Language selection

Search

Canada-Aruba relations

Bilateral relations

Aruba is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is responsible for the conduct of Aruba’s foreign affairs, including with Canada.

Tourism is the most important sector in the Aruban economy. In 2017, approximately 47,000 Canadians visited Aruba, making Canada the second largest tourist market (in terms of arrivals) for the island. In 2018, 1,565 tourists from Aruba visited Canada. Direct flights between Canada and Aruba operate year-round.

Education ties between the two countries continue to expand. The Aruban Ministry of Education has signed Memoranda of Understanding with seven Canadian universities and colleges:  Bishop’s University, Brescia University, Carleton University, Humber College, Niagara College, Centennial College of Canada, Seneca College, and Brescia University College.

Canada and Aruba maintain a Tax Information Exchange Agreement and Air Transport Agreement. The Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Customs Matters is also applicable to Aruba. 

Canada is represented in Aruba by the Embassy of Canada to the Kingdom of the Netherlands in The Hague. Aruba is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Ottawa and its Consulates in Toronto and Vancouver. Practical matters, such as consular assistance to Canadians in Aruba and Canada-Aruba trade and investment files, are covered by the Embassy of Canada in Bogota, Colombia. Canada’s Honorary Consul in Curaçao also represents Canadian consular interests in Aruba.

Trade relations

Merchandise trade between Canada and Aruba totalled $12.9 million in 2018. Merchandise exports to Aruba amounted to $12.7 million and included furniture, machinery, pharmaceuticals, and other food products. Also in 2018, Canada imported $174 thousand worth of merchandise from Aruba, mostly cosmetic products and perfumes. A limited number of Canadian companies have been active in the clean technology, agriculture and construction sectors in Aruba.

Related links

Operations

Through Operation CARIBBE, Canada cooperates with Aruba in the multinational anti-drug campaign Operation Martillo, which targets illicit trafficking routes in the Caribbean. Canada Border Services Agency and the RCMP also maintain a working relationship with their Aruban counterparts. Through its Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program, Canada supports INTERPOL’s cybercrime capacity building efforts in the Caribbean, including Aruba.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Aruba

Relations bilatérales

Aruba est un État constitutif du Royaume des Pays-Bas, de sorte que ce dernier est responsable de la conduite de ses relations internationales, y compris avec le Canada.

Le tourisme est le secteur le plus important de l’économie d’Aruba. En 2017, environ 47 000 Canadiens s’y sont rendus, ce qui fait du Canada sa deuxième source de touristes (en termes d’arrivées). En 2018, 1,565 touristes d’Aruba sont venus au Canada. Des vols directs assurent la liaison entre les deux pays à longueur d’année.

Dans le domaine de l’éducation, les liens entre les deux pays continuent de se développer. De ce fait, le ministère de l’Éducation d’Aruba a signé un protocole d’entente avec sept universités et collèges canadiens : l’Université Bishop, l’Université Brescia, l’Université Carleton, le Collège Humber, le Collège Niagara, le Collège Centennial du Canada, le Collège Seneca et le Collège universitaire Brescia.

Le Canada et Aruba ont un Accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux et un Accord sur le transport aérien. L’Accord d’assistance mutuelle administrative en matière douanière entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Royaume des Pays-Bas s’applique également à Aruba.

Le Canada y est représenté par son ambassade à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas. Au Canada, Aruba est représentée par l’ambassade des Pays-Bas à Ottawa et par ses consulats à Toronto et Vancouver. L’ambassade du Canada à Bogota (Colombie) est chargée des affaires courantes, comme l’aide consulaire aux Canadiens à Aruba ainsi que le commerce et les investissements bilatéraux avec ce dernier. Le consul honoraire du Canada à Curaçao représente également les intérêts consulaires canadiens.

Relations commerciales

En 2018, les échanges de marchandises entre le Canada et Aruba ont totalisé 12,9 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers ce pays se sont chiffrées à 12,7 millions de dollars. Elles comprenaient des machines, produits alimentaires, et des produits pharmaceutiques. La même année, le Canada a importé des marchandises d’une valeur de 174 mille dollars en provenance de ce marché. Il s’agissait principalement de produits cosmétiques et parfums. Un petit nombre d’entreprises canadiennes y sont présentes et œuvrent principalement dans les secteurs des technologies propres, de l’agriculture et de la construction.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Dans le cadre de l’opération CARIBBE, le Canada et Aruba coopèrent à l’opération Martillo, une campagne multinationale visant à surveiller les routes servant au trafic illicite de stupéfiants dans les Caraïbes. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et la GRC entretiennent également des relations de travail avec leurs homologues d’Aruba. Dans le cadre de son Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC), le Canada aide à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la cybercriminalité d’Interpol dans les Caraïbes, y compris à Aruba.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: