son nouveau plan de développement sur 15 ans (Vanuatu 2030 – The People’s Plan) dont les grands objectifs sont sociaux, environnementaux et économiques. Bon nombre des objectifs correspondent aux priorités du Canada en matière d’aide internationale, notamment la résilience aux changements climatiques et l’autonomisation des femmes.

À Vanuatu, le Canada est représenté par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie à Canberra. Vanuatu est représenté une mission permanente auprès des Nations Unies à New York, aux États-Unis.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et Vanuatu sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux du Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie, à Canberra.

Liens connexes

Développement

L’aide au développement du Canada soutient des projets communautaires à Vanuatu par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales géré par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Le Canada fournit également un appui institutionnel à long terme aux organismes multilatéraux et internationaux présents dans le Pacifique.

Le Canada est un des donateurs du Fonds pour l’environnement mondial qui a approuvé l’octroi de 15 millions de dollars américains pour des projets à Vanuatu appuyant des initiatives d’adaptation au climat et de résilience aux changements climatiques.

Par l’intermédiaire d’ONU Femmes, le Canada accorde 3,5 millions de dollars pour la mise en œuvre du projet Markets for Change dans les îles du Pacifique. Ce projet appuie les commerçantes des marchés ruraux et urbains de Vanuatu en veillant à ce que les marchés offrent des environnements sécuritaires, inclusifs et non discriminatoires.

Le Canada donne 1,5 million de dollars à l’initiative Pacific Catastrophe Risk Assessment and Financing qui sert à évaluer le risque de catastrophe à Vanuatu et offre des outils de financement connexe, notamment une assurance pour risque de catastrophe.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Vanuatu collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: