Language selection

Search

Canada-Antigua and Barbuda relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and Antigua and Barbuda have had bilateral relations since 1981, when Antigua and Barbuda gained independence. The relationship is based on development and security cooperation, collaboration in multilateral organizations, and strong people-to-people ties, including through tourism.

Canada is represented in Antigua and Barbuda by the High Commission of Canada in Barbados, which opened in 1967. Antigua and Barbuda is represented by a non-resident High Commissioner, based in Washington, D.C., and a consulate in Toronto.

Trade relations

In 2020, Canada’s merchandise exports to Antigua and Barbuda totaled $9.8 million and merchandise imports from Antigua and Barbuda totaled $144,600. Canada’s main exports to Antigua and Barbuda included consumer goods; electronic and electrical equipment and parts; industrial machinery, equipment and parts and non-metallic mineral products; whereas Canada’s main imports consisted of consumer goods; metal and non-metallic mineral products; energy products and electronic and electrical equipment and parts. There are further opportunities in the infrastructure, clean technology and agriculture sectors.

Related links

Development

Canada’s development program is focused on mutual priorities, such as climate and economic resilience, sustainable and inclusive governance, and advancing of gender equality.

Following the devastating 2017 hurricane season in the Caribbean, Canada announced the $100 million Pledge for Caribbean Reconstruction and Economic and Climate Resilience to support Antigua and Barbuda and the region in reconstruction and climate resilience. This included strengthening natural disaster planning and response through organizations such as the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency. Canada has also supported the reconstruction of community facilities in Barbuda through the Caribbean Development Bank.

At the CARICOM Intersessional Meeting in February 2020, Canada announced an additional $61.5 million in new commitments for resilience, technical assistance and education exchanges for the Caribbean. This includes, for example, the Canada-CARICOM Expert Deployment Mechanism, which provides technical assistance to CARICOM governments, including Antigua and Barbuda, to help diversify and strengthen the economy, build climate resilient communities, and reduce gender and economic inequalities. Canada has also provided disaster risk insurance coverage for Antigua and Barbuda over the 2019 to 2022 period. Canada’s support further extends to regional engagements to strengthen national statistics for policy making, public financial management, access to justice, private sector development, and building the capacity of local women’s rights organizations.

During the COVID-19 crisis, Canada redirected programming to respond to Antigua and Barbuda and Caribbean needs, including to address gender-based violence, income support and essential services, training and technical assistance for health professionals, as well as supplies and protective equipment.

Antigua and Barbuda also benefits from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, and Canada’s support through non-governmental. Antigua and Barbuda and Canada also collaborate closely in key regional and multilateral fora and institutions, such as the Caribbean Development Bank.

Operations

Security

Canada and Antigua and Barbuda enjoy strong collaboration in defense and security.  We collaborate through Canada’s Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program to combat drug trade, cybercrime and other crimes. Canada also supports the Barbados-based Regional Security System, which provides security assistance on request to Member States, including in Antigua and Barbuda. 

Antigua and Barbuda is a member of Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Program, and both countries’ law enforcement agencies participate in TRADEWINDS, a multinational land and maritime training exercise.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Antigua and Barbuda work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Antigua-et-Barbuda

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et Antigua-et-Barbuda entretiennent des relations bilatérales depuis 1981, année où le pays a accédé à la souveraineté. Cette relation repose sur une coopération en matière de développement et de sécurité, une collaboration dans les organisations multilatérales, et des liens humains solides, y compris ceux tissés grâce au tourisme.

Le Canada est représenté à Antigua-et-Barbuda par le Haut-commissariat du Canada à la Barbade, qui a ouvert en 1967. Antigua-et-Barbuda est représenté par un haut-commissaire non résident établi à Washington, D.C., et par un consulat à Toronto.

Relations commerciales

En 2020, les exportations de marchandises du Canada à destination d’Antigua-et-Barbuda se chiffraient à 9,8 millions de dollars, tandis que les importations de marchandises en provenance du pays atteignaient 144 600 $. Le Canada exporte principalement des produits de consommation, de l’équipement et des pièces électroniques et électriques, de la machinerie industrielle, de l’équipement et des pièces, ainsi que des produits minéraux non métalliques, tandis qu’il importe principalement des produits de consommation, des produits minéraux métalliques et non métalliques, des produits énergétiques, ainsi que de l’équipement et des pièces électroniques et électriques. Les secteurs de l’infrastructure, des technologies propres et de l’agriculture offrent aussi d’autres possibilités.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le programme de développement du Canada est axé sur des priorités mutuelles, comme la résilience climatique et économique, la gouvernance durable et inclusive, et l’avancement de l’égalité des sexes.

À la suite de la saison dévastatrice des ouragans de 2017 dans les Caraïbes, le Canada s’est engagé à verser 100 millions de dollars pour appuyer les efforts en matière de reconstruction et de résilience climatique dans la région des Caraïbes afin de soutenir la reconstruction et la résilience climatique à Antigua-et-Barbuda et dans la région. Ce financement était entre autres destiné au renforcement de la planification et de l’intervention en cas de catastrophe par l’intermédiaire d’organisations comme la Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency. Le Canada a également soutenu la reconstruction d’installations communautaires à Barbuda par l’intermédiaire de la Banque de développement des Caraïbes.

Lors de la réunion intersessions de la CARICOM, en février 2020, le Canada a annoncé de nouveaux engagements d’une valeur de 61,5 millions de dollars aux Caraïbes pour la résilience, l’assistance technique et les échanges d’étudiants. Ces engagements comprenaient entre autres le Mécanisme de déploiement de spécialistes Canada-CARICOM, qui fournit une assistance technique aux gouvernements de la CARICOM (y compris Antigua-et-Barbuda) afin de contribuer à diversifier et à renforcer l’économie, de bâtir des collectivités résilientes aux changements climatiques et de réduire les inégalités économiques et de genre. Au cours de la période 2019 à 2022, le Canada a également fourni à Antigua-et-Barbuda une couverture d’assurance la protégeant du risque de catastrophes. Le soutien fourni par le Canada s’étend aussi aux engagements régionaux en vue de renforcer les statistiques nationales, ce qui améliorera l’élaboration de politiques, la gestion financière publique, l’accès à la justice et le développement du secteur privé, en plus de renforcer les capacités des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes.

Pendant la crise de la COVID-19, le Canada a réorienté ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins d’Antigua-et-Barbuda et des Caraïbes, notamment de lutter contre la violence fondée sur le genre, soutenir le revenu et les services essentiels, donner une formation et une assistance technique aux professionnels de la santé, ainsi que fournir des articles et de l’équipement de protection.

Antigua-et-Barbuda profite aussi du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales et du soutien que fournit le Canada par l’intermédiaire d’organismes non gouvernementaux. Antigua-et-Barbuda et le Canada collaborent étroitement dans des institutions et forums multilatéraux, comme la Banque de développement des Caraïbes.

Opérations

Sécurité

Le Canada et Antigua-et-Barbuda affichent une collaboration solide en matière de défense et de sécurité. Nous collaborons par l’intermédiaire du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité du Canada afin de lutter contre le trafic de drogue, la cybercriminalité et d’autres crimes. Le Canada appuie aussi le Système régional de sécurité, établi à la Barbade, qui fournit sur demande une aide à la sécurité aux États membres, y compris Antigua-et-Barbuda.

Antigua-et-Barbuda est membre du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada et les organismes d’application de la loi des deux pays participent à l’exercice multinational de formation terrestre et maritime TRADEWINDS.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux complexes et pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et Antigua-et-Barbuda collaborent de près au sein de forums multilatéraux, y compris les suivants :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: