Softwood Lumber

The softwood lumber industry is an important sector in the Canadian economy, supporting thousands of jobs in communities across Canada and creating many positive spin-off effects in related industries and services. Canada's modern, efficient, environmentally sustainable lumber companies have the potential to serve markets at home and around the world.

In the United States, where demand for lumber exceeds what domestic mills can supply, housing and other industries rely on Canada for stable, predictable access to quality products. The 2006 Softwood Lumber Agreement (SLA), which provided stability and predictability for industry on both sides of the border, expired on October 12, 2015.

Canada and the United States continue to pursue a negotiated outcome to this important bilateral issue. The Government is also meeting on a regular basis with industry, provinces and territories, and other stakeholders.

Softwood Lumber Dispute

The Canada-U.S. softwood lumber dispute has become one of the most enduring trade disputes between both nations. Over the past 25 years, the United States lumber industry has frequently sought U.S. government restrictions on Canadian softwood lumber imports through the application of U.S. countervailing duty and antidumping laws – laws that allow the imposition of import duties when a U.S. industry is allegedly harmed by subsidies in the exporting country (countervailing duties), or by dumping, which is when a U.S. industry is allegedly harmed by imported products sold at prices that are lower than the cost of production or lower than prices in the domestic market (anti-dumping duties).

Recent Developments

  • 28-04-2017 United States Department of Commerce preliminary countervailing duties take effect

    The United States Department of Commerce published its preliminary countervailing duty determination in the U.S. Federal Register on April 28, 2017.

    As of 12:00 a.m. on April 28, 2017, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection will collect cash deposits equivalent to the applicable preliminary countervailing duty rate for all softwood lumber products captured within the scope of the U.S. investigations upon importation into the United States, as outlined in the preliminary determination published in the U.S. Federal Register.

    The U.S. Tariff Act provides that preliminary countervailing duties cannot be in place for more than 120 calendar days. Preliminary countervailing duties will therefore be collected by the U.S. Customs and Border Protection as of 12:00 a.m. on April 28, 2017, through 11:59 p.m. on August 26, 2017. Final countervailing and anti-dumping duty rates would be set once the U.S. International Trade Commission publishes final affirmative injury determinations, following final affirmative duty determinations by the U.S. Department of Commerce.  This is expected to occur at the end of 2017 or early 2018. There will therefore likely be a “gap period” between the end of the collection of preliminary countervailing duties and the beginning of the collection of any final duties imposed by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

    Retroactive application of preliminary countervailing duties

    The U.S. Department of Commerce has determined that preliminary countervailing duties will be applied retroactively for all companies except Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills Ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd., and Resolute Forest Products Canada Inc. Retroactive duties will be in force for the 90 days preceding the publication of the preliminary determination in the U.S. Federal Register.

    As a result of this determination, retroactive countervailing duties will apply to all imports of softwood lumber products captured within the scope of the U.S. investigations from 12:00 a.m. on January 28, 2017, through 11:59 p.m. on April 27, 2017.

    The applicable rates for such retroactive preliminary countervailing duties are:

    • 3.02% for J.D.Irving Ltd;
    • 19.88% for all other companies (except Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills Ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd., and Resolute Canada)
  • 25-04-2017 - Decision Memorandum for the preliminary determination related to scope

    The Decision Memorandum for the preliminary determination that was released by the U.S. Department of Commerce on April 25, 2017, confirms that the U.S. Department of Commerce has not made any changes to the scope of the countervailing and anti-dumping duty investigations at this time.  The scope remains the same as that indicated in the Notice of Initiation issued on December 15, 2016. Despite support from the U.S. Lumber Coalition (the Petitioner) to exclude certain products from the scope of the investigations, the U.S. Department of Commerce has decided to defer any decisions to narrow the scope until a later date, anticipated at the final countervailing and anti-dumping duty determinations.  Therefore, all products in scope are subject preliminary duties pending any U.S. Department of Commerce decision to exclude products from the scope of the investigations.  In the event that the U.S. Department of Commerce does exclude products from the scope of the investigations, cash deposits on excluded products will be refunded (although exactly when that will occur depends largely on when the U.S. Department of Commerce directs U.S. Customs and Border Protection to issue refunds). 

    The U.S. Department of Commerce has invited interested parties to provide comments on scope exclusions currently under its consideration within 7 days of the publication of the preliminary countervailing duty determination in the U.S. Federal Register. Publication in the U.S. Federal Register is expected to occur on April 28, 2017.  

    Canada does not provide advice to exporters on U.S. Customs and Border Protection classifications. However, it should be noted that the investigations will not change the existing U.S. HTSUS codes. The U.S. Department of Commerce will publish a notice in the U.S. Federal Register and issue instructions to U.S. Customs. The notice and instructions will contain a scope definition in a format similar to what was contained in the notice of initiation issued by the U.S. Department of Commerce on December 15, 2016. U.S. Customs and Border Protection is supposed to adhere to the written scope definitions, with the HTSUS codes provided for information purposes only.  Although the HTSUS subheadings are provided for convenience and customs purposes, the written description of the scope of the investigations is dispositive.

  • 25-04-2017 Company exclusions process – decision memo of United States Department of Commerce

    Early in the countervailing duty investigation on softwood lumber from Canada, the Government of Canada submitted a proposal to the United States Department of Commerce requesting that Commerce consider a company exclusions process which would allow companies that receive no countervailable subsidies, or that receive only de minimis (less than one percent ad valorem) countervailable subsidies to be excluded from the current US countervailing duties investigation. 

    In a decision memo released at the same time as its preliminary countervailing duty determination, the U.S. Department of Commerce has decided that it lacks the authority to conduct a company exclusions process in a company specific countervailing duty investigation.  In their April 25th decision memo on company exclusions, the U.S. Department of Commerce indicated that while their regulations specifically provide for company exclusions in an aggregate case, their regulations do not specifically provide for company exclusions in the company-specific countervailing duty investigation they are conducting.

    The Department took this position despite the fact that the U.S. Lumber Coalition (the petitioner) had filed a written submission to the U.S. Department of Commerce which indicated that a limited company exclusions process would be appropriate in this case. 

    The Government of Canada will have another opportunity in its case brief to provide comments as to why the U.S. Department of Commerce should consider a company exclusions process. As per the current U.S. regulations, case briefs are due seven days after the final day of verifications by the U.S. Department of Commerce.  Verifications are currently scheduled to be completed in late June 2017. 

    Outside of the company exclusions process, companies have the option to seek an exclusion in the context of an expedited review, which is provided for under the current U.S. regulations. If, in the context of an expedited review, companies successfully demonstrate to the U.S. Department of Commerce that they received zero or de minimis subsidies during calendar year 2015 they would be excluded from any countervailing duty order.  The expedited review process begins at the conclusion of the countervailing duty investigation -- companies interested in participating in this process must request an expedited review within 30 days of the date of publication in the U.S. Federal Register of any countervailing duty order, expected at the end of 2017 or early 2018.   Should companies choose to submit a request to the U.S. Department of Commerce for an expedited review, it is recommended that they retain U.S. counsel that specializes in trade remedy law.

  • 24-04-2017 - Joint Statement of Minister Freeland and Minister Carr in response to United States Department of Commerce countervailing duty preliminary determination

    Minister Freeland and Minister Carr issued a joint statement in response to these determinations by the United States Department of Commerce.

  • 24-04-2017 – United States Department of Commerce issues preliminary determination in countervailing duty investigation into imports of certain Canadian softwood lumber products

    The United States Department of Commerce issued its preliminary determination in its countervailing duty investigation into imports of certain softwood lumber products from Canada. The United States Department of Commerce found that Canadian softwood lumber imports into the United States were subsidised and calculated company specific-rates for the four mandatory respondents and one voluntary respondent as follows:

    • Canfor Corporation: 20.26%
    • Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd.: 19.5%
    • West Fraser Mills Ltd.: 24.12%
    • Resolute Forest Products Canada Inc.: 12.82%
    • J.D. Irving Ltd.: 3.02%

    For all other companies, the U.S. Department of Commerce has calculated an “all others” countervailing duty rate of 19.88%.

    Duties will come into effect upon publication in the U.S. Federal Register.

  • 24-04-2017 – United States Department of Commerce issues its preliminary determination of critical circumstances

    The United States Department of Commerce made an affirmative preliminary critical circumstances determination, concluding that there has been a surge of importations (known as “massive importations”) into the United States of Canadian softwood lumber products exported by J.D. Irving Ltd and all other Canadian softwood lumber companies with the exception of the four mandatory respondents (Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills Ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd., and Resolute FP Canada Inc.) 

    As a result of this determination, the U.S. Department of Commerce has indicated it will instruct U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) to apply countervailing and anti-dumping duties retroactively to 90 days prior to the publication of both the anti-dumping and countervailing preliminary determinations in the U.S. Federal Register.

  • 13-01-2017 – The U.S. International Trade Commission’s preliminary finding of material injury caused by Canadian softwood lumber products

    On January 13, 2017, the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC) published its preliminarily determination that the U.S. industry is materially injured by virtue of imports of Canadian softwood lumber products. This decision means that the U.S. Department of Commerce will continue its anti-dumping (AD) and countervailing duty (CVD) investigations into Canadian softwood lumber products. If the U.S. Department of Commerce makes affirmative preliminary determinations, preliminary AD and CVD duties would be applicable at that time.

    The U.S. Department of Commerce also confirmed it will proceed with a company-specific CVD investigation and identified that its mandatory respondents are West Fraser, Tolko, Canfor and Resolute Forest Products.

  • 23-12-2016 – For the purposes of the Softwood Lumber Export Permit Monitoring Program use of the HS 2017 changes will be delayed until January 1st, 2018

    With the imminent adoption by Canada of the World Customs Organization 2017 Harmonized System (HS 2017) nomenclature on January 1st, 2017, coupled with the United States’ delayed adoption of HS 2017 changes for Chapter 44 (Wood and articles of wood; wood charcoal) until January 1st, 2018 - the Softwood Lumber Division of Global Affairs Canada would like to inform you of the following:

    For the purposes of the Softwood Lumber Export Permit Monitoring Program, the implementation of HS 2017 changes will be delayed until January 1st, 2018. When applying for an export permit, Exporters and Brokers of Softwood Lumber Products should continue to use the Canadian tariff classifications set out in Annex 1B of the Softwood Lumber Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America, signed on September 12, 2006, as it read on October 12, 2015.

    A Notice will be published in the fall of 2017 announcing the implementation of HS 2017 changes as of January 1st, 2018.

    For further information please contact:

    Sylvain Emond
    Softwood Lumber Division
    343-203-3723
    Sylvain.emond@international.gc.ca

  • 28-11-2016 – Petition to United States Government to Launch Investigation into Imports of Certain Canadian Softwood Lumber Products

    On November 25, 2016, the Committee Overseeing Action for Lumber International Trade Investigations or Negotiations filed petitions with the United States Department of Commerce and the U.S. International Trade Commission, requesting the initiation of countervailing, anti-dumping and injury investigations into imports of certain softwood lumber products from Canada.

  • 19-10-2016 – Possible Company Exclusions Process Regarding a Potential United States Investigation Into Imports of Certain Softwood Lumber Products from Canada

    In anticipation of a possible investigation by the United States into imports of certain softwood lumber products from Canada, the Government of Canada has developed an e-portal. The e-portal will assist companies to apply to be considered for exclusion from any countervailing duties that could result from this investigation. The e-portal will initially allow Canadian companies to: a) create their profiles and b) access the current version of the Company Exclusions package, which will be updated following initiation of an investigation by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Note that the e-portal will only enable companies to apply following initiation by the United States. Please note also that the United States has not agreed to undertake such an exclusions process and is under no obligation to do so.

    All information regarding eligibility for the company exclusions process will be available exclusively through the e-portal. For those that register, the e-portal administrators will email to advise of any changes to the Company Exclusions package. For further information, please see Notice to Exporters Serial 200.

    Questions regarding the company exclusions process can be directed to:

    Telephone: 1 800 438-9092
    Email: info@companyexclusions.ca
    E-portal web address: www.companyexclusions.ca

More recent developments

Reports

Monthly Export Reports (Canada-US)

2017

2016

More Softwood Lumber historic reports...

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments, please contact Global Affairs Canada at:

Softwood Lumber Division (TNS)
Global Affairs Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-8950
Email: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca

Bois d'œuvre résineux

L’industrie du bois d’œuvre résineux est un secteur important de l’économie canadienne. Elle contribue à la création de milliers d’emplois dans les collectivités de partout au Canada et produit de nombreuses retombées positives dans des industries et des secteurs des services connexes. Les entreprises modernes, efficientes et respectueuses de l’environnement qui sont spécialisées dans le bois d’œuvre résineux au Canada peuvent répondre aux besoins du marché, au pays et à l’étranger.

Aux États-Unis, où la demande de bois d’œuvre résineux dépasse la capacité de production des scieries américaines, l’industrie du logement et d’autres secteurs dépendent du Canada pour l’accès stable et prévisible aux produits de qualité. L’Accord sur le bois d’œuvre résineux de 2006, qui offrait la stabilité et la prévisibilité aux industries des deux côtés de la frontière, a pris fin le 12 octobre 2015.

Le Canada et les États-Unis poursuivent les négociations dans le cadre de cet enjeu bilatéral important. En outre, le gouvernement rencontre régulièrement l’industrie, les provinces et les territoires, ainsi que d’autres intervenants.

Différend sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux

Le différend entre le Canada et les États-Unis sur le bois d'œuvre résineux est devenu l'un des différends commerciaux les plus durables entre les deux pays. Au cours des 25 dernières années, l'industrie du bois d’œuvre des États-Unis a souvent demandé aux États-Unis des restrictions sur les importations canadiennes de bois d'œuvre résineux en appliquant les lois américaines relatives aux droits antidumping et compensateurs – des lois qui permettent l'imposition de droits d'importation lorsqu'une industrie américaine est trouvée par le département du commerce des États-Unis et la commission du Commerce international des États-Unis à avoir subi un dommage par des subventions dans le pays exportateur (droits compensateurs) ou par le dumping, c'est-à-dire lorsque des produits importés sont vendus à des prix inférieurs à leur coût de production ou inférieurs aux prix sur le marché intérieur (droits antidumping).

Mises à jour récentes

  • 26-06-2017 Déclaration conjointe des ministres Carr et Freeland en réponse aux droits antidumping imposés à la suite de la décision provisoire du département du Commerce des États-Unis

    La ministre Freeland et le ministre Carr ont publié une déclaration conjointe à la suite de la décision provisoire prises par le département du Commerce des États-Unis.

  • 26-06-2017 Le département du Commerce des États-Unis annonce sa décision  provisoire dans le cadre d’une enquête en droits anti-dumping sur les importations de certains produits de bois d’œuvre résineux du Canada

    Le 26 juin 2017, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a annoncé sa décision provisoire dans son enquête sur les droits anti-dumping concernant les importations de certains produits de bois d’œuvre résineux du Canada. Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a jugé que les produits de bois d’œuvre résineux canadiens ont été vendus sur le marché américain à des prix inférieurs aux ventes comparables au Canada, ou vendus à des prix inférieurs au coût de production des produits.

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a émis des taux de droits antidumping provisoires propres aux entreprises pour les quatre répondants obligatoires. Toutes les autres entreprises seront assujetties au taux anti-dumping « applicable aux autres » de 6,87%, tel qu’énoncé ci-dessous.

    EntrepriseTaux de droits antidumping provisoiresTaux de droits compensateurs provisoiresTaux de droits provisoires combinés
    Canfor Corporation7,72%20,26 %27,98%
    Produits forestiers Résolu Canada inc.4,59%12,82 %17,41%
    Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd.7,53%19,50 %27,03%
    West Fraser Mills Ltd6,76%24,12 %30,88%
    J.D.Irving Ltd.6,87% (Applicable aux autres)3,02 %9,87%
    Applicable aux autres6,87%19,88 %26,75%

    Les droits antidumping provisoires entreront en vigueur à la date où ces décisions provisoires seront publiées dans le « Federal Register » (registre fédéral) des États-Unis. Les droits antidumping seront également appliqués rétroactivement pour les 90 jours avant la date de publication dans le « Federal Register » (registre fédéral) des États-Unis pour toutes les entreprises, sauf les quatre répondants obligatoires.

  • 26-06-2017 Le département du Commerce des États-Unis annonce une éventuelle exclusion pour la Nouvelle-Écosse, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a annoncé qu'une exclusion pour les produits provenant de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard est appropriée dans les enquêtes en droits antidumping et compensateurs. Le département du Commerce continuera d'évaluer les commentaires figurant sur le dossier d'enquête auprès des parties intéressées et prévoit de prendre une décision finale à ce sujet à la fin de l'été. Le département du Commerce a confirmé que, dans l'attente d'une exclusion de la portée des enquêtes, les producteurs de ces trois provinces continueront d'être soumis à des droits antidumping et à des droits compensateurs.

    L’annonce du département américain du Commerce (anglais seulement)

  • 01-06-2017 Le gouvernement du Canada annonce un soutien aux travailleurs et aux collectivités du secteur forestier

    Le ministre Carr, la ministre Freeland, et le ministre Champagne ont annoncé des mesures qui atteindront 867 millions de dollars à l’appui des collectivités et des travailleurs touchés par les actions des États-Unis qui ciblent le bois d’œuvre résineux. Pour plus de renseignements voire le Communiqué de Presse et  le Document d’information plan d’action sur le bois d’œuvre.

  • 28-04-2017 – Entrée en vigueur des droits compensateurs provisoires du département du Commerce des États-Unis

    Le 28 avril 2017, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a publié sa décision en matière de droits compensateurs provisoires dans le « U.S. Federal Register ».

    À partir de 24h00 le 28 avril 2017, le Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États‑Unis réclamera des dépôts en espèces qui équivalent au taux de droits compensateurs provisoires applicable sur les importations aux États-Unis de tous les produits de bois d’œuvre résineux qui sont compris dans la portée des enquêtes américaines, tel qu’il est indiqué dans la décision provisoire publiée dans le « U.S. Federal Register ».

    En vertu de la « U.S. Tariff Act », les droits compensateurs provisoires ne peuvent être en vigueur pendant plus de 120 jours calendrier. Ils seront donc perçus par le Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis dès le 28 avril 2017 à 24h00 jusqu’au 26 août à 23h59. Les taux définitifs compensateurs et antidumping seraient établis dès qu’il y aurait une décision définitive affirmative sur les dommages par la Commission du commerce international des États-Unis, ce qui suivrait une décision définitive affirmative par le département du Commerce des États-Unis. Ceci devrait avoir lieu à la fin de 2017 ou au début de 2018. Il est donc probable qu’il y ait une période d’écart entre la fin de la réclamation des droits provisoires compensateurs et le début de la réclamation de droits définitifs par le département du Commerce.

    Application rétroactive des droits compensateurs provisoires

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a déterminé que les droits compensateurs provisoires seraient appliqués rétroactivement à toutes les entreprises sauf Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales ltd. et Produits forestiers Résolu Canada inc. Les droits rétroactifs seront en vigueur pour les 90 jours précédant la date de publication de la décision provisoire dans le « U.S. Federal Register ».

    En raison de cette décision, des droits compensateurs rétroactifs s’appliqueront à toutes les importations de produits de bois d’œuvre résineux compris dans la portée des enquêtes américaines entre 24h00 le 28 janvier 2017 et 23h59 le 27 avril 2017. 

    Les taux applicables à ces droits compensateurs provisoires rétroactifs sont les suivants :

    • 3,02 % pour J.D. Irving Ltd.;
    • 19,88 % pour toutes les autres entreprises (sauf Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills Ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd. et Produits forestiers Résolu Canada inc.).
  • 25-04-2017 – Mémoire de décision sur la décision provisoire relative à la portée

    Le mémoire de décision sur la décision provisoire qui a été publiée par le département du Commerce des États-Unis le 25 avril 2017, confirme que le département du Commerce des États-Unis n’a pas apporté de changements à la portée des enquêtes en droits compensateurs et antidumping à ce stade. La portée demeure la même que celle qui est inscrite dans l’avis d’ouverture émise le 15 décembre 2016. Malgré le soutien du « U.S. Lumber Coalition » (le requérant) d’exclure certains produits de la portée des enquêtes, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a décidé de reporter la décision de restreindre la portée à une date ultérieure; prévue au moment de la décision définitive des droits compensateurs et antidumping. Par conséquent, tous les produits compris dans la portée sont assujettis aux droits provisoires en attendant une décision du département du Commerce des États-Unis d’exclure certains produits de la portée des enquêtes. Advenant que le département du Commerce des États-Unis exclue certains produits de la portée des enquêtes, les dépôts en espèces sur les produits exclus seront remboursés (toutefois, la date exacte ne sera connue que lorsque le département du Commerce des États-Unis ordonnera au service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis d’émettre des remboursements). 

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a invité les parties intéressées à communiquer des observations sur des exclusions à la portée actuellement à l’étude par le département du Commerce des États-Unis dans les sept jours suivant la publication de la décision provisoire en droits compensateurs dans le « U.S. Federal Register ». La publication dans le « U.S. Federal Register », est attendue le 28 avril 2017.  

    Le Canada ne fournit pas de conseils aux exportateurs sur les classifications du service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis. Toutefois, il importe de souligner que les enquêtes ne changeront pas les codes actuels du HTSUS (Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States). Le département du Commerce des États-Unis publiera un avis dans le « U.S. Federal Register » et émettra des directives au service des douanes des États-Unis. L’avis et les directives contiendront une définition de la portée dans un format semblable à celui qui était contenu dans l’avis d’ouverture émis par le département du Commerce des États-Unis le 15 décembre 2016. Le service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis est censé respecter les définitions écrites de la portée;  les codes du HTSUS ne sont fournis qu’à des fins d’information. Bien que les sous‑positions HTSUS soient fournies à des fins pratiques et pour les besoins du service des douanes, la description écrite de la portée des enquêtes prévaut.

  • 25-04-2017 Processus d’exclusion des entreprises – note de décision du département du Commerce des États-Unis

    Tôt dans l’enquête en droits compensateurs sur le bois d’œuvre résineux du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada a soumis une proposition pour demander au département du Commerce des États-Unis d’envisager la mise en œuvre d’un processus d’exclusion qui permettrait à toute entreprise n’ayant reçu aucune subvention compensable ou que des subventions de minimis (moins de 1 % de la valeur totale des expéditions) d’être exclue de l’enquête des États-Unis sur les droits compensateurs. 

    Dans une note de décision publiée en même temps que sa décision provisoire sur l’imposition de droits compensateurs, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a décidé qu’il n’a pas le pouvoir de mettre en œuvre un processus d’exclusion des entreprises dans le cadre d’une enquête menée sur une base par-compagnie. Dans son avis de décision du 25 avril sur l’exclusion des entreprises, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a dit que si sa réglementation prévoit explicitement l’exclusion d’entreprises dans les enquêtes menées sur une base globale, mais qu’elle ne prévoit pas explicitement l’exclusion d’entreprises dans sa présente enquête en droits compensateurs menée sur une base par-compagnie.

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a adopté cette position malgré le fait que le « U.S. Lumber Coalition » (le requérant) a déposé un mémoire au département du Commerce des États-Unis dans lequel il souligne qu’un processus d’exclusion des entreprises limité serait approprié dans ce cas. 

    Le gouvernement du Canada aura une autre occasion dans son mémoire de faire valoir les raisons pour lesquelles le département du Commerce des États-Unis devrait envisager la mise en œuvre d’un processus d’exclusion des entreprises. En accord avec les réglements des États-Unis acutels, les mémoires doivent être soumis sept jours après la fin des vérifications menées par le département du Commerce des États-Unis.  Celles-ci devraient se conclure à la fin de juin 2017. 

    En dehors du processus d'exclusion d’entreprises, les entreprises auront la possibilité de le faire une demande d’exclusion dans le contexte d’un examen accéléré que prévoit la réglementation des États-Unis. Le cas échéant, si les entreprises réussissaient à prouver au département du Commerce des États-Unis qu’elles n’ont reçu aucune subvention ou que des subventions de minimis durant l’année civile 2015, elles seraient soustraites à l’application de toute ordonnance instituant un droit compensateur. Le processus d’examen accéléré commence à la conclusion de l’enquête en droits compensateurs – les entreprises qui souhaitent participer à ce processus doivent demander un examen accéléré dans les 30 jours suivant la date de publication dans le « Federal Register » des États-Unis de toute ordonnance instituant un droit compensateur, ce qui devrait survenir à la fin de 2017 ou au début de 2018. Il est recommandé aux entreprises qui décideraient de soumettre une demande d’examen accéléré au département du Commerce des États-Unis de retenir les services d’un avocat américain spécialisé en droit des recours commerciaux.

  • 24-04-2017- Déclaration commune de la ministre Freeland et du ministre Carr à la suite de la décision provisoire du département du Commerce des États-Unis concernant les droits compensateurs

    La ministre Freeland et le ministre Carr ont publié une déclaration commune à la suite des décisions prises par le département du Commerce des États-Unis.

  • 24-04-2017 – Le département du Commerce des États-Unis publie une décision provisoire dans le cadre d’une enquête sur les droits compensateurs pour les importations de certains produits de bois d’œuvre résineux canadiens

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a publié une décision provisoire dans le cadre de son enquête sur les droits compensateurs pour les importations de certains produits de bois d’œuvre résineux du Canada. Il a déterminé que les importations de bois d’œuvre résineux canadien aux États-Unis étaient subventionnées et il a calculé des taux propres aux entreprises pour les quatre répondants obligatoires et le répondant volontaire comme suit :

    • Canfor Corporation : 20,26 %
    • Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd : 19,5 %
    • West Fraser Mills Ltd : 24,12 %
    • Produits forestiers Résolu Canada Inc. : 12,82 %
    • J.D. Irving Ltd. : 3,02 %

    Pour toutes les autres entreprises, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a calculé un taux de droits compensateurs « applicable aux autres » de 19,88 %.

    Les droits de douanes entreront en vigueur à la date où ces décisions préliminaires seront publiées dans le « Federal Register » (registre fédéral) des États-Unis.

  • 24-04-2017 – Le département du Commerce des États-Unis publie sa décision provisoire de circonstances critiques

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a publié une décision provisoire affirmative de circonstances critiques, concluant qu’il y avait eu un afflux d’importations (appelées importations massives) de produits de bois d’œuvre résineux canadiens aux États-Unis par J.D. Irving Ltd et toutes les autres entreprises à l’exception des quatre répondants obligatoires (Canfor Corporation, West Fraser Mills Ltd., Tolko Marketing Sales Ltd., and Produits forestiers Résolu Inc.).

    Suite à cette décision, le département du Commerce des États-Unis a indiqué qu’il donnera l’ordre aux douanes américaines (U.S. Customs and Border Protection) d’imposer des droits de douanes compensateurs pour une période rétroactive de 90 jours avant la publication de la décision provisoire dans le registre fédéral américain.

  • 13-01-2017 - La décision provisoire par la commission du Commerce international des États-Unis de dommage causé par les produits canadiens de bois d'œuvre résineux

    Le 13 janvier 2017, la commission du Commerce international des États-Unis a publié sa décision à titre provisoire que l'industrie des États-Unis subit un dommage sensible en raison des importations de produits canadiens de bois d'œuvre résineux. Cette décision signifie que le département du Commerce des États-Unis poursuivra ses enquêtes antidumping et en droits compensateurs sur les produits canadiens de bois d'œuvre résineux. Si le département du Commerce des États-Unis rend des décisions provisoires affirmatives, des droits provisoires antidumping et compensateurs seraient exigés à ce moment-là.

    Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a également confirmé qu'il procéderait à une enquête en droits compensateurs sur une base par compagnie et a indiqué que ses répondants obligatoires étaient West Fraser, Tolko, Canfor et Produits forestiers résolu.

Autres mises à jour récentes 

Rapports

Rapports d’exportation Mensuel (le Canada et les États-Unis)

2017

2016

Autres rapports historique portant sur le bois d'œuvre résineux

Contactez-nous

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de toute question ou observation à ce sujet. Veuillez nous contacter au ministère des Affaires mondiales Canada :

Direction du bois d'œuvre résineux (TNS)
Affaires mondiales Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Téléc : 613-944-8950
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca