Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment on a Plurilateral International Services Agreement

Closing date: June 19, 2013

On March 18, 2013, The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, announced that Canada will join 20 other World Trade Organization members, in negotiations toward a plurilateral international services agreement amongst themselves. The working name for this initiative is Trade in Services Agreement (TISA).

The current participants in these discussions with Canada are Australia, the United States, the European Union, New Zealand, Korea, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Hong Kong China, Norway, Switzerland, Pakistan, Israel, Peru, Costa Rica, Turkey, Panama and Iceland. However, other interested WTO members could potentially join the negotiations and a finished agreement would also be open for accession to other WTO members.

The Government of Canada is conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these trade discussions. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from a prospective plurilateral international services agreement.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, negotiators endeavor to obtain relevant information and otherwise improve their understanding of the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is undertaken in accordance with the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit the following Web site:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from a prospective plurilateral international services agreement by June 19, 2013.

Contributions can be sent to:

Plurilateral International Services Agreement Environmental Assessment
Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat (TAS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-992-9392
Email: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Avis d’intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale d’un Accord plurilatéral sur les services

Date de clôture : le 19 juin 2013

Le 18 mars 2013, le ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a annoncé que le Canada se joindrait à 20 autres membres de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce afin d’entamer des négociations visant à conclure entre eux un accord plurilatéral sur les services. Le nom provisoire pour cet accord est « Accord sur le commerce des services » (ACS).

À l’heure actuelle, les membres de l’OMC prenant part à ces négociations avec le Canada sont les suivants : Australie, États-Unis, Union européenne, Nouvelle-Zélande, Corée, Mexique, Chili, Colombie, Taïpei chinois, Japon, Hong Kong (Chine), Norvège, Suisse, Pakistan, Israël, Pérou, Costa Rica, Turquie, Panama et Islande. Toutefois, d’autres membres de l’OMC pourraient se joindre aux négociations et même adhérer à l’accord une fois celui-ci terminé.

Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une évaluation environnementale en vue d’orienter ces discussions. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les effets environnementaux probables et importants qu’un accord plurilatéral sur les services pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolument en faveur du développement durable. Des politiques relatives au commerce, à l’investissement et à l’environnement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à l’atteinte de cet objectif. À cette fin, les responsables du commerce s’efforcent d’obtenir des renseignements pertinents et d’améliorer leur compréhension de la relation entre le commerce et les questions environnementales dans les premiers stades du processus décisionnel grâce à un processus ouvert et inclusif. L’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales constitue un élément essentiel de ce travail.

Ce processus est entrepris conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter:

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur les effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un accord plurilatéral sur les services pourrait avoir sur le Canada d’ici le 19 juin 2013.

Les contributions peuvent être envoyées à :

Évaluation environnementale d’un accord plurilatéral sur les services
Secrétariat des ententes et de l'ALÉNA (TAS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-992-9392
Courriel : EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca