Language selection

Search

Canada-Estonia relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Canada and Estonia enjoy strong bilateral relations, owing in part to the fact that Canada did not recognize the Soviet occupation of Estonia after the Second World War and was one of the first countries to recognize Estonia’s restored de facto independence in 1991. Canada accepted thousands of Estonian refugees in the post-1945 period, and there are now approximately 24,000 Canadians of Estonian origin, representing one of the largest Estonian diasporas. Canada is represented in Estonia through its embassy in Riga, Latvia, where Canada’s ambassador is accredited to all three Baltic states. Canada also maintains an embassy office in Tallinn, Estonia, with locally engaged staff. Estonia has an embassy and ambassador in Ottawa and seven honorary consuls in five provinces: Ontario, British Columbia, Quebec, Alberta and Nova Scotia.

Trade relationship

Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Estonia totalled $248.1 million in 2018. In the same year, Canadian merchandise exports to Estonia amounted to more than $25.6 million, which included: electrical machinery and equipment, machinery, base metals (mostly titanium), fish and seafood, and wood and wood products.

Canadian imports from Estonia reached $222.5 million in 2017, which included: electrical machinery and equipment, furniture and bedding, edible preparations (yeasts), machinery, and mineral fuels and oils.

Trade and investment agreements

Trade and investment agreements involving Canada and Estonia:

For more information, consult trade and investment agreements.

Operations

Canada was one of the first countries to ratify Estonia’s accession to NATO in 2004, and Canada and Estonia enjoy positive and constructive defence relations mainly through the NATO framework. Canada has provided Estonian military officers with English and/or French language training, peacekeeping skills and other types of professional development support. Canada has been sending officers to attend the Baltic Defence College in Tartu, Estonia, and has been providing that institution with lecturers and course development assistance since 2001.

Canada’s engagement in the Baltic region has been increasing, in line with NATO’s strengthened assurance and deterrence measures in the region. The most visible element of this defence posture is NATO’s enhanced Forward Presence (eFP) in Central and Eastern Europe, made up of multinational NATO battle groups deployed in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland. Canada has taken a leading role as an eFP Framework Nation in Latvia and has deployed Canadian troops into the battle group under Operation REASSURANCE. Canada also contributes Canadian Armed Forces personnel to the NATO Force Integration Unit in Estonia. In 2014, Canada contributed $1 million to the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence, based in Tallinn, to purchase new hardware for cyber defence exercises.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Estonie

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et l’Estonie entretiennent de solides relations bilatérales, en partie grâce au refus du Canada de reconnaître l’occupation soviétique de l’Estonie après la Seconde Guerre mondiale et à sa décision d’être l’un des premiers pays à reconnaître le rétablissement de facto de l’indépendance de l’Estonie en 1991. Le Canada a accepté des milliers de réfugiés estoniens au cours de la période suivant la fin de guerre, en 1945, et on y recense maintenant quelque 24 000 Canadiens d'origine estonienne, ce qui représente l'une des plus importantes diasporas estoniennes. Le Canada est représenté en Estonie par son ambassade à Riga, en Lettonie, dont l’ambassadeur est actuellement responsable des missions canadiennes dans les trois pays baltes. Le Canada a également une chancellerie à Tallinn, en Estonie, qui emploie du personnel recruté sur place. L’Estonie a une ambassade et un ambassadeur à Ottawa ainsi que sept consuls honoraires dans cinq provinces (Ontario, Colombie-Britannique, Québec, Alberta et Nouvelle-Écosse).

Relations commerce

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et l’Estonie se chiffrait à 248,1 millions de dollars en 2018. La même année, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers l'Estonie ont totalisé plus de 25,6 millions de dollars et comprenaient : des machines et de l’équipement électriques, des machines, des métaux communs (surtout le titanium), des poissons et fruits de mer, du bois et des produits du bois.

Les importations canadiennes en provenance de l'Estonie ont atteint 222,5 millions de dollars en 2017 et comprenaient des machines et de l’équipement électriques, des meubles et des articles de literie, des préparations comestibles (levures), des machines, des combustibles minéraux et des huiles.

Accords en matière de commerce et d’investissement

Voici une liste des accords sur le commerce et l’investissement comprenant le Canada et l'Estonie :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement.

Opérations

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à ratifier l’adhésion de l’Estonie à l’OTAN en 2004, et les deux pays entretiennent des relations positives et constructives dans le domaine de la défense, principalement au sein de l’OTAN. Le Canada a permis aux officiers estoniens d’acquérir une meilleure connaissance de l’anglais ou du français et des compétences en matière de maintien de la paix, et leur a fourni d’autres formes de soutien au perfectionnement professionnel. Le Canada envoie depuis 2001 des officiers au Baltic Defence College de Tartu, en Estonie, et fournit à ce collège des professeurs et de l’aide à l’élaboration des cours.

L'engagement du Canada dans la région de la mer Baltique s'est accru dans le cadre des mesures d'assurance et de dissuasion renforcées prises par l'OTAN dans la région. L'élément le plus visible de cette position de défense est le groupement tactique de la présence avancée renforcée (eFP) de l'OTAN en Europe centrale et de l’Est, composée de groupes de combat multinationaux de l'OTAN déployés en Estonie, en Lettonie, en Lituanie et en Pologne. Le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan en tant que pays-cadre du groupement tactique en Lettonie et a déployé des troupes canadiennes dans ce groupement dans le cadre de l'opération REASSURANCE. Le Canada fournit également du personnel des Forces armées canadiennes à l’Unité d’intégration de la Force de l’OTAN en Estonie. En 2014, Le Canada a versé un million de dollars au Centre d’excellence de l’OTAN pour la coopération en matière de cyberdéfense, situé à Tallinn, pour l’achat de nouveau matériel utilisé dans les exercices de cyberdéfense.

Date de modification: