Privacy Notice Statement: Consultation Process for Canadians on the Environmental Assessment of Trade Negotiations

Global Affairs Canada is committed to protecting the privacy rights of individuals and safeguarding the personal information under its control in accordance with the provisions of the Privacy Act.

“Personal information” is defined as any information, in any form, about an identifiable individual, including details of an individual’s personal experiences, opinions or views. Please refer to section 3 of the Privacy Act for further details regarding personal information.

Global Affairs Canada is seeking the views of the Canadian public and interested stakeholders through a consultation process on any likely and significant environmental issues which the proposed trade agreement may have on Canada. The submissions received during the consultation process will be used for the purpose of assisting Canadian negotiators in their efforts to integrate environmental considerations into the course of trade negotiations.

The information is collected under the authority of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Act, section 10(2)(e) to foster the expansion of Canada’s international trade and commerce.

The information you provide is voluntary and you may, without prejudice, decide not to participate in this consultation process. Should you decide to provide a submission, it is important to know that your submission constitutes your consent to the collection, use, and disclosure of the information provided therein, subject to certain exceptions as per the Privacy Act, and as described in this privacy notice statement.

Please ensure that you limit the information you provide in your submission to environmental matters related to the proposed trade negotiation. You are encouraged to make fact-based statements that do not include your personal views and opinions of another individual, otherwise those statements would be considered to be the personal information of that individual under the Privacy Act.

Information received from submissions will be summarized in reports and shared with the Department’s Chief Negotiator(s) and the Environmental Assessment Committee. These reports will not contain any personal information that could potentially be used to identify you.

Your personal information will be retained in accordance with the Personal Information Bank: Outreach Activities (PSU 938). All personal information collected will be destroyed at the end of that environmental assessment process.

You have the right to request access to your information and to request corrections where you believe there is an error or omission. If you are outside of Canada and you are not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, you can ask a Canadian citizen or permanent resident to act as your representative and make a request on your behalf. Your written consent for this purpose will be required. You may contact the Department’s Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division at dcp@international.gc.ca to exercise these rights. Please refer to the Personal Information Bank: Outreach Activities (PSU 938) when requesting access to, or corrections of, your information.

You also have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada (OPC) at any time regarding the Department’s handling of your personal information. For information about submitting a complaint with the OPC, please visit their website at www.priv.gc.ca.

Énoncé de confidentialité : Processus de consultation publique pour les Canadiens concernant l’évaluation environnemental de négociations commerciales

Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) est déterminé à protéger les droits relatifs à la vie privée des personnes ainsi que les renseignements personnels qu’il détient, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les « renseignements personnels » s’entendent des renseignements, quels que soient leur forme et leur support, concernant un individu identifiable, y compris les détails sur les expériences personnelles, les opinions ou les points de vue des personnes. Veuillez vous référer à l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour avoir de plus amples détails sur les renseignements personnels.

Affaires mondiales Canada sollicite le point de vue du public canadien et des parties intéressées sur les potentiels impacts environnementaux que l’accord proposé pourraient avoir sur le Canada. Les propositions reçues durant le processus de consultation seront utilisés pour aider les négociateurs canadiens à intégrer la dimension environnementale dans le processus de négociation, en leur fournissant des informations sur les effets environnementaux des accords commerciaux.

Les renseignements sont recueillis en vertu de l’alinéa 10(2)e) de la Loi sur le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement pour stimuler le commerce international du Canada.

Vous fournissez volontairement ces renseignements personnels, et vous pouvez, sans préjudice, décider de ne pas participer à ce processus de consultation publique. Sachez toutefois qu’en présentant une proposition, vous consentez à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la divulgation des renseignements personnels qui y sont fournis, sous réserve de certaines exceptions prévues par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et telles qu’elles sont décrites dans le présent avis de confidentialité.

Veuillez vous assurer de limiter les renseignements fournis dans votre contribution uniquement aux renseignements liés aux potentiels impacts environnementaux que l’accord proposé pourraient avoir sur le Canada. Vous êtes encouragés à faire des énoncés factuels qui n’incluent pas vos opinions et points de vue personnels sur une autre personne, car ces énoncés seraient alors considérés comme l’information personnelle de cette personne en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Veuillez noter que les informations provenant des propositions reçues seront synthétisées dans un rapport et partagées avec le négociateur en chef du ministère ainsi que les membres du comité sur les évaluations environnementales. Ce rapport ne contiendra aucun renseignement personnel qui pourrait servir à vous identifier.

Vos renseignements personnels seront conservés conformément au fichier de renseignements personnels Activités de sensibilisation (POU 938). Tous les renseignements personnels collectés dans le cadre de cette consultation seront détruits à la fin du processus d’évaluation environnemental.

Vous avez le droit d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels et de demander qu’ils soient modifiés si vous croyez que ces renseignements sont erronés ou incomplets. Si vous n’êtes pas présent au Canada, vous devriez contacter la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du Ministère à l’adresse dcp@international.gc.ca pour vous renseigner sur la manière dont vous pouvez demander l’accès à vos renseignements personnels ou demander que des corrections y soient apportées. Veuillez vous reporter au fichier de renseignements personnels Activités de sensibilisation (POU 938) lorsque vous demandez l’accès à vos renseignements personnels ou demandez que des corrections y soient apportées.

Vous avez également le droit de porter plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada concernant le traitement de vos renseignements personnels par une institution. Pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat, veuillez visiter leur site Web au www.priv.gc.ca.