Trade and gender in free trade agreements: The Canadian approach

Gender equality and the avoidance of discrimination based on gender has been one of the priorities pursued by Canada during trade negotiations in the past, notably through language regarding the elimination of employment discrimination in labour cooperation agreements and labour chapters in free trade agreements (FTAs). 

More recently, Canada has sought to mainstream gender considerations throughout its FTAs. As the Office of the Special Advisor on Gender to the United Nations puts it, “[Gender] [m]ainstreaming is not an end in itself but a strategy, an approach, a means to achieve the goal of gender equality. Mainstreaming involves ensuring that gender perspectives and attention to the goal of gender equality are central to all activities,” including activities associated with the development, implementation and monitoring of government policies, programs and projects.

In the context of FTAs, the Government of Canada is currently applying a two-pronged approach to trade and gender by:

1) working to include a standalone chapter on trade and gender.

2) mainstreaming gender by including other gender-related provisions throughout FTAs

Dedicated trade and gender chapters

On June 5, 2017, the Government of Canada broke new ground when the Minister of International Trade signed Canada’s first trade and gender chapter as a part of the modernized Canada-Chile FTA. This new chapter, which builds upon the chapter on gender in the 2016 Chile-Uruguay FTA, is a first in terms of Canadian FTAs and a first for any G20 country.

Since then, Canada has gone on to include a dedicated trade and gender chapter in its modernized Canada-Israel FTA, along with other inclusive trade elements, such as a dedicated article on corporate social responsibility and new chapters on labour, the environment and SMEs.

Going forward, ensuring that FTAs include trade and gender chapters is a priority for the Government of Canada.

Objectives of trade and gender chapters in Canada’s free trade agreements

Existing trade and gender chapters in the modernized Canada-Chile FTA and the modernized Canada-Israel FTA include four key objectives.

1. Reaffirm importance of incorporating a gender perspective into economic and trade issues

2. Reaffirm commitment to international agreements on gender equality and women’s rights

This includes reaffirming our commitment to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, which was the first major international agreement addressing the rights of women.

3. Provide a framework for parties to the agreement to undertake cooperation activities on issues related to gender and trade

Central to Canada’s approach to its trade and gender chapters is providing a platform for Canada and its FTA partners to engage in bilateral cooperation activities. These activities are aimed at improving the capacity and conditions for women—including workers, businesswomen and entrepreneurs—to access and fully benefit from the opportunities created by trade and investment. These activities are designed to be as inclusive as possible and include provisions to involve public- and private-sector stakeholders, such as government agencies, businesses and other civil society organizations.

4. Establish a dedicated trade and gender committee and other institutional provisions

The objective of the trade and gender committee, to be composed of officials from each party to the agreement, is to perform functions related to accountability, transparency, advisory, coordination and facilitation. The committee ensures transparency by reporting on its activities and outcomes achieved. The committee also performs an advisory function by reviewing the operation of the chapter and advising the governments on opportunities to further advance gender equality objectives and outcomes throughout the FTA.

Mainstreaming gender by including gender-related provisions throughout a free trade agreement

A dedicated trade and gender chapter is only one of many ways used by Canada in seeking to promote access for women to trade, and to advance gender equality and other gender-related objectives in its FTAs.

Outside of a dedicated chapter, Canada believes there are other opportunities to mainstream gender-responsive elements throughout a trade agreement. These can include: 

Gender provisions and chapters in Canada’s current FTAs

Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA)

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA)

Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

World Trade Organization (WTO)

Date Modified:

Le commerce et le genre dans les accords de libre‑échange : l’approche canadienne

L’égalité des genres et la lutte contre la discrimination fondée sur le genre ont été deux priorités imposées par le Canada lors des négociations commerciales dans le passé, notamment en incluant des formulations relatives à l’élimination de la discrimination en matière d’emploi dans les accords de coopération dans le domaine du travail et dans les chapitres sur le travail des accords de libre-échange

Plus récemment, le Canada s’est efforcé d’intégrer des facteurs à prendre en considération en matière d’égalité des genres dans tous ses ALE. Comme l’a mentionné le Bureau de la conseillère spéciale pour la parité entre les sexes et la promotion de la femme des Nations Unies, « le fait d’intégrer ces considérations n’est pas une fin en soi, mais une stratégie, une approche, un moyen d’atteindre l’objectif de l’égalité des genres. L’intégration consiste à faire en sorte que les perspectives sexospécifiques et l’attention portée à l’objectif de l’égalité des genres soient au cœur de toutes les activités » associées à l’élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et au suivi des politiques, des programmes et des projets gouvernementaux.

Dans le contexte des accords de libre-échange, le gouvernement du Canada applique actuellement une approche à deux volets au commerce et au genre  :

1) Travailler à l’inclusion d’un chapitre autonome sur le commerce et le genre.

2) Intégrer la question de l’égalité des genres en introduisant d’autres dispositions relatives au genre dans l’ensemble des ALE .

Chapitres consacrés au commerce et au genre

Le 5 juin 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a fait œuvre de pionnier lorsque le ministre du Commerce international a signé le premier chapitre du Canada sur le commerce et le genre dans le cadre de l’ALE modernisé entre le Canada et le Chili. Ce nouveau texte, qui prend comme point de départ le chapitre sur le genre de l’ALE entre le Chili et l’Uruguay de 2016, est une première dans le cadre des ALE canadiens et une première à l’échelle du G20.

Depuis, le Canada a inclus un chapitre consacré au commerce et au genre dans son ALE modernisé entre le Canada et Israël, ainsi que d’autres éléments du commerce inclusif , comme un article consacré à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et de nouveaux chapitres sur le travail, l’environnement et les PME .

À l’avenir, faire en sorte que les ALE comprennent des chapitres sur le commerce et le genre est une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada.

Objectifs des chapitres sur le commerce et le genre dans les ALE du Canada

Les chapitres sur le commerce et le genre de l’ALE modernisé entre le Canada et le Chili et de l’ALE modernisé entre le Canada et Israël comprennent quatre objectifs clés  :

1. Réaffirmer l’importance de tenir compte de l’égalité des genres dans les questions économiques et commerciales.

2. Réaffirmer l’engagement envers les accords internationaux sur l’égalité des genres et les droits des femmes.

Il s’agit notamment de réaffirmer notre engagement envers la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes, qui a été le premier grand accord international portant sur les droits des femmes.

3. Fournir un cadre permettant aux parties à l’accord d’entreprendre des activités de coopération sur des questions liées au commerce et au genre.

L’approche du Canada à l’égard de ses chapitres sur le commerce et le genre est centrée sur une plateforme permettant au Canada et à ses partenaires de l’ALE de s’engager dans des activités de coopération bilatérale. Ces activités visent à améliorer la capacité et les conditions des femmes, y compris les travailleuses, les femmes d’affaires et les entrepreneures, pour qu’elles puissent accéder aux possibilités créées par le commerce et l’investissement et en tirer pleinement parti. Ces activités sont conçues pour être aussi inclusives que possible et comprennent des dispositions visant à faire participer les intervenants des secteurs public et privé, comme les organismes gouvernementaux, les entreprises et d’autres organisations de la société civile.

4. Créer un comité consacré au commerce et au genre et d’autres dispositions institutionnelles

L’objectif du comité sur le commerce et le genre, qui doit être composé de représentants de chaque partie à l’accord, est d’exercer des fonctions liées à la responsabilité, à la transparence, à la consultation, à la coordination et à la facilitation. Le comité assure la transparence en rendant compte régulièrement des activités du comité et des résultats obtenus. Le comité exerce une fonction consultative en examinant le fonctionnement du chapitre et en conseillant les gouvernements sur les possibilités de faire progresser davantage les objectifs et les résultats en matière d’égalité des genres dans l’ensemble de l’ALE.

Intégrer l’égalité des genres en incluant des dispositions relatives au genre dans l’ensemble d’un ALE

Un chapitre consacré au commerce et au genre n’est qu’un des nombreux moyens utilisés par le Canada pour promouvoir l’accès au commerce pour les femmes, et faire progresser l’égalité des genres et les autres objectifs liés à l’égalité des genres dans ses ALE.

En dehors d’un chapitre consacré au commerce et au genre, le Canada croit qu’il existe d’autres possibilités d’intégrer des éléments tenant compte des différences entre les genres dans un accord commercial. Voici quelques exemples :

Dispositions et chapitres concernant l’égalité des genres dans les ALE actuels du Canada

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Accord économique et commercial global (AECG)

Organisation mondiale du commerce

Date de modification: