Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Softwood Lumber

Softwood Lumber Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America - 2006

Fact Sheet: Softwood Lumber Agreement Arbitration Process - Provincial Programs Arbitration

Canada's position

Since its implementation in October 2006, the Softwood Lumber Agreement (SLA) has worked well, providing certainty for industry and returning approximately CDN$ 5 billion in duties to Canadian softwood lumber producers. As differences are bound to occur in the implementation of complex international agreements such as the SLA, an international arbitration process was built into the Agreement to resolve these differences.

In the spring of 2007, Canada and the United States held consultations on provincial measures administered by the governments of Ontario and Quebec. Canada maintains that these measures are in full compliance with the SLA.

On January 18, 2008, the U.S. government filed an arbitration request with the London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA), an internationally respected forum under which all SLA arbitrations will take place. On February 18, 2008, Canada filed a Response to the Request for Arbitration. On December 23, 2008 the U.S. government filed its Statement of Case and on February 27, 2009 Canada filed its Statement of Defence. The United States filed its Reply Memorial on April 3, 2009 and Canada filed its Rejoinder, the last major written submission before the hearing, on May 15, 2009. The final hearing in this arbitration is scheduled for July 20-24, 2009 in Ottawa.

This is the second request for arbitration under the SLA. An August 13, 2007 request for arbitration by the United States covered Canada's interpretation of a technical provision of the SLA – the “adjustment factor”. The measures at issue in both requests were the subject of consultations between Canada and the United States on April 19, 2007.

Process

  • The arbitration process is initiated when either Canada or the United States files an official request for arbitration with the LCIA.

  • The SLA also requires that hearings be held in Canada or in the United States, and be open to the public. The venue is chosen by the tribunal.

  • The SLA calls for the tribunal to endeavour to issue a decision within six months of formation of the tribunal.

  • The SLA provides that decisions of a tribunal are binding on Canada and the United States.

Arbitration Panel

  • On February 18, 2008, Canada nominated Albert Jan van den Berg as arbitrator. Mr. van den Berg, a Dutch lawyer practicing in Brussels, specializes in international arbitration. He is also a professor at law and has extensive experience as an arbitrator on various matters. For its part, the United States nominated David A. R. Williams.

  • The two arbitrators named Dr. Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler as tribunal chairperson. Dr. Kaufmann-Kohler is an accomplished Swiss law professor at the University of Geneva who has extensive experience in international arbitration.

Return to the Softwood Lumber main page

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bois d'oeuvre résineux

Accord sur le bois d'œuvre résineux entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États Unis - 2006

Fiche de renseignements : Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux - Arbitrage visant certains programmes provinciaux

Position du Canada

Depuis sa mise en œuvre en octobre 2006, l'Accord sur le bois d'œuvre résineux (l'Accord) a bien fonctionné : il a procuré davantage de certitude à l'industrie et a permis aux producteurs canadiens de récupérer environ 5 milliards de dollars en droits versés. Cependant, comme il est inévitable que des divergences se manifestent au cours de l'application d'accords internationaux complexes comme l'Accord sur le bois d'œuvre résineux, ce dernier prévoit un processus d'arbitrage international pour régler tout différend.

Au printemps 2007, le Canada et les États-Unis ont tenu des consultations sur des mesures provinciales gérées par les gouvernements des provinces de l'Ontario et du Québec. Le Canada soutient que les mesures en question sont en tous points conformes à l'Accord.

Le 18 janvier 2008, le gouvernement américain a déposé une demande d'arbitrage auprès de la Cour d'arbitrage international de Londres (LCIA) - En anglais seulement. Ce tribunal, qui jouit d'une renommée internationale, sera saisi de toutes les affaires d'arbitrage découlant de l'Accord. Le 18 février 2008, le Canada a déposé sa réponse face à la demande d'arbitrage des États-Unis. Le 23 decembre, les États-Unis a déposé leurs conclusions écrites et le 27 février Canada a déposés on exposé de la défense en réponse.  Les Etats-Unisadéposéson mémorial de réponse le 3 avril 2009 et le Canada a déposésa réplique, la dernière soumission écrite principale avant l'audition, le 15 mai 2009. L'audition finale dans cet arbitrage est programmée pour les 20-24 juillet 2009 à Ottawa. 

Il s'agit de la deuxième demande d'arbitrage présentée en vertu de l'Accord. La première, déposée le 13 août 2007 par les États-Unis, portait sur l'interprétation par le Canada d'une disposition technique de l'Accord, soit le facteur d'ajustement. Les mesures en cause dans ces deux demandes ont fait l'objet de consultations entre le Canada et les États-Unis le 19 avril 2007.

Processus

  • Le processus d'arbitrage s'amorce par le dépôt officiel d'une demande d'arbitrage auprès de la LCIA par le Canada ou les États-Unis.

  • L'Accord prévoit également que des audiences doivent se tenir au Canada ou aux États-Unis et que celles-ci doivent être ouvertes au public. Le tribunal sera chargé de déterminer le lieu où celles-ci se tiendront.

  • Aux termes de l'Accord, le tribunal doit s'efforcer de rendre une décision dans les six mois suivant la formation du tribunal d'arbitrage.

  • Conformément à l'Accord, les décisions du tribunal ont force exécutoire pour le Canada et les États-Unis.

Groupe d'arbitrage

  • Le 18 février 2008, le Canada a nommé M. Albert Jan van den Berg, à titre d'arbitre. M. van den Berg, un avocat néerlandais qui pratique le droit à Bruxelles, est spécialisé dans le domaine de l'arbitrage international. Il est également professeur de droit et il dispose d'une vaste expérience à titre d'arbitre dans divers dossiers. De leur côté, les États-Unis ont nommé M. David A.R. Williams.

  • Les deux arbitres ont nommé Mme Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler présidente du groupe d'arbitrage. Professeure de droit réputé suisse de l'Université de Genève, Mme Kaufmann-Kohler dispose d'une vaste expérience en arbitrage international.

Retourner à la page principale du bois d'oeuvre résineux