Language selection

Search

Canada-Netherlands relations

Bilateral relations

The Canada-Netherlands bilateral relationship, anchored in a shared WWII history, is dynamic and forward-looking. We benefit from mutual commercial and foreign policy interests, which flow from our common commitment to multilateralism, free and inclusive trade, and the rules-based international order. Our citizens have significant person-to-person ties underpinned by immigration past and present.

An important link in Canada’s storied military heritage

The Canadian Forces spearheaded the Liberation of the Netherlands during World War II. At the same time, Canada welcomed Her Royal Highness Princess Juliana and her family. The Royal Family gifted Canada a multitude of tulip bulbs in recognition of these wartime links. This was the genesis of Ottawa’s well-known Canadian Tulip Festival which sees millions of tulips blossom annually across the capital in recognition of the ties between our countries.

Significant people to people links

The ties forged during the Second World War led to significant people-to-people links. About one million persons of Dutch origin now reside in Canada, a figure which translates to 3% of the Canadian population. In recognition of our close bond, Canada celebrates Dutch Heritage Day on 5 May, Liberation Day in the Netherlands.

Recent high level interaction

Then-Governor General Julie Payette paid a two-day visit to the Netherlands August 30-31, 2019. She attended a commemorative event to kick off the year-long commemorations of “75 Years of Freedom,” highlighting Canada’s role in the liberation of the Netherlands. She also met with King Willem Alexander, Prime Minister Rutte and Princess Margriet and visited the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). Then-Foreign Minister Blok made an official visit to Canada on 3 April 2019. Prime Minister Rutte made an official visit to Canada on 25 October 2018. This visit also marked the first time a Dutch prime minister delivered an address to the Canadian Parliament. Their Majesties King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima of the Netherlands paid a state visit to Canada in May 2015, which included meetings with then-Prime Minister Harper and then-Governor General Johnston. 

The last Canadian ministerial visits to the Netherlands were undertaken by then-Minister of Health Petitpas Taylor (International AIDS Conference, July 2018) and then-Minister of Justice Wilson-Raybould (March 2018). The Canada-Netherlands bilateral relationship also benefits from regular engagement at municipal and provincial levels. 

Diplomatic representation

Canada is represented in the Kingdom of the Netherlands by its Embassy in The Hague, which is also accredited to the Dutch Caribbean countries of Sint Maarten, Aruba and Curaçao. The Netherlands has an Embassy in Ottawa, Consulates-general in Toronto and Vancouver, and honorary consuls in Calgary, Edmonton, Fredericton, Halifax, Montreal, Quebec City, Saskatoon and Winnipeg.

Trade relations

The Netherlands is one of Canada’s most significant trade, investment and innovation partners. It is a country with a rich history of commerce, representing a gateway to Europe across the spectrum of trade, investment, and technology exchange. The Netherlands is Canada’s seventh largest source of foreign direct investment on an Ultimate Investing Country (UIC) basis. In 2020, the stock of Dutch direct investment in Canada was valued at nearly $147.9 billion.

Bilateral merchandise trade totaled $8.6 billion in 2020, with Canadian merchandise exports to the Netherlands at $5.4 billion, and imports at $3.2 billion. In 2020, Canada’s services exports to the Netherlands totaled $1.2 billion and services imports from the Netherlands to Canada were valued at $1.6 billion.

The Netherlands has an enormous transport logistics infrastructure built around the Port of Rotterdam (the largest in Europe) and Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport. The country counts a highly international, well-educated and diverse workforce alongside its advantageous geographic position within Europe and the EU, both of which serve to attract significant investments from Canadian companies.

Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service works with Canadian companies exporting to the Netherlands, assists Dutch companies investing in Canada, and supports science, technology & innovation partnerships by placing innovation front and center.

Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

Provisional application of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) started on September 21, 2017, at which time all economically significant parts of the Agreement entered into force. CETA is already generating new economic opportunities for both Canada and the Netherlands. Canada-Netherlands bilateral merchandise trade in 2020 increased by 18.5% percent compared to pre-CETA (2016). The Dutch parliament is studying legislation to ratify CETA.

Related links

The Hague

The Hague is synonymous with international legal institutions. In 1899 a meeting in the city led to the creation of the Permanent Court of Arbitration. That court has been joined by the International Court of Justice, The Hague Conference, the International Criminal Court, and ad hoc tribunals for Yugoslavia, Rwanda and Lebanon, as well as the policing institution Europol and European justice institution Eurojust. Canada supports these institutions to strengthen peaceful methods of conflict resolution, to bolster international efforts to end impunity, to promote respect for human rights and good governance, and to promote multilateral efforts to combat crime.

The Hague-based Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) implements the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) to which Canada is a State Party, along with over 190 other countries. The CWC bans the development, use, stockpiling and transfer of chemical weapons. It also monitors production of chemicals and their trade. Canada’s Permanent Representative to the OPCW is our Ambassador to the Netherlands. The OPCW has verified the destruction of 98% of the world’s “declared” chemical weapons stockpiles, and is on schedule to achieve the full destruction of chemical weapons by 2023. The Nobel Prize for Peace was awarded to the OPCW in 2013 for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons.

Canada has shown significant financial, human and intellectual leadership in building international stability, peaceful cooperation, and rule of law. Our bilateral partnerships with The Netherlands, as host country, also help to build up and sustain these institutions. 

Canada is proud of the many Canadians who serve the cause of disarmament and non-proliferation, international justice and accountability through their important work at the international organisations, Courts & Tribunals located in The Hague.

Partnerships and organizations

The Netherlands is a strong international partner and ally for Canada. We are like-minded across a broad spectrum of issues, including our common commitment to human rights, gender equality, multilateralism, and the rules-based international order. The Dutch are well-regarded multilateral players alongside Canada in the UN, NATO, OSCE, and at the various international institutions headquartered in The Hague (known as the “City of Peace and Justice”). The complementarity in our approaches provides lessons-learned in both directions. We also share mutually-beneficial partnerships and perspectives with the Dutch on security, intelligence and rule of law issues. And our interests converge in the Americas, where the Kingdom of the Netherlands – which includes the constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten and special municipalities of Saba, Sint Eustatius and Bonaire – is a neighbour and friend.

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and the Netherlands work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Pays-Bas

Relations bilatérales

La relation bilatérale Canada-Pays-Bas, ancrée dans une histoire partagée de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, est dynamique et tournée vers l’avenir. Nos deux pays bénéficient d’intérêts mutuels en politique étrangère, découlant de notre engagement commun envers le multilatéralisme, le commerce libre et inclusif et l’ordre international fondé sur des règles. Beaucoup de nos citoyens entretiennent des liens interpersonnels étroits avec des citoyens néerlandais, renforcés par l’immigration passée et présente.

Un lien important avec le passé militaire du Canada

Les Forces canadiennes ont dirigé la libération des Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Pendant cette période, le Canada accueillait son Altesse Royale, la princesse Juliana, et sa famille. La famille royale néerlandaise a offert une multitude de bulbes de tulipes au Canada en reconnaissance des liens développés durant le conflit, don à l’origine du célèbre Festival canadien des tulipes d’Ottawa, qui voit chaque année fleurir des millions de tulipes à travers la capitale en reconnaissance des liens qui existent entre nos deux pays.

D’importants liens interpersonnels

Les liens tissés pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont donné lieu à d’importants échanges entre les peuples. Près d’un million de personnes d’origine néerlandaise résident maintenant au Canada, ce qui représente 3 % de la population canadienne. En reconnaissance de notre lien étroit, le Canada célèbre la Journée du patrimoine néerlandais le 5 mai, jour de la Libération aux Pays-Bas.

Visites et réunions de haut niveau récentes

L’ancienne Gouverneure Générale, Julie Payette, a effectué une visite de deux jours aux Pays-Bas les 30 et 31 août 2019. Elle a assisté à un évènement commémoratif lançant l’année de commémorations des « 75 ans de paix », soulignant le rôle du Canada dans la libération des Pays-Bas. Elle a également rencontré le Roi Willem Alexander, le Premier Ministre Rutte et la Princesse Margriet et elle a visité l’Organisation pour l’Interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC). L’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères Blok a fait une visite officielle au Canada le 3 avril 2019. Le premier ministre Rutte a effectué une visite officielle au Canada le 25 octobre 2018. Il est le premier chef de gouvernement à s’être adressé au parlement canadien. Leurs majestés le Roi Willem-Alexander et la Reine Maxima des Pays-Bas ont effectué une visite d’État au Canada en mai 2015 lors de laquelle ils ont rencontré l’ancien premier ministre Harper ainsi que l’ancien gouverneur général Johnston.

Les dernières visites ministérielles aux Pays-Bas ont été entreprises par l’ancienne ministre de la santé Petitpas Taylor (Congrès international sur le SIDA, juillet 2018) et l’ancienne ministre de la justice Wilson-Raybould (mars 2018). Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et les Pays-Bas bénéficient également d’un engagement régulier aux niveaux municipal et provincial.

Représentation diplomatique

Le Canada est représenté aux Pays-Bas par l’ambassade à La Haye, qui est également accréditée aux Pays-Bas caribéens, soient les pays constitutifs de Sint Maarten, Aruba et Curaçao. Les Pays-Bas ont une ambassade à Ottawa, des consulats généraux à Toronto et Vancouver ainsi que des consuls honoraires à Calgary, Edmonton, Fredericton, Halifax, Montréal, Québec, Saskatoon et Winnipeg.

Relations commerciales

Les Pays-Bas sont l’un des partenaires principaux du Canada en matière d’échanges commerciaux, d’investissement et d’innovation. Il s’agit d’un pays ayant une longue tradition commerciale, qui représente une porte d’entrée vers l’Europe en termes de commerce, d’investissement et d’échange de technologie. Les Pays-Bas sont la septième plus grande source d'investissements directs étrangers au Canada sur la base de pays d’investisseur ultime (PIU). En 2020, le stock d'investissements directs néerlandais au Canada était évalué à près de 147.9 milliards de dollars.

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises était de 8,6 milliards de dollars en 2020, alors que les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers les Pays-Bas se sont élevées à 5,4 milliards de dollars et les importations à 3,2 milliards de dollars. En 2020, les exportations de services du Canada vers les Pays-Bas ont totalisé 1,2 milliard de dollars et les importations de services des Pays-Bas vers le Canada ont été évaluées à 1,6 milliards de dollars.

Les Pays-Bas disposent d'une énorme infrastructure logistique de transport construite autour du port de Rotterdam (le plus grand d'Europe) et de l'aéroport Schiphol d'Amsterdam. Ils peuvent compter sur une main-d’œuvre internationale, hautement éduquée et diversifiée ainsi qu’une situation géographique idéale en Europe et au sein de l’UE, deux avantages qui leur permettent d’attirer des investissements considérables d’entreprises canadiennes.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada travaille avec les entreprises canadiennes qui exportent aux Pays-Bas, aide les entreprises néerlandaises souhaitant investir au Canada et encourage les partenariats en science, technologie et innovation en misant sur l’innovation dans tous les secteurs d’activité.

Accord économique et commercial global (AECG)

L'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne a été mis en œuvre provisoirement le 21 septembre 2017, date à laquelle toutes les parties économiquement significatives de l'Accord sont entrées en vigueur. L'AECG génère déjà de nouvelles opportunités économiques pour le Canada et les Pays-Bas. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre nos pays a augmenté de 18.5 % par rapport à la période précédant l’AECG (2016). Le parlement néerlandais étudie la législation menant à la ratification de l’AECG.

Liens connexes

La Haye

La ville de La Haye est synonyme d’institutions juridiques internationales. Une conférence tenue en 1899 a été à l’origine de la création de la Cour permanente d’arbitrage. Par la suite, la Cour internationale de justice, la Conférence de La Haye, la Cour pénale internationale et les tribunaux internationaux pour l’ex-Yougoslavie, le Rwanda et le Liban, ainsi qu’Europol, l’office européen de police, et Eurojust, l’unité de coopération judiciaire de l’Union européenne, ont également été établis dans cette ville néerlandaise. Le Canada soutient ces institutions pour renforcer des méthodes pacifiques de résolution des conflits, pour appuyer les efforts internationaux afin de mettre fin à l’impunité et pour promouvoir le respect des droits de la personne, la bonne gouvernance, ainsi que les efforts multilatéraux de lutte contre le crime.

L’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC) ayant son siège à La Haye a le mandat de mettre en œuvre les dispositions de la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques (CIAC) dont le Canada est un des États membres, auprès de 190 autres pays. La CIAC interdit la fabrication, l’utilisation, le stockage et le transfert des armes chimiques. Elle contrôle également la production et le commerce des produits chimiques. Le représentant permanent du Canada à l’OIAC est notre ambassadeur aux Pays-Bas. L’OIAC a certifié la destruction de 98 % des stocks mondiaux d’armes chimiques déclarés, et devrait pouvoir confirmer la destruction de toutes les armes chimiques en 2023, selon l’échéancier prévu. Le prix Nobel de la Paix a été décerné à l’OIAC en 2013 pour ses efforts continus en vue d’éliminer toutes les armes chimiques.

Le Canada a fait preuve d’un leadership financier, humain et intellectuel important dans la construction de la stabilité internationale, d’une coopération pacifique et de la primauté du droit. Notre partenariat bilatéral avec les Pays-Bas, en tant que pays hôte, a également aidé à la construction et au soutien desdites institutions. 

Le Canada est fier des nombreux(ses) Canadien(ne)s travaillant dans les domaines du désarmement et de la non-prolifération, de la justice internationale et de la reddition de comptes, et qui apportent une contribution importante aux organisations internationales, cours et tribunaux situés à La Haye.

Partenariats et organisations

Les Pays-Bas sont un important partenaire international et allié pour le Canada. Nous partageons la même vision de plusieurs enjeux, notamment notre engagement commun à l’égard des droits de la personne, de l’égalité des genres, du multilatéralisme et du respect de l’ordre international. Aux côtés du Canada, les Pays-Bas sont un acteur multilatéral respecté au sein de l’ONU, de l’OTAN, de l’OSCE et des diverses institutions judiciaires internationales établies à La Haye (connue comme ‘La ville de la Paix et de la Justice’). La complémentarité de nos approches permet à chacun de tirer des enseignements des positions de l’autre. Nous partageons également des partenariats et des perspectives mutuellement bénéfiques avec les Néerlandais sur les questions de sécurité, de renseignement et de primauté du droit. Nos intérêts convergent aussi dans les Amériques, où le Royaume des Pays-Bas, qui comprend les pays constitutifs d’Aruba, de Curaçao et de Sint Maarten et les municipalités spéciales de Saba, Saint-Eustache et Bonaire - est un voisin et un ami.

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et les Pays-Bas collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: