Language selection

Search

Canada-Colombia relations

Bilateral relations

The Government of Canada takes a whole-of-government approach to its bilateral relations with Colombia through its political, commercial, development, and peace and security programming. The relationship includes: expanding trade and investment; a frank dialogue on human rights; development cooperation; support for Colombia’s justice, security and peace-building efforts; growing mobility between our two countries (tourism, study, business, immigration) and people-to-people relationships; and, close cooperation on multilateral issues. Colombia is a constructive, valued partner for Canada in the region and internationally, with a shared commitment to the values of democracy, transparency, multilateralism, and economic cooperation and integration. 

Canada established full diplomatic relations with Colombia in 1953. In Colombia, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada located in Bogotá. Canada also has an Honorary Consul in Cartagena. Colombia is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa. Colombia also has consulates in Montréal, Toronto (including trade office), Calgary and Vancouver.

Trade relations

As one of the OECD’s newest members (since April 2020) Colombia is an emerging market with great potential. Canada and Colombia enjoy a dynamic and increasingly diversified bilateral commercial relationship, facilitated by the 2011 bilateral free trade agreement. This includes significant Canadian investment across various sectors – e.g., infrastructure, energy, mining, oil & gas, financial services, engineering services, agri-food, and education – and over 100 Canadian companies with a presence in Colombia. The total stock of Canadian direct investment in Colombia reached $5.66 billion in 2020 making Colombia the fourth largest investment destination for Canada in South and Central America.

In 2020, two-way merchandise trade totalled $1.64 billion, making Colombia our fourth-largest bilateral trading partner in Latin America and the Caribbean (excluding Mexico). Colombia was also Canada’s third largest export market in South America (after Brazil and Chile) in 2020 with merchandise exports valued at $790.5 million. Top exports were cereals (wheat), vehicles, machinery, vegetables (pulses), paper, and fertilizers. Imports from Colombia reached $848.8 million in 2020 and included most notably mineral fuels and oils (coal and crude petroleum), coffee, spices, tea, live trees, plants (cut-flowers), fruits (bananas), and plastics. According to the latest figures available, bilateral services trade totalled $512 million in 2019, which included exports to Colombia valued at $273 million and imports that reached $239 million. 

Export Development Canada (EDC), the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC), and many provinces/territories work closely with the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) to help Canadian companies pursue opportunities in the local market. Sectors that the TCS has identified as priorities – i.e., where Canadian capabilities and interest match local opportunities and demand – are infrastructure, clean technology, agriculture, information communication technologies (ICT), defence and security, mining, oil & gas, and education. 

In addition, Canada is well-known in Colombia for its expertise in extractives and is looked to as a model for responsible natural resources development, including promoting high expectations regarding anti-corruption, corporate social responsibility (CSR) and Responsible Business Conduct (RBC) practices that respect international guidelines.

Canada is also actively working with key stakeholders in Colombia to promote gender equality, transparency and anticorruption practices, and best standards in terms of Human Rights related to business and security.

Colombia is a founding member of the Pacific Alliance, a regional initiative established in 2011 along with Chile, Mexico and Peru. The Pacific Alliance seeks to promote greater competitiveness and economic growth for member countries, with the objective of moving toward the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people among its members. With shared interests in advocating for open markets, free trade, and the rule of law, Canada has been a strong supporter of the Pacific Alliance since its inception.

Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement

In force since August 15, 2011, the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (CCoFTA), as well as parallel Agreements on Labour Cooperation and the Environment, benefit a wide range of exporters and service providers. August 2021 marked the 10th Anniversary of the agreement.

Implementation of the CCoFTA has removed key bilateral trade barriers and improved market access for both Canadian and Colombian products. It has promoted greater certainty in the market through a more stable and open investment environment. The Agreement protects international investors through reciprocal commitments and assures access to international arbitration. 

The Joint Commission for the CCoFTA has met 4 times since the Agreement came into force, and has issued seven Decisions, including a Note of Interpretation for the Investment Chapter, Rules of Origin short supply allowances, and a revision to Annex 301 (Specific of Origin). The fourth and most recent meeting of the CCoFTA Joint Commission took place in Bogota on May 14, 2019.

As part of the commitments made under the CCoFTA, Canada and Colombia signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to promote cooperation and strengthen cross-border law enforcement on competition in June 2017. The MOU between Canada’s Competition Bureau and Colombia’s Superintendence of Industry and Commerce (Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio) establishes a framework for collaboration, coordination and communication of information that will support the investigations and enforcement activities of both agencies. 

Canada and Colombia also signed the Agreement Concerning Annual Reports on Human Rights and Free Trade on May 27, 2010. This unique agreement requires that Canada and Colombia each produce a report every year on the effect on human rights in both countries of measures taken under the CCoFTA. Canada tables its report pursuant to this Agreement annually in May. 

In addition, Canada and Colombia have a Double Taxation Agreement and an Air Transport Agreement.

Public call for submissions regarding Canada's Annual Report on Human Rights and Free Trade between Canada and the Republic of Colombia

Interested parties are invited to provide written submissions regarding Canada's Annual Report on Human Rights and Free Trade between Canada and the Republic of Colombia.

Submissions will be accepted until March 16, 2022

Related links

International assistance

Canada and Colombia share almost 50 years of collaborative engagement on international assistance cooperation. Colombia is a growing middle-income country with a vibrant civil society, democratic governance, and a robust private sector. Colombia also faces significant poverty, inequality and challenges to peace and stability that the country is working hard to overcome. Canada’s assistance helps Colombia respond to poverty, inequality and violence by protecting the human rights of communities in need, creating economic opportunities for vulnerable populations, improving security conditions, responding to humanitarian needs, supporting peacebuilding efforts, investing in inclusive education, and addressing the impact of one of the world’s largest migration crisis. Empowering women and girls, supporting implementation of the peace agreement, and driving development innovation, are front and centre in Canada’s international assistance efforts in Colombia.

Canada’s international assistance in Colombia averages $40 million per year via Global Affairs Canada’s Bilateral Development Program, the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOPs), International Humanitarian Assistance, Partnerships for Development Innovation, the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCBP), as well as other government departments, such as Environment and Climate Change Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC). There are currently over 70 international assistance projects in Colombia being delivered through various programs and channels. Canada is working with Colombia to achieve its development ambitions by leveraging new, innovative partnerships to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) together. To achieve this partnership, Canada adopts an ecosystem approach. We collaborate with local government institutions and with civil society to advance creative solutions. We also work closely with private sector partners to bring more resources and attention to the challenges faced by the most vulnerable via innovation, shared ownership and co-creation. We listen to the voice of beneficiaries.

Canada’s bilateral development program disburses approximately $18 million per year towards large, multi-year projects that reduce poverty and support long-term development in Colombia’s most isolated, conflict-affected regions. This programming also addresses emergent issues, such as the global COVID-19 pandemic, and supports global advocacy efforts such as the Together for Learning campaign. Programming prioritizes the following areas:

  • Advancing gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls
  • Supporting access to quality education for at-risk populations
  • Building sustainable and inclusive economic growth and employment
  • Responding to the needs of Venezuelan migrants, refugees and host communities
  • Delivering responsive humanitarian assistance
  • Supporting Colombia’s efforts to unlock private sector capital for development
  • Bolstering peace implementation in Colombia

Canada also provides development assistance to Colombia through Global Affairs Canada’s Inter-American Program, which addresses regional, multi-country or trans-boundary issues, such as health and communicable diseases, resource exploitation and trade facilitation. Global Affairs Canada’s Partnerships for Development Innovation programs delivers targeted initiatives in Colombia that are designed and implemented by Canadian civil society organizations in collaboration with local counterparts. Canada responds to the needs of disaster and crisis-affected populations in Colombia via the annual appeals of humanitarian organizations. 

Canada’s Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOPs) has been supporting stabilization and peace building initiatives in Colombia since 2005. Since 2016, PSOPs has provided $34.5 million in funding to support peacebuilding efforts, with a focus on supporting the implementation of the 2016 Peace Agreement with the FARC. Projects include Initiatives centre on: Accountability, including through Colombia’s transitional justice mechanism; civilian protection and security; local level reconciliation and peacebuilding; and building the resilience of vulnerable communities from conflict-affected areas, including Indigenous and Afro-Colombian women, girls and LGBTI populations. Colombia is a priority country under Canada’s National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security and ensuring delivery on the agenda is forefront to PSOPs programming in Colombia.

The Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCBP) has approximately $39 million worth of multi-year operational projects that include Colombia as part of regional initiatives to combat transnational crime, out of which $4.4 million is committed to the country through Canadian Government departments, such as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and the Canada Border Security Agency (CBSA) as well as multilateral organizations, such as the UN Office of Drugs and Crime and Organization of American States. Thematic areas of focus include strengthening border management, preventing and combatting drug-related crimes, preventing and combatting cybersecurity threats, preventing and responding to trafficking in persons and migrant smuggling, enhancing security sector reform initiatives and reforming anti-corruption practices.

Colombia is a priority hemispheric partner for the Department of National Defence. Colombia became a member of the Department of National Defence’s (DND) Military Training and Cooperation Program (MTCP) in 2011. To date, approximately 593 Colombia officers have participated in MTCP activities. Under MTCP, the Colombian armed forces have access to training in areas that promote Canadian democratic principles.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Colombie

Relations bilatérales

Le gouvernement du Canada adopte une approche pangouvernementale pour ses relations bilatérales avec la Colombie au moyen de ses programmes politiques et commerciaux et en matière de développement, de paix et de sécurité. La relation comprend l’expansion du commerce et de l’investissement; un dialogue franc sur les droits de la personne; une coopération au développement; un soutien aux efforts de la Colombie en matière de justice, de sécurité et de consolidation de la paix; une mobilité accrue entre nos deux pays (tourisme, études, affaires, immigration) et des relations entre les deux peuples; et une coopération étroite en ce qui concerne les questions multilatérales. La Colombie est un partenaire constructif et précieux pour le Canada dans la région et à l’échelle internationale, qui partage un engagement pour les valeurs de démocratie, de transparence, de multilatéralisme, de coopération économique et d’intégration.

Le Canada entretient des relations diplomatiques à part entière avec la Colombie depuis 1953. En Colombie, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada située à Bogotá. Le Canada a également un consul honoraire à Cartagena. La Colombie est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. La Colombie a également des consulats à Montréal, Toronto (notamment un bureau commercial), Calgary et Vancouver.

Relations commerciales

En tant que l'un des plus récents membres de l'OCDE, depuis avril 2020, la Colombie est un marché émergent à fort potentiel. Le Canada et la Colombie entretiennent des relations commerciales de plus en plus dynamiques et diversifiées, facilitées par l’accord de libre-échange bilatéral, conclu en 2011. Les investissements canadiens en Colombie sont significatifs et couvrent différents secteurs tels que l’infrastructure, l’énergie, les industries minière, pétrolière et du gaz, les services financiers, les services d’ingénierie, l’agroalimentaire et l’éducation. En outre, plus de 100 entreprises canadiennes sont implantées en Colombie. Le total des investissements directs canadiens en Colombie s’élevait en 2020 à 5,66 milliards de dollars, plaçant la Colombie au quatrième rang des pays de destination des investissements canadiens en Amérique Centrale et du Sud.

En 2020, les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux de marchandises ont atteint 1,64 milliards de dollars, faisant de la Colombie notre quatrième plus grand partenaire de commerce bilatéral en Amérique Latine et les Caraïbes (hors Mexique). De plus, la Colombie fut en 2020 le troisième marché d’exportation du Canada en Amérique du Sud (après le Brésil et le Chili) grâce à un total d’exportations de marchandises de 790,5 millions de dollars. Les principaux produits et services d’exportation ont été les céréales (blé), les véhicules, les machines, les légumes (légumineuses, le papier et les engrais. Les importations de produits colombiens ont atteint 848,8 millions de dollars en 2020 et comprenaient principalement des combustibles minéraux et des hydrocarbures (charbon et pétrole brut), du café, des épices, du thé, des arbres verts, des plantes (fleurs coupées), des fruits (bananes) et des produits plastiques. D’après les derniers chiffres disponibles, le commerce bilatéral de services s’élevait à 512 millions de dollars en 2019 : des d’exportations vers la Colombie pour une valeur de 273 millions de dollars et des importations pour une valeur de 239 millions de dollars.

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC), la Corporation Commerciale Canadienne (CCC) et de nombreuses provinces et territoires travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le Service des Délégués Commerciaux du Canada (SDC) en Colombie pour accompagner les entreprises canadiennes dans la recherche d’occasions d’affaires sur le marché local. Les secteurs identifiés par le SDC comme étant prioritaires (c’est-à-dire ceux où les capacités et intérêts canadiens correspondent aux occasions d’affaires et à la demande locale) sont les secteurs de l’infrastructure, les technologies propres, l’agriculture, les technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC), la défense et la sécurité, les industries minière, pétrolière et du gaz et l’éducation.

De plus, le Canada est bien connu en Colombie pour son expertise dans le domaine des industries extractives où il est considéré comme un modèle à suivre en matière de développement responsable des ressources naturelles, comme par exemple à travers la promotion d’exigences élevées en matière de lutte contre la corruption ou de pratiques de responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) et de conduite responsable des entreprises (CRE) respectueuses des normes internationales.

Le Canada travaille aussi activement avec les principaux intervenants en Colombie pour promouvoir l'égalité des genres, la transparence et les pratiques anticorruption, ainsi que les meilleures normes en matière de droits de la personne liées aux affaires et à la sécurité.

La Colombie est un membre fondateur de l'Alliance du Pacifique, une initiative régionale qu'elle a fondée en 2011 avec le Chili, le Mexique et le Pérou. L'Alliance du Pacifique cherche à promouvoir une plus grande compétitivité et une plus grande croissance économique pour les pays membres, avec l'objectif de progresser vers la libre circulation des biens, des services, des capitaux et des personnes entre ses membres. Ayant des intérêts communs dans la défense de l'ouverture des marchés, du libre-échange et de la primauté du droit, le Canada a fortement soutenu l'Alliance du Pacifique depuis sa création.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie

En vigueur depuis le 15 août 2011, l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (ALECC) ainsi que des accords de coopération dans le domaine du travail et de l’environnement signés en parallèle bénéficient à de nombreux exportateurs et prestataires de services. Le mois d'août 2021 marque le 10e anniversaire de l'accord.

La mise en œuvre de l’ALECC a levé les principaux obstacles au commerce bilatéral et a permis d’améliorer l’accès au marché tant pour les produits canadiens que pour les produits colombiens. Il a également renforcé la certitude des marchés grâce à un climat d’investissement plus stable et plus ouvert. L’Accord protège les investisseurs internationaux grâce à des engagements réciproques et garantit l’accès à l’arbitrage international.

La Commission mixte pour l'ALECC s'est réunie quatre fois depuis l'entrée en vigueur de l'accord et a publié sept décisions, dont une note d'interprétation pour le chapitre sur l'investissement, les allocations pour approvisionnement à court terme des règles d'origine et une révision de l'annexe 301 (spécificité de l'origine). La quatrième (et plus récente) réunion de la Commission Mixte de l’ALECC a eu lieu à Bogota le 14 mai 2019.

Parmi les engagements pris dans le cadre de l’ALECC, le Canada et la Colombie ont signé en juin 2017 un protocole d’entente (MOU) pour promouvoir la collaboration et renforcer l’application transfrontalière des lois sur la concurrence. Ce protocole signé entre le Bureau de la concurrence du Canada et la Surintendance de l’industrie et du commerce (Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio) établit un cadre de collaboration, de coordination et de communication de l’information qui renforcera les activités relatives aux enquêtes et à l’application de la loi des deux organismes.

Le Canada et la Colombie ont également signé le 27 mai 2010 l’Accord concernant les rapports annuels sur les droits de l’homme et le libre-échange. Cet accord unique en son genre exige que le Canada et la Colombie rédigent chacun un rapport annuel concernant les répercussions sur les droits de la personne dans les deux pays des mesures qui ont été prises dans le cadre de l’ALECC. Le Canada dépose annuellement son rapport en vertu de cet Accord en mai de chaque année.

En outre, le Canada et la Colombie ont un Accord de double imposition et un Accord sur le transport aérien.

Liens connexes

Aide internationale

Le Canada et la Colombie partagent près de 50 années de collaboration en matière d'aide internationale. La Colombie est un pays à revenu intermédiaire en pleine croissance, doté d'une société civile dynamique, d'une gouvernance démocratique et d'un secteur privé robuste. La Colombie est également confrontée à une pauvreté et à des inégalités importantes, ainsi qu'à des problèmes de paix et de stabilité que le pays s'efforce de surmonter. L'aide du Canada vise à appuyer la Colombie à lutter contre la pauvreté, les inégalités et la violence en protégeant les droits de la personne des communautés dans le besoin, en créant des possibilités économiques pour les populations vulnérables, en améliorant les conditions de sécurité, en répondant aux besoins humanitaires, en soutenant les efforts de consolidation de la paix, en investissant dans l'éducation inclusive et en s'attaquant aux répercussions de l'une des plus importantes crises migratoires au monde. L'autonomisation des femmes et des filles, le soutien à la mise en œuvre de l'accord de paix et l'innovation en matière de développement sont au cœur des efforts d'aide internationale du Canada en Colombie.

L'aide internationale du Canada en Colombie s'élève en moyenne à 40 millions de dollars par année par l'entremise du Programme de développement bilatéral d'Affaires mondiales Canada, du Programme des opérations de paix et de stabilisation (PPSP), de l'Aide humanitaire internationale, des Partenariats pour l'innovation en matière de développement, du Programme de renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRCLA), ainsi que d'autres ministères, comme Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada et le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI). À l'heure actuelle, plus de 70 projets d'aide internationale sont mis en œuvre en Colombie par le biais de divers programmes et canaux. Le Canada collabore avec la Colombie pour réaliser ses ambitions en matière de développement en tirant parti de partenariats nouveaux et novateurs pour atteindre ensemble les Objectifs de développement durable (ODD). Pour réaliser ce partenariat, le Canada adopte une approche écosystémique. Nous collaborons avec les institutions gouvernementales locales et avec la société civile pour proposer des solutions créatives. Nous travaillons également en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur privé afin d'apporter plus de ressources et d'attention aux défis auxquels sont confrontés les plus vulnérables par le biais de l'innovation, favoriser une appropriation partagée et la co-création. Nous écoutons la voix des bénéficiaires.

Le programme de développement bilatéral du Canada verse environ 18 millions de dollars par an à de grands projets pluriannuels qui réduisent la pauvreté et soutiennent le développement à long terme dans les régions les plus isolées et les plus touchées par le conflit en Colombie. Cette programmation s'attaque également aux problèmes émergents, tels que la pandémie mondiale de la COVID-19, et soutient les efforts de plaidoyer mondiaux tels que la campagne " Ensemble pour apprendre ". La programmation accorde la priorité aux domaines suivants :

  • Faire progresser l'égalité des genres et l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles
  • soutenir l'accès à une éducation de qualité pour les populations à risque
  • Favoriser une croissance économique et des emplois durables et inclusifs
  • Répondre aux besoins des migrants et réfugiés
  • vénézuéliens et des communautés d'accueil
  • Fournir une aide humanitaire adaptée
  • Soutenir les efforts de la Colombie pour attirer des capitaux du secteur privé en faveur du développement
  • Soutenir la mise en œuvre de la paix en Colombie

Le Canada fournit également une aide au développement à la Colombie par l'entremise du Programme interaméricain d'Affaires mondiales Canada, qui porte sur des enjeux régionaux, multinationaux ou transfrontaliers, comme la santé et les maladies transmissibles, l'exploitation des ressources et la facilitation du commerce. Les programmes de Partenariats pour l'innovation en matière de développement d'Affaires mondiales Canada offrent des initiatives ciblées en Colombie qui sont conçues et mises en œuvre par des organisations de la société civile canadienne en collaboration avec des homologues locaux. Le Canada répond aux besoins des populations touchées par les catastrophes et les crises en Colombie par le biais des appels annuels des organisations humanitaires.

Le Programme des opérations de paix et de stabilisation (PPSP) du Canada soutient les initiatives de stabilisation et de consolidation de la paix en Colombie depuis 2005. Depuis 2016, le PPSP a fourni 34,5 millions de dollars de financement pour soutenir les efforts de consolidation de la paix, en mettant l'accent sur le soutien de la mise en œuvre de l'accord de paix de 2016 avec les FARC. Les projets comprennent des initiatives centrées sur : l’imputabilité, notamment par le biais du mécanisme de justice transitionnelle de la Colombie ; la protection et la sécurité des civils ; la réconciliation et la consolidation de la paix au niveau local ; et le renforcement de la résilience des communautés vulnérables des zones touchées par le conflit, notamment les femmes, les filles et les populations LGBTI, autochtones et afro-colombiennes. La Colombie est un pays prioritaire dans le cadre du Plan d'action national du Canada pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, et la réalisation de ce programme est au cœur de la programmation PPSP en Colombie.

Le Programme d'aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRACC) compte environ 39 millions de dollars de projets opérationnels pluriannuels qui incluent la Colombie dans le cadre d'initiatives régionales de lutte contre la criminalité transnationale, dont 4,4 millions de dollars sont engagés dans le pays par l'intermédiaire de ministères du gouvernement canadien, comme la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), ainsi que d'organisations multilatérales, comme l'Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime et l'Organisation des États américains. Les domaines thématiques privilégiés sont le renforcement de la gestion des frontières, la prévention et la lutte contre les crimes liés à la drogue, la prévention et la lutte contre les menaces à la cyber sécurité, la prévention et la lutte contre la traite des personnes et le trafic de migrants, le renforcement des initiatives de réforme du secteur de la sécurité et la réforme des pratiques anticorruption.

La Colombie est un partenaire hémisphérique prioritaire pour le ministère de la Défense nationale. La Colombie est devenue membre du Programme d'instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM) du ministère de la Défense nationale en 2011. À ce jour, environ 593 officiers colombiens ont participé aux activités du PICM. Dans le cadre du PICM, les forces armées colombiennes ont accès à une formation dans des domaines qui favorisent les principes démocratiques canadiens.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: