Language selection

Search

Canada-Vietnam relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Vietnam in 1973, opening an Embassy in Hanoi in 1994 and a Consulate General in Ho Chi Minh City in 1995. Our countries will celebrate the 50th anniversary of diplomatic ties in 2023. In 2017, a Canada-Vietnam Comprehensive Partnership was formally announced by both countries. The partnership identifies a number of areas for cooperation; namely: political and diplomatic; trade and investment; development cooperation; defence and security; cultural and academic exchange; science, technology and innovation; and people-to-people ties.

In Vietnam, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Hanoi. Canada is also represented by a Consulate General in Ho Chi Minh City. In Canada, Vietnam is represented by the Embassy of Vietnam and a Trade Office in Ottawa, and a Consulate General in Vancouver.

Trade relations

Vietnam has been Canada’s largest trading partner in the ASEAN region since 2015. In 2021, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Vietnam totaled $10.5 billion, up from $8.9 billion in 2020, comprised mainly of imports from Vietnam (approximately 92% of the total). Canada’s merchandise exports to Vietnam in 2021 was valued at approximately $655 million down from $738 million in 2020.

The priority areas in Vietnam for Canadian commercial interests are agriculture and agri-food, education, information and communication technologies, clean technology, aerospace, and life sciences.

Canada-Vietnam Joint Economic Committee (JEC)

Canada is committed to pursuing new opportunities to deepen trade and economic cooperation with Vietnam. During Prime Minister Trudeau’s visit to Vietnam in November 2017, the Canada-Vietnam Comprehensive Partnership was established by both Prime Ministers.

The Comprehensive Partnership encompasses diplomatic and political issues, trade and investment, development cooperation, defence and security, cultural and academic exchange, science and technology, and people-to-people ties.

On January 10, 2022, Canada and Vietnam established the Canada-Vietnam Joint Economic Committee (JEC). The JEC was signed by Mrs. Sara Wilshaw, Acting Deputy Minister of International Trade at Global Affairs Canada, and Mr. Do Thang Hai, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. The signing was witnessed by the Honourable Mary Ng, Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development and His Excellency Nguyễn Hồng Diên, Minister of Industry of Trade of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

The Canada-Vietnam Joint Economic Committee (JEC) is a non-legally binding mechanism dedicated to advancing trade and economic cooperation between Canada and Vietnam. This mechanism, to be co-chaired at the Deputy Minister level, will provide an ongoing opportunity to discuss current and emerging trade and commercial issues. The JEC is a key contribution to stronger economic and trade ties between Canada and Vietnam, as part of the Comprehensive Partnership.

Vietnam has been a CPTPP partner since January 2019 and is a strategic economic partner that plays an important role in advancing Canada’s trade diversification efforts in the region.

Related links

Development

Canada has been a trusted partner in Vietnam’s development for more than 30 years. Since 1990, Canada has contributed approximately $1.7 billion in international assistance to support Vietnam’s development and poverty reduction efforts, closely aligned to Vietnam’s strategic priorities. Canada and Vietnam’s strong partnership on development cooperation has produced positive results on poverty reduction and inclusive economic growth, and strengthened people-to-people links.

Canada’s development objective in Vietnam is to reduce poverty and inequality by supporting growth that works for everyone, and gender equality and women’s economic empowerment. Through our work, we are supporting more inclusive policy and legislative development, entrepreneurship and small and medium sized enterprises, agricultural value chain development, and greater access to gender-responsive financial and business development services.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Vietnam work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Vietnam

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Vietnam en 1973. Il a ouvert une ambassade à Hanoi en 1994 et un consulat général à Ho Chi Minh Ville en 1995. En 2023, nos deux pays célébreront 50 années de relations diplomatiques. En 2017, ils ont officiellement annoncé un partenariat global Canada-Vietnam qui définit un certain nombre de domaines de coopération, à savoir : politique et diplomatie, commerce et investissements, coopération pour le développement, défense et sécurité, échanges culturels et universitaires, sciences, technologies et innovation, ainsi que relations interpersonnelles.

Au Vietnam, le Canada est représenté par son ambassade à Hanoi et par un consulat général à Ho Chi Minh Ville. Au Canada, le Vietnam est représenté par son ambassade et par un bureau commercial à Ottawa, ainsi que par un consulat général à Vancouver.

Relations commerciales

Le Vietnam est le principal partenaire commercial du Canada dans la région de l’ANASE depuis 2015. En 2021, le commerce bilatéral des marchandises entre le Canada et le Vietnam s’est chiffré à 10,5 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente une hausse par rapport à 2020 (8,9 milliards de dollars) ; il s’agissait principalement d’importations en provenance du Vietnam (environ 92 % du total). En 2021, les exportations de marchandises du Canada vers le Vietnam se montaient à environ 655 millions de dollars, soit une baisse par rapport à 2020 (738 millions de dollars).

Les intérêts commerciaux du Canada à prioriser au Vietnam sont les suivants : l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire, l’éducation, les technologies de l’information et des communications, les technologies propres, l’aérospatiale et les sciences de la vie.

Comité économique mixte Canada-Vietnam

Le Canada est déterminé à saisir de nouvelles possibilités d’intensifier la coopération commerciale et économique avec le Vietnam. Lors de la visite du premier ministre Trudeau au Vietnam en novembre 2017, le partenariat global Canada-Vietnam a été établi par les deux premiers ministres.

Ce partenariat global concerne des questions diplomatiques et politiques comme le commerce et l’investissement, la coopération en matière de développement, la défense et la sécurité, les échanges interculturels et universitaires, la science et la technologie, ainsi que les liens entre les peuples.

Le 10 janvier 2022, le Canada et le Vietnam ont mis en place le Comité économique mixte (CEM) Canada-Vietnam. L’entente liée au CEM a été signée par Mme Sara Wilshaw, sous-ministre du Commerce international par intérim à Affaires mondiales Canada, et M. Do Thang Hai, sous-ministre de l’Industrie et du Commerce de la République socialiste du Vietnam. L’honorable Mary Ng, ministre du Commerce international, de la Promotion des exportations, de la Petite Entreprise et du Développement économique, et M. Nguyen Hong Dien, ministre de l’Industrie et du Commerce de la République socialiste du Vietnam, ont assisté à la signature.

Le CEM Canada-Vietnam est un mécanisme juridiquement non contraignant conçu pour promouvoir le commerce et la coopération économique entre le Canada et le Vietnam. Il sera coprésidé au niveau des sous-ministres et offrira une possibilité permanente de discuter d’enjeux commerciaux actuels et nouveaux. Dans le cadre de l’accord de partenariat global entre les deux pays, le CEM constitue une importante contribution au renforcement des liens économiques et commerciaux entre le Canada et le Vietnam.

Membre du PTPGP depuis janvier 2019, le Vietnam est un partenaire économique stratégique qui joue un rôle important dans le renforcement des efforts de diversification du commerce du Canada dans la région.

Liens connexes

Développement

Depuis plus de trente ans, le Canada est un partenaire de confiance pour le développement du Vietnam. Depuis 1990, le Canada a versé une aide internationale d’environ 1,7 milliard de dollars au Vietnam pour appuyer son développement et ses efforts de réduction de la pauvreté, en s’alignant étroitement sur les priorités stratégiques du pays. Le solide partenariat établi entre le Canada et le Vietnam sur le plan de la coopération en matière de développement a eu une incidence positive sur la réduction de la pauvreté et la croissance économique inclusive, en plus d’avoir renforcé les liens entre les peuples.

Les objectifs du Canada en matière de développement au Vietnam sont de réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités en appuyant une croissance qui profite à tous, de soutenir l’égalité des genres et de renforcer le pouvoir économique des femmes. Grâce à notre travail, nous défendons l’élaboration de politiques et de lois plus inclusives, l’entrepreneuriat et les petites et moyennes entreprises, le développement de la chaîne de valeur agricole et un accès accru à des services financiers et d’aide au développement favorisant l’égalité des genres.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Vietnam collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: